Showing 8 reviews for Kicker 09QS65.2 (QS65.2)

Customer Review Summary for Kicker 09QS65.2 (QS65.2)
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 8 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
88%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.4
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 23, 2014 The brightest highs you've heard
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Installation Guy from Mosinee, Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are monsters. The midbass/bass from them when driven with the proper power is phenominal, very deep and clear. Don't even think of getting this set unless you plan to feed it 100wrms or more to take full advantage of it's capabilities. The build quality is great, and the spring loaded terminals on the midbass drivers are handy.
The crossovers, like everyone said, are gorgeous as well. They have dual inputs for tweeter and mids, so that means you can bi-amp them!! (and I recommend it!) That gives you separate controls of your highs and lows while tuning, and you'll need it because..
Let's talk about these tweeters. They are going to be love it or hate it for most. If you want the highest and brightest highs you've heard, these are the speakers for you. The tweeters are harsh to a fault, and without a way to calm them down (even with the 0dB bar in the crossover) they hurt. That being said, they're also extremely accurate and through the full spectrum of 50hz on up you won't miss a note. You'll want a source unit and music recordings of the highest quality to really enjoy the full package.
Take some measurements and be ready for just how deep the mids are on these, and the tweeter size isn't tiny either. They're going to need a bit of room to fit properly.
The only, only thing I would fault them for is that without the proper measures to tame the tweeters they may be overwhelming to some. A -3dB bar in the crossover design might've helped if they had built them that way, but that's neither here nor there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2013 Great Component Set
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
J from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have purchased a few different component sets on recommendations from others and was never truly satisfied. I have tried Infinity Kappa, Kappa Perfect, Image Dynamics CTX-6.5, and an entry level Kenwood set. They were all good in their own ways but I knew I wanted something more. When I looked around for reviews on these, the users always seemed impressed but others gave Kicker no credit.

After finally getting these in (yes, my door holes needed to be widened and custom spacers were built at a local shop) they are my favorite set and I don't feel like I can ask for any more. For once, I have some tight bass in the front doors and the tweeters are clear without any harshness. I am running them off the front channels of an older fosgate 4 channel with about 90w rms and they will get plenty loud for me with no distortion. I have the tweeters set on 0 db and the front crossed at 40hz.

With rumors that Kicker was not so great anymore and that they wouldn't have great Sound Quality I was worried about the lack of clarity from the mids and a possibly harshness from the non-silk tweeter. After using these speakers for about 6 months those doubts have been put to rest and I would recommend Kicker and this set to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2014 great value
Review by
krikour from rochelle park, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sound rich and clear ,nice mid bass. handle the power as shoud be! large crossovers to install ! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2012 KICKER QS65.2
Review by
Junior from Hollywood, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great pair of speakers!! Just looking at the magnet alone n the woofer cone you can tell they are quality speakers. The sound is crisp. All highs and mids are sweet to the ear. To really appreciate them you must have a quality amp so please if you spend money on a pair of these do it some justice and purchase a quality amp if not then you are wasting your time. The only issue is that they are not made to fit every vehicle. I have an 03 Tacoma and had to do some alterations to make them fit both on the tweeter and woofer but it was well worth it. If you want quality sound then please purchase these speakers as you will not be dissapointed! THEY ROCK !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2012 Beautiful
Review by
Royalnut from Albuquerqe, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My background: Rouge Car Audio Installer, I've installed 5 complete systems as well as many other headunits and speakers. Always for friends and I always get to play with their systems. I love my Kicker sub and ZX amp. Whether good practice or not, I specifically purchased the Kicker ZX650.4 amp because it matched visually with my ZX750.1 sub amp. But I had no reservations about going to another brand for my component sets, I want the best sound. I've been shopping and researching for about 6 months. I didn't really consider the Kicker speakers at their typical $550 asking price even online, but one day SonicElectronix had these on sale. I then used the "Make An Offer" button to get em for a good price per pair. I bought 2 pairs.

My Set-Up:
Headunit: Pioneer DEH-5100
Sub: Kicker 12" L7 DVC wired to 2 ohm
Amp (Sub): Kicker 10ZX750.1 - 750W @ 2 ohm
Amp (Speakers): Kicker 11ZX650.4 - 120W @ 4 ohm (160W @ 2 ohm)
Speakers: THESE!
All Kicker power wires, speaker wires, RCAs. (They make some of the best cables)

Specifics:
Tweeter: At slightly less than 2 in, mounting can take a little thinking, but it's worth it! These Teteron dome tweeters are by far the best I've ever heard. Teteron - A synthetic material that is specifically designed to be lightweight and extreamley stiff. This allows the tweeters to sound precise at every volume level with no distortion or "ringing". A metal dome tweeter inherently wants to resonate similar to a bell, causing an inaccurate reproduction of sound. Compared to the silk dome tweeters I've heard, the Kicker tweets are much more pronounced. The tweeters are passivley crossed over at 2.8kHz which is lower than most systems I've looked at, but allows the larger tweeter to play lower frequencies. I've noticed that this lower cross point helps with vocals the most. Most speaker crossovers are crossed about 4kHz, which forces vocals through both the tweeter and the woofer. Lyrics come out so clear that everyone I show off to instantly comments on how easily they can hear the singer. THE TWEETER IS WHAT SEPARATES THESE SPEKAERS FROM THE OTHER SETS.
Tweeter performance: 5/5

Crossovers: One word, HUGE! They are not going to install in a car door and under the dash may wasn't posssible for me. The crossovers look outstanding and I decided to mount on my back seat to show off when I open my trunk. No reason to hide these. They have nice options of tweeter levels but I found the lowest, +0, to be plenty. I am going to bi-amp these speakers very soon. Passive crossovers are the worst option for good sound, you can find a ton of reading about it online.

Woofers: They can take tons of power, I have the high passed at 50Hz and they can take a beating. From the gnarley bass kicks of electronic music, to a Sublime bassline, these can handle it all without any distortion. But that isn't to say these woofers are any better than a similarly priced/ power rated set. From all the speakers I've heard, these fall right into their price bracket, nothing mind blowing, but well worth it. DO NOT buy this set for the woofers, although great, the tweeters are the star of the show.

Overall: Great buy, no regrets and happy as can be! PLEASE BUY THESE SPEAKERS! Size of woofer and tweeter make install tricky for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2011 Crisp sound quality
Review by
Cody from Taftville, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound amazing! (Iv got them running of a vibe litebox 4) When I put the top down they still are able to completely surround you with every note in the song. They have good lows but a sub is needed if you like true bass. My only drawback with them is they are alittle quiet but it's a small set back for their peerless quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2011 nice sounding
Review by
john from werribee, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice sounding speaker, but also very quite speakers,
I'm running 75Wrms in each and they are far to quite for my liking, In my opinion they need 100-125wrms ea to make them come even close to keeping with the Kicker sub's in volume
Over all they are a very clean and nice sounding speaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2010 Simply Beautiful
Review by
JR from Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
well, before i even put these into my car I was stunned by how well built these are. The mid bass drivers are heavy and sturdy, the cross overs are gorgeous. I changed my install idea when I saw them so that they would be exposed and shown off! ;) but it was when I got everything hooked up running off my new Vibe Litebox4 amp that I was really blown away. loud, clear, detailed... the soundstage is near perfection and you can hear every little tiny bit of detail in the song. simply an amazing pair of speakers. A MUST buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz