Showing 13 reviews for JL Audio TR650-CXi

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio TR650-CXi
Average Customer Rating is 4.1 out of 5 stars:
4.1
based on 13 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
54%
4 star:
.
.
15%
3 star:
.
.
15%
2 star:
.
.
15%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.0
Features
4.3
Design
4.5
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Great choice

These subs sound awesome in my truck. Best subs you can buy for the money.

VS
JL Audio TR650-CXI

I am a fussy listener and would not recommend this set. This is claimed to be a 2-way speaker but the woofer barely puts out any sound. At first I thought I had reveresed the polarity in the wiring, and I tried powering them with an amp, but nothing seems to resolve the issue. They do provide detailed sound, but if you do plan to go ahead with these speakers, I would recommend considering these only as a pair of tweetesr, and get a dedicated subwoofer for bass duties.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 27, 2012 Great choice
Review by
nick from TIllamook
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs sound awesome in my truck. Best subs you can buy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2012 great sound
Review by
jesse from columbus ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its the best brand to have and they sounds so clear! Recommend them to any music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2012 JL Audio TR650-CXI
Review by
Kevin from Markham, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a fussy listener and would not recommend this set. This is claimed to be a 2-way speaker but the woofer barely puts out any sound. At first I thought I had reveresed the polarity in the wiring, and I tried powering them with an amp, but nothing seems to resolve the issue. They do provide detailed sound, but if you do plan to go ahead with these speakers, I would recommend considering these only as a pair of tweetesr, and get a dedicated subwoofer for bass duties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2012 Great Speaker.
Review by
Cooper from Melbourne,Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers over a year ago to replace some very worn and abused factory speakers in a Saturn. They are great speakers. with just 6-1/2s in all locations(4) i had more bass then anyone would really want in a small car like that. I ran them off 3 different Pioneer headunits. Finally settling on a deh-6300ub (awesome unit). I eventually sold my sub and amp and just rocked these. Rock, Rap, Dubstep whatever these things killed it. Just sold my car, im sure the new owner will love them as much as i did. Probably going to have to replace the very worn and abused factory speakers that are in my new car as well..... hello JL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 Nice speakers
Review by
Buc Nasty from Detroit
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Entry JL is better than most mid level speakers from other speaker manufacturers. I had 4 of these in my jeep and they sounded very nice. Modestly amped and they sounded great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Good products pay off
Review by
DJ Cadillac Bob from Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my 3rd set. I run them on JL amps for the best SQ. Think I'm happy look in the forums video contest 2010. Caddy EXT Dj Cadillac Bob. Just an example. I turned on my caddys system and shut the DJ equipment down at a carshow and the guy who brought the gen to run the carshow equipment asked if i was done with the power. HAHA I had already broke done the dj gear he was hearing my truck loud and clear across a very large parking lot. JL strikes again. If you got the extra coin flip it. You're going to get a good product from JL everytime. Thanks Sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2011 good speaker
Review by
db from melbourne.fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these from a local dealer for a really really good price. I needed to replace the stock speakers in my saturn so these we goin to be much better anyway. Well I started with the doors and I was impressed. A week later got another pair for the rear, and man does it sound good. I have an older Pioneer deck, with hpf, although they sound good with it on, I believe they sound much better with it off. at high volume with the hpf they tend to be a little bright for me. but with it on the bass and highs sound perfect. jammin out in my car never sounded so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2010 JL TR650-CXi Review
Review by
Az from London, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have upgraded my stock RAV4 front speakers with these TR650-CXi. What a difference they made. A more rounded sound with the highs very clear and the bass, absolutley sublime. I was thinking about putting a sub or an amp, but honestly the speakers on their own are fine. All I would need to do is upgrade the rears now. The bass is soo powerful and rich I could turn it down on the HU.

Pros: Great value and really improved my system, even at low volume the bass is still present and of great quality. Wish I had gone for the JL C2s now.

Cons
Wish they had Silk Tweeter Domes like the JL C2s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2010 Need a amplifier!!!!!!!!
Review by
Cmung from Churchville, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned 4 of these for around 4 years and am not as satisfied as most people that reviewed these!! First off these speakers need a 4 channel amp regardless of what your head unit is pushing. For 3 years i ran these without one. They do sound very crisp on the highs , but as for any bass/lows at all, there is none!! NONE at all!!! I am running these on a Kenwood KVT-717DVD head unit which is 50wattsx4. No bass at all out of these. I never really was concerned about it till i blew my Kenwwod 10" sub. I was not expecting anything great bass wise out of them but no bass at all, COME ON!!! I bought a 4channel jl amp (for way to much mind you) that is 400wattsx4 and now I am pleased. They sound amazing with a little juice running to them!! I also replaced my sub with a 10" Eclipse recently, WOW. I love Eclipse Audio f'ing slams. Have to turn off the bass somtimes cause I cant see straight!

I love JL Audio dont get me wrong but if my expieriences can help someone before they make this purchase then I will be as honest as possible. They are good speakers just get a freaking amp or you may be dissapointed like i was!! By the way these are at a very resonable price considering I paid 400+ for 4, 4 years ago,LOL!!!

If you just want a good sounding set of speakers you dont have to get an amp for then thesae are not them. Go cheaper and you will be more satisfied for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2010 Good sound, but questionable power handling
Review by
Andrew from East Lansing, Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use these for the rear deck in my GTO, they fit well and the highs are very crisp and detailed. They are powered by a Clarion Dux385sat head unit, which supplies them with 20Watts RMS, which is well below the advertised power handling. The headunits volume goes to somewhere in the 30s, but anywhere above 24 these speakers break up and distort. I am certain its not the head unit because I've cranked other speakers with it and it sounded fine. A High pass filter at 200 Hz helped, but I still will replace these when I have some money to spend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2010 Average Speakers
Review by
Bob from Sugar Land, Tx.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are average......rattle a bit with the bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2010 Excellent Sound
Review by
Ken from Stem, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was time to replace the worn out front speakers in my 2001 Silverado. This truck came factory with components in the front but I did not want the expense or complications inherent in installing new components. These speakers went in perfectly without adapters and the sound is amazing. I run a 10" sub in a sealed box under the rear seat so bass not my concern. Chrystal clear sound and plenty loud even with just running them off my Pioneer DEH-7400-MP deck. I am sure you could amp these for more volume but that would be completely unnecessary. Had to play with the sound setting and EQ on the deck to get better sound but all in all very simple set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2009 JL Audio TR650-CXi review
Review by
Robert from Copperas Cove, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very rich sound and brings out the high and lows. The cabin of my Mercedes Benz comes alive with lively sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz