Showing 12 reviews for The InstallBay AK01

Customer Review Summary for The InstallBay AK01
Average Customer Rating is 4.1 out of 5 stars:
4.1
based on 57 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.4
Features
4.3
Design
4.3
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
April 26, 2013 Size
Review by
Larry from Frankston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The only down size to these is the fact that they are not 1/0 that they say they are but other than that everything is of good build. I also just have these running about 900-1000rms after I add one more amp then it will be up too 1200-1300rms. Going a little bit bigger than what you need is all ways a good idea sense it just allows the pwr move in an easier fashion I noticed the voltage meter on my truck to not pull as much when it was running proof enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2012 Not bad
Review by
Chad from Chandler, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its not the best but it does the job. I like it because of all the accessories it comes with not the quality of wire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2012 Conducts electricity
Review by
Josh from Bryan, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What can I say, it's wire. As everyone else is screaming, no, it's not a 0 gauge kit, its essentially an oversize 4 gauge kit that uses copper clad aluminum but for the price I couldn't find anything quite as good. The included hardware was all pretty nice too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2012 You get what you pay for
Review by
Eddie from Centertown, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The wires aren't as thick as they proclaimed, but they do their job well enough. I bought the kit due to the fused distribution block so I didn't have to run multiple power wires all the way to my battery. It's an adaquate kit at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2011 The InstallBay AK01
Review by
Ron from Lakewood, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The gauge is not a true 1/0. Although, it does have great insulation which looks like a 1/0 gauge. Works fine and does the job for pushing a 2000 W Mono Block and a 1600W AB Amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2011 ok
Review by
james from weyauwega, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this to upgrade my 4 gauge. It did the job even powered a 3200 watt amp no prob with 2 batts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2011 Not Bad, but not as advertised.
Review by
Totoro from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall, it's a good kit.

I have to mirror other comments about the wire gauge. It's not as advertised. I'm not running a monster system anyhow, will be about 600-800 w RMS so this should still do the job.

The remote wire is garbage, throw it away. The fuse blocks, and power distro's are what make this kit a gem. Those alone make this kit worth it.

I don't know about the 250 amp fuse though, that seems a bit overkill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2011 Nice budget kit
Review by
ray from west columbia, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price this kit is great. If I was doing show quality install and not hidden install I would have upgraded, but served its purpose for the power of my system. Highly recommend if using in covert install. Not too empressed with the in line 100watt fuse and holder but it's not terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2011 Surprised.
Review by
Dane from Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this thinking I would get a generic install kit. To my surprise it exceeded my expectations. Some people complain that the size of the wire in the kit is not correct. I measured the bare strand of both the 0 gauge and 4 gauge that came in the kit and they are to exact standard. The hardware is of medium quality. I would recomend this product. Definitely the best bang for tour buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2010 Good deal!!!
Review by
Cody from South dakota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This wire kit is a pretty good deal. The wire are not the actual size they say they are and the wire is not solid copper. For the price this is an excellent deal. The fuse holders and battery terminal are good quality. If you are not running high watts I would say get this wiring kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2010 Decent wire kit
Review by
Joseph from Niceville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I measured the wires and they may be a little bit smaller, so like a 1 and 5 gauge wiring. But they are within tolerance to call it 0 and 4 gauge. I didn't like anything else really. I bought other fuse holders and ring terminals cause nothing really fit well. All of the fuse holders are made pretty cheap. But for the price it isn't bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2010 yes sir
Review by
Meth from Newport News, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a good set for a the price that u get it for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz