Showing 17 reviews for Boss PH1500M

Customer Review Summary for Boss PH1500M
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
41%
4 star:
.
.
47%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
.
6%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.5
Features
4.1
Design
4.5
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 18, 2014 Better as "2 Channel"
Review by
Austin from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was the first amp I ever owned, and it did decent pushing my 12" Kenwood sub. However, I quickly upgraded and this amp sat in the basement collecting dust for a couple years...

I decided to put it to good use by wiring the amp to a computer power supply and hooking up some bookshelf speakers to it, since there is an full pass filter that allows all frequencies to pass. The sound quality is amazing, and the amp stays cool which makes me think this amp would be a better full-range 2 Channel style amp rather than monoblock that would push a sub.

While it may just be a monoblock, I think this Boss amp's potential is best used when pushing full-range speakers, due to its really clean sound quality. Realistically, the RMS is probably about 100w@4ohms and 200w@2ohms, which is great for pushing speakers. So as I have already said multiple times, I would recommend this amp more for home audio or 2 Channel style car audio than to push a sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2014 Great for the price
Review by
jg78 from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is much more than I expected for the price. Sonic Electronix is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 Boss PH1500M
Review by
josh from orangeville, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok well when i used to own this amp It was nice little amp.But i can tell you right now it doesn't do 1500w The fuse rating only calls for about 400w But thats max so take about 100/200 off that And maybe you get 200w out of this amp clean.But it was a pretty sturdy amp got it wet a couple cause my trunk leaked in my old car and it still worked fine for 2 years.Then i sold it and it still works today.But for a nice budget amp to run your 500w subwoofer i think this amp would be great for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 Very Happy
Review by
David from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Big punch from a small footprint. Powering a Pioneer TS-W260D4, very clean and powerful sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2013 works amazing
Review by
nic from kansas city mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would buy this time and time again. had it for about a half a year works amazing and have not had a single problem with it. surprisingly since i have it hidden behind some plastic moldings and it doesn't get any air, thought i would have a problem with it overheating but haven't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2013 works good under circumstances
Review by
Corbo from Bay City, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked 2 kenwood kfc-w12ps and they work really nice with this amp. one thing I don't like is how the amp gets really hot after using it. its good for about 30-45 minutes and it stops working from too much heat. they bump really nice and sound really good with the 2 subs but I wish the amp wouldn't get so hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2012 Just Alright.
Review by
hunter from cataula, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ever since I purchased this amp, every sub ive also bought has clipped severely. (and yes the subs were a match for the amp, rms wise) and right now I'm running kenwood kfc series 12's and it pushes them fine but once i turn the gain on the amp just right above zero, it clips. It could be my wiring internally.. (rca cables may be picking up different signals and is causing my subs to clip) who knows, but if your looking to play low level bass, it hits lows and some mids pretty good. Just not loud. It hits notes with precision and has good quality. And when the phantom lights up it looks pretty cool. I just wish it could preform as well as it looks. and again, the subs were weird and matched to the subs fine. I just can't figure out why it is clipping..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2012 great value!
Review by
gilad from Bet Shemesh, Israel
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Powerful amplifier, holding a subwoofer at high volume without problems or heating, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2012 Powerful little amp for the money
Review by
Drizzy from Coconut Creek, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp for a bargain, I was looking for a mono block with a remote bass knob that would power my sub wired down to 2ohms. Let me tell you, I hooked this up to a Kicker comp cvr 12 and it shakes my steering wheel Of my BMW 330i M-package. The design is nice,the word phantom lights up red at night, it looks sick. I have never had it shut off due to overheating on me. I take road trips for 4hours and keep the radio blaring, the amp doesn't seem to break a sweat. I would highly recommend this amp if your looking for a cheap solution to great power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 Boss phantom ph1500m amp
Review by
Cecil from Mayville, Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very good amp. If you want your bass remote to work DONT have your SETTINGS ALL ON HIGH. Great amp, it pounds my two 12" bostons acoustic g2's pretty nice but id love to get another amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2012 Good amp
Review by
Maypep_Necro from Rouyn-Noranda, Qc, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is good, strong bass, but the remote bass control doesnt work with my 12" Sony subwoofer. This amp is very good for it's value. I recommend it to everyone whos looking for single channel power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2011 Awesome bass
Review by
Muktar from Surrey, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is amazing! Has great power. Is able to pump up 2 15" subwoofers and making them sound amazinggg! I mean that my friends can here me from blockss away. My heart feeels like its going to collapse sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2011 Great Amp, Ordering a second one soon
Review by
thechosenone from Richmond, Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this amp about a week ago from Meijers for about 102 dollars. Plugged it up to two different subs at different times. The first sub was an older Kenwood Type R and it made that sub sounded great. But then since the sub was getting old I bought the Phantom 10 inch series woofer from Boss and I have to say. It surprised me. I hooked it up, wore it in for about a day, went to a party and had people telling me they heard me coming from a good 4 blocks away. Got out when music was playing, went in my friends house and it was shaking things off his kitchen table! I believe it pushes all of the 1500 it says, because I've owned 800 watt monoblocks that cost 3 times as much that barely did what this does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2011 Pretty good deal
Review by
anthony from Britton, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought mine for under 100 thanks to Sonic. This amp pushes my 3 15"s greatly. its a good amp and never overheated on me. it fully pushes my subwoofers. thanks Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 great deal
Review by
Buttonup from Lenoir, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend and I have been recommending this amplifier. It keeps surprising me everyday I never keep it tjurned all the way up. This amp does what it says. Great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2010 Great amp
Review by
MaXXX from Burnsville, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this amp because it gives me everything i thought it would when i bought it. Also it makes my 2 12" duals sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2010 good product
Review by
henro from jonesboro, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
its really good for as cheap as it is. the phantom letters glow up red and looks nice. it still works great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz