Showing 8 reviews for Kenwood eXcelon XR-4S

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood eXcelon XR-4S
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 8 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
100%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.6
Features
4.9
Design
4.6
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 15, 2011 freakin awesome ! ! !
Review by
tommy from brooklyn new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is amazing. I have it hooked up to 4x 5-way kenwood 6x9's and you wouldn't believe the clarity, the base and the volume. This amp is 120 rms per channel and my speakers are 500 watt max 120 rms per speaker so it goes together perfect. I'm adding another kenwood amp and 2x 12's by kenwood. My deck is also kenwood. kenwood rocks! plus this amp is 1200 watts and its half the size of my freinds amp which is only 400 watts. Definately get this amp! You wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2011 XR-4S
Review by
DC from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is one word... AWESOME

I have this installed in my 05' Ford Explorer, under the front passenger seat. Currently I'm running 75w RMS Kenwood 5x7's in the doors, and they sound crystal clear turned up about 80% volume, when playing against my RE SXX sub powered by an XR-1S. Soon I will be installing 6.5" Hifonic's Zues Components that will be able to handle about 100W RMS, so I can't wait to see how well this amp will push these speakers @ optimal power range...

As I mentioned above, I was impressed enough with the XR-4S, that I ended up also buying a XR-1S to power my 1000W RMS 10" sub.

A friend of mine liked how clean, and clear my truck sounded, that he is in the process of building his stereo for his 06' F150. He ended up going with a XR-4S amp as well.


great design, price, and power !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2010 whoa its so tiny
Review by
mobile mechanic from Lahaina,HI.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this amp for its 4 channel highs,and if you listen to Alice in Chains you understand the importance of clarity and baby this is as good as it gets for now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2010 great 4 channel amp
Review by
cory from sioux falls, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I love this amp its small and packs a lot of power. The only problem I have with it is I find it hard to get the wires in the hole because they are set at an awkward angle. My amp is in a tight spot which makes it more difficult. But its a small thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2010 Very nice and compact amp!
Review by
Taimur from West Babylon, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Im using this with 4 Alpine TypeR speakers. Its nice and compact, and has a nice punch to the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2009 Amp for my scooter(harley)
Review by
nscaleking from Capitola Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far this amp has worked out literally better than expected! I made a bad 1st purchase, and the folks at Sonic suggested we try this unit, and it really rocks w/ the 6 speaker JBL setup. This has excellent sound , great low end lots of power and not a price that causes you to make payments to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2009 Good sound, convenient size
Review by
Brad from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this particular amplifier for it's size, which offered convenient installation in the boot of a Porsche 911. Instructions for installation are clear. I've had no issues at all with the amplifier. Sound quality is good and the amp has sufficient power for my use. It is essential to do the installation with automotive-grade RCA cables, or you'll be hearing electrical noise from components like the alternator and electric fuel pump. I recommend this product for situations where sound and size matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2009 This is a great little amp. Period.
Review by
Chris from Montclair, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great little amp. Period. It is well made, just as nice as the Alpine PDX, and the Pioneer Premier ICE, only this one is even more compact. Sound is extremely clear and spacious, whatever Kenwood did they did it right. The XR-4S does not sound like a class D amplifier at all; no audible distortion to speak of.

Things to like: nice feel, heavy, has a cooling fan, full range class D, simple and easy set up. Things to not like: crossover is not variable full range, it can either be set for highs (bi amp to tweeters) or lows (bi amp to woofers or tri amped to subwoofer), or off for full range sound. Would like a little more control here, but I have some flexiblity through the tuning capabilities of my Alpine head unit, so this is not a problem for me.

The amp has two side vents covered by silver grills for flow through ventilation, on the front side where the crossover and input controls are located is also where the fan is located. The unit runs very cool, so far I have really pushed the amp and have not see the fan kick on or the high temperature light come on.

I am using it to power two front Kenwood component 6 1/2 and two rear Blaupunkt component 6 1/2. I have a separate subwoofer and amp.

The amplifier is so small and compact it looks like a toy until you pick it up. It is supposed to weight seven pounds, it makes my old Hifonics 50 watts x 4 seem like a toy. But this Kenwood if good for 120 watts x 4.

This is in a Honda S2000 where space is at a premium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz