Showing 11 reviews for Pioneer GM-D9500F

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer GM-D9500F
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 60 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.9
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
November 16, 2010 Great Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chile from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp installed with a Pioneer double din 4200. I have two sets of the Infinity Kappa Components. The sound is incredible. I had each wired to one channel, but the amp is REALLY under rated. I already blew two sets. Luckily there were replace by Infinity. Now I have a set wired to one channel so I am only using two channels and they still sound great at only half the gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2010 Good value amplifier!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Audio Ollie from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has a great sound, small footprint, and low energy consumption (class D "digital" amp). It is a no frills amplifier that puts all its power into sound (not flashy lights and other bells and whistles). This amp is a great value for the money. The highs could be a little more clear, but for the price I don't think there's a better digital 4-channel amp on the market. Pioneer did a great job with this one.

Since it's a new amp, I can only guess on its durability based on Pioneer's track record.

The only downside I can see is that the amp has the "old style" connections for power, ground and speakers, not the newer, more convenient allen wrench connections. Presumably this was done by Pioneer to save money, passing the savings on to the consumer. That, with some lack of definition in the high end, is the only reason I ranked it "4" instead of "5". In actuality, I'd rank it "4.5" if this were an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2012 All about the sound
Review by
Max from Queens NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Every amp I put under my seat got hot enough to fry an egg when I pushed it. Even low volume the others (class A/B) would get hot.

This is my first class D for my mids & highs. This amp gets warm normal playing and I managed to get it hot when pushed to extreme. There was a difference of less heat, but for class D I was hoping for cooler.

Now for the sound:
I had four other amps for my front in the past and they all had slightly different sound signature. This one is no different. I would say the low level resolution is slightly exaggerated, while also somewhat of a boost or extension past the upper highs. This creates a sound that, to me is best described as very "high polished" and "shiny." The only drawback is the depth of field is not as deep as I have heard elsewhere, but the sense of "shiny, polished" clarity is impressive nonetheless.

Also, it does not have either the sweet "MOSFET" sound, nor does it have the dry "bipolar transistor" sound. Its sound is unique and of its own, and never harsh when driven hard, just a lil' "glassy" at max volumes. This lil amp blew FOUR OF MY INFINITY SPEAKERS! Both tweeters first, then woofers, as they were all 2-way 5x7 speakers, and they were only pushing the kids/highs. The amp would shut volume down into protection just "after" it burned them!

I was going to upgrade to the "Kappa Four" amp to see if I liked the sound, as I prefer a sweeter "MOSFET" sound than this, but I found a better speaker match than the Infinity, which are too brittle sounding in details and blew out. With my new speakers, the sound is more natural in upper mids to highs, and just right without blowing out like the Infinitys and almost half the price! They are the "Precision Power PPI PC.572" 5x7 2-ways at 3 ohms. Also with external crossovers just like my Infinity Kappa I blew! So, I will keep this setup until something dies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2011 Good To Go
Review by
Viper Handler from Karachi, Pakistan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
An excellent out of the box, plug-n-play kind of amp. Very compact, stealthy. It's sturdy, durable and you can easily swear on its build quality. Above all, looks good too. Performance? Well, I used a couple of amps and this one didn't need any kinda tweaking, as if it just understands what speakers it has to drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2011 great little amp
Review by
bombloader from Virginia Beach VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Iím using this amp to power a set of pioneer 5-1/4 component speakers in the front and a set of pioneer 6 x 8 three way speakers in the rear door of an 02 Ford Escape. Overall, I am pretty happy with its performance alongside a powered 10" sub. I donít know how it would sound without the sub or if you powered a sub off it too. It is a great fit, out of the way in the cargo area of my SUV. Seems pretty durable too. I was moving a large metal chair that had shifted and hit the amp pretty hard. It put a little gouge in it but no other noticable damage.

One issue I have had is when I connect my ipod to my pioneer head unit, there is a very low but noticeable white noise. Like the sound when you (use to) start a cassette tape. I canít think of any other explanation. It may be the cable, head unit or my crappy older ipod but I didnít notice the noise until I had the amp in. I have had a little trouble tunning amp to my speakers but only because I mostly don't know how. I am a diy'er and don't like paying people. I think I got it pretty close to its best sound. Again, that's according to my ears. All in all, this was a great upgrade to my sound system that sounds great to me. Very clear and balance sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
middi from exton pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the amp a few months back. the Amp is working great. You cant beat it for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2011 Great product
Review by
Paul from Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been using this amplifier for 6 months now, and it has worked perfectly.

It's compact and gives great value for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 Its Guud
Review by
jammer from phx, az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a nice amp. Plenty of power in a small package and the price was the best at sonic electronix when I bought it 6 months ago. I recommend buying this amp if you want one that runs cool and sounds good and have little room to install it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2011 Very Happy with install and sound
Review by
Marvin from Richmond, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this Amp to fit into a Mini Cooper. Compactness was important, full marks there. It runs cool in the boot mounted on the side. Easy to hook up to power and to the Head Unit with either Speaker outs or preamp and it figures it out for you. Automatic turn on.

I drives 4 Pioneer speaker sets which respond to an honest 30 hz with no sub woofer. The bass is deep and strong enough to make the car shake and rattle.

I like good sound, my home stereo is audiophile grade (vinyl rules) and this does not disappoint. I would need a better Head unit to really see the limits here, so maybe later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2011 Perfect for a small budget
Review by
Jeep TJ Toby from Coppell, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are looking to get some nice door speakers and need more power than your head unit can provide, this amp should do the trick.

My best advice is to pair this amp with the best speakers that Sonic's advisers feel will work the best. They have not failed me yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2010 Good Value Amp
Review by
Jose from Mansfield, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have this amp hooked up to two pairs of Alpine SPS-600C speakers. It does a good job of pushing the speakers. Doesn't take up a lot of room so it can be mounted almost anywhere. It does get a little warm, but nothing to worry about. As always great shopping experience with Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz