Showing 29 reviews for Infinity Kappa 100.9W

Customer Review Summary for Infinity Kappa 100.9W
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 29 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
76%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.4
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 25, 2013 high quality
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jeeves from North Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
have lots of experience in the car audio industry and decided to get these after doing research on what i felt would be best for my setup. My last system had 2 L7 12s but this time i was looking to conserve a little more trunk space and was looking for more quality. put this in the recommended .75 sealed enclosure powered by a polk 5 channel amp and have been impressed so far. doesn't hit the lows like my last setup but for the size this really packs a punch. One of the most accurate sounding subs ive heard. going to try it in a ported box soon to compare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2014 car speakers
Review by
sam medina from Philadelphia, Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound nice and balanced not to boomy but a good punchy bass and treble sound. They can handle whatever power amplification is fed to them. I would recommend them for their overall value and just crisp clear sound without the distortion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2014 Sweet Sub
Review by
chad from Superior, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice smooth sound comes from this amp, looks great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2013 Disspointed
Review by
Derek from Royal Oak, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had these subs for a few months now. I've got 2 of them powered by an Infinity Kappa One amp @ 800w. They sound great but they are really lacking in the amount of bass they put out. I knew it would be less than most subs but this is ridiculous.

2 of these with 800w are slightly louder than 2 Sony Xplode 10" subs at 350w rms. Both are in sealed boxes. I might move these subs into a ported box just so I can get a little more bass from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2013 High Quality Sound
Review by
J Ro from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered two of these and built a box to Infiinty's specs with 1" MDF. These sound so great! They don't play extremely loud (powered perfectly by a Kappa One) but they blend so well with the rest of the system. The sound is clean and hard, not boomy. On that note they can handle high volume, but if you want that slammin' bass in your face feel, these aren't for you (I know these are only 10's. but I'm confident the 12's are very similar). I am an Infinity loyalist in the car as well as home, and these remind me why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2013 Sound quality sub! Clean bass
Review by
Niz from Lake forest
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Originally I bought a kicker compr. It had really nice low bass but no mid bass at all. Returned it and bought this infinity. Running it in a .75 cu sealed boxed and it hits so clean and nice. Lows are loud and clean. Also hits the mid bass with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2013 Exceptional
Review by
John from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product and good looking, would buy again. Infiinty a good way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2013 very nice
Review by
darren from Catoosa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the sound quality is very very wonderful that these subs produce. they look very nice and the 3 voice coils is nice. the only bad thing is that the magnet is so big that they wont get very loud at all at 350 rms a piece. they need more power than 350 rms apiece but i dont know if they are capable of handling more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2013 These Infinity's are amazing!
Review by
Dan from Bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had one Kicker CVT10 2 Ohm speaker for a year, it was a good subwoofer, generally i liked it. Until my box rattled and it was too small for the sub and it was bouncing because of the screws. I went ahead and built another box and put in two of these subs in. What a difference, they don't hit much harder because the same amp is being used - a 400 watt rms kicker mono amp. They are much better sound quality wise, they are so much cleaner it is amazing. They also hit lows the Kicker never responded to. The difference is clear. For ten dollars per sub more, these subs are superior to the kicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2012 Fast and easy transaction
Review by
Booze from Vancouver WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased the Kappa 100.9 for a project vehicle I have one installed and tested Not running a lot of power yet this sub for its smaller size sounds GREAT Cant go wrong with this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2012 Last subs I'll have to buy...
Review by
Ross J. from Winnipeg, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Powering a pair of these with a Kappa 4 in bridged mode. Used the Infinity specs to build a ported enclosure and it turned out perfectly. Loud, crisp, clear - everything I was shooting for. Had to remove the back seat in a extended cab GMC to make room for the enclosure, but well worth it. The drive to and from work is now an awesome experience that I look forward to each day. I am just wowed with how the system turned out. Accurate reproduction is what these subs are all about. Probably not suited for rap thumping, but for my classic rock line-up -- couldn't be happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2012 SSI is a TREAT! IB - YES.
Review by
Parag from Edison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of these installed IB in the rear deck of my Altima. They are awesome, they have a lot of output, and are not as musical as some subs I have had IB in the past, but they play well down low which is what I got them for. I would certainly recommend these to someone who is going IB and in a box they will do just as well. The selectable smart impedance is awesome. It really gives you great flexibility with amplifier selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2012 Great sound
Review by
Anudra from Boynton Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great item, sound is excellent , best item I brought, the value is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Great price on a great product
Review by
Jaym from St louis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good tight bass response, very durable, good price highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2012 Great sub!
Review by
Allan from Columbia, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For a single 10", this sub hits hard. It looks even better. Hookup is flexible with the 2ohm switch. Makes wiring that much easier. Just what I needed to add clear bass to my system without annoying everyone else around me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2012 Excellent buy
Review by
anudra01 from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two of the kappa 100.9 in my Infiniti G37 and it rocks really hard. They are powered by an infinity kappa one which really delivered an awesome sound. I also have a kappa four for my kappas 6x9 and 6-1/2" components which is really awesome. Would recommend any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2012 High quality value, with the output to match!
Review by
mtrsprt from Sutton,NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice quality subwoofer, at an affordable price. Build quality better than Kicker yes. I have always used Kicker subwoofers, and this time I just wanted one small 10" driver. I chose to give this Infinity Kappa 10" a shot. Just got it hooked up today, and I was blown away with it's sound reproduction and output for such a small driver. I have it in a 1.0cu ft sealed enclosure. Hits accurate, deep and tight. I have about 600rms going to it. You wont find a better sub for the price period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2012 AWESOME if urnafter 10s' these r a great candidate
Review by
Sammy-d from mudgeeraba, Gpld Coast, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
We have 3 of these puppies in our trunk and they realy kick, powered by a hifonics 1000.1d Amp @ 2 ohms. We had a reading at 132.2 db. Stoked! With the mew shipment of Vibe black AIR 6" component & Vibe 6 x 9 (Black Air) she should be pumping!!!! THANX SONIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2012 BOOM
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A frind of mine has three of these in his honda civic in series and wow is all i can say. Hurry and buy now beacause these actually compare to sum of the higher end kickers ect.
Pros: they look awesome and they hitt so hard with great lows. Cons: none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 good looks, great sound.
Review by
Stephen from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My title says it all. all the lows i need, good looking design, really really beatifull sound. The switch on the side makes it easy to hook up. thats a plus...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2011 amazing clarity!
Review by
Tyler from Grove City, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A close friend of mine just picked two if these up for his Scion tC and I have to be honest I have never heard such a good sounding sub. Definitely not the loudest but if youre looking to make music sound how it was intended to, these subs are for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2011 Can't Wait
Review by
Samy D from Mudgeeraba, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
2 of these Kappa's are being run in and I can't wait till I can turn them up to see what they can realy do. They sound clean and crisp! However they have a lot of room for more power in a week or so, but they still thump now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2011 Dahhhhhmmm
Review by
Youngblood from Clipzburgh, Pistolvania
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just copped 2 of these in my 05 impreza, these are the best subs I've ever owned, they aint the loudest but most def crisp as hell. Should be charging 200 a sub. I got these hooked up to a 1000 watt kenwood set at 2ohms, and they pull the s*** out this amp. Lookin to upgrade the amp but it does fine for now. Great buy, recomend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2010 Great Lows
Review by
Layzurguy from Mooresville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great sub. I have an MTX formed enclosure for my 1994 Z-28 and the 10" that was in it just wasn't producing the lows I expected. I replaced it with the Kappa 100.9. It fit perfectly and now the lows are much more noticeable. The construction is very solid, and matched with Kappa speakers in front and read, powered by an Infinity 5 channel amp, the sound is great. The 2/4 ohm switch makes it an easy fit for any system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2010 Excellent sub.. POWERFUL for a '10!!
Review by
Jeremy from Franklin, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is very, very nice.. Nice clean bass, very solid build quality. I was immediately impressed by the quality of the product as soon as I took it out of the box. It also weighs almost 20 pounds.

The sound that can come out of this thing is crazy. My friend didn't believe that it was a 10 when he heard it because it hits harder and cleaner than his 12. Definitely buy a quality amp for this. I was using a 380W rms Pioneer amp for a week until I got one more suited for this sub; a 300W rms Polk monoblock. With the Polk amp running the juice for this sub I could not be happier.

At 160 bucks, this is a great buy that no one would be disappointed with. The the genius who said his subs were making crunching noises after a week, you blew your subs.. don't give low ratings because you don't understand the difference between rms and peak power. This sub is solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2010 Awesome sub
Review by
Justin from College Station, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wasn't looking for mirror shaking bass I just wanted good tight accurate bass and this sub delivered. Great sound at a great price. Couldn't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2009 one of the best SQ drivers ive heard
Review by
Skylar (Mack) Dunn from Jefferson City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these thangs can get it, believe me, and they are some of the best looking cones ive EVER seen. it sounds just so good, and moves a nice amount of air. a def. 15/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2010 Meh..
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steven from London, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had 2 of these for about 3 weeks running on an Infinity Kappa One amplifier, had to return them to sonic because they were both making metal on metal crunching noises when they were on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2011 Bad Sub!
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dave from Strasburg, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing blew up in less than a week... Do not buy this sub! Replaced it with an Alpine Type-R 10" and have not had any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz