Showing 9 reviews for Infinity Reference 1260W

Customer Review Summary for Infinity Reference 1260W
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 37 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
68%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
3%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.8
Features
4.3
Design
4.4
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
May 13, 2014 Pretty good, espcially for the price.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brandon from Hays, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Picked up this sub for $60 off here and tossed it in a sealed enclosure built to specs to get me by. I have it being fed rated power, well, set my gain for 34.6VAC with a -3dB test tone. After that, I played the sub at low volume levels for a couple weeks, probably around 15Hrs. After that, I dialed up the sub volume. Single sub fills in the lows fairly well and sounds clean when not pushed hard. On some of my more bass heavy music and when volume levels reach the levels used when setting the gain, the sub's sound seems to get colored to some extent. It's by no means an SPL sub and it shows, but it for low to moderate levels, it does do quite well.

Initial plan was to install the sub in a JL HO enclosure, as it may be better suited for ported applications, but it really wasn't the sub I wanted to use for such. I bought it for that though and changed my mind last minute. I would like to believe the sub would perform better still in a proper ported enclosure, but I'll likely never know.

I'm probably going to be switching to a SQ HDS300 as I initially planned, now that they are back in stock.

Still, this Infinity was worth the price IMO, just not all I was looking for from a sub.

As for ratings, I'll give it a 4 overall. For value, it's difficult to beat, IMO. Aesthetics could use a little work perhaps, but looks mean little, I don't believe many watch their subs play after all. I've owned Infinity in the past and have good longevity from their products, if treated properly, I would like to believe same could be said of this product. Features? Well it's sub, so lets see. Polypropylene cone with a rubber surround. Not bad I guess. Included foam gasket, nice addition. 13mm Xmax, not too impressive by any means. SVC 4 ohm, easy to wire up. So, features are average. Ease of use, the terminals could have been better, but it's easy enough to wire up and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2014 Knocks
Review by
Devin from Valdosta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I only have one of these in as of now but will be getting another one. Knocks hard just for one sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2013 These bad boys slam.
Review by
Boomstang99 from Salem, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wrote a review before on these subwoofers back when i had a junkie power acoustic amp. I now have a hifonics 1000w gladiator amp and these puppies slam in my mustang. i have 2 12s in a small dual ported box and these things are boomy. I've broken my rear view mirror off with these bad boys. I barely can turn my volume past 25 without it destroying my car and the value goes up to 50! people always know when i arrive at there house. I love it lol i do however want to try a sealed box out and see how they sound. I highy recommand these subwoofers, for the price you can't find a better deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2012 Infinity reference
Review by
Aaron from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the sub for about 6 months before the terminal went bad and quit working. It sounded great, and I think I just got bad luck. Overall its a good product but be cautious of casualties while purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 Great subs with a flaw
Review by
Rob from Kona, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had these for 5 years slammin hard till the cone separated from the surround. Could have been my fault but still it is a weakness. I was able to fix it with super glue and silicone but still it is a design flaw because the contact area between the cone and surround is so small. The plus one cone design has pros and cons. They do sound great and hit lows when properly powered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2011 good!
Review by
Edward from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this as a package here and it bumps good,
The package came with a sealed box and an amp kit.
Most sounds bass good with deep bass, but there's some sounds that sound like poop, maybe a ported box will be better who knows?

Overall I still enjoy it and its worth the try.
I have the sub facing the back seat for inner bass,
2004 Honda Accord four door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2010 great sounding subs
Review by
JOEY from ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these subs in a 2008 Jeep Liberty. The small sealed enclosure works just fine for these subs. I was impressed with the power handling for a long excursion woofer. For the price cant be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2012 Bang for your buck
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MustangMan from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these hooked up in my mustang to a 1800/2 power Acoustik amp bridge pushing 760rms combined. But the amp is c!@p and Im not getting 760rms out of it. Both are in a small ported box about 1.44 per chamber way below recommend ported box size but they still slam pretty hard. Still messing with settings on hu but it gets pretty loud. My mirrors shake like crazy on 20/50 volume level. overall for a first sub setup its pretty good. I recommend this product if your on a budget or just want some thump. I might build a custom sealed box and see how they sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2010 Great Buy
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Peter from Rumford, ME
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had two of these hooked up and then I read reviews on the kenwood KFC-3012 and by far I like the Kenwoods way more. Plus right now you can get two kenwoods for 120.00 shipped great value and you will not be disappointed by the quality or sound. Just make sure you have a powerful enough amp to push them. I have a power acoustics 2400 watt mono block class d pushing them and they sound absolutely awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz