Showing 13 reviews for Clarion CMS1

Customer Review Summary for Clarion CMS1
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 13 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
85%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.5
Features
4.5
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Love It!!!

I have put 4 receivers in less than 3 years... Malibu Response LX just had the radio in the wrong place. Water came over the bow several times and just drenched the units. This is the BOMB! made a mounting bracket next to the steering wheel and it is AWESOME!!! I would recommend to anyone! The water resistant unit should last a long time!!!

VS
Not the best product

I like the unit but it just did not last. I used the unit about four months and it quit working.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 10, 2012 Not the best product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Greg from Morse. La
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like the unit but it just did not last. I used the unit about four months and it quit working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2013 Love It!!!
Review by
nautical_boy from Niceville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have put 4 receivers in less than 3 years... Malibu Response LX just had the radio in the wrong place. Water came over the bow several times and just drenched the units. This is the BOMB! made a mounting bracket next to the steering wheel and it is AWESOME!!! I would recommend to anyone! The water resistant unit should last a long time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Works just fine
Review by
Kevin from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wanted to add iPod integration and remote readout display to my boat and this was the perfect solution for both. I am using an old iPhone (1st gen) and this unit even keeps it fully charged (I understand it does NOT provide charging for later generation devices). The readout is large and easy to see in full sun, and the controls are clear, uncramped and easy to operate. The only downside is the size--it's a bit larger than I'd like but that's because my boat has limited mounting options on the dash. Not really the fault of the unit--just an observation that it uses a fair amount of real estate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great for out door BBQ
Review by
Bret from Las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in my island BBQ in my backyard, It works wonderfully and can stand up to the weather in las vegas, since I do not use cds anymore i like this size and design. The display screen is mounted on the outside of the island while the rest is mounted inside and unseen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2013 Great Match with alpine speakers
Review by
Lloyd from Sandpoint, Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a really good system, I also purchased the Alpine SPS M-600 speakers to go with it. WoW ! What a Great match up. the system works really good and the speakers sound awesome. I used four SPS-M600 Alpine Speakers with the Clarion cms1, and we have yet to turn it up much more than half volume. It will run you out of the boat but the sound is still great at high volume. I could not be more pleased with this system or the service I received from Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2013 excellent marine radio
Review by
Mike C from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Having owned numerous boats and having to replace numerous radios due to exposure I was looking for an alternative to just mounting the radio in the usual fashion and I have found it with the CMS1.
The main box is inside and out of the weather and the only exposure is the weather proof control panel which is simple to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2013 Nice Product
Review by
Greg from Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very nice unit and was easy to install.
If your looking for a unit that you can hide the main body - stop looking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2013 Tough and Versatile Stereo
Review by
Steve from Kenna, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Use this unit in an off-road side x side. Takes a pounding, gets filthy and then hosed off the next day. Never fails to entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 Clarion CMS1 Review
Review by
Roger2112 from Scottsdale Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit along with the Clarion RF wireless remote for my 28' boat. It was replacing a stock head that was mounted in the cabin. The corded remote for that radio never really worked so managing the stereo underway was a hastle.

PROS: This unit has a nice corded controller to mount pretty much anywhere, and then Clarion sells a wireless RF remote that is an absolute must have to go along with it. I run it into an amp and as a source it's great. I also ran RCA in with an 1/8" mini on the other end for portable iPods and Serius XM units, rather than adding the modules I just run them in Aux.
CONS: The only downside I have so far is that it only has one set of RCA outputs so you can't run Fader through the RCA. My amp is setup for 4 channels so I had to get a set of RCA Y adapters. 4 channel output would be nice here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2012 Great product
Review by
Shaun from BEAUMONT, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in my 2008 Polaris RZR. I've hit display with a pressure washer numerous times and it still keeps ticking. I use it run 4 6x9's and it sounds great. I load all my songs on a memory stick and play it that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2011 Solid buy
Review by
David from Deltona, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a radio to tuck behind the port dash with a remote that would reach the driver cockpit and this was it. The cable was long enough to make it across the hull of the boat (something I was a bit concerned about). I was slightly disapointed by the fact that in order to use an iPod you have to purchase a separate cable, although you can still hook it up using a 3MM aux. jack, you just cannot control the functions from the radio.

Overall I am happy with the radio and the fact that I do not have to reach across the boat or rely on a passenger to work the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 Works great!
Review by
Ron from Kaukauna, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this item on a CanAm Spyder along with an amp. Work as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2011 works great
Review by
Kevin from Ft Walton, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put this unit under small console on my 15' Whaler. There is not much dash room so this unit fit my needs well. it sounds great and was simple to install and keep protected. works well with just the hidden wire antenna under dash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz