Showing 34 reviews for Pioneer GM-D8500M

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer GM-D8500M
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 34 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
85%
4 star:
.
.
12%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 3, 2012 Pioneer GM-D8500M
Review by
Kamil from Oceanside, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I dont have huge experience with car audio but I always preferred Pioneer brand. I got this amplifier in my 350z roadster and 10" TS-SW2501S4 1200W, 4 Ohm sub-woofer, to my stock Bose audio system. Cant ask for more, it is sweet. Also the amp stays cool all the time no matter how loud you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2012 Second Time Buyer
Review by
JAMES from JACKSONVILLE, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Owned this amp before, had it powering a 12" Orion Cobalt (CO124S) and it made some of my buddies' cars with 2 12s sound like nothing!! This was definitely a go to when I thought about what I was going to do next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2012 2nd one of these I've bought.
Review by
Frank from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got one of these back last year for a system and loved it. Now that I've moved on and got another truck it was time for another system. No questions asked I went straight back to Sonic and placed an order for another 8500 and all the goodies to hook it up. The first one I got was powering a 10in Alpine Type-S at 300w; this one is powering a 12in Alpine Type-R at 600W/2ohms and it's running strong with no issues. This little guy is tough too, I've got it mounted to the back of the seat in my SUV and I've had all sorts of stuff bang into it (not on purpose) and it hardly has a scratch on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2012 wicked amp!
Review by
Tyler from kenora, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this amp powering two 12" svc pioneer subs, 300watts rms each wired to 2 ohms in a 1.68 cubic foot box (for each sub) ported and tuned to 45 hz, and they slam so hard i cant even use my rear veiw mirror anymore, nor my side mirrors! my whole car shakes so much i cant even have a drink in my cup holder without some slpashing out! this amp is way under rated, would recomend to anyone who wants a fair priced amp that rocks very hard and does NOT need an alternator upgrade to power!

im running it with stock 105 amp alternator, new battery and big 3 upgrade with 4 gauge wire and no problems what so ever. and im powering 2 other amps for my 8 speakers also!

also! these things are tough as a rock! i also have the gm-d7500m amp and my trunk leaked a bit (fixed now haha) and when i opened up the trunk, the equivilent of a whole bucket of water spilled dirrectly on top of it, and no sparks, no shorts, no nothing! it was perfeclty fine! like it was right on top of it!

tough as a rock! buy it! you wont be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2012 amazing amp
Review by
Tyrus from Lawrenceville, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp looks perfect and puts out amazing power, i have this powering 2 12" power acoustics and they SLAM. This amp looks amazing and produces awesome sound and doesn't over heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2012 not that good
Review by
kiley from greensboro, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had it powering a jl w6 and it just wasnt enough. Even though they said it would be nice little amp if your powering a small sub though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2011 WOW
Review by
Thomas from Bluffton, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Picked up one of these bad boys at wal**rt about a year ago. This amp is a beast for the size. 800 watts does not get any more powerful than this.
If you are looking for a good quality amp and a decent price, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2011 amazing sound
Review by
RON from Chambersburg, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for over 6 months and its simply amazing for the price. Running 2 Alpine 300rms 10s under rear seat of my truck. Wired 2ohms and never over heats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 Better than my kicker DX
Review by
Murc from SoCal
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced a kicker amp with this and very happy with it. Good power and it sounds very nice for a fraction of what the kicker amp costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2011 Pioneer GM-D8500M
Review by
Don from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Clean sound, great looking, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2011 Pioneer GM-D8500M
Review by
torcher from melbourne, victoria, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a JL audio w3 sub. now if you know much about subs u know the w3 is a powerful sub. i bought the pioneer mono block to run a single w3 and it does the job marviously i would reccomend this amp to anyone looking for maximum power. Great product i have nothing to fault about the amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Great sound
Review by
Bruce from perth Wa, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these amps to run 2 pioneer 12 inch subs, they work great. Haven't turned them past normal setting and they crank hard. Excellent quality as you expect from pioneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2011 awsome
Review by
vanzee from sydney, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great im using in my wrx with 2 10" subs nice bass sound easy to use and install highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2011 great amp
Review by
Patrick from keansburg, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought the Pioneer GM-D8500M amp with Pioneer TS-W309D4 sub dam do they work great together. Sub hits hard and never over heats. I never had any problems with the products and i would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2011 Pioneer GM-D8500M & TS-W308D4
Review by
MauiBlueBandit from McHenry, Il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp, 2 pioneer 12s wired @ 1 OHM in a sealed box (overpowers them) . knocked my rearview mirror off and unbolted my hatch motor right off the car. So loud people complain their ears hurt from the sound pressure. No light dimming, over heating or anything. Next im replacing my stock speakers with pioneer A- Series and a GM-D9500F. PIONEER IS BEST. make sure you do not loose the remote cause without it the output is WEAK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 7, 2011 Reliable quality!
Review by
? from los angeles, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There is a reason why all Lexus cars have this amp in their cars. Any radio attached to this amp will sound even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2011 Love. Pioneer. Amps.
Review by
aaron8301 from Port Orchard, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This pushes my two Infinity Reference 12" subs like they were meant to be - hard and clean! The remote knob is much easier than constantly going into my head unit's menu to adjust the bass as well. I don't know how I ever lived without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Great amp
Review by
boss from valdosta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a great amp but i didnt like it as much cause i wun push my 4 12's and they was only 300 rms and it sounded like garbarge so i just plugged it into my two 12's and they bang the seal around my trunk. I got a 2 door monte carlo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 Great Power
Review by
RICHARD from UKIAH, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp pumps the perfect amount of power to my RE sex sub. Best price for this amount of power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Frank from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp! Fits perfectly behind the rear seat in my truck! I have it powering a 10inch Alpine Type-S 1043D and it is a much happier sub with this amp. The bass controll knob is very nice, it doesn't give a "cheep" vibe. I would buy this amp again. I like that it's 2 Ohm stable that gives me room to upgrade the sub without having to upgrade the amp. I have had my System playing at full power for a 2.5 hour drive and the amps never quit once...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2011 Pioneer Power!
Review by
Garrett from St. Louis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp wired at 1 ohm on 2 15 inch Kicker CVR's and it pounds! Seriously a killer amp. I would reccomend it to ANYONE. Great buy from Sonic as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2011 Great Amp.
Review by
Austin from Cottage GroveCottage Grove, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp rockin 2 Renegade GTB2600 subs (both connected by one wire) The sound quality is better that great and the bass it kicks is next level. The bass contoller is a great feature and does get a lot of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2011 Great sound
Review by
Carlos Campo from Cali - Valle, Colombia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this Class D mono-block Amplifier connected to a sub which will deliver in 2 ohms: 600 watts x 1 chan. The sub is a 12" Dual 2 ohm Champion PRO Series Subwoofer Pioneer TS-W3002D2. The sound is GREAT..! The remote bass level control option is really good and needed.

If you are looking for quality this is a good option. Just make sure the Box has the Proper volume. I recommend a sealed box working at 50 db.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2011 Pioneer GM-D8500M
Review by
alex from texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp I have it powering a JL W6v2 12" and it sounds awesome and it comes with a wired bass knob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2011 great product
Review by
dtay from fort wayne
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had no problem with it pushing my Pioneers....does the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2011 Powerful, but turn-on click/thump?
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp currently powering 1 Alpine Type-R 12" in 1.75cf Ported box. The amps definitely got the power. Bass in my Ford Explorer SportTrac is ridiculous.

One minor annoyance though... for some reason I get a turn-on click that plays thru the sub.

Seems to me like they should be able to handle that internally. I've read I'll need a delay triggering thing. A PAC-TR4 if I recall... to solve that issue. Doesn't bug me enough to fix it (yet!).

I've never had the amp be anything more than mildly warm. It's never gone into protect or anything like that.

I have a standard Duralast Gold 850 battery under the hood wired in parallel (with true 4 gauge) to a Kinetik HC600 that sits right next to the amps behind my rear seat. I did the Big 3 Upgrade in 4 gauge also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2011 Small but powerful
Review by
H from GARDEN GROVE, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amplifier to compliment my alpine type r sub. My alpine sub can handle 600 rms and this was the only amplifier that could feed my sub 600 rms for the price that I was willing to pay.

This pioneer amp also satisfied my criteria for being a small amp that delivered a lot of power. I didnt have a lot of room in my extra cab truck, so this small size was definitely a plus. I have this amp nicely tucked away under my seat.

the only downside i can think of that it doesn't have high pass filters, which is what you want in an amp if your sub is enclosed in a vented box. But you can purchase an fmod that attaches onto your rcas to match the hz that your vented box is tuned to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 best amp ever
Review by
illusions from Green Valley, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp rocks it powers 2 10" Pioneer perfect on my 2010 Charger RT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2011 Great sound quality
Review by
abhijit from mumbai , maharashtra, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great sound quality and good value for money, features are latest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2010 Great little amp!
Review by
Ryan from Kent, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally bought this to run a 350w RMS D4 Premier 10in sub, and damn it powered it with no problem! I actually had to keep the gain below "Normal" because of my high 4v pre outs and it was pushing that sub to its limits. It's a pretty basic amp, but It's easy to use and stays real cool. It's never gotten hot, even after a 2 hour drive working hard it was just warm. I'd recommend 8guage wire or better. I'd say it's worth the money! Thanks sonic. :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2010 Excellent clarity. Great power. ?Turn-on thump?
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this GM D8500M for the purpose of replacing my HITRON HA-1000.1. I'm powering a single 12" Alpine Type-R 4Ohm DVC. When I finally hooked-up the bass remote and I scared myself because I was actually able to make the TypeR bottom-out on this bass-intensive song with some knob added. You seriously almost never need to add any bass boost with that the knob. I think adding the remote knob has introduced a turn-on thump through the sub. Although it's not really a thump, more like a tick. very muted.. but still kinda made me upset. will test if disconnecting the remote makes it go away. Even if it doesn't it's not a deal breaker because this thing sounds so good compared to the HITRON.
I'm now guessing that the HITRON is most likely more in the realm of 400W RMS rather that the 600 RMS it claims at 2 Ohm load.
Also replacing the HITRON with this amp seems to have made my other problem go away where my other Pioneer GM-D9500F 4ch amp was having issue of highs/mids fading out at high volume playback of certain bass-intensive songs. I can only guess that the HITRON was also inefficient and power hungry and probably robbed the 4ch amp of some power it was needing.
Only other gripe is I wish it had Allen screw connectors. I'll knock off some points of Look/Design, Features, Ease of Use because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2010 great value
Review by
danny from springfield OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp 6 months ago and it worked very well pushed 2 jbl p1022 with it I had to switch to a more powerful amp due to the subs needing it but this amp is what it says it is CEA2006 compliant, which is all I buy. It came fast and in perfect condition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2010 Very Nice Amp
Review by
Chad from Dinwiddie, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp hooked up to three 12" kicker comps, and it powers them nicely, around 2.6 ohms because of the 3 12s, it doesnt get hot at all, very clean bass, the bass knob also is a plus, Best bang for the buck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2010 No Problems
Review by
Josh from Seal Cove, ME
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently have this amp powering a Alpine Type R 12" sub woofer wired to 2 ohms. Runs very cool and I have had no problems at all with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz