Showing 18 reviews for Kicker ZX500.1 (10ZX500.1)

Customer Review Summary for Kicker ZX500.1 (10ZX500.1)
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
89%
4 star:
.
.
6%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
great amp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a great amp I have had it for two years and it makes my subs beat harder than bigger amps I had before. It has never went into protection mode and I have cranked it the other guy must got some thing wrong trust me great amp

VS
Good enough to not bother to send it back

I am using this amp to power a 12 in, JL Audio W6, 4 ohm DVC. A Sonic Electronix sales rep recommended it to me when i expressed my desire to power one W6. He claimed that Kicker underrates the RMS power of their amps (which I'm sure they do on the site, but they overrate them on the certificate that comes with the amp). The certificate from kicker that came with my amp stated that they tested it at 620 watts of RMS output. Don't get me wrong, the sub plays loud enough for me but it frequently goes into protect mode on deep bass or complicated bass beats with many ups and downs. The JL sub should be much louder so don't buy if you're looking to power a 600 watt sub.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 17, 2011 great amp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
[email protected] from os mississippi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp I have had it for two years and it makes my subs beat harder than bigger amps I had before. It has never went into protection mode and I have cranked it the other guy must got some thing wrong trust me great amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
John from Douglas, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp in decmber of 2009. I installed it in my single cab fullsize truck. I connected it to 2 JL Audio 12W1v2-4 subwoofers I also purchased from here. It made my whole truck shake. The clarity, power, and preformance was amazing. It never got hot or went into protection mode and held continuous low tones at loud volumes with ease. About 2.5 years after I got the amp, the bass/gain remote quit working but it still preforms just fine. I never sent it back to have it fixed because it wasnt that big of a deal to me at its age. I now have it connected to 2 kenwood 12" KFC-W3012 in my wifes car and the amp just out preforms any other I have owned. I have recently purchased another kicker amp and i am waiting for it to be shipped. This amp is still working like new exept for the bass/gain controle and its over 3 years old. I would recommend this amplifier to anyone whos looking for Quality, Durability, and Power for Everyday use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2012 Awesome amp
Review by
vincent from Pleasanton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these amps. One for my 06 expedition punching 2 JL w3's and one for my girlfriends pushing 1 diamond audio D3. I am very impressed with the performance of these amps. The one in my truck get hot, but never turns off. I also have the bass knobs on both amps. Overall very good amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2012 Awesome Power!
Review by
Steve from Tewksbury, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You can never go wrong with Kicker products. I was suggested by a Sonic Electronix employee to buy this to power my 600W RMS Alpine type R. At first, I was a bit skeptical, seeing as though the wattage is only 500W RMS. I decided I'd give it a shot and I'm glad I did! It pushes my Type R all day long! absolutely love it, great amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2012 This amp has power!
Review by
John from Adams, Ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp hooked up to an Alpine type r 15 and it slams. I will soon be upgrading to the zx750.1 to give my sub its full potential but this thing gets the job done well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2012 Great item
Review by
James from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This a great amp for any system that is limited on space. The small footprint allows the flexibility to install in various locations. Besides the fact that I have always been a kicker fan this amp is under rated or should I say accurately rated for continuous power. I would recommend this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 Kicker always underrates there amps, its awesome!
Review by
Michael from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this amp for a friend paired with two 12" Rockford P2's and boy did this amp makes those puppies slam! Birth sheet said 571 rms at 2-ohms, what a deal! Kicker FTW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2012 The Ultimate Amp!
Review by
Acid Alchamy from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amplifier is amazing. I got this Kicker ZX500.1 and 2 Kenwood 10" 's and all I can say is my Chevy Silverado 1999 15000 is BUMPINNN Now. Very pleased. Customer/Techincal Support from Sonic Electronix helped me come about this choice and I am very pleased! Thanks Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 best amp ive had
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For this 500 watt rms amp this little thing is mean and it will push every bit of 500 watt rms like nothing. I put a meter on it and mine was putting out 550 watt rms a little more than its rated at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2012 You cant go wrong with Kicker
Review by
Josh from Sheridan , WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp at great price. Solid amp that actually puts out the power it is rated at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2011 WOW!
Review by
Ken from Grants Pass, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp kicks **s! I just installed two of these in two different vehicles, both using Kicker CVR 12's in Kicker ported boxes and they hit hard! Great amp for an excellent price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2011 Really bangin amp
Review by
Darrell from Grovetown, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this amp to push an old Kicker L5 solo baric 12". It definately does the trick, being a single channel amp on the one sub. Would highly recommend this for overall good quality sound and cost. Been using Kicker products for years and have always loved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2011 WOW.
Review by
Vette from BIRMINGHAM, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok this amp pounds. And I mean POUNDS. I have it powering two kicker CVR12's and they make my '07 4runner shake and my passengers want to sit in the back seat just for the back massage. i am buying a second one so i can fully power both of my subs (one for each) and i would reccommend this to anyone. I've had it for about 5 months now and i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2011 Very Very Tough
Review by
Steve from Clifton, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic. This amp is so great, and what a deal! Great quality, 2 year warranty. My Earthquake 12dbxiD sounds like nothing I have ever heard. Thanks Andrew in Tech Support for this recommendation. Says 500 W the certificate that came with this specific amp say 590. I am not complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 awesome lil amp.
Review by
jeff d from Milwaukee, Wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp makes my 2 15 inch kicker comps blow up my trunk. Excellent quality amp thanks Sonic for the great shipping and awesome customer service!!!! Milwaukee Luvs Sonic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2011 Great quality amp.
Review by
Josh from Fort Wayne, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to replace my old pioneer. What a world of difference. The lows that this amp pushes to my 15 inch comps is incredible. Pioneer has always made good stuff but this kicker put it to shame. Very happy with this amp, prolly gonna stick to kicker for amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2011 kicker 500.1
Review by
slamarama from homestead pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp now and let me tell you its crazy I have it hooked up to a 12in Alpine Type R at 2ohm and it pounds in your chest for just one 12...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2010 Good enough to not bother to send it back
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DJ from Laramie, WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am using this amp to power a 12 in, JL Audio W6, 4 ohm DVC. A Sonic Electronix sales rep recommended it to me when i expressed my desire to power one W6. He claimed that Kicker underrates the RMS power of their amps (which I'm sure they do on the site, but they overrate them on the certificate that comes with the amp). The certificate from kicker that came with my amp stated that they tested it at 620 watts of RMS output. Don't get me wrong, the sub plays loud enough for me but it frequently goes into protect mode on deep bass or complicated bass beats with many ups and downs. The JL sub should be much louder so don't buy if you're looking to power a 600 watt sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz