Showing 11 reviews for Dual XHD6430

Customer Review Summary for Dual XHD6430
Average Customer Rating is 3.5 out of 5 stars:
3.5
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.1
Value
3.9
Features
4.3
Design
3.7
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 24, 2011 Great features for price, POOR Durability
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ryan from Costa Mesa, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
To start, I had a good experience with the previous model (xhd6420), the HD radio was great and it had all the features that I could want. If the reception was not that great in an area it would switch seamlessly between standard and HD (when reception allowed)

This one has been quite a different story... The first thing that became annoying is when it would switch from HD to standard radio (or the other way around) it would have a noticeable echo. You have the option of switching that off so it stays on standard radio but who wants to fiddle with settings while driving? With the previous model the only thing that you would notice when switching is the changing sound quality, not an ECHO. The lights on the faceplate are very bright at night, almost distracting

Now, the most frustrating part: The radio had been installed for about 4 months and it died on me! Sent it back under the 1yr warranty ($16 shipping round trip), received it back pretty quickly, re-installed it and IT DIED AGAIN! Within one week! So now I need to pay another $16 in shipping to get it replaced. So now I will have paid $32 in shipping for the warranty claim for a radio that I bought for $109..... Next time I will just buy the better brand. Very disappointed with this purchase!

I also purchased the bluetooth adapter and it does not work with my phone (which is not more than a year old) Boo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2011 Tons of features for the price , but has a few quirks.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Paul from MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this stereo for about 6 months so I have a good idea of it's strong and weak points.

First the good. You can't get a better deal on a bluetooth enabled HD radio that has an aux jack, USB port and will run your IPOD (I don't have an IPOD so I can't say how well it works) The blu tooth works well, the best place for the mic is on the visor pointing directly at the driver. Anywhere else and it doesn't pick up your voice well and you get a lot of background noise. The HD radio works great and you can turn the digital tuner on and off if you have problems picking up HD. The USB reader does well with my jump drive with about a 1 gig of music on it ( Not a lot), and the aux port works well with my MP3 player. the sound is great as well especially when you turn the "Loud" setting on.

Now for the bad, the buttons feel kinda cheap, and there is no dimmer for the extremely bright blue back lighting! I don't know who thought blue would be a good color as light green or red is generally easy on the eyes at night. I have had to turn the radio off while driving at night because the blue lines between the buttons (that serve no purpose) are so bright and distracting. I made it better by taking the faceplate apart and taking out the clear plastic that the light shines through and painting it black. Now the only light that shines through are the letters on the buttons. That made it much more bearable at night.
The bluetooth only shows the phone number on the display, no names, so you really don't know who is calling unless you actually know their #. It is also difficult to dial from the radio, you have to use the remote to enter the #, you can't use your phone book on the radio to dial. We use the phone to select who to call and let the radio do the rest. The sound is good on both ends.

Certain things will cause the radio to lock up every one in a while, most of the time it can be fixed by removing and replacing the faceplate, but sometimes you have to reset the radio which causes you to loose all your settings.

I also had to put noise filters on both the antenna line and power coming into the radio to get rid of some engine noise, but that may just have to do with my vehicle.

Overall I am satisfied with the radio, it is a great deal for all the features you get especially the HD radio. Most of the other brands HD would cost another $100 to 150 to get HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2012 Turd
Review by
Toppy from Trenton, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are all the issues I'm having too. Came to my car one day to find the faceplate fell off. I removed the faceplate maybe 2-3 times before, so this is a super bad design. I superglued some plastic to the rear of the faceplate to give the latch something to hold on to. Then the radio stops working. I found the reset, but also found I need to reset about once a week. Don't bother typing in presets, the radio will forget them with every reset. To call this radio a Turd is being kind. Don't buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2012 nice
Review by
ray's from knox, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend has this and he loves it. He has had it for six months now, and no problems yet looks cool and compliments his ride. I would recomend it to anyone in the market for a head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2012 Not bad at all!
Review by
Stephen from tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was the first aftermarket radio I put in my car. To start everyone looks at Dual pretty poorly but I can honestly say I enjoy this HU. The iPod feature I use everyday and it works really well. USB port reads quickly and the sound quality is more than decent on all the modes. I used Bluetooth for awhile and loved the audio streaming from my phone but stopped using it because i don't know why but it just stopped connecting, so I stuck to the iPod feature. Great for a first HU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Great Buy
Review by
Adam from Saint Peters, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the 3rd Dual HU that I've purchased, all through this website. This is the best one, especially the HD radio, great feature. NO issues with this HU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Not Sure about this...
Review by
Tonymft from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my first radio purchase. Im not sure if the quality of the radio is the problem or if it could have been installed better, but I think it's the radio. I often here double talk during talk radio shows - One person will say something and I may hear it two times, like feedback. Also, there is static that shows up, like a buzzing sound. I have to disconnect the radio and push it back in, sometimes twice to fix it. Otherwise, the radio has many functions and works out pretty good most of the time. I was really surprised at the output. It is way louder than my factory radio. Same speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2011 Holy Jeepers Batman!!
Review by
Robert from Coeur d' Alene, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WOW! Nice to install, a little frustrating at times but mostly installer error! But it makes my stock speakers sound like mini subs! Wow. A little distortion, but that is thanks to my stock speakers which will be replaced soon. Overall, great radio for the buy. Takes a few seconds to read the flash drives, but the iPod works great. Cant go to a different artist tho... bummer man! The only slightly annoying thing is the bright blue lights, but I don't really mind too much. Great radio for the buy and like that it is HD radio enabled, although, I am still confused on what it is, but will be figured out soon. Good price and great output. Will most definitely buy again from SonicElectronix.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2011 great sound
Review by
Lanny from Manassas, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound and volume. reading flashdrives takes way too long. sometimes it jumps programing and you'll need to go thru the menu again to get it to play. For the cost I would NOT reccomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2011 Good value HD radio
Review by
Kevin from Gray, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this stereo, I replaced my stock stereo with this when it went out. The only complaints I have are the HD mode isn't something that can be toggled, so if you have a radio station with a weak HD signal it will fade in and out as it keeps trying to re-acquire the signal. The display is a little small, and the bright blue back light for the buttons can not be dimmed. The remote is hard to use in the dark since it's near impossible to tell if it's right side up or not. The radio froze up once requiring me to disconnect the battery to the car and reconnect it, but it has worked perfectly other than that little hiccup. The stock speakers in my car sound much better with this stereo, and the ability to play music off a flash drive is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2010 Great head unit for a LOW price !!
Review by
Shawn from Arlington, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio sounds great i mainly use the HD radio and USB input. The price tag can make you a little skeptical, but overall its a great head unit and i haven't had any problems with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz