Showing 17 reviews for Clarion NX500 (NX-500)

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NX500 (NX-500)
Average Customer Rating is 3.2 out of 5 stars:
3.2
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
24%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
.
24%
2 star:
.
.
12%
1 star:
.
.
18%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.2
Value
3.5
Features
3.5
Design
3.8
Usability
3.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 16, 2013 no customer service
Review by
Larry from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a next to new vehicle that had the NX500 installed. From day one the phonebook refused to work properly with my iPhone and came up with syncing error regularly. The navigation is so cumbersome and frustrating to use compared to say Garmin, it's practically useless if you need to input directions in a timely manner. Ever so often the volume control will go to full blast all on it's own. The company that installed it has been great trying to get updates to work but Clarion Canada has never returned my calls to discuss what can be done. I have never had such a useless electronic device ever. It is an extremely expensive car radio and I would never recommend this brand to anyone as it seems Clarion doesn't care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 Very disappointed
Review by
Alsx from Houston
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A few years ago clarion was one of the best decks you could own. They are not near the same quality. I thought with the clarion name and the good price that included the good features with the navigation being the selling point I had gotten a great deal. The audio quality was very disappointing, the deck I had in for half the price sounded better. that come that came with it reading reading them but but a very plain and dull in person. The navigation unit worked great, until a few months after I bought i start a c start t and th and the screen i is blank all all that shows up is Clarion then nothing else. CD player works but you can't change any tracks radio would work too if it was on the channel that got reception but didn't as I was traveling at the time. th the processor when when ou went out and the unit was no able to be repaired. Replaced it with a pioneer 4400 the features my system now only sounds better what i my system now only sounds better what is louder d an and I highly recommend to anyone. The Pioneer 1400 and are the reason I went with th the reason I went with the 4400 is because I if you're looking to upgrade more than just the head unit and add amps and speakers then you must get the 4 volt pr amp hook ups. If you just want the best unit available for under 700 get the 4400. Best under 400 get the 3400 and if you want to save some more and not have one or two features get the 1400. I did A Lot of research on this after the clarion broke as you can tell by the novel. Outside of the pioneer units the second best models on the market are the Kenwood DDX models. Hope this helps. A lot of time went into that information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2011 NOT worth it!
Review by
Ace King from Alberta, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this unit for a little over 1 year. During this past year it has jumped songs on iPod mode, switched radio stations on its own and recently the screen froze so I couldn't use it for anything more than just the radio. Now it has been sent away for warranty and will not be back for approx 4-8 weeks I am told. What takes 4-8 weeks? I would like to get rid of this one and buy a Kenwood, heard they are more costly but WELL worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2011 NX500 volume control problems, ipod keeps switching tracks/playlists automatically,
Review by
Cyeargz from LV, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great except for the volume control. Keeps going up until I sit there for 1 to 2 minutes and one click at a time the volume will go down. The iPod is randomly switching playlists/songs. GPS is decent. I noticed not a lot of points of interest where I live but found out how to store them. Somehow the address came up automatically after punching in the name of business in the nav menu. The speedo on the gps menu is cool. Very spot on. I with the searching for points of interest were easier like if you were trying to find a different place to eat. Maybe mexican food. italian, pizza joints, even fast food or sit down restaraunt sub categories. I wish the equalizer had a mid basb level control. The audio definately sounds better when you have the audio on loud. Mine was a piece of crumb cake to bolt it in my 01 eclipse, with sirius and backup camera and hd stuff. plenty of room for everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2011 Ok...Unit
Review by
Matt from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this unit for a few months now. Overall it has been pretty good. The GPS gets me where I need to go, radio an sat works great. I have tinted windows so I don't get much of a reflection; but this unit did not fit in my car. The unit it's self was too big for the double din slot in my Dodge Nitro; I had to take off the full cover and shave it down on the car.

Recently I started having sirius issues; where my presets would be deleted. This has begun to happen a few times a month and becomes very anoying. No one at clarion is any help, I have tried to reset the unit serveral times with no luck. With these 2 problems, and the lack of customer support, this has turned me off from the unit and plan on staying away from clarion.

GPS works ok; gets me from A to B, though the maps are not updated, and at times becomes very unclear on directions. The radio works as its supposed to; i find the iPod freezes on me and stops playing randomly.

Overall I would probably stay away from clarion after this purchase... I plan on buying a more reputable navigation for a few extra $$...

If anyone knows of a fix for the Sat radio, please let me know,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2010 Ok device, but don't buy it for the GPS
Review by
Jack from Phoenix, az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this unit for about 6 months and I'm pleased with the radio. However, the GPS map is about 2 years old and after countless conversations with Clarion and Horizon mapping, there seems to be no interest in ever updating the map. so as long as you don't plan on going anywhere newer than 10 or 12 years then you'll be ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2010 Nice Value
Review by
Ray Zorback from Fayetteville, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had my unit for about 4months.
- I don't really have an issue with the screen glare, but it is present.
- As the previous reviewer mentioned, the gps map is really out of date. It will get you from city to city, but address to address is about a 50% hit rate. Definately the worst of all features on this unit. The gps does work perfect, just way out of date. A map and places updated would fix this if there ever will be one.
- Ipod control is good, but could be better. When you go back a menu, it makes you start at the top of the list again.
- Bluetooth is perfect.
- Some have mentioned cold weather has been an issue. It's been in the 20 degree range where I live and have not seen any issue with cold.
Good unit at a great price and I would recommend it. If navigation is critical, I'd go with a different unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 24, 2010 Nice unit
Review by
Alex from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have it for about 2 weeks now - installed it with Bose integration harness in Infiniti G35.
Good:
-Sound quality is excellent! I am using USB stick with MP3-very detailed sound. Even better with original CD's.
-Simple menus. Manual is not needed, very easy to set up and figure things out
-Great expandability-hookups for everything you can imagine these days
-Screen quality is excellent
-NAV is easy to follow-when you are approaching a turn, you get split screen with zoom. Distance and estimated time in seconds to next turn are also displayed on screen.
-Trip stats are cool-I wonder if I can use them on race track(average/max speed etc)
Not so good:
-NAV has spots with no coverage, and this is in not so new suburb of major city.
-Currently no NAV upgrade available
-Sound tuning is VERY limited, EQ is a joke.
-USB cable is too short. Just get an extension right away.

It would be nice to have different illumination options to match dash colours.

I did not notice any issues with screen visibility in daylight. It is just a bit worse in polarized sunglases, but everything is still visible.
Overall-very recommended. I put 4 stars for reliability, but it is too early to say how long it's gonna last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2010 Great sound but just good overall
Review by
y from baltimore md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You can update the GPS through the USB. The company that makes the maps told me they were expecting their next update in a couple of months. But I wouldn't buy this for its navigation if you depend on this for your job or something. Buy a Garmin. Very poor resolution. Very plain blue background. If you can get this for under $500 it's not a bad deal. Great sound quality though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2010 Clarion NX500
Review by
jls from Anthem, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Beware, this navigation system CANNOT be updated. No new maps since 1st quarter of 2009 and none expected. The unit works well other than that, but h*******.com has no updates coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2010 Don't Buy this radio
Review by
Cody from Yucaipa, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I first got it hooked up I loved this unit for about a month, then the weather got cold and the touch screen does not work until the car heats up. After about another month there was a message on the screen "Fatal Error / Bluetooth". I have not been able to use bluetooth since. Also the screen is too reflective and you cant see the screen most of the time during the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2010 GREAT HEAD UNIT
Review by
Charles from Marietta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great head unit that does alot of things. At 59 years old I'm not up to date with everything this unit can do, but I'm learning. Everything I use works great! The Radio, Nav, Bluetooth, CD, and I haven't gone on a long trip to use the MP3 player. I would highly recemend this product. The only problem, I was unable to download address book from my cell phone. It might be possible but I can't figure it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2010 50-50 Value
Review by
Robert from Lithonia, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All I want to report is that the GPS Navigating system stopped working after two months of having it installed. Everything else works OK. The GPS is very important for the work that I do and for it to not work properly does me no good. If the warranty has not expired I would love to receive another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2010 easy to use with lost of features
Review by
Michael from Gardnerville, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
among a wide array of GPS/DVD units available, this one has probably the best price/value ratio available on the market now.
pros:
- easy to use, self-explanatory menu and options. You dont need to read a manual to use all its functions
- good fast response touch screen
- quick boot-up
- very dependable bluetooth
- good sound
cons:
- my unit died after a week, probably a cpu issue and it wasn't booting up past a CLARION screen. waiting for replacement
- VERY short USB extension cable - makes almost impossible to place it where You want it
- wish screen had bigger resolution and more vibrant colors

Overall, I am very pleased with this unit (as soon as I will get replacement that is. Cant blame the company or model because of one unit dying after a week. Its a great stereo - that's why I wont exchange it for another model (like pioneer), but I wait patiently for the new Clarion NX500
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2010 Excellent DVD
Review by
luiz from bend oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
todo lo que necesitas esta en la clarion nx500 sonido muy fino navegacion excelente el bluetooth se escucha bien, mejor que la kenwood. para ver movies muy facil el cable que se conecta al freno de mano . solo se conecta al cable del tierra y listo .

all you may need is in this very fine sounding Clarion navigation unit. excellent bluetooth sounds good, better than the Kenwood. very easy to view movies on cable that connects to the handbrake. single cable connects to the ground and ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2010 Need to drop the stars down 1 notch
Review by
Bishop from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had a few days to test drive the NX500. So far, I've encountered some problems that bother me to the point of having to reduce my original review (above) by 1 star.

1) The screen has too much reflection during the day. At times, I can't really see the touch screen, especially when I have to use my headlights and the NX500 has an auto-dim for the display. When it auto-dims, the screen is really light to see, however, if the sun or outside light is shining through the windshield, then I can't really see the screen. Today I had to use my headlights as it was raining, and because it was still "light" out, I couldn't see the display as the glare reflection was too much. I have ordered an anti-glare film, so I really hope that helps.

2) My NX500 has an issue with the Sirius. A few times already, the function touch buttons for selecting channels, presets, etc. would stop working. They would almost gray out and not function at all. The other touch buttons worked fine (back, Navigation, etc), but not on Sirius. Each time this happened, I had to power off and power on the NX500 in hopes of rebooting the system. This did work but it's very annoying that this is happening when listening to SAT radio.

I think because of these issues (on top of other minor issues that I dismissed, like no SD Card slot), I'm giving it an overall rating of 4. For the price, which isn't too bad, I would hope they would have solved the glare issue, and the problem with Sirius locking up, I don't think it rates a 5 for durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2010 Beautiful looking Navi/Sat In-Dash DVD - EZ to install
Review by
Bishop from Sacramento
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed the NX500 in my 2007 Kia Sorento. The hardest part of the install was removing the plastic panels on the dash. As for the actual NX500...well, I just bought a wiring harness and then matched the colored wires together and used shrink tubing to bind them together. Took no more than 10 minutes to do.

I also purchased the Sirius SC-C1 satellite receiver add-on. You DO NOT need any addition add-on interface to get this working, unlike other in-dash units. The NX500 is Sirius Direct Connect Ready, however, you will need to subscribe to Sirius for service.

I am so very pleased that this installation went without any problems. I had it installed and working in less than 30 minutes. The sound of the NX500 is incredible with my stock system, however, I did notice there was no EQ control for my mid-range speaker, only Tweets and Woofer. There is a LOUD control and this thing really boosts the sound loud; So loud that I probably won't be using this feature as the bass is too distorted. I'll have to play around with the user defined EQ setting for the lows (bass) when using the LOUD feature if I want to use this in the future. I did a custom install of the Sat antennae of both the Navi and Sirius. I installed them with double-sided tape on the dash board above the radio and it works great (while I had the dash opened, I also installed/hardwired my radar detector wire, too), the reception is fantastic.

The Navigation works great and the signal was picked up as soon as I turned on the NX500. I'm not too thrilled with the color scheme but perhaps it looked the way it did because it was dusk? I know Navi's colors will change with the time of day, so perhaps the color scheme emulated that it was getting dark. However, that didn't detract away from the performance of the Navi. No need for a DVD or memory card, just turn the unit on and it's all good. I really like that.

The stock radio channels come in nice and clear and I get far more stations than my old stock radio. Not sure why, but I'm not complaining. I didn't opt for the HD Radio add-on as I have HD Radio built in my other car and it's not all that and for whatever reasons, most of the stations in my area quit broadcasting the 2nd HD signal. But I digress, the NX500's stock radio signals are very clear and sound great with my stock 12 speaker set up. The NX500 has built in controls for the Sirius SC-C1, too. Once I subscribed to the service (online, had to use my computer first), the signal was received and I was listening to SAT radio. Quite honesty, I thought it would be more clear than this, plus there is a loud hissing noise that isn't very mutable by lowering the high's (tweeter) control through the EQ. I was a little disappointed in this, but still happy that I got this system installed and everything was working from the get go, unlike other times I've done Do It Yourself and had nothing but problems.

I didn't install the hand brake wire for the DVD. I'm not sure where the wire would go anyhow, so I purchased a bypass kit off Ebay and it should arrive in a few days. I will need this in order to get the DVD to work because even in park, the movie would not show; I could hear it, but there was a warning message on the screen. For now, I had the parking brake wire grounded, but this did not work (like my Jensen head unit, just ground the parking brake wire and you're good to go). Anyhow, once I install the bypass, I'll also install the license plate camera I bought last week. I didn't install it tonight as it was getting dark and I didn't want to tinker with the install all night.

Overall, I am very very pleased with the NX500. For the price and ease of install, I'm not sure if I could have done better with another brand. I did have my heart set on a comparable JVC, but when that got sold out, I found the Clarion. Installed in my Kia Sorento, it looks so clean and professional that it looks factory. :)

The only thing this lacks is an SD Card slot. I didn't use the USB connector, either, as the cord is very short and where would I have it hanging from? Oh well, I got SAT radio now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz