Showing 24 reviews for Clarion NZ500 (NZ-500)

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NZ500 (NZ-500)
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
4.2
Features
4.6
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 29, 2011 Awsome headunit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nicholas from Medford, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this thing paired up with a Clarion eq and the Clarion iPod cable to watch videos from my iPod installation was very easy and it looks great I love the outside screen on it too and the fact that it has built in nav. and comes with the antenna all of the features on this thing are great the clock thing is a little confusing but if you just read the reviews on here a lot of people explain hw to correctly set it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2011 NZ500 Pro's and Con's
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Fort Wayne, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
Easy to install; look's sharp; easy to use features; good Navigation (with latest map update); Price for value was VERY fair.

Cons:
If you have the iPhone and want to use Bluetooth with this product, you may run into some real problems with a "Stack Overflow Error." Clarion's update for the product claimed to provide a fix, however I have never been able to use my Bluetooth with this product. I have the iPhone4.

Overall:
I am happy with this product. The primary purchase for me was for the navigation system in dash. Secondary reason was to use my iPhone hands free. Very disappointed with the continued issue with the Bluetooth system. Updates (in my opinion) seem to have made the situation worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2010 Impressive Head Unit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
tourglide from Newport News, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have just installed the Clarion NZ500 in my Ford Contour. At first I was worried the screen would not open all the way without hitting the climate controls. Turns out it works just fine with room to spare. There are a lot of wires to deal with behind the unit so you need to be prepared for space restraints. With the unit I also purchased the SCC-1 Sirius tuner and the Clarion I-pod adapter for video playback. Both work great. No additional equipment needed for Sirius, just the tuner and a subscription. The screen does not have any glare protection so it is hard to read when the sun is directly on it. I will try some anti glare film and see how that works. The Navigation is top notch. It acquires the signal quickly and tracks smoothly. One nice feature they don't mention in the description is the speedometer mode. Very nice. The tuner part of the unit is good but since I don't listen to am/fm it is hard to give an in depth review. I do not have HD radio so I can't comment on that either. The built-in bluetooth works great. It snyced to my Samsung Vibrant and my sons HTC Touch Pro 2 without a problem. It even shows your contact list for ease of dialing. I added the Clarion RC-199 noise cancelling mic and everyone I've talked to says it sounds crystal clear. Overall I would say this is a great unit especially at this price. I plan on getting the NX500 for my Corvette now that I have seen and heard this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2010 Awesome product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Stevie from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great navigation/dvd system. Easy to use navigation, great sound. I am very happy with this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2012 just need to find how to update my navigation
Review by
big red from Bellwood Il.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My navigation takes longer around with shorter routes. Love the radio it works fine and Bluetooth radio axle my navigation was only problem I have with you waiting to hear from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 18, 2012 Great Unit
Review by
Matthew from Salem, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have only one complaint with this unit and that is that the bluetooth for my phone sucks. People couldn't hear me well at all while i was talking to them. So I purchased the wired mic add on and it still isn't any better. the updates for the Nav is minimal and rarely brings me the best route, if it can find my destination. Everything else with this unit is spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 garbage
Review by
Ricardo from Hinesville, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently own this product. This is my second defective headunit. The first time I experienced issues with not being able to view anything on the display...movies or just radio functions. I was able to exchange for another one, figure that unit was defective. As it turns out this unit now will no longer adjust the volume on any source. The bluetooth will not stream calls thru the radio, I have to disconnect and use my cell. This unit would an ideal by for the price and features, if it actually worked. Did I mention the remote control stopped working with the deck?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2011 Good Product
Review by
Sumnersford from Mtn. Home, Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything is good except the instructions and the navigation voice translation into American English, very werid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 good value
Review by
tw from canby MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Eeasy to use. And works good for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2011 Not worth the money
Review by
94accord from west chester, pennsylvania
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this headunit because i wanted everthing it offered the navigation, dvd, bluetohhth the whole nine yards and i got what i wanted. the only problem was after having it professionally installed for less then a month the bluetooth wouldnt link up to either phone i tried to connect to one of them being a 3g iphone. in less the 3 months the display went, and none of the keys seem to function, i beleive it over heated and burned out but im not sure, i never used the dvd feature so i would hate to see how long it would have taken for it to burnout if i had used the dvd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2011 Wouldn't but another
Review by
Andrew from Naples, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this DVD player because I had a clarion in the past and loved it. This one worked perfect for 3 weeks and everything stopped working. The Bluetooth stopped answering calls. The CD/DVD player reads CDs like it's 10 years old. My clock shows multiple times through out a single day. It read my iPhone poorly until it just wouldn't recognize it at all. Hopefully I can get it fixed through the factory warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2011 Very Good Radio
Review by
Abel from Breckenridge, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio works very well in my Chevy 2001, extended cab. Also have subs under the back seat, whichs sounds really nice. Has never broke, nothing is wrong or doesnt work on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2011 Piece of junk.
Review by
Back2Radio from Grand Junction, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Buy something else.
NAV - rudimentary. If you set route criteria and turn your vehicle off, the nav reverts back to the default route, but ask you if you want to continue on your previously selected destination. There is no look ahead for your route you can only see your immediate location.

BlueTooth- only works with a limited number of phones. The pairing of your device gets corrupted. So, phone will connect a call but you cant hear or speak with your party. You have to reset unit to factory defaults losing clock setting, radio station setttings, equalizer..etc.

CD - I played 2 brand new cds in this unit, after that I couldnt play any cds and now have a new one stuck in player and it wont eject.

USB - I plugged in a flash drive, unit says it is loading. Then says USB not available. Ive tried 3 different USB flash drives. No go.

Ive owned this unit for 4 months, so no return. I suppose I could send to Clarion for repair but I promise when I take it out of there it will not be going back in. Please save your money, buy something else. Worst purchase I have made in years if I could give it all 0's I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2011 Nice System
Review by
Totoro from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
- Big screen
- Easy to navigate
- Good iphone/ipod integration
- Nice NAV software
- Good price
- Excellent DVD playback
- Good USB playback

Cons:
- Bluetooth sometimes craps out
- Interface resolution is only OK

Overall:
A winner for this price. This sells up here in Canada for about $1000-$1100 bucks. So with our money at par it's a no brainer. Order from SE!

The bluetooth is pretty good, except when you get the dreaded "stack Overflow" You will have to set to factory defaults, and it will work again. This doesnt happen very often, it's done it once in 2 months.

I have had good connectivity with my andriod phones as well as the iphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2011 NZ500
Review by
DBO from G-TOWN, LOUISIANA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice system just a few flaws that Clarion should look into. First can't keep the correct time like mojority of you guys on here say. Another is that the nav system is ok but not the greatest. Trying to enter in location points it can never find anything i type in. Other than those 2 things mentioned. The system is great. Nive lcd screen with very easy to use functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Unreal Buy!
Review by
Chris from Burnaby, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is unreal...installed it yesterday and it does everything! Sure it doesnt play Divx but it plays all the movies off my iPhone (with the extra cable) and iPod control is easy and dvd playback is unreal quality! It plays all my burnt copied DVD's...GPS is great and I spoke to Horizon Nav who supplies the map data and they're updating the database this month! Sound is great too. And the bluetooth on it is great!

Great product and great service from sonic! fast shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2011 Nice for the price........... if it actually worked.
Review by
AL from Garden Grove CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything works well on this unit except it WILL NOT show the correct time no matter how many times you set it, no matter if you turn GPS sync to ignore.

Bluetooth with my iPhone was hit and miss. Would not know which speaker sound would come out of (Phone or Car Speakers) because it would vary from day to day!! Would not turn music off to answer phone at times....... if you set to default it wipes out all your radio presets and then would work fine for a few days or hours and then the same would happen.

I returned product and was sent a new one from Sonic (Great customer service) and had the same issue with the replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 Awesome unit
Review by
hawkeye from Ark City. Ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome unit with all the features you could want. Easy to use. great Navi and Sirius is easy to connect. Sound quality is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2011 Nice unit for the money
Review by
Jim from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this unit, but would caution there are a couple quirks.
Clarion instructions are not very detailed, so you will need to play around with the unit to get it all figured out. One of the big issues is setting the clock in the main setup menue. You need to set it to sync with GPS, then select your time zone. Be aware however that the clock in the Nav software has to be set separately in the Nav software setup time menu. Most people would not know to do this.
Blue tooth is another issue. Forget the instructions and just use your phone to find and pair the unit. Autoconnect may need to be turned off, as it does not work with all phones.
I really like the unit and am still learning new things about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2011 Love It!
Review by
liasos from Salisbury Mills, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced a single din JVC unit with the Clarion NZ500 and have no regrets. The unit touch screen responds well, the Bluetooth works great and having an mp3 player to pump through the stereo gives me the music I want to hear. The only negative is the GPS Software, the interface is a little complex, overall I would recommend this product and have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2010 clarion nav system
Review by
Jack from Hatboro, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice look and sound. AM frequency poor, especially on cloudy days. Doesn't like the daylight savings thing. Set clock manually with satellite link turned off, won't keep correct time. I have to wait for the satilite to link to hook up for correct time. I like how you can nav and do other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2010 Good unit overall
Review by
Lev from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Navigation lacks precision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2010 THIS UNIT IS AWESOME!!!
Review by
jake from manchester, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just added this with more subs and amp and this unit gives nice power to the amps and subs.
It has nice gps with bluetooth.! U can go to the gps screen and still be hearing ur music..Are you sick of pluging in ur ipod and have to click next on the ipod its self. No more need for that use ur ipod cable plug it in the usb and be in work all ur music shows up on the screen,i dont have videos so idk if that works to.. The sceeen has a nice clear pic on it.This is a great unit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2010 Great Radio
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Troy from Clarksville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this radio has everything you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz