Showing 23 reviews for ScyTek G20

Customer Review Summary for ScyTek G20
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
65%
4 star:
.
.
30%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.9
Features
4.2
Design
4.6
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Great Product for Great Price

Cheap enough but very effective. I installed it myself and works well. I'm just disappointed in their installation instructions. It's not detailed enough. I had to search through the internet and watch YouTube videos to see how it is installed. The siren that it comes with is not very loud, but there is another wire that can be connected to the horn and this makes it really loud (as it uses the car's horn). The blue LED indicator light is so bright I can see it from far away.

VS
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

I have had this alarm 2 days and already the alarm horn doesn't work correctly. I press the unlock or lock button, even though the alarm goes off there is no sound. Lights flash but no sound. When it does sound, it's real low. If the volume should be on 100% its on 8%, which is no use. Some one could rob the car with the alarm going off and i wouldn't even hear it. All it does is lock and unlock my doors. For that i could have saved my money and just used my key. But it seems to work for other people so try it for your self if you have $35 to burn. Keep in mind you get what you pay for.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 6, 2013 Great Product for Great Price
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dennis from Budapest, Hungary
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cheap enough but very effective. I installed it myself and works well. I'm just disappointed in their installation instructions. It's not detailed enough. I had to search through the internet and watch YouTube videos to see how it is installed.
The siren that it comes with is not very loud, but there is another wire that can be connected to the horn and this makes it really loud (as it uses the car's horn). The blue LED indicator light is so bright I can see it from far away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2012 i like it
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
westniles from oakley, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got this alarm on my 95 Civic EX coupe. I like the classic chirp noise when arming and disarming, and it has nice remotes made with a metal frame. The super bright blue interior led is menacing and flashes very noticeably, will keep the punks away. Shock sensor works well. I'm happy with it, keyless entry is a nice plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 Great alarm for the price
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ben L. from Oakley, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The G20 is a very good alarm for a very reasonable price. Though installing it took about 6 hours for me, it was all worth it. With this alarm I am able to arm my car, and lock and unlock the doors. It has 2 alarm modes the first being a warning, if it senses a light tap or vibration. Sometimes my car does not register the vibrations. The second is the full alarm that lasts about 45 seconds. I was able to hook this up to my horn and parking lights and it is very loud and attention catching. This alarm also hooks up to the ignition which automatically locks the doors when started and unlocks the doors when off. The LED for the alarm is a bright blue that is very noticeable to scare off any thieves. Overall a very good alarm that I would defiantly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2010 VERY awesome alarm! ScyTek rocks!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Shawn B. from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my FOURTH ScyTek alarm and I love them! Before I got the G20 I was ready to order a different model but called ScyTek to see if the plugs would interchange but was told no. But he advised me that the G20 was a better alarm than than the one I was looking at. He was right! This has been 100% trouble free! Amazingly, the remote works from almost a city block away! I've become a loyal ScyTek fan and will always highly recommend them. I have a 3-way splitter on mine, so I can plug 3 sensors to 1 plug, and have shock sensor, glass sensor, and proximity sensor. I did, however, purchase a louder aftermarket siren. I love all the features you can turn off or on or change. Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2010 have installed these on a few cars and they are reliable
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Devin from Knoxville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have installed these on many cars in the past and they are very reliable and will survive through the most coldest weather and will still work and arm your car no matter what
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 ScyTek G20
Review by
AMELANIO from GOODYEAR, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a product that I have never had before, but with the easy to follow instruction I was able to connect it to my car in a fast paste. Nd I really enjoy and will recommend anyone to purchase this item...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2013 Good Product
Review by
Juan from SANTA PAULA, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The install instructions are vague but has the information required. The only problems and things I do not like is the range and sometimes it locks the car when I press the unlock button on the fob. Other than that it is a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2013 "Fitting the Bill"
Review by
Barnacle-Bill from Springfield, OR.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product was ordered and arrived in a very timely manner in good shape. However, one of the "fob-remote" controllers did not work.
I had no knowledge of this until I completed the installation. Now I need to know how to replace/repair said item. The instructions were a bit vague for a novice.... but adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2012 excellent product
Review by
kLiFF from san diego, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this alarm system for the used car that i purchased. Installation sheets were simple. The only problem i had was the range and the loudness of the horn. Product could use a louder horn. But then again i might just be comparing it to my blackwidow z5 alarm. Overall great alarm for the price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 Easy install
Review by
Shurcahai from Little Rock, Arkansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy install. Appears to work. I like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2012 Just a great alarm system!
Review by
Cesar from Seattle, wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great alarm for a great price! it has worked great in my car! love it love it love it. I can now rest assured that my car is being looked after when i'm not there. I really appreciate the ability to open my trunk with the push of a button (i had to buy a universal trunk release from ebay, great deal too) and this was all installed by a pro in less than 30 mins! i'm a happy camper =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2012 I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
Review by
DEVON from FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this alarm 2 days and already the alarm horn doesn't work correctly. I press the unlock or lock button, even though the alarm goes off there is no sound. Lights flash but no sound. When it does sound, it's real low. If the volume should be on 100% its on 8%, which is no use. Some one could rob the car with the alarm going off and i wouldn't even hear it. All it does is lock and unlock my doors. For that i could have saved my money and just used my key.

But it seems to work for other people so try it for your self if you have $35 to burn. Keep in mind you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2011 Excellent value
Review by
Steve from Detroit Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this alarm 6 months ago and have been impressed with its functionability. I especially like the small key fobs. If you want a good alarm at a great price buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 Works like a dream
Review by
Austin from Bartlesville, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If installed correctly, this system can give you all the security you will ever need. Adjustable sensitivity makes it possible for you to ward people off or keep silent waiting for someone to come. Definitely worth the value of the model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 GOOD ALARM
Review by
Wyatt from Livermore, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was a good alarm for the money, does what it says it does, and for a good price. There is no need to buy a $200 viper alarm when you can just get this that does the same thing, the instructions are not good, and give you no directions, but once you figure it out, it all works out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2011 Great overall value
Review by
Steve from Spokane, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased the Scy tek G20 from reading the reviews on this site. What a great deal, and free shipping. First time installing a car alarm (I do a lot of wiring at my job) in no hurry it took approx. 4 hrs. Works like a dream! I only had to buy an additional $17.00 worth of connectors and a spdt relay for the starter kill. Keyless entry, parking light flash, starter kill, dual zone impact and all trigger switches work perfectly. Also I love the bright blue led flashing in my car. I have and will continue to recommend sonix and scytek. I like all the options and no false alarms yet. I installed unit the day after I received it, has been installed for about a week now. Again, great deal, quicker than quoted free shipping, Sonix advice and support... How can you go wrong? Siren is a little quiet but in the setup menu you can switch to your factory horn or upgrade to a bigger siren. No big deal there. Thanks again Sonic Electronix look forward to doing more business with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2011 Scytek G20
Review by
Billo from Olympia,Washington.I
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased a Toyota corolla 2010 a few months ago which came equipped with the Scytek G 20. This is a great product at a very reasonable price. So much so that I ordered another for installation on another family car. The G20 works well, easy to install, and I not only like it, but my friends are impressed with it. Great job guys!! I would not hessitate to recommend this product and the company (Sonic Electronics) I bought it from. They processed my order fast and efficiently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2011 Best deal yet.
Review by
Pedro from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This alarm system was a real value for the price. The electrical digram was a little vague and left you guessing. The system works great on my Ford w/o any added relays for the door locks. The arming instruction are very clear. The siren is small but loud enough to discourage intruders. The motion sensor is great and can be bypassed by remote. Good Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2011 great price
Review by
will from nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great cheap alarm for any car it does what say it does I like it and if you looking for a good cheap alarm this is it ....and the reason i bought it was because i found the same one for $250 at, a local alarm shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2010 My 3rd ScyTek alarm and NOT my last!
Review by
Shawn from Tacoma, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The G20 was actually suggested to me right from the Customer Support folks at ScyTek! I was going to buy another model number and called to ask it if would be a direct plug to all my current wiring. They said no. But it was still a simple install because ALL the wire colors and codes were the same. A simple cut & connect was all it took. I love the G20 and would never hesitate to buy another one for my next car! VERY easy to install (if you know what you're doing). Super bright LED that can be seen for blocks! Remotes work from almost a block away! This is the nicest alarm I have purchased in MANY YEARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2010 cheapest i can find...
Review by
Arnold from Norwalk, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got it pro installed on my explorer... the shock sensor is very good, lets me know whose trying to break into it. Its set on some-what sensitive... which is ok to me because allot of kids live around me and id like to know if they're trying to do something to it. The remote is pretty simple, 1 button to lock, a separate one to unlock. I haven't had it long to say how long they last but so far I'm happy, mainly for its value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2012 cheap but decent alarm
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kris from Fresno, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall its a great alarm. Shipping was very fast and was really easy to instal with simple electrical knowledge. Alarm could have been louder and the remotes themselves were a bit cheap. But it did its job very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2012 Great value
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Glenn from Wylie tex
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good deal. Order process went well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz