Showing 17 reviews for Rockford Fosgate Power T1682

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate Power T1682
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
47%
4 star:
.
.
41%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
12%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.2
Features
4.1
Design
4.4
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
2003 Expedition

These speakers DO NOT fit a 2003 expedition without modifying the door panel cut outs. It says in the description they fit the front and back doors but I just installed 4 of them and had to make cut outs in the doors to except the weird flange on 2 of the mounting holes on each speaker. It was not fun. ALSO ! the front speaker cut outs in the doors are not deep enough. The existing space is 2 1/4" and the speakers are 2 1/2" deep. they sound great but require a lot of work to install

VS
Do Not Even Waste Your Money

These Speakers sound great at first, have had them installed for six months, and now they are the reason i will never buy rockford fosgate anything, The design is horrible! the tweets on both of the speakers snapped right in half. My Whole car is dynamated 2 times, and the sub is so loud it snapped the tweet and the tweeter mount on both speakers! Terrible choice if you are building a system with alot of bass, they do not last long at all, tweeter gets distorted way to fast.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 19, 2013 2003 Expedition
Review by
John from Burnaby, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers DO NOT fit a 2003 expedition without modifying the door panel cut outs. It says in the description they fit the front and back doors but I just installed 4 of them and had to make cut outs in the doors to except the weird flange on 2 of the mounting holes on each speaker. It was not fun. ALSO ! the front speaker cut outs in the doors are not deep enough. The existing space is 2 1/4" and the speakers are 2 1/2" deep. they sound great but require a lot of work to install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2013 Nice speakers
Review by
Robert from Albany, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have four of these ran off a Hifonics Brutus 640.4 and they sound great. They are clear and very powerful. I wish they had a crossover though. And their magnets are huge. Make sure they will fit first. And the tweeter is a bit fragile. Other then that, love em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Decent speakers
Review by
Mike from Casa grande,AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Decent, gets pretty loud' had them running on a jl xd400/4! Couldn't keep up with my fi Sp4 18, so got me some crescendo pwxs! But overall a good beginner system speakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 Great
Review by
Tommy from Wilmington, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The website had a large variety and had what I wanted. It was easy to order and I had no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2012 Bad Tweeter Durability
Review by
Austin from Bentonville, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
-Very powerful speakers
-Full range, people ask if I have a sub (I don't yet)
-Very Clear across all frequencies.

Cons:
Tweeter looks awesome and allows more cone area, but they are very flimsy and die easy, I've had one go out completely on me and one that is distorting at higher volumes.

*Disclaimer, I'm not an idiot, I am feeding the speakers off of a Rockford Fosgate R600-5 that puts ~50 watts rms of power on each channel, these speakers are rated at 80 watts rms, and I never put the gain past 50% and the volume on the head unit never exceeds 75% and I have the gain set to low power. Why the tweeters die, is beyond my ability to comprehend.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2011 wow !
Review by
Benjamin from rouyn-noranda, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sounds clean and clear love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 Good Value
Review by
Stephen from Cedar Rapids, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would amp these for sure. They are easy to install and dont distort. I would recomend the Bazooka 4 channel or the boss 1000 watt to power and remember the box comes with two not just one so its a really good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2011 Pretty nice
Review by
EZE from WC, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers look very well built and very durable. I didn't have my system tuned correctly when I had them in, so the bass was a little shallow but they did sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2010 Great Speakers
Review by
Big-D from Lake Havasu City, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers to replace the worn out speakers in my 2003 Ford F-250. Because they require minimum 75watts RMS, I also purchased a 600 watt amp. I installed them myself using the included instructions and common sense. They sound totally cool. The Highs, Mids and the Lows are clear and crisp. Even with the volume cranked way up, the sound never distorts. I would compared the sound quality to a high set of headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 Rockford Fosgate Power T1682
Review by
Bikerboy from Philadelphia, Pa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 4 of these speakers to replace stock Ford Thunderbird speakers, I'm very impressed with build quality, they fit perfectly without any drama. The highs and mid-range are about as good as they can get, I thought that the bass was good but not as good in comparison with highs and mid-range, I bought a sub-woofer 8" and that filled the bill as far as bass was concerned, so these are excellant speakers, but if your a bass freak you may be a little disappointed, it could also have been that my settings for bass in the head-unit were not set quite right. I still recommend these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2010 Great speakers
Review by
EZ from west chester, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got these speakers and installed them. They are replacing the old RF power series speakers, and I can say that these sound better than the old model. The sound is nice and crisp, and they look extremely well built. The midbass is ok so far, i think they have to loosen up as RF's tend to be a little stiff from the factory. I would recommend these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2010 awesome sound
Review by
Gary from Oakland City, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these in a 08 ford f-150 in the rear doors. they replaced a component set by eclipse which didn't handle the power from my infinity kappa four amp that drives them. the sound quality of these coaxials is amazing they are the most precise sounding speakers i have heard. The only complaint I have is that they send no wires or crimp connects with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2010 Clear as can be
Review by
Kyle from C-gar, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome 6x8s. Blew my replacement Pioneers right out of the water and I haven't even tuned the T400-4 pushing the T1682s yet. Definitely recommend. Just installed 4 in my 99 Explorer.

Incredible clean sound, and all I currently have is a Sony deck with 2V preouts, old RCAs, and a RF T400-4. Cant wait for my new deck and RCAs to come in!

But as the reviewer below stated, there are no quick disconnects that come with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2010 Power!!!
Review by
Tyler from Iron Station, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a set of theses in my 02 Lincoln LS (direct fit) and they sound as rich as owning an oil well does. I'm running them on a quarter of what they can handle and they already have great midbass and smooth yet crisp highs. When I get my 4 channel hooked up they're gonna be absurd. The design of these really drew me in and I'm thankful for that now. You can't go wrong with these, or Sonic's price or the free shipping. Get some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2009 Want Good Speakers? BUY THESE!
Review by
Seth from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these speakers, they sound awesome in my 96 ford ranger. the only issue I have with these are the fact that no wires come in the box, other than that, PERFECT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 11, 2012 Do Not Even Waste Your Money
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nick from Minneapolis, Minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Speakers sound great at first, have had them installed for six months, and now they are the reason i will never buy rockford fosgate anything, The design is horrible! the tweets on both of the speakers snapped right in half. My Whole car is dynamated 2 times, and the sub is so loud it snapped the tweet and the tweeter mount on both speakers! Terrible choice if you are building a system with alot of bass, they do not last long at all, tweeter gets distorted way to fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2010 not as "clean" as the previous model
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
scott from los angeles
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these to replace a T1682C set I've been running for a couple of years. New model looked impressive, especially compared to the older model, but when I installed them I was disappointed. powered off an arc audio 4150, I gave them a chance to break-in. The midrange is "muddy", it just doesn't have the clarity of the previous model. took them out and reinstalled the older set. The only advantage the T1682 has is it can handle slightly more power and it has a little more midbass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz