Showing 18 reviews for Hifonics BRZ15D4

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics BRZ15D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
5.0
Features
4.5
Design
4.5
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Great Buy

I have 2 of these monsters in a 5.2CF ported box with a hifioncs brutus 1700.1 pushing them. amp isnt even up half way yet and everytime they hit they shake everything in the car these are great subs!! Fast shipping too 3 buisness days.

VS
its good for starters

I have one of them hooked up to a 600rms 1200 peak amp in a 3cb box. it shakes yes but the quality is sad. I got a kicker cvx 15 now and it slams like two of these boys. Oh and whatch with the knob guys you will burn the coils easy!

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 14, 2011 Great Buy
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
speakerguy from oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these monsters in a 5.2CF ported box with a hifioncs brutus 1700.1 pushing them. amp isnt even up half way yet and everytime they hit they shake everything in the car these are great subs!! Fast shipping too 3 buisness days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2011 GREAT SUBS, GREAT PRICE AND GREAT BASS!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PONCHO from grand island, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are awesome and hit really hard, I just got the 2 that i order, hook em up and they do awesome and im just giving about 600watts to them with my performance-teknique amp... The Brutus hifonics are really good subs you guys should get and least one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2011 I HAD NO IDEA
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PIT B. from RIDGECREST. CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My brother in law saw how inexpensive these subs were and I remembered an old system that my buddy had that sounded great with a Hifonics amp-- so I said go for it .. At that price we could not even worry about fryin them.. So i made sure they had the right ohms to bridge these bad boys to my old kicker 1200.1 1 ohm 1200watt rms amplifier and a 3 farad capacitor and i was shocked!! I used to run a pair of l7 kickers in the trunk of my impala ..They were rediculiously loud i could see my roof litterally vibrating up and down an inch and a half, but they were in the trunk.. I fried them because of a loose fuse, but anyway... He asked to use my amp till he could get his own on pay day.. I gave him a box from my two twelve inch kickers so i traded him for one of the boxes i made from an old system with a pair of 15's. I bridge them properly, he threw them in his suburban, where they were in the vehical, and i was already impressed....... Then he said" i barely have it turned up" he was hesitant because of burn in , but after a couple days he finally turned it up...... It went from a massage on the seat to clothes moving and feeling the air moving around my body!! I would cuss to describe how i really felt but i dont know if i'm allowed to.......... I had no idea the potential of my amplifier ----====I have to get a pair------- for the durability well he turned up his piece of crap sony head unit up too loud on accident to total distortion in the whole system- there was clipping -- but it didn't hurt them at all- i realized i have to go back to 15's deeeeeeep bass and all the way up to the crossovers 100 hz - they sound great!!!!!!!!! He didn't think he'd need an amp for the highs till we hooked it up!! Now he's got the taste for some real power!! Been shopping for me and everyone at sonic for several years and i can't wait for whats coming next!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 18, 2014 great bang for your buck!
Review by
Aaron from ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased 1 of these subs and built a 4 cubic ft box for it. Tuned to 34 hz. Have it running off a soundstream stl1.600d and it pounds. Giving it the full 600 rms. Had it in my wifes ford escape and she couldn't handle the bass! The sub gets low! Deffinatly recommend to anyone on a budget. I plan on buying another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2014 Pretty dang awesome for the price
Review by
Matthew from Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ran it off a competition level amplifier and it hit hard. I run an 800W four way amplifier and it was drowning that out. It lasted a good month of pounding from about 1400W peak before she finally blew. The metal around the rim is kind of annoying. Even with it blown it still runs, shakes my car while it's at it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2014 WOW! Noting short of Amazing
Review by
Joey from Kenosha WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off the value. Its one of the cheapest and most powerful for the price. compare to Rockford Fostgate P3 and you'll pay almost double. For those who are on a budget this is the Sub for you. Look and Design It's Nice wish it had like lights on it like one of its sibblings but to get extra power rather than leds and can live with it. Durability, I've been smashing this Sub and it doesnt even phase it. Features, its dual 4ohm so it gives you multiple ways to wire it. I've got mine wired to 2ohms on a Hifonics ZRX 1200.1D amp and Wow. Overall I D ont regret my purchase and if i had the trunk space I'd buy 2 more if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2013 these are a great buy
Review by
Marcus from Pflugerville, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had these subwoofers for over a year and they never gave me any problems and hit very hard they shake everything..great buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2012 Hifonics 15" skeptic turned fan
Review by
Out18law18 from Midwest City, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered one of these based on price and previous experience with some Hifonics products in the 90's. I built a 4 cubic foot slot ported CRX style box tuned to 34 hertz for my 4runner. Hooked it up to my Kicker DX1000 amp (birth sheet said 1098 watts) and couldnt believe the output. After a proper break in I ran it hard for over 3 months with no problems, and never even smelled voice coil burn. It was so loud and built up so much pressure in my small suv that one of my friends just had to have it and bought it from me. I'd say that is about as good of a compliment that anyone could give.

I would also like to say that I don't feel this sub would be near as good in any smaller box and that a sealed box is out of the question for it. So unless you can spare 4 cubic feet from your vehicle you would prob want to look for a different sub.

I would not hesitate to purchase this sub for a future system or reccomend it to anyone looking to stay under $100 per sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 great subs for the price
Review by
Cole from Connellys springs, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these subs are better than some cheaper subs on the market today but still a great deal. I have them running on a crunch 3050 running at 1 ohm giving each sub 750 watts and it works fine but the amp gets hot but the subs work flawlessly and in a sealed box still flex my back glass in my 1990 bronco so thats a large space but i did have to send one back cuz it blew after about 2 months and that process took around a month but sonic replaced it and only charged shipping which was 20 bucks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2012 It's not always about the brand, it's about the INSTALL!
Review by
B.J. from Oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My nephew ordered 2 of these subs based on size, price and brand. He already had the amp (Hifonics BXi1610D) which has made it through 3 different system installs, over the years. HIFONICS FOR THA WIN! So we built a slot port box for these subs (around 5cf) and wired them together down to 1ohm on the amp (1600rms). Set the gain just under halfway, for the break-in period. They blew us both away! Move plenty of air and reaches down for those low notes! 5000 songs later he's still turning heads in his Durango. Gain on the amp is now just over the halfway mark and let me tell ya....DAMN! I still can't believe how well they're performing. Stay close to the manufacturer's specs and you will be more than pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 doesnt handle much power but sounded good while it lasted
Review by
Desmond from Copperas Cove, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wired these to 1 ohm to my audiopipe ap15001d. Lasted 2 days and fried. I'm guessing the signal was dirty or something cuz the gain wasnt up that high. They sounded good for the 2 days but they could have been a little louder. I'll probably buy another pair and set the gains with a multimeter and not by ear. Could have been my fault but i think my cvr 10s and 12s were way louder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2012 Good value
Review by
Kyle from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in a ported box in my tahoe running below what they're rated and they aren't bad. If you are looking for loud woofers i wouldnt go with these but for the price you cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 ATTENTION BASS HEADS BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!!!
Review by
155THINF from BROOKHAVEN, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these subs in a dual sealed enclosure with a Alpine V-Power MRP-M1000 wired as a 4 ohm mono load and these things pound hard!! I have already cracked my windshield trying to show off with the windows rolled up! These things move so much air it make the coins in my cup holders look like they are levitating! Dont waste your money on any another other sub. For this price these perform way beyond expectation! My car has a very heavy reinforced trunk and it still flexes.

PROS: EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SUB, PRODUCT PRICES, AND SONICELECTRONIX IS THE BEST HAND DOWNS!!

CONS: IF YOU DON'T WATCH THE VOLUME YOU WILL HAVE PLENTY OF DISTURNING THE PEACE TICKETS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2011 nice for the price
Review by
Ry from Mound, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I managed to fit 2 of these beasts into a 2005 Toyota Corolla. They have suburb sound quality and my mirror auto-adjusts itself with every hit. I have them wired to a 1800W Kenwood amp (KAC-9103D). Only problem is that i need a bigger power source cause my amp is not getting enough power. other than that, great sub from a reputable company, at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2010 clean bass
Review by
Spencer from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these things hit hard i got 2 in my focus and they shake the cars next to me like they had 12's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2009 good sub
Review by
K dizle fo shizzle from Hudson, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this sub a couple of weeks ago. i like it, im thinking about getting another also. cops are already following me. its pretty loud. best sub for the price. Cops are hating on my hits but im getting rich!!!

Yeah Hifonics!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2009 great sub for the price
Review by
Will from Vallejo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i hooked mine up to a house amp, overshooting the rms a little, i havent even broken it in yet and my neighbors are already complaining. nice deep clean bass and i havent even a heard any distortion yet! great price, thinkin bout buyin another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2011 its good for starters
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chuck from Jefferson, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of them hooked up to a 600rms 1200 peak amp in a 3cb box. it shakes yes but the quality is sad. I got a kicker cvx 15 now and it slams like two of these boys. Oh and whatch with the knob guys you will burn the coils easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz