Showing 21 reviews for JL Audio HD900/5

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio HD900/5
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 21 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
95%
4 star:
.
.
5%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.5
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 21, 2011 Wow!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Weatherford, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is just awesome.. Small and powerful and does not run hot. I have it running 2 Image Dynamics 10's and 4 Boston Acoustics 6". Never misses a beat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2011 Great product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from San Pedro, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this JL Audio HD900/5 amp because it had the option to power four door speakers along with a sub woofer. It works great. I have it powering the four speakers in the doors and have the 5th channel powering the sub in the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 26, 2010 POWERHOUSE
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Barry from Blanch, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I chose this five channel amp to save space in my Ranger Supercab truck. It powers four speakers in the doors and a JL Audio 10 inch W/6 sub and and it is smaller than most high school textbooks. This amp amazes me every time I crank up the volume. The sound is clean and there is just so much power it's hard to believe it all comes from this little amp. It has a hefty price, but if you want great sound without a big stack of amps, you should consider the JL HD900/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2010 JL Audio HD900/5 Review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Keyser from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit and paired it with an Aline IVA-W505, Polk speakers and a JL W6 enclosed sub. The amp is absolutely clean way past reasonable listening levels. The highways in my area are horrible due to studded tires in the wintertime. This makes for a tremendous amount of road noise. The amp will drive the system cleanly past ALL road noise which is just incredible.

I highly recommend the product. When I sell my car the amp goes with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2009 Small and powerful
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Philip from Ontario, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I cannot believe how powerful this amp is for its size. It is so compact it fits under my front seat without blocking the rear seat vents. The only thing I don't like it the lack of the Q, and the infrasonic dial has gone to a switch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2014 Awesome Amp!
Review by
Styles from Baytown, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice looking and sounding Amp. Compact in size also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2014 GREAT AMP !!!!!
Review by
kram351 from Turnersville NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Small Amp that packs a big bunch !!! Took up 65% less real estate then my two old slash amps . Replaced 300/4v2 and 250/1v2 .
I gained room and a improvement in sound quality the extra amps really makes a difference .Sounds great even at lower volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2014 Bad ass
Review by
brad from Leon valley, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just do it, buy this amp, it's the only amp you'll need. Installed in a 2012 f150 supercrew with CL441dsp, C5 5.25X & C5 tweeters on all the doors. Two tw3 10's awesome the best sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2013 Great amp
Review by
nick from Marion, in
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp!!! Running one w6 12 and jl c3 componets and coxials in the rear... The amp does a great job and sounds clean but pounds the w6... The amp does get hott though but has never shut off..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2013 Impressive!!
Review by
MT from Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp just stomps. It's running a pair of JL C5-653's in the front, a pair of JL-C5-650's in the rear and a single JL 10W7AE sub. This amp keeps the system simple and it sounds incredible! No new alternator, battery or caps required. The amp is tiny, so I was able to mount in behind a panel in rear hatch area. It's the perfect amp for someone who wants a quality system, but wants to keep it simple. My system is plenty loud with accurate, clean and stable sound. So far the amp has been trouble free. It gets pretty hot, but i would expect that from a class D amp. Nothing unusual though. Can't say enough about the performance of this amp! The amp is a little spendy, but you have to remember is a full system amp. It's doing the work of 2 decently powered amps. 900 watts of truly clean power for accurate music reproduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2013 Great amp
Review by
Sean from Ventura, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this amp in the rear area of a 2003 Ford F150 Harley edition. It is small enough to be entirely out of sight, it doesn't take any space I was using before, and it's a superb amplifier. If you're reading this review, just go for it. I really don't think you'll find a better value and I know you'll love it. Don't settle for some other amp you don't really want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2013 Breathtaking Sound
Review by
Sculptor 4 from Montreal Quebec, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a 2010 Grand Caravan. I just installed the JL Audio HD900/5. It is powering Boston Acoustic Pro Series 60 in the Front and Pro Series 50 in the rear. I am running a JL Audio 10" W3v3 in a ported Enclosure on the fifth 500 watt channel. I played my system for my two Teenagers 18 and 17. They said it sounds like a concert at the Bell Center. (Home of the Montreal Canadiens) There is no bigger compliment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2013 BAD ASS!
Review by
Brad from Helotes, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have built many systems over the years and was faced with the dilemma of space in my C5 Corvette... there isn't any! While researching amps, visiting various forums I came across the HD9000/5. I never would have believed what this little jewel was capable of until I bought one and installed it. I currently have it driving two Boston 10" G-1104 of the sub channel, a pair of Boston Acoustic 6.5 Pro series on the front and a pair of MB-quart 6.5 QVL's bringing up the rear. The sound is awesome. I would highly recommend this AMP to any one looking for one amp to do it all. Well worth the price thank you Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2012 Excellent Product
Review by
Jeff from White Bear Lake, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp to save on space & money , by using only one amp, which is mounted under the RF seat. There is definitely more than enough clean power to drive a 12'' JL sub & Boston Pro speakers. The sound quality is excellent at all listening levels & I highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2012 BAD ASS!
Review by
Brad from Helotes, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What a wonderful amp I'm pushing two 4ohms Boston Tens and two set's of Boston acoustic 6.5 pro series.....awesome sound out of one little amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2012 Great amp
Review by
js from bagdad fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the best amps. It is small, and the sound is great. It is easy to install. I put this in a HD3500 with JL C3 650 and a Z140BH and JL sub boxs with 2 10" subs. It sounds awesome. I would buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 Phenomenal Amp
Review by
Tony407 from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm using this to power 2 sets of JL Audio ZR650-csi speakers, and a Kicker CVT-10 subwoofer. I think these HD JL Audio amps are among some of the best amps made. They're small, run very cool and don't require a lot of mounting space, super flexible, powerful, and they sound great. I would recommend this amp or any in the HD line to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2012 Best 5 Channel Amp out there... PERIOD
Review by
Chefcookie from Asheville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had everything from Soundstream to Polk Audio amps in my car and have had nothing but headaches with them... I put in one of these last year and I'm so happy to be done with all of that! This thing is powerful, sounds great, is suuuper compact and can be mounted just about anywhere, and it stays cool and doesn't miss a beat! I have this baby running 4 Focal Polyglass 165 VB components and two Diamond Audio DS3 10" Subs... in my Scion XD.... The Sound is Phenomenal!!!

People giving this a high ranking should also give a high ranking for Value... You get what you pay for and my experience is that is especially true for this amp vs any other 5 channel amp out there.... It's simply the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2012 Great AMP
Review by
Roy from Seabeck, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This AMP is outstanding. 5 channels and all that power. I got it for use in a jeep where I don't have the room for seperate amps for front speakers and subs. The sound quality is exceptional and it drives my dual 12 W3's perfectly. It is a little pricey when compared to other 5 channel amp (ie the alpine), but i think worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2012 Amp rocks!!
Review by
Zach from Pasco, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this to push two 8" Wet Sound tower speakers, two 6-1/2" Wet Sound inboat speakers, and 500 watts to the JL 12" sub. It has plenty of power and sounds great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 One of the Best Amps I have ever owned
Review by
hcarba from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am in love with the power in this tiny package. For this reason it is the best amp I have ever owned. I like stealth installation and this baby makes it possible. This tiny little monster delivers a punch of clean hard power. This thing is low profile, sleek and stacks with their JL kit with other HD amplifiers. The only thing I didn't like was that it doesn't have RCA signal outputs; this is the only reason I didn't give it a 5 in every category. I understand its not having speaker level inputs in order to save size. If you have little space and need power, this is it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz