Showing 14 reviews for Polk Audio db1222

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db1222
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 14 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
86%
4 star:
.
.
7%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.6
Design
4.9
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 16, 2011 WOW
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
rakim198200 from Boston,MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let me start by saying WOW!!! This is my 2nd enclosure ive ever had in my life and I am blown away. I did have a problem after I connected these the first night and tested them with my previous piece of crap Visonik amp. I smelled burning wires, and nothing was coming from the subs. A few days later I got a new amp (Hifonics Hif1000) and rewired all the wiring inside the Polk box. After that I had the amp all tuned up and let me tell you I was skeptical at first but this thing slams! My 1000W RMS amp powers these things so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2013 THESE SPEAKERS ARE NUTS!!!!
Review by
kicker179a from Denton, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I understand all of you putting this box in small cars. I put mine in a 1988 GMC jimmy full size 4x4. let me tell you this, they cracked my windshield twice!!! put a crack in my fiberglass top as well. I have a Pioneer head unti putting out 50w per channel with a separate bass channel. I'm running 4 polk 6x9 speakers (2 in the doors and 2 in the back 350w each) kicker 350.4 amp and a kicker 600.1 amp for the subs. Not joking when I say with my windows down you can hear the bass hits at a mile. This box is INSANE. It can handle 720 watts all the time with a high of 1440 watts. currently I have placed the system in a 2007 suzuki forenza and you can not sit in the car with the stereo over half way up without earplugs. all i can say is buy this box and ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2013 looks good performs so so
Review by
nick from san jose ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have gone through three sets of these using a 1000.1 kicker amp turned up about a third of the way they pound hard for about 10-30 minutes then they smoke so if your looking for more than mild listening i would not recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2013 Incredible
Review by
Steve-O from Clayton, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I first bought this loaded enclosure for my 300zx because after infinite hours of research I found it to be the only dual 12" enclosure that would physically fit in the 2 seater hatchback. Even then I had to have them facing forwards (facing towards the rear of the vehicle is more acoustically sound). I had them paired up to a cheap SSL amp which did alright for a short while, but I moved up to a Hifonics Gladiator GLX1000.1d.
This Gladiator amp pushes the subs with 750w RMS at 2 ohms, which is 30w higher than "recommended," though the manufacturer says they can take up to 1000w RMS. I have the level at 1/4 (just under 9v since my EQ is pushing 8v), bass boost all the way, subsonic at 15, low-pass at 180.
In my Nissan these subs would shake the hatchback door enough to make me want to turn it down before the hinges snap off. They rendered the rearview mirror useless. With windows up you can expect a headache. One time I pulled up to a convenience store bumping rather loud; my boy was still in the car so I left the music on. When I walk in they have one of those quarter-pushing gambling games, and my subs set off the shock sensor in the machine. The low sub-30hz frequencies somewhat let me down at first, but I came to find out it was just something about the Nissan that doesn't really impress.
I got rid of the 300zx and this same system is now in my Dodge Stratus coupe. In this car, with the subs in the front of the trunk facing backwards and the rear seats down, I have absolutely no complaints. They pick up every note in Bass, I Love You (and in fact have shaken my mirror off of the windshield a few times now, though our Stratus mirrors are notoriously sketchy).
Anyway, if you're looking for a decently priced, relatively compact system with plenty of power throughout the frequency range, look no further. This box is perfect for a first system (subs are prewired inside, just hook up the + and - then you're good to go) or a great upgrade from a cheap Pep Boys system. I strongly recommend the Hifonics GLX1000.1d with these subs because the power matches perfectly and the amp has every feature you could possibly want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 wow
Review by
James from Riverview Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs hit ridiculously hard! i ride with my bass on negative 5 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 Straight Off The Hook
Review by
Icy Rhoades from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this enclosure from Sonic Electronix a couple of weeks ago. I installed the Polk db1222 enclosure in a 2001 Hyundai Accent, with a Sony DSX-S300BTX head unit, 6 1/2 components up front, 6x9 in the rear. Powered by a Rockford Fosgate Prime R300-4 for the mids and highs. A Prime R500-1 powering the the Polks. With a quarter turn on the gain and bass boost these subs are attacking me with some serious authority. 3 quarter turns on the R300-4 has my Sony's screaming with extreme clarity. The volume on the head unit is at 18 and is more than enough for the average person. After these subs have been broken in' i'll try another quarter turn on the R500-1, but they sound great just as they are now. I Recommend the Polk db1222 enclosure to any one looking for low end punch with clarity and depth for a reasonable price. The craftsmanship is great. Theses subs do get extremely LOUD. The to Sony, Polk Audio, and Rockford Fosgate i'm a very satisfied owner of these particular products. Thanks to Sonic Electronix I could afford them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2012 Best Bang! 4your Buck !
Review by
Frankie from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nicely built. Rich deep bass and great price. Thanks to Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 LOUD
Review by
ACE from Mount Morris Il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things are INSANE. I hooked them to a 1800 watt kenwood amp and let me tell you if you have your stereo over 20 volume you better wear ear plugs because these things are amazing. WARNING: these will destroy your rear view mirror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 Amazing!!
Review by
Jay Sam from Hesperia Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is awesome!! Ive owned it for a couple of months and it hits hard! Recommend buying it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2011 Best Buy
Review by
Mike Meezy from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
By far the best subs I have ever had. They come prewired so they run at 2 ohms which gets more Power from your amp. I'm running a Rockford Fosgate 400.1 I don't need any thing more than that. Always turning heads and setting off alarms. I drive a coupe and I get a massage every time I drive. Read over 100 reviews all positive. Buying a second set for my SUV!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2011 AMAZING SUB
Review by
coe from lanham, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the amazing subs on the market.I used to have on but someone stole it. Very powerful sub. No noise distortion. Clear bass. Need a very good amp to get the most out of it. heads will turn when you pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2011 Great for first time owners
Review by
leetscooby from Billings MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are my very first pair of subwoofers. I mainly bought these because they came with a box and where already assembled. All I had to do was hook in two wires. I've got to say, for the price I LOVE these. I've already blown a Sony amp. Moved on to Rockford amps. I would buy another pair but I don't have any room D':
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2010 Great value
Review by
Luis from las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They sound great and are easy to instal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2010 great sound for a real low price
Review by
jack from ashtabua Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this box in my Chevy tracker, and all i can say is wow , for this amount of money you would expect to get jensen or lanzar or some other junk.. This sounds great and hits clean. Doesn't matter what kind of music you listen too this will defiantly help the sound. Im running a 1300 watt mtx thunder amp and no problems at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz