Showing 16 reviews for Kicker iKICK 09iK501 / iK501

Customer Review Summary for Kicker iKICK 09iK501 / iK501
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 16 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
81%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.0
Design
4.4
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
awesome buy!!!

Beast!!! Bought one for my cousin and was blown away by the quality! Must have!!

VS
Good Sound, Bad Design

The iK501 was perfect out of the box although I feared the angle of docking connector would be a problem. (when docked, the phone stands almost straight up, and can lean slightly forward "prying" pressure on the connector) My intuition was correct - after a couple months of docking/un-docking, the connection between my iPhone & the iK501 began to have connectivity problems. *Have you noticed that almost every other docking station brand has the iPhone or iPod leaning backwards? Now you know why! Other than connectivity, the box sounds great when connected. Summary - I love the sound but hate the connector design.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 20, 2014 awesome buy!!!
Review by
Corry from louisville, kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Beast!!! Bought one for my cousin and was blown away by the quality! Must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2013 Awesome Product
Review by
Josh from Sussex, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This speaker kicks ass, I use it daily. The sound quality is superb and the reflex coil in the back kicks. I use this thing for parties of up to 40 people and it is perfect. Overall great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2012 Misleading But Still The Loudest Dock I've Ever Heard
Review by
John from New York, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this expecting a loud dock. Wow! it's definately loud. There are a few things i want to address though.

-The Subwoofer...is not a subwoofer. it's a passive radiator. Additionally, it is INCREDIBLY "One-note." It loves the 65hz range and nothing else. People say that it doesn't miss a note, but trust me it does. I expected this, however, so i planned to run this with a home audio sub. That leads me to the RCA outputs.

-The RCA outputs don't change volume!!! Kicker says you can connect this to other components with them, but you can't since they won't change volume. -_- Now i have to run my ipod to a fiio E6, to a splitter. And then connect this and the sub to the split outputs. Also, i cant use the remote.

-The Amp: This part I actually was positive about! The amp has a built in limiter, which is great! Instead of clipping, your music will just cut out. This is your cue to turn the bass down. (When i listen to rap at volume 40, the bass has to be at -9. When i hook up that sub, it won't be a big deal though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2012 Worth Every Penny
Review by
Christopher from Katy, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this a month ago or so because I am moving into an apartment with practically noting and wanted something portible but high quality for my iPod, iPhone and home theater. Kicker is one of my favoriate brands and it does not dissapoint. The sound quality is EXCELLENT and this little box can put out some serious volume. I used it at a house party and it was more than enough to fill the entire house with tunes.

I have been thinking about buying another one for my bedroom too because I love it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2012 Kicker
Review by
Michael from Fort Myers, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great for the price. The bass is very tight, and the highs are very clear. Don't hesitate to buy it! You can not get a better value for under $200.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2012 Kicker
Review by
Kyle MF b from Paden oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this boombox for a year now it is a very great sounding stereo. I do recommend this. I have an iPhone and it gets rattled off. It does need more bass though. The 6" sub is cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 great value for the money
Review by
tracy from rochester, MIchigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I read blogs on this speaker system and ordered it. The sound is great. It's very portable. I use it with my droid phone streaming pandora radio. I just use an auxillary cord because I can't set it in the iPod cradle which is fine.

It would be nice if the had another nitch area that you could prop other components in if you don't use an ipod. Also there is no FM tuner but that's not important to me.

I bring this speaker system with me to parties etc. It's so nice to be able to listen to my tunes or stream music wherever I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Amazing!
Review by
Hunter from Salisbury, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had the ik501 for a couple weeks and it has totally surpassed my expectations! Everybody i show it to is amazed at the loud volume for a unit of it's size and still maintains excellent sound quality. If you're looking for a loud ipod or zune dock i would seriously consider the Kicker IK501!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2011 excellent bang for the buc!
Review by
Geof from Johannesburg, South Africa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Thumbs up for such a small piece to deliver such excellent sound quality and overall sound expansion, really great even outdoors, this thing is Loud and the best part is to control my iphone with the remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 8, 2010 excellent product
Review by
ted m from jonesboro T.N.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound well built best docking station i have ever heard small in size but sounds like a full size stereo great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2010 Look no further if you need an iphone Dock
Review by
Old man Jones from Woodinville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have looked at a lot of ipod or iphone docks and this one is by far the best one. Its like a Bose speaker. Small but the bass in it booms. For the price, not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2010 Bangin
Review by
BillSpill from Nashville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sounds incredible! Ive heard the bose, logitech, klipsch, jbl, coby, philips.... (need i go on?) and none of them compare to the full quality you can get from this dock. play it loud, louder, or even quiet with no distortion. I love it. How can the other docks even try and compare when the kicker has a sub on the back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2010 kicker501
Review by
chel from massachusetts
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the absolute best speaker for your ipod. The sound is rich and deep. It captures even the lowest of bass tones, incredible! I had a Bose sound system that cost twice as much and the ikick crushes it! My New years Party was a hit because of this speaker. Hook it up to your TV and be WoWed! It's like the being at the movie theater but better! Best money I ever spent!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2010 great product
Review by
zack from bkn wv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a great product worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2010 Good Sound, Bad Design
Review by
brian from Hendersonville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The iK501 was perfect out of the box although I feared the angle of docking connector would be a problem. (when docked, the phone stands almost straight up, and can lean slightly forward "prying" pressure on the connector) My intuition was correct - after a couple months of docking/un-docking, the connection between my iPhone & the iK501 began to have connectivity problems. *Have you noticed that almost every other docking station brand has the iPhone or iPod leaning backwards? Now you know why! Other than connectivity, the box sounds great when connected. Summary - I love the sound but hate the connector design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2010 Absolutely Awesome
Review by
Willyp from Tucson, Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has incredible sound and pounds for being small. I use this unit in my 40x40 shop and it fills the shop with no problems and is loud and clear in doing so. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a louder docking station. I plan on buying another one for inside the house. I promise you will not be disappointed in buying the IKICK501.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz