Showing 12 reviews for Polk Audio db1040

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db1040
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 9, 2014 Love em
Review by
Bill from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have 2 of these in a sealed box running 250RMS to each of them. They are clear and have plenty of low end. When I first got them I was like eh.....I could use a little more output because I'm used to my JL 12w3v3 but once they broke in they really took off and play all types of music great and get LOUD. Tight on rock (feel it in my chest), boom on hip hop/rap (shakes the whole interior). I recommend them to everyone that is looking for an amazing budget sub. I still like my JL's a little more but they are bigger and get more power and cost $200 more. Better than the Power Bass 10's I had though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 BOOOOOOOOMMMMM
Review by
Chris from Danville,Va.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These work great for the money. Running 2 ohm at 300w each... Plenty of bass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2013 db1040 Subwoofer
Review by
Rob from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was originally skeptical about this sub due to the low cost and low wattage ratings, but after having this sub for about six months, (and after having been broken in), I am definitely very happy that I purchased it. It doesn't pack as much punch as some other subs that I have owned (Alpine's, JL's) but those were also higher powered and in specific boxes designed for them. This sub is very clean sounding and adds a great low end to your music. I would recommend using a 600 RMS or higher amp however, the amp that I am using is 400 max (about 185 @ 4 Ohms), and it is definitely under powered so I can't crank the volume for fear of clipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2013 For "normal" listening tastes
Review by
Lemon Cove from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The db1040 works perfectly to fill in the bass on normal full range music. I have this powered by the sub out of a Polk 5CH amp that is also powering my 2 sets of Focal 5.25" coaxials. The blend of the bass from the db1040 and the other speakers provide a nice and "full" listening experience in my vw camper van.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2013 Just as hoped for
Review by
Lemon Cove from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Polk db1040 is just the ticket. It powers my 2 sets of Focal 5.25" coaxials and a 10" Polk sub thru an Alpine head unit. I have very good dynamic range and no distortion at levels that can go way louder than I will ever need.

I like the remote (wired) subwoofer level control to adjust for the varying EQ on my music.

An older Alpine 5 ch amp I have in another car tends to overheat and cut out. I've never had that happen in the 6 months of use since I installed the Polk. I'm very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2012 Great Subs!
Review by
Bobby T from Youngstown, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these for my 94 accord and ran them too a 2 ohm load (1000watts 500 each) and these little 10s pound! great subs for the price and they do get loud! i would recommend these to anybody looking for some good sound on a budget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Provides the Missing Bass
Review by
John from Oklahoma City, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub works great. Previously, my '02 LeSabre had nice sound with a Clarion head unit driving Sony ExPlode speakers in the door and back. I purchased this sub, an enclosure with a Jensen amp recommended by the excellent phone hostess. Within a week I had it professionally installed and I tuned the bass to fill in what was missing. It provides oomph and subtle warmth. when cranked, it performs admirably without cracking. A track on Neil Young's Lenoise album literally rattles my teeth. I highly recommend this sub and the matching Jensen amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2011 Good sub!
Review by
Jay from Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put one of these in a friends truck on a MA audio amp. Sealed. Sounds great for what he needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2011 Sound Amazingg!!!
Review by
gutman121 from Alpharetta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two of these for Christmas along with the 1000.2 watt crunch amp and they dound amazing in my dodge ram. I am in a family of subs and these top all. Great value and sound Amazing!! must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2010 Great Value
Review by
joshua from hamilton, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have 2 of them in the back seat of a boat they sound great and hit pretty good for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2010 ear hurting bass!!!!!
Review by
DJ from Plainwell, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got 2 of these bad boys and woah. they are only hooked up at 4ohms getting 300watts, and they are twice as loud as my 2 comp MA audios that were getting 500watts each at 1ohm and I only have my amp at a 1/4 gain for the break in period and my can hear me coming from about a mile away and there is no looking out the rear view mirror cause it rattles so much. There is absolutely no cons to this sub all pros. So if your tight on cash they are the sub for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2010 Big BOOM for small Bucks!
Review by
Mark from SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easily handles 200w RMS. Sounds as good or better than similar 'popular' subs costing 3x as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz