Showing 13 reviews for Kenwood Marine KMR-700U

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood Marine KMR-700U
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 13 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
46%
4 star:
.
.
31%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
15%
1 star:
.
.
8%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
3.8
Features
4.2
Design
4.2
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Nice features

Used this unit for a new install & the client really enjoys it. Equipped with usb & iPod connections & storage unit. Not recommended for someone that does not have the space for the separate breakout box.

VS
poor service

The unit does not work with the iPhone, you can only play music that you have stored on the phone, You cannot play Pandora or any other app, this reciever does not support that. Kenwood should display this info for consumers.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 9, 2014 Nice features
Review by
Les from Englewood, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used this unit for a new install & the client really enjoys it. Equipped with usb & iPod connections & storage unit. Not recommended for someone that does not have the space for the separate breakout box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 Good product because...
Review by
RobBob from Beaverton, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
…im 42 years old, i have been using electronics for most of my life, I know Kenwood to be a great maker of electronics. I chose this particular model for my SUV even though its rated for marine use or on the water because it has a secret iPod compartment and the unit itself is sealed from the environment and with three big slobbering wolves in my suburban, having a system protected from the elements is essential and with the purchase of marine rated speakers, I will complement and complete my system. Everything in life is a work in progress. Make the most of it with some good ol tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Put It in the boat got to have tunes on the lake
Review by
At the lake from Milledgeville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced an old CD player in the boat wanted tier to connect iPhone to this fit the bill plus the radio works well. Plenty of power for speakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2012 poor service
Review by
calvin from tulsa ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The unit does not work with the iPhone, you can only play music that you have stored on the phone, You cannot play Pandora or any other app, this reciever does not support that. Kenwood should display this info for consumers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 nice head unit
Review by
partyheat from alta loma ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's really cool the only problem is its a little hard to see the display in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 Volume Control Stopped Working - Twice!
Review by
Rick from Kennewick, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this unit and less than one year latter the volume control stopped working. I liked how the iPod was kept inside the headset so I purchased a second unit and one year later the volume control stopped working again!

I'm going with a different manufacturer next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2011 OK - but not all it's cracked up to be
Review by
D dub from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It does integrate with iPods easily. Finding playlists is tough. The largest dissapointment was that I got this for the dual zones so I could separate my wake tower speaker volume from the speakers in the boat. If you use the pre-outs (as anyone will that is putting in a high end system) you lose that option. I would have just bought another deck if I knew this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2011 awesome radio
Review by
mike from tampa,fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is everything I could have ever wanted. Great sound and no problem performing on rough seas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2010 Awesome Stereo! Best Value Around!
Review by
Pete from Camas, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has been amazing for our boat. Inexpensive compared to other products but does an amazing job. Hook your iPod or iPhone up and lock it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2010 love it
Review by
Dan from Island Lake, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great value, draws alot of power, iPod hookup is neat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2010 great unit
Review by
southern boatman from bay st louis, ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is easy to use and I love that the iPod connection is inside the unit where the iPod can also be secured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2010 Very Pleased!
Review by
Grumpy from Lima, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
While designated a marine radio, I purchased this unit to mount on my motorcycle. What drew me to the KMR-700U was its oversize face that offers larger buttons that would be easier to manipulate while wearing gloves. Also, having a volume knob rather than buttons was another key factor.

One concern I did have was whether or not the 15 watt/channel internal amplifier would be enough to drive my 6x9 speakers so they would be audible at highway speeds on the bike. Not an easy task with my obnoxiously loud pipes. Turns out the internal amp cranks out just enough juice to do the job before clipping/distortion becomes an issue and degrades sound quality. I may still add an external amplifier, but for now I'm satisfied with the sound and volume.

The only complaint I have about this unit is that it's a little picky when it comes to USB thumb drives. If the drive needs to boot from an executable file stored on it (most SanDisk drives), it typically won't work as the unit doesn't know what to do with that file and says it can't read the drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2010 gittyup
Review by
Damon from Mokane, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
LOVE IT!!!! No more CDs. Easy to hook up too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz