Showing 31 reviews for Rockford Fosgate P1683

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate P1683
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 38 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
82%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 9, 2011 super loud and crisp
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hofboy from la vernia, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am pushing these with a Kenwood KDC-HD545U HD radio and they sound so clear. I also have the Fosgate p3l-s12 sub. These speakers are a complete change from factory-not a ton of bass on thier own but adequate. I have a 99 f250 Super Duty diesel. They fit perfect. If you have a F250-you have to get these, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2011 Look No Further
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Rayland, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you're not wanting to go all out but you also don't want to go cheap then step up a bit from the $50 range and get these!

These speakers slam. They fit perfect into my 2000 Ford Ranger. It's a shame the two rear speakers face right directly into the seat but when you crank it it's like having a built in electric massage chair. Yes they are nasty.

Crystal clear, sounds like your in a symphony hall and with a cheap $50 amp they hit hard for their size. I do not see how ANYONE could be disappointed in these, they're superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2010 Just what I needed
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dimabear85 from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 2005 Mazda 3 and they fit PERFECT into the rear doors. Even with the stock system these speakers were a GREAT improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2010 Awsome
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ty from Somonauk, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these speakers to replace my mach 460 in my mustang and they are being run off of a Bazooka amp that puts out 60rms and they take it all day long with no distortion. It took me about 2 weeks of getting them put in for me to get a ticket cuz the cop could hear it from 2 blocks away and that was only about 75% of the way up. Overall they sound clear and I would Highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2010 Great SOUND
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alex from Montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Incredible sound for a stock radio (Ford Escape 2009), sound is crisp and loud. I recommend these speakers over most speakers such as sony. pioneer, bose etc,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 21, 2010 Good Product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Spencer from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are great. I have them in my F250 and they sound awesome. They are clear and very crisp. If you run a low powered amp to them they will boom with bass. Overall great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2010 Fantastic
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
keoni from kyle, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are diffidently excellent speakers and the value even better! Great sound crisp's just to my likening. I have this hooked to a stock deck and amp and a single 8'sub and the sound is fantastic! I would recommend these to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2010 rockford p1683 6x8 speakers
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
arctic33 from deering N.H
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They rock, awesome sound, blow you out the doors, very impressed, well made would buy again. (need good amp, KICKER)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2010 i knew rockford fosgate were good
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bud from Dallas, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I already knew Rockfords were good. So that's why I got these for my 2003 Ford Taurus ses. The factory speakers sucked. My aftermarket head unit is pushin about 17 watts rms which isn't allot at all. But these speakers have great bass, mids, and highs. The bass from tech n9ne vibrates my mirrors with the windows down. These are great speakers and will become even better if u get an amp for them.
I would recommend these speakers to anyone.

Have had speakers since September 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2009 LOUD!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JJ from morris, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
LOUD AND CLEAN. BEST SPEAKERS IVE EVER HAD. I CAN HEAR THEM OVER MY P3 NOW. B4 I COULDNT REALLY HEAR THE MUSIC. BUT NOW. ITS LOUD AS S%$#@!!!!!! GREAT SPEAKERS OVER ALL. THERE NOT TO BIG WHERE YOU NEED SOME KIND OF MOUNTING ADAPTER. SO THEY FIT PERFECTLY IN YOUR DOOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2009 best speakers ever!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ryan from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought these a few weeks and after installing them couldn't believe how clean and deep they sound, most bang for the buk with these speakers, literally! i have found no down side to them. compared to my friends alpines and pioneers they blow them out of the water, also they are LOUD!!! the bass that they provide eliminates the need for the subs in my car now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2014 awesome
Review by
Big J from CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These 6x8's make my 6x9's irrelevant! Definitely a fan of KICKER now! I'm replacing my Boss 6x9's with KICKER! New fan for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2014 good!
Review by
Raymond from higginsville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love the speakers they will take a beating...price match them..got mine for $50 a pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Love these speakers
Review by
Bryan from Irmo, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the third set of these I have put into my cars. THEY SOUND AWSOME!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2014 Satisfied Consumer.
Review by
Ur Grandma. from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well worth the money. I am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2014 great
Review by
freddie from Owensboro, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the best amp for the money gives great sound and small and easy to set up well worth the money i spent for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2013 these are the best
Review by
James from Merritt island, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are awesome you will not regret. so clear, loud, and awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2013 Crystal Clear
Review by
Kevin from Dallas, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound really good, the high and mids are perfect for me and the bass is punchy. I would recommend adding a 4 channel amp with these speakers for even more sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2012 awesome speakers
Review by
Manuel from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers, bought them 6 months . Am running four of these with a black box 400 rms amp and they sound perfect. Great buy from sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2012 Amazing
Review by
Zach from Vancouver WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing sounds. Perfect bass and mids. Highs are great too. Would reccommend for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2012 Love em!
Review by
Bill from Middleburg
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two speakers at first and I liked them so well I ordered two more. They fit perfectly in my F150 and fill the cab with quality sound for a very very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2012 Great Value and Worth Every Penny
Review by
Randrball from South Central US
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers coupled to my stock radio added a whole new dimension to sound quality. I can even turn the radio all the way up without distortion and the speakers can handle way more. The sound range is spectacular from the lowest of lows to the highest of highs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 Rockford Fosgate P1683
Review by
Joshua from Port Deposit, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these speakers for my 05 F-150 crew cab from Sonic Electronix a few weeks ago. They arrived early, you couldn't beat the price either, I was very pleased with the customer service. But when they came in, a friend was getting rid of a vehicle and had these same speakers in his truck. So he took those and gave them to me, and put his factory ones back in. So I returned my speakers with no problems out on Sonic Electonix, they refunded the money no hassle. Great customer service. Anyway these speakers are awesome, plenty of range, they get loud! The quality of Rockford Fosgate is unbelievable if i get another vehicle this is the company I'm going to. Sonic Electronix and Rockford Fosgate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2012 Rockford Fosgate P1683
Review by
Everardo from Chicago IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the speakers and they were delivered to my home fast. And they were a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2011 Good buy, but had to say good bye.
Review by
Buddy Lee from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two pairs of these to replace some old Kicker 5x7 in the doors of an Expedition, and the P1683 sounded very good, especially the highs from the dual tweeters. I was running them off of a Punch 400.4 but had to keep the gains turned all the way down as they were just too loud with the gains turned up at all. I pulled these out of my Expedition when I traded for an F-150 because I assumed they would fit the doors of the F-150 as did the vehicle guide on several websites, but no they were just a bit too large. So instead, I orded Polk Audio 5x7 for the F-150 and they sound excellent and fit in easily. I would say the P1683 have better "high"s than the Polk DB571, but the P1683 also have two tweeters vs only one in the Polk. But I would also say that the Polk DB571 have a better overall sound with more midbass and with the 400.4 running the Polk, I can get them as loud as I want with no distortion. I did have to turn up the gains on the amp about halfway to get the Polk speakers to perform at the level I want them at, but that's what gain levels are for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2011 best bang for your buck
Review by
john from Brooks, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are a great addition to any audio system you turn them up and you will be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 26, 2011 nothen better
Review by
loud ranger from Espanola, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these myself in my 2000 Ford Ranger (all four doors). WOW incredible performance definitely worth the cash for RF products. I would recommend these to anyone who wants good clean sound (who duzent?) I myself have a $1000 dollar + sound system with 2 12inch RF p2s and a Hifonics 2500w Mono D amp running 4 gauge wire at 4ohms and these are great for just that. Please keep in mind these are not intended to produce low bass they are only for mids and highs! and they do that well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2011 great speakers even better price
Review by
DW from Owensville, Mo.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers to replace the stock ones in my Ranger . They fit perfect and the sound will blow you away .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2011 Well made entry level amp
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
CharlesS from NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was installed with an OEM Ford CD6 to enhance the sound. It works flawlessly, has good quality sound, and was easy to set up. It has a good quality to it even though it is an entry level piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2011 Great sound!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Travis from Richmond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not much louder(off of head unit power) than the factory Ford premium speakers that my 1998 Ford Explorer was equipped with. However with an amp they would be very loud and the sound quality is perfect. Fills the entire vehicle with good sounding lows and very crisp mids and highs. No distortion at all. This is my fourth system and these are some of the best if not the best speakers I have owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2010 great speaker
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
O.D. from Lockport, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is deff a good speaker loud an clean. im currently powering it with only a headunit an it sounds great, would defiantly buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz