Showing 18 reviews for Hifonics BRZ12SQD4

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics BRZ12SQD4
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
64%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
4.4
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
October 13, 2011 LOUD
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mitch from Granger, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these bad boys in a Mitsubishi Eclipse, wired to a 1600 watt Boss Phantom amp at 2 ohms, in a sealed box that I built. Before I had them in my Eclipse, they were in my room and would shake things off the walls in my sister's room across the hall. Haha, I broke a lot of her stuff. Now in my car, they are wayyyy louder with the smaller airspace. My rearview mirror is pretty much useless, and I don't even like turning them up all the way because its just uncomfortable. These subs are well beyond my expectations, and a great value if you know what you're doing. They take the extra power like champs, and look great too. A lot of people have never seen square subs before, and are amazed that my 12's are so damn loud. My 12's are way louder than most of the kids' in my school parking lot, and my friend with two 15 inch Soundstreams finally has some competition. They hit the lows like you wouldn't believe, and sound GREAT when I play dubstep too. The only bad thing I have to say about this sub is that cutting a square hole with round corners and no template to go off of is kinda hard. But thats not the sub's fault. I was planning on upgrading to two RE Audio 15's, but I don't think that will be necessary. These satisfy the needs of even the biggest basshead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2011 Great Sub
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ludski from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had 2 of these powered by a power acoustic amp. Thought the subs were bad since they didnt hit some notes like round subs did.
BUT, later found out the amp was just a POS.

If interested in Square subs, be aware of the sound frequencies squares give out compared to circles.
and make sure to get a GOOD amp to power them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2014 Great speakers
Review by
soyyo from toledo Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 4 of these for my Envoy they pound hard but I need more power , you can hear me coming for three city blocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 great value
Review by
jmr from Bridgeport, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amplifier nice and solid bass. Its very powerful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2013 hits
Review by
T-rent from Lees summit, missouri
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in a ported box with a hifonics amp pushing 1400 watts rms. they hit so hard!!!!! It feels like your in an earthquake. They eat power. I have a 20 farad capacitor hooked up to my amp. And I wired everything with 4 gauge wire so the power is transferred, but at sometimes even my capacitor can't handle the load and my dash lights start to dim. I love these!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2013 BRUTUS
Review by
Big Dog from White House, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an awesome subwoofer, just hooked it up today, and it sounds amazing. Im going to wait a lil while before i crank up the bass. Its on zero right now on the amp and radio, and STILL pounds!!! I recommend this product to anyone, its cheap and works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2012 these subs bang!!!!!!!!!!!
Review by
dewey from rice lake wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 3 of these hifonics brutus in my audi a4 and i just went to a competion and whooped with them. i would definetly recommend them to any body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2012 Damn Good Subs
Review by
Austin from Trout, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in my Isuzu i-280 in two separate ported boxes on a Boss 2500 Chaos series amp at 1 ohm at about 700watts apiece and these things slam. They are so loud I set off a car alarm across the road. Seriously great subs. Cheap price. If you are reading this, buy these now. They are great, love Hifonics and on a side note they are beautiful subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 THE BEST SUB EVER MADE NO MATTER WHAT PRICE
Review by
jerimiah "TURD" @ treasure point audio from anderson, indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Okay here it is. I have 4 of these brutus subs in my blazer powered by a 10,000 watts maxxsonics maxximus amp and its not over rated like all this lanzar and power aukostic junk. Each sub holds up well with 2500 watts going to each They may need more power but ill get to that later. THESE SUBS KILL ANY JL OR KICKER. My truck took home first place with 175 bd at the show and even hit so hard that I had to replace a cracked manifold on my engine. MAKE SURE YOU GOT ATLEAST 1500 WATTS RMS A PIECE or dont waste your time. Enjoy greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2012 great sub
Review by
austin from mineola tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these and put them in my truck hooked up to a hifonics brutus 1700 watt amp wired down to two ohms so they rms at exactly 1200 watts. These subs sound really good and for the price they are a great deal. I would recommend them to anyone working on a budget but still wants the most bang for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 These Subs Rock!!!!
Review by
Narhan from Capitol Heights, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A friend of mines has his sub mounted in a custom vented/ported box (2.75cu in.) Wired up to an 1300 watts amp that simply pounds the hell out of his car with ease... Of course I've always been a Hifonics fan for sometime now; before I used to have a set of 10s that killed many 12s, but not these BRZ12SQ4!!! So obviously I downsized in quantity & upgraded in quality with this setup, but in a (3cu in) custom vented/ported box instead!!! Oh yeah... S/O goes to Sonic Electronixs for Great Service & even Faster Delivery!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2011 Good sub
Review by
Levi from Ocala FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great sub can b as beast as L7 but way cheaper only if u got right set up MUST use mono amp nothing else or you wont know its true potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Amazing Subwoofer
Review by
Ben from Fort Collins, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one amazing subwoofer. It sounds very deep and clean. The price is unbeatable. The frame and surround is very strong. The push terminals are very easy to use. This thing takes well over rated power as well. A MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2010 i got six twelves
Review by
LEE from LUBBOCK T.X.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used to like 15"s alwayz got two at a time but then i wanted to sumthin diffrent i have a suburban plenty of space decided to put six twelves of these brutes subs. i have them runnin off a 2600 watt brutus amp D class. i drive by shakin people houses. you can hear me 10 block away i promise no lie. but if you do sumthin like this be ready cuz you makin the cops you enemy lol... they start goin crazy cuz they hear me. so they start lookin for me... LmFaO...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2010 Can't Beat it
Review by
Daniel from Binghamton, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned some big systems in the past and decided to get back into it. After much research I went with this square Brutus, mainly because I've had good luck with Hifonics in the past and the price was amazing. I matched it with a 2.8 cubic foot box and an 1100 watt Crunch amp. Let me tell you, this leaves nothing to be desired. It hits harder than I ever expected it to and with the large box it hits lows deeper and louder than some 15's I've had in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 very loud
Review by
Mitchell from lonsdale, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub hits hard, I never like kickers for how they sounds, but this square sub sounds really nice, i love it, and for the price you cant beat it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2010 Impressive
Review by
reubmuzik from Alexandria, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 1 of BRZ12SQd4 sub woofer hooked up at 600/1200 watts in a 1.45 cu ft. sealed enclosure. The bass is clean but loud as hell! Everything vibrates in the car. I have the amp at about 3/4 gain, with no boost. I also have a 2 farad capacitor wired in to help keep the power supply constant. I typically keep the bass on my stereo adjusted to 0 or -2, and it is still just as loud as my old system which boasted 2 kicker 10's at 600 (300 each) when it was turned all the way up to my head unit max 5.

I would recommend this sub woofer to anyone. I am too grown to actually need more bass than this. Other than for competition, this is way more bass than anyone needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2011 big boom for the buck
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
chase from st. louis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First I love, love, love Hifonics products and these woofers are awesome!
I have a pair running 750 to each at 1 ohm. Only a little more then the rccmd, rms but they sound like they could take a lot more. Thumbs up as well to SonicElectronix, item was well packaged, came in two days and was cheaper than other dealers. Don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz