Showing 27 reviews for MTX Audio TN12-04

Customer Review Summary for MTX Audio TN12-04
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 27 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
70%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.6
Features
4.2
Design
4.6
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 23, 2011 The best buy in car audio.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joe from Dundee, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This speaker is one of the best subwoofers ever made. I wont quote spl's or power handling statistics or any other such specification. I will point to the fact that this this speaker has remain virtually unchanged for 25, yes, twenty five years. In fact, I bought my first terminators in 1989. I have purchased at least 20 of these subs from 8-18 inches. The woofer has a natural tone and can accurately reproduce a wide range of bass frequencies. And yes, they can pound out 35Hz notes all day long. You can get maximum spl at around 200 watts rms, but even at 100 watts you can still pound the pavement, so you wont need a huge amp. Box size is very important for this sub. It is good for both ported and sealed boxes, as well as bandpass applications.
The only drawback is that the box size required is larger than a lot of speakers on the market. But in today's economy, this is the best value for your hard earned buck. 25 years proves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2014 great deal
Review by
bobby from greenfield ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
fast shipping great deal works as well as expected hits pretty hard alot harder than i would of expected from only a 200 watt sub im very happy with my purchase thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Spend a little more for something else
Review by
Bone from Riverside, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs have a very limited range, very limited power, and just are not worth it. Don't waste your time with this entry level sub, spend a little more a get something decent. Mine is melted already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 great price
Review by
jaime from northridge, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs hit hard I had them in my Toyota Avalon. One thing I would recommend is running them at the recommended amp power...I was running a 1000 rms mtx amp and blew them out..using with the recommended amp power should be fine. Great beginners subs..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 awesome
Review by
Ralph from Holly Springs , NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
MTX makes great speakers. Sealed box with 300 watt max amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 awesome
Review by
Ralph from Holly Springs , NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
MTX makes great speakers. Sealed box with 300 watt max amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 Purely Awesome
Review by
ian from Kearns, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a sub to replace the blown Cerwin Vega in a home theater powered sub I came into. This had the right size, screw holes, wattage and resistance to replace it. It has been fantastic and adds a new level of acoustics to my system. MTX is fantastic, at any price, even the less-expensive end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2012 Does the Job
Review by
Nate from Rochester, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put my first sub in and didnt want anything special so i tried out this 12-inch and it provides a nice low end to my usual rock/alternative/electronic music. Its nothing super pumpin but a nice overall sub for those on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2012 Get Em
Review by
Waldo from Virginia Beach
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got two of these bad boys in the backseat of my dodge dakota and boy do I thump! Highly recommend mtx subs whether you are a bass novice or expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2012 Solid product
Review by
Duane from Damascus, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this for about a year in a sealed box with a MB Quart Formula series amp. Not going to win any SPL trophies but at the price point its a solid, competent component with good response and sound. No complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2012 Mtx is great
Review by
Audio freak from Candler, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This isnt the loudest sub mtx makes. But for this price range of a 12" sub, this is one of the best. Mtx audio takes pride in their audio and builds it for durability as well as quality. So you can plan on any mtx product to last as long as you want it to. And Sonic has the best prices around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2012 whatever sub
Review by
Julian from Fredericksburg, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this at a bundle with a 350w Kenwood amp from sonicelectronix. when i first put them in it hit pretty hard and put out some good clean bass but after only a month of bumpin around it started to have this ugly crackling sound at higher frequencies... wont be getting another one of these. maybe i just pushed it too hard being that it is only a 400 watt sub, even though it was only getting 150w RMS. Ehh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2012 great
Review by
Trent from Council Bluffs, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had these for about 3 months and they have over achieved my expectations they are the loudest i have experienced yet and i have not been around competition subs yet so im excited. MTX is the best way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 good beginner subs
Review by
BigLebowski from Birmingham, Al
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned these subs for about 9 months now. They have lasted great through the abuse. Ive had this sub on 3 amps (dont buy kenwood amps), and in two different boxes, one in old lexus, and the new ported one in my ranger. From the beginning i was overpowering these subs by 50 rms a piece. Now, they are being run by a hifonics 1000.d amp at 2 ohms. so in short do these sound good on 750rms, No they really dont, i have to turn my radio to -2 with the gain all the way down on the amp. But i have to say Ive played these subs for at least an hour a day for the past 9 months driving back and forth to school at a excessive level and they still sound very good although they dont want to handle some frequencies now probably my fault though.

Conclussion: great beginner sub but if you want to go to the next level you cant go wrong with re-audio's se series at least that's what ill be upgrading to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 MTX TN-12
Review by
Jason from Hamilton, Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great sub for the price, it was built well and sounds great. I recommend this sub to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 these pound
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had these before but upgraded to L7's in my opinion i think these hit harder and cleaner than my new L7's at lower rms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2011 It Will pound!
Review by
Matt from Kokomo,In
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds great, no problems short of the neighbors feeling me come down the street. It is however slightly bigger than the one I was replacing. Be sure to check the dimensions closely when ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2011 great
Review by
adam from san angelo tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Clean and great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 MTX
Review by
Mr. Matt from York, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers! I'm using them on a pair of MTX home audio speakers that finally went out on me after years of Djing & abuse. The new ones are even better. You can't go wrong with these subs !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2011 MTX is the king
Review by
amunia from chicago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought it 6 months ago and i like it very much such great hearing bass and very nice looking. Very nice choice for sedan cars too good luck with MTX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2011 Sound, Performance and Price
Review by
Torredo from Adelanto, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend this sub.. When matched with a well built enclosure designed to the right air space and a well matched amplifier this sub pounds out the bass.. Over and above expectation and for a great price..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2011 Good Sub for price
Review by
Jmac from Decatur, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this sub if you're on a budget like i was. For the price these subs can't be beat, but if you like deep powerful bass that you can feel, then these aren't the subs for you. I really can't say much though because i'm powering 2 of them with a Autotek 2 channel class AB amp that only gives the subs 125wrms each. All in all its an okay sub for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2011 C'mon now! Really?
Review by
MikeG602 from PHX, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had 1 of these in a ported and sealed box. They are nice for the price. Dont really hit lows and are somewhat underrated, maybe by 50-100rms with a clean amp. Good sub for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2011 great
Review by
jarah from pawtucket, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had two of these in my 08 impala with a MTX 600w monoblock amp. Great subs, hits hard and sounds great, I have owned several different brands of subs over the years and MTX is by far my favorite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2011 good for the price.
Review by
2ShotTuck from OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These aren't bad sub. I think the 150 RMS is underrated by about a 100 watts. These are a beginners sub obviously. Good for rap R&B techno and things along that line but if you listen to metal and you want to hear the definition in the fast bass drum kick, then these aren't the best choice, they are a little sloppy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2010 Awsome Sub
Review by
xNismoxEVOx from wixom
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own two of these and I have them in a Orion ported box with a boss 3500 watt amp going to them and they hit really really hard I have 2200 running to them and I have out hit my buddy 3 12's tht he had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2010 Bangin
Review by
Jacob from Vilas, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This little 12 surprised me. I had a kenwood 12 and this terminator made the Kenwood look bad. I have this sub on a 200 watt pioneer amp and it pushes it to the max. doesnt take many watts to push this sub. i have it in a 2 cubic feet sealed box and it rattles my 1996 Grand Cherokee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz