Showing 27 reviews for Pioneer TS-D1702R

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer TS-D1702R
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 27 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
81%
4 star:
.
.
11%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Great full range speaker

This speaker will play low frequencies better than any other 6.5 or 6.75 speaker on the market. Properly installed these speaker have limitless potential and are smooth all across the bandwidth. The soft dome tweeter's don't overpower you with twinkly high frequencies like other tweeters would and play more mid-range frequencies for a more natural sound.

VS
Great Speakers! But watch out for the installation.

These speakers are one of the best 6 1/2" / 6 3/4" I've heard! You only have to be very careful in the space available for the installation. These units have a big rear end! And I mean BIG! Regular 6 1/2" and some 6 3/4" holes (like my Acura RSX) will not be enough! You'll have to do some "handy work" (drilling & cutting) to make them fit. But after properly installed, you will be more than satisfied with the sound.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 30, 2011 Great full range speaker
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This speaker will play low frequencies better than any other 6.5 or 6.75 speaker on the market. Properly installed these speaker have limitless potential and are smooth all across the bandwidth. The soft dome tweeter's don't overpower you with twinkly high frequencies like other tweeters would and play more mid-range frequencies for a more natural sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2011 Pioneer is always a reliable car audio solution.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
TROY from North Carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pioneer has always been a great speaker company, and this line is no exeception. These speakers sound awesome, reproduce the high, and mids extremely well, low is also good. If you are hooking these up to a factory head unit, be sure your head unit can power these properly. They require 60 RMS and they might sound muddy if you do not power them properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2012 Not Bad!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rob from Loxahatchee, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this speaker for my 98 Jeep Grand Cherokee and it fit perfect. The speakers came with everything I needed and arrived before I had even expected them to be here. They obviously aren't the best speakers in the world, but well worth what I paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2012 Amazing speakers for the money
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
colorblind83 from houston texas area
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend these speakers. They have great midbass and super clean and silky highs. The are not harsh and the sound amazing when amplified. The build quality of the speakers is superb and the materials are as well. I have these in the front doors of a 2008 sivlerado crew cab. I had to modify the doors to get these to work, I also ran my own 14 gauge speaker wire that I twisted. These speakers are amplified anre are getting about 45 watts RMS and WOW...They sound great! Super clean sound, get very loud and never harsh, even when they are at full tilt.
Pioneer stepped it up here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 Great Speakers! But watch out for the installation.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Luis from Wesley Chapel, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are one of the best 6 1/2" / 6 3/4" I've heard! You only have to be very careful in the space available for the installation. These units have a big rear end! And I mean BIG! Regular 6 1/2" and some 6 3/4" holes (like my Acura RSX) will not be enough! You'll have to do some "handy work" (drilling & cutting) to make them fit. But after properly installed, you will be more than satisfied with the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2011 Great sound, high clarity
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jeremy from Lufkin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these in my 98 Jeep Grand Cherokee, will definetly be buying another set for my rear doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2010 Great Product
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Andres from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this a year ago, and i am not tired of them. they are kind of low RMS Power 60 watts only but i have them hooked up with a a pioneer amp that gives 60 watts rms. they sound beautiful, i love it. the quality of sound and product are amazing. best speaker for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2014 A well balanced speaker
Review by
DB from San Jose, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tonality is flat and neutral, exactly what one wants from a speaker. Given that it is a 2-way system, one can extract a weak point where a third speaker in a 3-way would help divide up the sound spectrum and elevate any overworking of the main driver.

That being said, it can't be beat for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2014 Fantastic sound!
Review by
Rlazo from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bough these to replace tired and blown factory speakers... Anything would have sounded better than them really but I was pleasantly surprised at the amazing quality the speakers produce even with just a factory deck. The built in crossover allows for great mids and lows and lets the tweeter do what it does best without it piercing your ears! I can't wait to hear these powered by an amp and an aftermarket deck. You won't regret the purchase especially in this price range!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2014 Exceptional value and great sound!
Review by
Mario from Afton, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a 2002 Camaro Convertible with the Monsoon stereo. I was getting tired of blowing the front factory speakers so several years ago I replaced the factory speakers with Kenwood speakers and a new Kenwood amp.

Those speakers lasted several years and sounded even better than the factory original speakers. But I eventually wore them out as well. They just lost their punch and started to sound dull.

So this time I replace the Kenwood speakers with these Pioneer TS-D1702R speakers. I still use the Kenwood amp. Believe it or not these Pioneer speakers sound even better than the Kenwood speakers did when they were new!

Plus the Pioneer speakers are coaxial speakers and have a tweeter & a crossover built into the speaker.

Now I have even more punch and a more crisp sound than ever before. I am very pleased with these speakers. And there was no modifications necessary. They fit right into the same space as the old speakers and the holes lined up perfectly. So all I had to do was connect the wires and screw them in place.

Plus, these speakers were half the price of any other place I found them and shipping was free!

I could not be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2014 Just what I needed
Review by
Will from winter springs, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. I tend to like loud and clear vs bass in my door speakers since I have a good sub. Not quite as clear as my Infinity Kappas but they didn't have them in the right size for my Altima and they were in the right price range I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2014 05 Chevy 2500
Review by
Patrick from Robstown, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Big improvement over the factory bose unit. More bass is great. Love pioneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2014 Pioneer TS-D1702R Great Speakers!
Review by
td11pump from Bronx, N.Y.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Pioneer TS-D1702R speakers are Great speakers! The sound quality and power handling capabilities of these speakers are Excellent! I always used Infinity speakers for the sound quality, but these speakers sound better through the sound spectrum. I am very impressed with the bass response and the mids and highs that these speakers produce.
From hard rock to jazz to hip-hop to classical, these speakers reproduce the sound accurately!
These speakers perform much better than speakers costing almost double the price!
I highly recommend these these speakers to anyone who enjoys clear, accurate and powerful speakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2013 Still Rockin'
Review by
Um_bongo from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These D17's are a huge deal in terms of what your going to get out of them. The price is considerably lower than the competition(Crutchfield), and I'm still reaping the value out of them today. I purchased these back in 2010 in they have been in two different vehicles, and they still put out highs & mids like you would expect out of quality Pioneer. I installed these in a my 2001 & 2007 Civic Coupe in the rear, they do require a spacer for but fit in quite snuggly with 1inch (no lesser than 3/4) MDF spacer. Im still using them today with no issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Pretty Sweet
Review by
Kyle from VA Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Since I purchased these speakers I have been 100% satisfied with them. Sound quality is very open and clear. For what I paid for these speakers I think you'd be extremely hard pressed to beat them. Bass is nice and deep, mids cut through great while still being very smooth, and the highs are also very smooth with plenty of cut. I have a kicker 12" CVR sub I use for bass and even competing with an 800w sub these speakers cut through the mix. Everyone I know that's ridden in my truck has asked me what kind of speakers I have and most are surprised to hear that they're pioneers. Awesome product. I've cranked them plenty and have had zero problems with cone breakup, distortion, or blow outs. I'd definitely buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Quality Speakers
Review by
Scott from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great quality speakers. They sound crisp and provide decent mid levels even being ran off a 50wx4 20rms headunit (no amp). A side note that these speakers are pretty deep, I ended up having to rear mount them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2013 Real Nice
Review by
Curtis from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had quite possibly the crappiest sound in my cargo van: Just a standard AM/FM, 2 Channel (Yup, just left and right) stock head unit with crap-ola speakers. Since I wanted stealth sound, I decided to change the speakers first. Wow, what a difference these made. It is seriously like a whole new stereo system! The speakers are in the doors and so I lined them with the Roadkill sound dampening sheets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2013 Awesome Sound
Review by
Ram Fan from New Castle, Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed in my 05 Dakota. They were a great fit, and the sound is incredibly crisp at all levels. I have them powered by a 4 channel 800 watt amp and they sound great at high levels. I am only sorry I went with a 4 way in the rear instead of all 4 TS-D1702R. Can't beat for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2012 Great sound
Review by
Mark from Fresno, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really good sound quality. These handle the highs very well and they are clear and loud. Very happy with these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2012 best speakers i ever owned
Review by
peter f from brooklyn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the best 6-3/4 speakers i have ever owned. They do everything, makes me wish i had an EQ to really make them bounce!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 Great speakers.
Review by
Jerzy from Bristol, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these speakers in place of the factory ones in my Tahoe and they sounds very good. Can't even compare the stock speakers to these Pioneers. If you need good speakers for a good price go with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2012 GREAT VALUE!!
Review by
07TAHOE from SAN ANTONIO, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Highly recomed these speakers they sound great and i havent had any issues with them since i installed them in my truck. They are a great value you cant go wrong with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2011 great sound, pretty cheap
Review by
Dan from Grant, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is very reliable. Looks great and sounds great not to mention the cost, it seemed pretty cheap to me so I bought them and love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2011 much better than stock
Review by
Paul from Barnegat, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these in my '98 Camaro to liven up the sound a bit. Definitely worth the money. Much better sound than stock. Only using an aftermarket head unit to drive them but they deliver a full range of sound with no distortion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2011 Good value.
Review by
bcsizemo from Winston-Salem, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased these for my wife's Rodeo and they have been great. Right now they are being powered off an older Alpine headunit and sound excellent. The mounting was a bit tough simply because I was going from a 5.25 to a 6.75, so some fabrication was in order. Just something to keep in mind when purchasing an odd size. Like others have said the tweeters can be a tad bright. I'm running them on the -3db setting and that seems to give them a better balance between the mids and highs. The 6.5" adapter rings are a nice touch if you can use them. I'd purchase them again if I needed a good set of components. I'm also a fan of the older Infinity Reference series and I'd say these are similar but have a bit less mid range and a little more bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2011 great value
Review by
texas from pipe creek, tx.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my second sit of Pioneers easy to install. and sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2011 It's no bad
Review by
Jacob from london, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hi this product works good. Just a detail the speakers don't have a good power my ampifier is blocked when the volume is so high
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz