Showing 28 reviews for Dual XDVDN9131

Customer Review Summary for Dual XDVDN9131
Average Customer Rating is 3.4 out of 5 stars:
3.4
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
36%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
14%
2 star:
.
.
14%
1 star:
.
.
18%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.2
Value
3.5
Features
4.2
Design
4.1
Usability
4.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 24, 2011 AWESOME PURCHASE
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Daniel from Mission, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would really recommend this product because it has better feature than the known name brands. For example, the bluetooth feature works awesome with any phone that has bluetooth. The navigation works perfect. The other thing I liked was I was able to play with my game system with the extra connections it came with. I would purchase this item for another vehicle in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2010 SO EXCITED!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hayz14 from danville, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i purchased this receiver about 2 weeks ago on ebay for $300 (score!) and just installed it about 4 days ago, and i am so excited! the unit has full ipod controls which are insanely fast and responsive, the touch screen has no problems, the nav is perfect and the bluetooth works better then my phones mic! overall you can not beat this value...$450 off sonic ha id buy it anyday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2010 very nice unit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
buddy from bridport VT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a clean easy to use unit i am having only one problem that is the Navigation software is corrupt but when it worked it was very impressive i'm going to send it in to get it fixed DVD player works perfectly USB works great can find music easily no problems besides the Navi but that's a minor speed bump
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2009 dual 9131
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
stereo freak from signal hill, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a great product, I had a kenwood flip out but it did not do what the Dual 9131 does. Plain and simple..."great stereo".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2010 A little scared
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dcspark from Olathe ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just received my unit yesterday I am having it installed tomorrow I like the looks of it, But the real test comes tomorrow. After reading these reviews I'm not sure what to expect I mainly bought it due to the hands free Bluetooth but now I'm not sure if it is compatible with my new iPhone 4. Again I will find out. I will let everyone know what happens soon. I hope everything works out, Talk to ya soon......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2013 i was mistaken!!!
Review by
geol from Yonkers
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had this product now for nine months and the screen just died on me! Wont turn on any more, on top of that the unit went into password lock which i had put in when i installed the unit. Thing is that if the screen dont light up you cant put in your password and you cant put it in through the remote either! Before the screen died i gotta admit this unit worked FINE!!! it seems to me that as the unit get older it has to start going somehow??? The screen dose take a few to warm up before it gets bright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2013 touchscreen
Review by
LUCKNER from MURRIETA, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love it it was easy to install and it has all the features I look for in a touch scree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2013 LA
Review by
LA from Gastonia, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I will not recommend purchasing this product, because I purchased this product august of year before last, now it dose not work. the warranty has expired. I had cheaper stereo's that last longer then this, don't waste your time purchased something that's more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2013 Good Enough.
Review by
Carlos from Redwood City, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this product in the past and though it gave me some problems I still bought a second one, but this time with GPS on it. It is a nice stereo with lots of sound. It has great power to power up the speakers without an additional amp.

It will work excellent for a couple of months and then you'll start noticing that it may not respond to some comands at first. It does that tupically in the mornings, but once it's warmed up it will work just fine.

Thats only it yours comes out defective like mine. Yours may not. It's a good product for all the features that offers and for the price. I owened my previous one (same brand) for over 5 years until the stole it.

If you want a stereo that has it all including external bluetooth mic and dont wanna spend much. Dual is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2013 Good product!
Review by
geolopez73 from Yonkers NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This ended up being a good product for me! The head unit was installed professionaly by myself meaning i did not crimp the wires, But insted ive Solderd the wires. The gps is outstanding if you ask me!!! got me out of some sticky situations! dvd works great sound is good bluetooth is ok but there is some distinct background noise coming from my sub. but i figured it just might be my iphone, I gotta give it up to the customer service reps at sonic tho they have KNOWLEDGE when it comes to answering questions. The only thing i didnt like about this head unit is that you cant play movies on a memory card or even a flash drive, but its a good product and i do recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2012 Awesome nuff said
Review by
Matthew from Parsons, West Virginia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't understand why people are having such bad luck with it. I love it does everything I need it to and no problems at all. The touch screen is sensitive, the external mic works like a charm. I don't use the ipod plugs that came with it like someone else said its to heavy for the faceplate. Just go buy a 3.5mm line with two male ends and you'll be fine, you'll just have to use your ipod/iphone to change the song which isn't a big deal. I love the navigation works very well, and is quick so idk why other people have a problem with it. The only thing I don't like is that the navi maps are a little out of date but thats not a big deal. I'll throw $60 to update them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2012 alright
Review by
Kevin from seven hills, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's an ok radio. Bluetooth doesn't work that well. Everyone I talk to said I sound all distorted and they can't hear me at all really. gps is slow and takes forever to load. I use my iPhone gps instead now. The only thing I like about it is that I can play my iPod now in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2012 love it
Review by
guy from washington dc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My wife and i love this radio. It is very nice i mean nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 2 Years and 2 Problems
Review by
NoLuck from Louisville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product for it's overall performance. It really is an easy to use and nice gadget to have, BUT!!! The durability of this product is on the low side. Within a month after the installation the faceplate malfunctioned. It was replaced for free. The new faceplate worked ok, but the skip song buttons sometimes had to be pressed 8 times before anything happened. The iPod connection was never all that great because of the faceplate malfunctioning. Now it is another year later and the slide out screen would come a quarter of the way out and then go back in. I tried resetting the radio and it still happened. It got to the point to where I got so upset and eventually just manually pulled the screen out, but the screen didn't come on. Then eventually the gear to flip the screen up broke altogether. If you buy this product just please beware of all the little glitches that you may encounter. It is better off just to buy a separate radio and separate navigation device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2012 Great radio
Review by
Jose D from San Pedro, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great radio, worked as specified. Sounds great by itself with enough power to my factory speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2011 Alright
Review by
Kyle from Watertown, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am not to sure how to update the maps. It is missing a lot of roads. The girl who speaks doesn't actually say the words its just an electronic stutter. Other than that it is GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2011 Good Product
Review by
Luis C from Modesto, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this on a 2005 Hyundai Tiburon GT on 12/20/10 and has been working fine so far. If you are buying this because of the bluetooth, do not buy it. The bluetooth is too noisy even with the external microphone, the caller has to yell on to the microphone for the person listening to semi-understand what was said. However, the GPS has been working fine and the sound is not bad for the price. This unit has good features, but the bluetooth is not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2011 An OK deal for the price!
Review by
Selmo from Tampa, Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a pretty nice looking radio, I bought it a little over a year ago at Walmart, it was very useful to me until the NAV, SD reader stopped working, and the flip out screen sometimes won't come out. Since it has been over a year and because I didn't buy the warranty is not worth fixing it. I will never buy a DUAL product again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2011 Great Product ! Awesome !
Review by
dion from Brandon, MB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definetly recommend it and have recomened IT ! Love it No complaints excellent product !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2010 Would be great if....
Review by
Mike from Waretown, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit would work great if it did not have a detachable front faceplate. Mine gets used 95% of the time for iPod use and with the wire hanging off the front it puts too much weight and looses connection/ performs random button presses/ and cuts out one of the channels but once you give the faceplate a little wiggle all is good for a little bit again.

When it works it works great and is very feature packed but this downfall makes me regret the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2010 Don't buy this unit!
Review by
Bek from Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this unit last year and there is NOTHING good about it....horrible bluetooth. You need to scream in order for someone to hear you through it. The GPS only works in US and Canada but I live outside US and I couldn't use it. The USB port went out of order just 4 or 5 months after I bought it and I can't repair it. The unit is very slow when you search for tracks I mean when you press 'forward' and 'backward' buttons. The screen has VERY bad sensitivity. Overall I'm very disappointed. Instead go for big brands like Clarion, Alpine, I think they have much better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2010 Great product
Review by
Dale from Stroudsburg, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this Item for 2004 Ford Escape, and I love it, all features work perfect. Easy to hook up. Love bluetooth, and Navigation System. SD card works good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2010 A lot of features but ......
Review by
John from St Augustine, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been using this unit for about 8 months now. It's got a lot of features, but controls seem cheap. My touch screen stopped working so I have to send it back for repair or for a replacement. But i noticed when I stop the car and restart, the unit sometimes comes on and off a few times. The power button was unresponsive a lot of the times while this was going on. Not sure if this is the adapter you have to buy to prevent this. Navigation unit and stereo worked good. Bluetooth you have to scream into the built in mic like someone already stated, not sure if they were using the external mic. I tried my external mic but it didn't work. I need to check the install of that, might be my fault, might have nicked a wire, so I can't blame anyone just yet. The DVD/CD player has some kind of motor running noise at low volume I can hear. Was told to check for a grounded sub amp cable but did not have a chance to check before the Touch screen went dead / frozen. Also when you remove the DVD/CD they come out hot. Even with all the problems I love the unit and the controls seem cheep but you pay for what you get I guess. The touch screen freezing is a problem and came at a bad time coming back from vacation, but maybe got a lemon. We will see when I get a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2010 you get what you pay for
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Hamilton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
there is a reason why this deck is priced so low for having so many features. the GPS worked good, the bluetooth was basically worthless unless your comfortable screaming and often repeating yourself, they put the fast forward button right beside the page down button on the touchscreen (which is quite laggy and inaccurate). often while you are browsing for a song you end up fast forwarding the track thats already on. very annoying and difficult to browse music. the sound quality was noticeably worse than a sony deck (and sony is not high end car audio). i've switched back to my sony deck for the time being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2012 sucks
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
becky from northport, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would not buy this it sucks. The phone doesnt work with the Bluetooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 Poor Quality
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Darren from Spotsylvania, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed it and it worked great for about 30 days. The screen went blank and the unit sound degraded significantly. When it worked, the buttons were not very responsive and required firm and exact pressing. Pages are not user friendly and functional. Overall, I would have been satisfied had everything continued to work, but as I said the thing stopped working after 30 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2011 Cheap Junk
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
rodney from jacksonville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product does what it says, but in a poor way and it completely broke after little more than a year of standard use. The volume and quality of sound is poor. The equalizer settings are aweful and there is little option to adjust the sound manually. It takes two cables to connect the radio to your IPOD. It will play dvds and does have a navigation system, however the nav system is terrible and has gotten me lost several times, and the manual doesn't provide any information on updating this system. All in all I would not reccomend this item or anything by Dual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2011 Huge Mistake, feature loaded, but low quality
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
[email protected] from Mooresboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The bluetooth is virtually worthless as it sounds like a leaf blower running in the background even when the car is parked with no ambient noise to callers. Nav system is old and new map update is $60 with no noticeable updates. Update is tricky and my system crashed. Pruchased PAC-SWI steering wheel interface and never could get this to work consistently. Camera would invoke sometime when the brake was hit. Many other problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz