Showing 12 reviews for Pioneer AVIC-X910BT

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer AVIC-X910BT
Average Customer Rating is 3.3 out of 5 stars:
3.3
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
17%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
.
17%
2 star:
.
.
33%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.8
Value
3.5
Features
4.0
Design
4.3
Usability
3.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
great product!

The product is great! the navigation system works the best!

VS
 • • • • • •Wait for the Directors cut• • • • • •

Pros: Large color screen, SD-CD MP3 source player, built in maps. MSN Direct, USB port AV output, Bluetooth phone support CONS: Navigation does not name streets-roads-Hwys to turn on. When changing from one Hwy to another it does not identify which Hwy you are going to turn into, other than the command "stay right, stay right" then "merge left on to Hwy". Navigation does not identify on which side of a road your destination will be found. The only way to describe the next error is the Navigation is easily confused, It will send you off on side roads from the main Hwy route for no reason other than to give you a scenic view or have you make a left turn only to have you make a "Legal U Turn" to get back on your route. No more MSN Direct service after 2012. Voice recognition is also very poor. Summary: Nice unit but you purchase an in-dash Navigation system for the NAVIGATION, at this price the navigation should be flawless. It should have ALL the bell and whistles not just the bell. I've updated the firmware to version 3.0201 so we'll see how much if anything this fix will correct.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 27, 2010  • • • • • •Wait for the Directors cut• • • • • •
Review by
OEFWarrior from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
Large color screen, SD-CD MP3 source player, built in maps. MSN Direct, USB port AV output, Bluetooth phone support
CONS:
Navigation does not name streets-roads-Hwys to turn on. When changing from one Hwy to another it does not identify which Hwy you are going to turn into, other than the command "stay right, stay right" then "merge left on to Hwy". Navigation does not identify on which side of a road your destination will be found. The only way to describe the next error is the Navigation is easily confused, It will send you off on side roads from the main Hwy route for no reason other than to give you a scenic view or have you make a left turn only to have you make a "Legal U Turn" to get back on your route. No more MSN Direct service after 2012. Voice recognition is also very poor.
Summary:
Nice unit but you purchase an in-dash Navigation system for the NAVIGATION, at this price the navigation should be flawless. It should have ALL the bell and whistles not just the bell. I've updated the firmware to version 3.0201 so we'll see how much if anything this fix will correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2010 A Bit buggy
Review by
Cory from Anchorage, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As a Factory replacement, the HU is a nice replacement. like others have said, the startup time varies and can get annoying on short trips. I'm using a 32 Gb thumb drive for media. The music selection can get cumbersome at times as it doesn't let you select letters of the artist's name for a faster selection. You've got to hit the down arrow 30 times to scroll from A to -. From there, you can't say you want to hear all CD's, you have to select just one, although the playback will include all the CD's under the artist. It's just a lot of back and forth if you don't remember which song was on what CD.
Navigation is pretty responsive, I have yet to be steered wrong from it. one thing I would suggest would be to SHUT THE NAV VOICE OFF! So annoying! The initial punching everything in to find a location takes some hunting around, and isn't the most user friendly.
The backup camera can be buggy at times too, once you start your vehicle, you've got about a 30 second gap of being able to see through your backup camera before the system either cuts it out and goes back to the splash screen, or you're stuck watching the backup camera instead of the splash screen for the next 3-5 minutes while you drive.
Bluetooth sounds fine from my end (Blackberry 8900) but people on the other end of the line hear themselves after speaking back to me.
Things I love about this H/U are the snappy response of the GPS, the 3 sets of pre-outs for seperate amps, USB playback ability, and the bluetooth contact list option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2010 great product!
Review by
carlo from millbrae, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product is great! the navigation system works the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 Solid Performer
Review by
OldMan_58 from Oviedo, Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A little slow starting up, but all features work and work well. Clean, crisp screens and operation. I recommend this unit, I will say have a professional install it. I have had this unit 1 year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2010 Not Even Worth the Discounted Price - Disappointing!
Review by
David from Renton, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have experienced the same voice recognition and bluetooth problems mentioned by others. No problem pairing it with my HTC HD2 but Pioneer unit freezes every time I receive a call when paired with the HD2. The Navi unit also fails to turn off the music on incoming or outgoing calls when paired with the HD2. I did not have the freeze up problems with my Blackberry but the bluetooth sound quality was poor. Another undocumented feature is that the display "always" returns to the map screen after using the bluetooth - really annoying being as I rarely use the Nav feature. I have had to take the X910BT unit back Car Toys 6 times for numerous problems. They swapped out the unit twice and have the most current software. All of the undocumented and unwanted features are still there. Not worth the money or trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2010 not worth full price
Review by
pioneer from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am glad I waited to purchase last year's model at a discounted price. The units "boot-up" time varies significantly, and once the unit is operable, a random source appears. Volume issues... Despite setting the units blutooth phone volume to its lowest setting, it is too loud! Therefore, I have no interest to download my contacts into the unit and use the bluetooth function. The volume for the navigation voice varies depending on the input source (radio vs. USB).
Once it is operable, the unit works well. The touch screen functions fine, as well as the navigation. I thought about having XM installed, but I cannot imagine how much slower the initial start-up would take. This unit is not worth the full price, and I am uncertain about purchasing a similar product in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2010 Do not waste your money on this system
Review by
Nima from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit really sucks. Lots of freeze ups, very slow start up, causes the bluetooth to drop or does not recognize the phone anymore. In the past 6 months I had to delete and reset my iphone with the system 4 times. Gets stuck on one call and freezes after you end the call.
The voice recognition system does not recognize anything at all and you can not train it either.
The GPS is good but the POI is not user friendly. My old $150 Tomtom is easier to use and find the POI. Over all, I do not recommend this product. I had a good experience with Pioneer before but this unit ruined it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2010 OK product
Review by
Nash from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had good experiences with Pioneer but this unit totally let me down. Very slow start up, a lot of freeze ups, voice control does not recognize many words, blue tooth also drops and freezes or gets stuck on one call and does not disconnect.
Overall not happy with the system. I guess my next one will not be a Pioneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2010 great deal
Review by
junior from rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love my system the navigation part is user friendly, the thing wrong with this unit sometimes it freezes up about 30 seconds but that's not a big deal. I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2010 Very good budget Navi with loads of features
Review by
Benjamin from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The good: this unit is packed with features, its got navigation with voice commands and tells you directions, has bluetooth to talk hands free, has USB adapter, plays DVD's, DIVX, MP3, WMA, etc. Has auxiliar video inputs, can also do reverse camera video out as well, touch screen controls and also some simple button and knob controls on the side of the unit, all for a great price.
The bad: its a little slow start up, and the LCD screen is dark, so on sunny days it can be hard to see, also when you use the navigation sometimes it freezes for a few seconds, its almost like a PC when its thinking or loading the next maps

overall I think the goods out weigh the bads, I'm happy with it, and I would recommend it for those who don't want to spend over 1g on navigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2009 Great Radio!
Review by
Freddy from Manheim, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This really is the most fully featured radio I've ever used.

The only thing I don't like about it is the time it takes to turn on when first turning the key.
it can take about 30 seconds or so to be fully functional..

But thats not really a big deal for me, as the features make up for it. :]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2009 I reccomend it!
Review by
Zack from Atlanta, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice clean display only thing wrong with it is sometimes freezes up and takes kind of a while to load music when starting the nothing really difficult but sometimes can be a nuisance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz