Showing 7 reviews for Coby CSMP80 (CS-MP80) 100-Watt High Performance 2.1 MP3 Speaker

Customer Review Summary for Coby CSMP80 (CS-MP80) 100-Watt High Performance 2.1 MP3 Speaker
Average Customer Rating is 4.0 out of 5 stars:
4.0
based on 7 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
29%
4 star:
.
.
43%
3 star:
.
.
29%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.3
Features
3.7
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
For the $ this is a good deal.

I have owned these speakers for about 4 months now, I am using them as tv entertainment speakers in my small apartment living room, they sound great while watching a Blu-ray movie, fills the room with all the sound I would need. I wish they had a wireless remote with volume up & down, this model has wired control like most PC speakers. Would be a great set for gamer or someone like myself who wants to have an inexpensive option to upgrade tv sound.

VS
worth the price!

Well, Cons: States it puts out 100 watts. I don't know exactly cause I have not used a meter to measure it. Sounds like half. Low in the midrange do to speaker size. Pros: It was well worth the price and loud and clear enough for a small room. Bottom line, if u want power. Go buy the Klipsch 2.1. It will cost u another $125 or so but has a real 200 watt sound. I have it on my computer and the coby in da rest room for my mp3.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 13, 2013 For the $ this is a good deal.
Review by
kevin from Kirkland, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned these speakers for about 4 months now, I am using them as tv entertainment speakers in my small apartment living room, they sound great while watching a Blu-ray movie, fills the room with all the sound I would need. I wish they had a wireless remote with volume up & down, this model has wired control like most PC speakers. Would be a great set for gamer or someone like myself who wants to have an inexpensive option to upgrade tv sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 The best for the money at any level of audio
Review by
DoubleDoug from North Hollywood, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm a pro recording engineer with a number of hits and award winning recordings to my credit. Know that the COBY CSMP80s, when properly placed and set up (the bass control is critical), are good enough for me to use as my main mix speakers!!! At a little over $30, that is phenomenal. I would not have believed it until I heard it. My go-to speakers are JBL LSR28Ps, which are highly accurate. The Coby's are not quite as good, but again, I could mix acceptably on them. The bottom end goes down to 50Hz if they're set up well and not too far from a wall. I've had no trouble with mine since I bought them a year ago. Buy 'em, and smile. I've bought ten sets and have given them to musicians and engineers who needed a second set of mix speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 Terrific for the money!
Review by
Ash from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the money, this is the best speaker set in the world. It seems impossible to have gotten so good and balanced a sound at the oh, so low price. I know a top record engineer/mixer who checks his mixes on them. He praises them for the solid bass and overall balance of frequencies. The sub-woofer does not have to be turned up much beyond one third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2010 worth the price!
Review by
Scubaman from Stockton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well,

Cons: States it puts out 100 watts. I don't know exactly cause I have not used a meter to measure it. Sounds like half.
Low in the midrange do to speaker size.

Pros: It was well worth the price and loud and clear enough for a small room.

Bottom line, if u want power. Go buy the Klipsch 2.1. It will cost u another $125 or so but has a real 200 watt sound. I have it on my computer and the coby in da rest room for my mp3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2010 review
Review by
CSV from Fresno,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Coby csmp-80 is a very good stereo/speaker system. The Coby csmp-80 has a well structured box for the subwoofer, and 2 towers for the speakers. The subwoofer is the best for something this small. it has a very good bass response, it plays low notes very well, and high notes are not to bad. The knobs on the back of the subwoofer box are easy to use but sometimes they are hard to find if you are not looking but soon you will get used to were they are. Overall this speaker system is awesome if you want some thing for your computer or just to listen to something I would recommend this speaker system. hope this helped :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2010 Great speakers, dont be discouraged!
Review by
Anon from Riverside, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are an amazing value.. Coby is a pretty cheap brand but this is one product they did rite! I have 10+ years of dealing with audio equipment.. and these speakers are still surprising the VALUE they have.

Pros:
Great sub, good CLEAN bass.
Decently loud.
Good speakers, they seem to pair decently nice with the woofer.

Cons:
Lacking a little in the mids, but if your no audiophile, you'll be just fine!
Certain high frequencies in the satellites will distort at high volumes.

For the money this speaker set is awesome, yea you could spend 4x as much for something bigger and better, but if all you need is a nice little 2.1 system to listen to some music and watch the occasional movies, these will do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2010 good for the price
Review by
jose from north charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it is good for the price i use it to hook my mp3 player up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz