Showing 27 reviews for Pioneer AVIC-X920BT

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer AVIC-X920BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 27 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
59%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
.
19%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.3
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.1
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Love the Unit

Just finished installing this unit on my 2001 BMW X5 and I must say it lives up to its reviews and the sound is excellent. I was a little bummed out to find out the product went on sale a few days after I bought it and had yet to receive delivery but the sonic team came through for me with some Sonic Bux.

VS
REALLY GOOD TECHNOLOGY

Good technology and easy to use GPS system. Saves you time by giving you precise traffic direction.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 14, 2010 Love the Unit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tom from Toronto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just finished installing this unit on my 2001 BMW X5 and I must say it lives up to its reviews and the sound is excellent. I was a little bummed out to find out the product went on sale a few days after I bought it and had yet to receive delivery but the sonic team came through for me with some Sonic Bux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2011 VERY NICE HEAD UNIT
Review by
ELEAZAR from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced factory stereo on my 2007 toyota tundra, with four polk speakers and two sets of massive tweeters, Real good clean sound you dont need an amplifier. I installed rear view camera works good for my big truck. The only think I don't like is 6.1". 7.1 inches would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2011 Really Great Value
Review by
Gregory from Hanover, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been using this product for approx 6 months and I still love it. It has a lot of features I have not tried but it does everything I need it to do. I imported all the contacts from my phone to my car with no issues. It works great as my hands-free interface to my phone. I also imported my addresses and personal POIs from my previous GPS unit to this device, also with no issues. The GPS has not let me down yet. I used the AVIC Feeds to import and correctly format all the information prior to import. I have a 16G microSD card installed with Audiobooks and a lot of music; no issues. Also, the interface for the XM radio is also outstanding. I could go on and on but let me finish with, I would recommend this to anyone and SonicElectronix had the best price that I could find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2011 Needs some fine tuning
Review by
Desiree from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The main problem that I have with this radio is the touch screen. The touch screen does not work very well and it is hard to operate while you are driving a car. Also, the blue tooth does not work that well either, people have trouble making out what I am saying during phone calls. On a positive note, I love all the features that the radio has: GPS, Pandora, Iphone capability. I just think some things on the radio need to fine tuned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2011 great unit
Review by
Dean from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this on the recommendation of a coworker who had one, and it's been a great head unit. The menus are easy to use, setup was a breeze and control over the iPod is excellent.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2011 nav system
Review by
robert from rutledge, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product for the price and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2011 Pioneer's Best
Review by
Tony from San Diego, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The AVIC-X920BT is one of the best navigaion stereo units out there. I highly recommend it because it for several reasons. The navigation system was so helpful on a road trip I just took to Alabama and back to California. It helped me navigate without even thinking. The other part is the music system. I was able to use my iPod and play CD's. The iPod system was to die for. Of course the bluetooth was very handy. I truly understand now why it's called the starship. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2011 Love it!
Review by
Christopher from Clermont, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been reading some of the others reviews, remember to READ THE MANUAL!!!!

I have had this for a year and I love it!!!! Here are some of the bad things that I have noticed.

- Pandora Link is quirky (it may be associated with my iphone)
- Missing some map data but is 95% accurate
- While the brightness DOES adjust when you turn the headlights on/off I wish i could make it brighter while watching movies
-Scrolling though music and Pandora channels is cumbersome
-VR is pretty much useless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2011 Great piece
Review by
Rob from Prince Albert, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best GPS head unit out there, works perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2011 Good, but ....
Review by
Michael from Laval, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like it, the only problem is that my wife has a JVC KW-NT1 and I like the interface much better, especially when it come to music.

I know there are more features on the Pioneer, but the music navigation is the thing I hate the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2011 Very happy
Review by
Jim & Julie from Akron, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My husband and I bought two of these for our 2004 Audi's. We are both very happy with the units. The navigation awesome, although some newer roads don't show up, but that would be the case with any navigation system. It plays our iPods flawlessly, but we don't use them much anymore because of the miniSD card slot, which is genius. You can load a ton of music on it and always have it in the car. We were originally unsatisfied with the Bluetooth, but we recently switched to iPhones and the sound quality is much better. The Pandora app is great too, because it allows you to listen to satellite music through your Pioneer unit. Overall we're very satisfied, and Sonic had the best price and great customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2011 More then met my my expectations
Review by
BRUCE from RAMONA, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The ease of installation was great it was a total package except for the backup camera which was purchased separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 I like it
Review by
Matt from Port Townsend
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall this is a nice multi function unit. Reason I bought this one is because I really like the fast processor. All the features are really easy for me to use. The only downside to this unit is sometimes the GPS positioning is a little off at times. I suppose it can be improved with a little tinkering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2011 Great Product
Review by
Salvatore from White Plains, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put this in my 06 350Z. It went in with out a problem and running the wire for the GPS and blue tooth mic was no problem. The unit has tons of features, more then you would ever use. I would recommend you print out the manual. Just do it at a Staples or Kinko's, I believe it is 800+ pages. Scrolling threw all those pages on a laptop is not fun. The GPS works well but it will take some getting used to. It is a lot different from my Garmin that speaks to me. Some times it can get confusing even with the picture on the screen. Great features for adjusting the sound and just about anything. The iPod or iPhone work great in it. I use my iPod only because all the wires are hidden and I want my phone accessible. The only thing I don't like about the unit is when pushing the skip button or touching the screen to skip. There is a delay and you some times have to push it twice. I have another Pioneer head unit in my truck and it has the same iPod interface but it is instant when you hit the skip button. The time it takes for the unit to power up and play music doesn't bother me. If I had to say right now and guess it would take 15 seconds to turn on and go. I haven't used my 350Z since November because of the winter season, so my timing might be off. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend money for a great touch screen navigation system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2011 Not Bad but not outstanding Either
Review by
Gasman from Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed unit found gps to work not bad but sometimes puts me off the road on the map that it. I have a louder than average, or nosier interior, and bought it for the handsfree option and find it only works well if i am stopped. if you have a quieter cab it might work better. Sound quality is very good and as far as the music and iPod hook up is five star very good once you get the proper cord for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2011 GREAT DOUBLE DIN
Review by
southernaudioking from Destin,FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this double din in my tacoma it looks and sounds GREAT! the music sounds like its never sounded before! installing it couldnt have been easier! The bluetooth mic works but its hard for the other person to hear you clearly! The pandora link to the iPhone is a great advantage! The price I think could be cheaper but you pay for what you get and the money I spent on this screen was well spent! This screen overall is AWESOME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2010 Nice
Review by
Raymond from Baytown, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love it!!!! Nice to just put in the name & find it, I would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2010 I Just Love it!
Review by
Alberto from Granada Hills, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit to replace a factory unit in my new vehicle and the installation was simple and easy to under stand by actually reading the instructions. the unit is self looks fantastic and work like it should. I'm very pleased with the unit that I ended up buying another one for my older vehicle had a older d3 unit. and wow what a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2010 Regret purchasing
Review by
Fletch from Bothel, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would not recommend this unit to anybody.
The unit is really complex to operate while driving. It has a mutating interface where buttons change place all the time.

The voice control is a joke - it fails to understand what it needs to do.

I really thought that I was getting a finished product. Pioneer should be ashamed of throwing out a product on the market without really finishing it.

Encoding video to have it played back is some form of art because the recommended formats on the manual do not work on the unit.

All I can say is SHAME ON YOU PIONEER!

The only saving grace is that it sounds really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2010 LOVE this deck
Review by
Bear from Lehi, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic deck at a fantastic price. This was my first experience with Sonic Electronix. I have recommended several people, and I will definitely come back in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2010 Great unit, but has software quirks
Review by
Richard from Newport, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this unit installed now for about 6 months and have taken about 10K miles of road trips with it. In general, this is a great GPS/radio combo. The graphics are terrific and the lane guidance (not real-time traffic) and exit information has been impressive. However, like any great piece of gear, this unit is computer software driven...and it has a few quirks and glaring ommisions. Unfortunately in these situations, your ONLY hope is to pray that Pioneer is willing to pay software engineers to fix bugs and put out software updates for previously paid customers. Only time will tell how well Pioneer will support us. Highlights below:

Pros:
Fantastic graphics
EXTENSIVE street database. Drove all over the country and it always knew the correct street name.
User friendly touch screen controls
Radio searches for the 10 strongest stations. Great for long trips.
Pioneer download support site for firmware updates

Negatives:
Has many usability and quirky software glitches
-There's no apparent way to adjust screen brightness. When driving with lights on during the day, you cannot see the screen. If you select daytime mode on the display settings it just changes the graphics scenery from day to night...NOT the brightness.
-Does not always give you the best route under normal circumstances
-Defunct MSN Direct kicked the legs out it for real-time data updates
-Voice does not read street names, BUT has EXCELLENT graphic cues (intersection pictures and distance bar) to make up for vague turn directions
-I'll have to confirm this again, but firmware updates dump when power is removed, so you better keep the microSD card in it most of the time.
-Does not contain street names or map data inside the confines of a special use area (ie military base, or certain parks)
-During phone calls, unit attenuates radio level a fixed amount...not down to a low level...AND disables the volume button during the phone call. Example: Your listening to your favorite song really loud and you get a phone call. The system lowers the volume a fixed amount, but it's still too loud. You try to turn it down further so you can concentrate on the phone call and you can't because the volume control is deactivated. So now you get to listen to both. The only fix is to disconnect the call, turn the radio down, and then call them back! PITA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2010 Great Product
Review by
Jerry from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Looks great, works great, has functions that I haven't even had a chance to use yet. Navigation is not the easiest to use but can get the job done. Has every option available except the HD TV and they all work well, even the voice command. DVD player shows an excellent picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Best Thing Ever
Review by
Shawn from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Definitely buy this product. The local audio store was trying to sale me this AVIC, installed, for $1800. I bought everything I needed from this website and received the package very quickly and in great condition. I've installed this in my truck, then bought a car and installed it in there. It was an easy install both times. I've gotten countless compliments on it and I've recommended it to everyone. The user interface is clean, great iPod interface as well. GPS works great, its a little different from your normal GPS but once you get it figured out you will like it. SUPER EASY hack for it as well. This hack will make the receiver think its always parked so you can play movies while driving. Takes MICRO SD cards so you can change the splash screen to anything you want. I've played with a couple of other AVIC's but this one is by far the best out of all them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2010 EXCELLANT !!!!
Review by
Stu from Stevensville, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This GPS has been an excellent investment. Installed in a 2008 F-250. Would recommend professional installation. Purchased a rear view camera to go with this unit. Haven't found anything I would change on it yet. Wish the icons that it puts up for POI's would match the POI. Other than that it has everything. Voice recognition could be a little better but I haven't seen any units anywhere that work 100%. Recommend this unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2010 Great Replacement for Factory Stereo
Review by
Darren from Sahuarita, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced the in-dash 6 CD changer in my 2004 Expedition EB with the AVIC-X920BT. Not the easiest DIY install, but doable if you take your time.

PROS: Touch screen is responsive, Boot time is decent. Reverse camera input works as soon as power is on. iPod controls are complete. Bluetooth works as advertised, no issues syncing to my iPhone 3GS and an old Motorola 1KZM.

CONS: Nav system isn't as intuitive as my Garmin 765T, but it gets the job done. Garmin has better POI, routing and text-to-speech. Unit gets three stars in the ease of use category for the Nav. Voice command interface is spotty (sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't)

It's nice to have everything integrated into one unit (iPhone, iPod and Navigation) rather than having multiple power adapters and wires running all over the dash during a long trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2010 Great Unit.... beats my factory one.
Review by
Todd from College Station, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this unit. The gas mileage counter is so cool!. The navigation is crisp and clear and the Pandora feature is great too. I ordered this Monday morning and I received it on Wednesday. Sonic, you have great customer service and super fast shipping. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2010 REALLY GOOD TECHNOLOGY
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
LEO from TUCSON AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good technology and easy to use GPS system. Saves you time by giving you precise traffic direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz