Showing 13 reviews for Clarion NZ500 (NZ-500)

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NZ500 (NZ-500)
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
4.2
Features
4.6
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
June 29, 2011 Awsome headunit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nicholas from Medford, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this thing paired up with a Clarion eq and the Clarion iPod cable to watch videos from my iPod installation was very easy and it looks great I love the outside screen on it too and the fact that it has built in nav. and comes with the antenna all of the features on this thing are great the clock thing is a little confusing but if you just read the reviews on here a lot of people explain hw to correctly set it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2010 Impressive Head Unit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
tourglide from Newport News, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have just installed the Clarion NZ500 in my Ford Contour. At first I was worried the screen would not open all the way without hitting the climate controls. Turns out it works just fine with room to spare. There are a lot of wires to deal with behind the unit so you need to be prepared for space restraints. With the unit I also purchased the SCC-1 Sirius tuner and the Clarion I-pod adapter for video playback. Both work great. No additional equipment needed for Sirius, just the tuner and a subscription. The screen does not have any glare protection so it is hard to read when the sun is directly on it. I will try some anti glare film and see how that works. The Navigation is top notch. It acquires the signal quickly and tracks smoothly. One nice feature they don't mention in the description is the speedometer mode. Very nice. The tuner part of the unit is good but since I don't listen to am/fm it is hard to give an in depth review. I do not have HD radio so I can't comment on that either. The built-in bluetooth works great. It snyced to my Samsung Vibrant and my sons HTC Touch Pro 2 without a problem. It even shows your contact list for ease of dialing. I added the Clarion RC-199 noise cancelling mic and everyone I've talked to says it sounds crystal clear. Overall I would say this is a great unit especially at this price. I plan on getting the NX500 for my Corvette now that I have seen and heard this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2010 Awesome product
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Stevie from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great navigation/dvd system. Easy to use navigation, great sound. I am very happy with this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2011 Good Product
Review by
Sumnersford from Mtn. Home, Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything is good except the instructions and the navigation voice translation into American English, very werid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 good value
Review by
tw from canby MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Eeasy to use. And works good for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2011 Very Good Radio
Review by
Abel from Breckenridge, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio works very well in my Chevy 2001, extended cab. Also have subs under the back seat, whichs sounds really nice. Has never broke, nothing is wrong or doesnt work on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2011 Nice System
Review by
Totoro from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
- Big screen
- Easy to navigate
- Good iphone/ipod integration
- Nice NAV software
- Good price
- Excellent DVD playback
- Good USB playback

Cons:
- Bluetooth sometimes craps out
- Interface resolution is only OK

Overall:
A winner for this price. This sells up here in Canada for about $1000-$1100 bucks. So with our money at par it's a no brainer. Order from SE!

The bluetooth is pretty good, except when you get the dreaded "stack Overflow" You will have to set to factory defaults, and it will work again. This doesnt happen very often, it's done it once in 2 months.

I have had good connectivity with my andriod phones as well as the iphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2011 NZ500
Review by
DBO from G-TOWN, LOUISIANA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice system just a few flaws that Clarion should look into. First can't keep the correct time like mojority of you guys on here say. Another is that the nav system is ok but not the greatest. Trying to enter in location points it can never find anything i type in. Other than those 2 things mentioned. The system is great. Nive lcd screen with very easy to use functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Unreal Buy!
Review by
Chris from Burnaby, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is unreal...installed it yesterday and it does everything! Sure it doesnt play Divx but it plays all the movies off my iPhone (with the extra cable) and iPod control is easy and dvd playback is unreal quality! It plays all my burnt copied DVD's...GPS is great and I spoke to Horizon Nav who supplies the map data and they're updating the database this month! Sound is great too. And the bluetooth on it is great!

Great product and great service from sonic! fast shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 Awesome unit
Review by
hawkeye from Ark City. Ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome unit with all the features you could want. Easy to use. great Navi and Sirius is easy to connect. Sound quality is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2011 Love It!
Review by
liasos from Salisbury Mills, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced a single din JVC unit with the Clarion NZ500 and have no regrets. The unit touch screen responds well, the Bluetooth works great and having an mp3 player to pump through the stereo gives me the music I want to hear. The only negative is the GPS Software, the interface is a little complex, overall I would recommend this product and have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2010 THIS UNIT IS AWESOME!!!
Review by
jake from manchester, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just added this with more subs and amp and this unit gives nice power to the amps and subs.
It has nice gps with bluetooth.! U can go to the gps screen and still be hearing ur music..Are you sick of pluging in ur ipod and have to click next on the ipod its self. No more need for that use ur ipod cable plug it in the usb and be in work all ur music shows up on the screen,i dont have videos so idk if that works to.. The sceeen has a nice clear pic on it.This is a great unit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2010 Great Radio
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Troy from Clarksville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this radio has everything you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz