Showing 12 reviews for AutoPage C3-RS915-LCD

Customer Review Summary for AutoPage C3-RS915-LCD
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 45 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.4
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
October 10, 2010 The C3-RS915 is the best deal!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Si from Bedford, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The "AutoPage C3-RS915-LCD" is an impressive auto theft deterrent. It has all the controls, features, and functionality of a high-end alarm system, which makes me wonder why it isn't categorized as such. Out of the box, the overall appearance of the design is sleek and small enough to fit in tight places where low visibility is a must.

The best features in my opinion are the on board relays. They are robust enough to control just about any late model vehicle starter cut or power door lock system. This made ease of wiring for my car that required an aftermarket locking servo. It was wired directly to the brain per the instructions illustrated in the installation guide. The add-on features for additional devices are also noteworthy. You will get two remotes; one of that is a full LCD that has a vibrating/silent mode feature and the other has the basic buttons lock, trunk, unlock, and panic.

Also, the tech support team is friendly and very helpful. I've been a certified mobile electronics installer for more than 18 years and have never come across an alarm with comparable features for such a competitive price. Ideally, it's the biggest bang for the buck and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2010 AutoPage C3-RS915-LCD
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Allan S. from Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This a great alarm and I would recommend it. I bought this one because of the great reviews and I had a previous model installed on my car. So I updated it with this alarm because of better features such as the long ranges, LCD, sensors....etc. I bought 2 sets and gave one as a gift. The only problem I have with it is the remote seems to have become defective. The LCD remote resets itself every so often and several times a day turns off so I have to consistently check it through out the day. I don't even bother setting the clock because I got tired of it.
This review has to be continued because I have contacted SonicElectronix and AutoPage about this recently and I'm waiting for their reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2010 Best alarm I've ever owned
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Phil from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This alarm is great! I love the 2 way pager feature since my vehicles has consistently been vandalized/broken into at night while I'm on the 3rd floor of my business, with my truck parked behind the garage that it's too large to fit in. Now I can rest assured at night that if my truck is being broken into, I'll know it. The remote start is awesome. With the current heatwave on the east coast, I can cool down my truck before I get into it. The ability to check the interior temp is also a great option during this heatwave. You'll definitely want a professional installation with this though. I only paid $175 for the install, but you'll also need a bypass module with this which cost me another $99 at the installer. This unit is way too complicated to install if you're not an expert. Even the installer ran into a problem installing this alarm which took an extra day to get corrected. But I'm still very pleased with this unit after a week of using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2014 Works well on a 1995 Corvette after a few problems
Review by
C4-95 from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I shopped a lot of security systems and read a lot of reviews. My goal was to find one:
With a detailed installation manual available online (I downloaded and read a few prior to purchase);
With a rechargeable LCD remote;
That allowed a keyless entry, remote start;
That offered remote voltage and temperature checking; and
That used the car horn as an output device, since the car already had a security system that used the horns and I'm not a fan of the multi-tone cheap sirens- plus it was one less wire to run to the engine bay..

I decided on the Autopage RS915, since it did all of the above and Sonic had it for a decent price. I also used a DEI 451M power lock interface and a PLJX immobilizer bypass. I also have a factory shop manual. I would not try this without one.

Wiring took a long time. I could only work on it a little at a time. I'll list the problems I had (a couple of which were self-inflicted) and what I did to correct them.

The first problem was a manual error. The manual states that if your parking lights are positive switched (mine are), you do not need the second fused input wire (red/white) for the parking light relay, so I cut it out. After wiring it up, I found I had no parking light output. I wired in the red/white wire and they worked as they should.

The Corvette uses reversing polarity locks. I bought a DEI 451M module that interfaced to the locks and plugged in to the RS915. After cutting the wires from the driver side lock switch, I ended up wiring it backward, but once this was corrected, they worked fine.

The next problem was the car stalling after remote starting. I found that I needed to use the H6/3 pink wire's alternate program to disable the factory system via a (-) pulse to the wire from the driver door lock.

My first critique I have is that the system as designed requires a LOT of battery feed wires. It seems like with 2x 20 amp inputs plus a main input that there could be some outputs as well. I tapped in to the ignition battery feed wire and added a 4 place fuse panel so I could have power for an anti-grind relay and the PLJX bypass. I wired the 2x 20 amp and main power to the buss bar on the fuse block since each already had a fuse. I wired the 451M to the car's power lock circuit power feed.

My next critique is that there is a cheap relay and socket included that can be used for a "starter cut" that has a rudimentary diagram with not all terminals depicted. The socket is wired so that it can be used for an anti-grind function (preventing the starter from operating while under remote start). A basic diagram would have been helpful, I was able to figure this out after more reading elsewhere. I ended up using a better-quality relay and socket for this function.

I like the system for it's features, but with them comes a bevy of programming menus. There are 5 in total. Fortunately, I used most of the default settings.

The LCD remote is fairly use and understand. Since the car is still a project, I have not range-tested it, but have operated it from about 40 feet away through two walls inside my home while the car was inside my shop.

I can't rate durability since I have not used it on the road yet, so it is a 3/5 default.

I'd recommend this system to those with a sufficient level of ability and a shop manual to help with wiring. I laid out a diagram for my specific system and this made the install much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2013 Works Good
Review by
Deboniz from Crum Lynne, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm a installer. I only install high rated systems. Should be expert installed. A little pricey compared to other good systems out there. Remote range is good, but I used others that had farther range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2013 Tried andTrue
Review by
Heather from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've used Autopage products for years now. They are all very dependable and just a good as the competition for a considerable amount less. This particular model has been a favorite of mine( the model number has changed a little over the years but essentially it's the same alarm). The only gripe I have with this alarm is the response time from the pager to the main unit and vice a versa. While you are receiving a transmission you cannot send out a command, so if you remote start the vehicle you cannot unlock it for a good 7-10 seconds after. Other than that this alarm is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2012 POOR VALUE...
Review by
Debone from Woodlyne, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have installed several of these units. They work great. Nice alarm system overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2011 Pretty Nice
Review by
GIB from DFW, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like the alarm for the value of it.

Pro's 1. 2-way display 2. Everybody looks at my keys like, "DAMN!" 3. Good price 4. Color changing LCD 5. Doesn't need charging more then every 3 weeks.

Con's 1. I would like to beable to leave my truck running after driving it and run in to the store real quick and lock my doors with my remote. but you cant. You have to turn the key off and start all over 2. Chrome LCD remote looks like it may chip eventually. 3. Adjusting sensitivity is pain 4. LCD remote doesn't make much noise when the car is barely bumped.

Overall not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2011 Great alarm!
Review by
Steven from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this alarm for about a year. Works great! Only problem is the alarm keyfob takes too long to let you know your alarm is going off. Also, the autostart runtime counter doesn't automatically deactivate when you get in the car and press the brake pedal. you have to now deactivate it manually through the keyfob. Boo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2011 This is a favorite.
Review by
Panda from Tokyo, Japan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
RS915 -- this is a favorite

In Japan, he cannot buy it.

It has improved very much.

In installation Much relay is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2010 Best Alarm for the money
Review by
Bishop Breakitdown from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After 6 months with this alarm, there's not much more I could be happy with. The distance at which I can arm/disarm it is amazing. The only areas I've had problems in are areas with high digital traffic, and the few times the alarm seen to completely reset itself for whatever reason. Everybody who's seen it, thinks the remote start feature is the coolest thing on earth. It's especially handy on hot days like this past summer with over 90 days of 100 degree temps. I just start it before I walk out the door and come to a much cooler truck.

I had it professionally installed ona 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab. I've installed alarms in the past, but this one was way beyond my skill level. The only complaint I'd have is that the web site information should have been more specific about two issues.

1. The C3 feature where the alarm can send notificaiton to a smart phone requires an additional module at an additional price. This is not mentioned on the site.

2. Most cars will require a bypass module that cost an additional price to install the alarm (mine was $175 plus labor).

Overall though, I am very pleased. My truck had been broken into 3 times in the past year. And with the shock sensor and flashing blue LED in the dash being a sure deterrent, the money I've saved on replacing broken glass is more than worth the price I paid for the alarm and installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2010 GREAT PRODUCT,
Review by
YURIY from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best product i had for last 10 years.Very ease to use, program and best communication range works trough parking garage walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz