Showing 18 reviews for Boss PH4000D

Customer Review Summary for Boss PH4000D
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.9
Value
4.2
Features
3.9
Design
4.0
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Powerful but definately not 4000 watts

I do reccomend this amp highly its a great bargain and can do good numbers on termlab :). But its no 4000 watt amp or even close. I have mine wired to 3 500 watt rms 10s at 6 ohms and when i clamped it im only getting a little over 500 watts rms from this amp. With that being said im still doin a 142.2 on the meter with stock batt and alt with 8 ga wire and no extra batt or cap.

VS
piece of crap

This amp is crap. It is way over rated and pushes maybe 1/4 of what it really say. It has a protection mode, but guess what it don't go into it, all it does is blow up and catch on fire. This amp about burned my truck. Do not get unless you want to roast marshmallows in your trunk.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 5, 2012 Powerful but definately not 4000 watts
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Trip10 from Roscoe, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do reccomend this amp highly its a great bargain and can do good numbers on termlab :). But its no 4000 watt amp or even close. I have mine wired to 3 500 watt rms 10s at 6 ohms and when i clamped it im only getting a little over 500 watts rms from this amp. With that being said im still doin a 142.2 on the meter with stock batt and alt with 8 ga wire and no extra batt or cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2014 great value
Review by
jeniffer from arima, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
its i very wonderful item and i will not hesitate an recommending anyone to buy this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2014 great value
Review by
jeniffer from arima, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
its i very wonderful item and i will not hesitate an recommending anyone to buy this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2013 Best low budget amp you can get!!!
Review by
Stan from WPB, fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are looking for a car amp that will give you the bang for your buck. This ph4000d is the beast for the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 great
Review by
RAY from chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is great I have it powering two Pioneer subs , seen the same one in store for almost 3 times as much. I would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 Good Buy!!!
Review by
Leo from Suva, FJ, Fiji
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this amp for a lil less then a year and have found it 2 be 1 hell of an amp.
First i used to run 2 x Boss Chaos 15" 1800watts subs....
then i wired this to an Alpine Type R 15"
then to a Blaupunkt Velo Pro VPW380
and now to a Blaupunkt Velo Pro VPW460

i have always turned heads pumpin these beast with this Boss PH4000D heving it tuned to the best frequency for the best response and hevin the subs in the perfectly recommended sized enclosures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 Great amp
Review by
dbcer from East San jo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing an Alpine type r 15 at 2ohm. This thing knocks, perfect amp for one or two subs i highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2012 Not too bad
Review by
Microg4 from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this amp for just under a year , i am pushing a 1200 rms sub @ 4ohms, recently reconfigured to 2ohms , it played for about a month the suddenly one morning no sound from the sub . The power light was on , protect light off , but no sound. Thank god for sonicelectronic great customer service , they had a rma ready for me by the next day .

Overall the amp is great, it sounds good, i pushed it alot @4ohms, but i think the combination of the 100deg+ summer heat and the extra load @2ohms broke it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2012 ph4000 boss monoblock amp
Review by
paul from slc,utah
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had nothing but good to say about boss i have had it now for 1year and it runs with 2-2000watt 12,kenwoods premeirs i just added 2 more boss amps a ph4.600 4 channel and a ph2.1300 and for the money it rocks,i noticed a couple reviews and they said they were disappointed,suggestion adjust your amp or amps if you dont you wont get the sound you are looking for,i think my system for the money now 4,12z 2,6by9z,2 6z and2 6by4z it is sweet and i found the sound that i was looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 amp
Review by
easy from huntsville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you keep it on 2 ohms it bangs, but wired down to 4 it's very week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 i got one lol
Review by
lisa from toney, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this last week. It arrived today and I must say im a little pissed i have an spl1000 watt amp and its almost twice as strong as this plus my 2000 watt boss amp was stronger too. it dosent get hot my spl does but it bangs way harder. So if u have 1000 maxxx sub go for it, anything over that and you'll prolly be dissapointed like me. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 Disappointment.
Review by
@YaBoiRobG from Stuttgart, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Okay this amp has tons of power while it works do not get me wrong, but I have had two of these and they just quit working. Im running two 15" Merlon subs and they destroy the amp. They are 2000 watt max so the amp should have worked but they never held up. The lights are on and the green power works but no sound comes out. Happened two times with this model and once with the ph3000d. I guess you get what you pay for though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2011 Surprised
Review by
Tyrail from Clovis, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was actually shocked at how much power this thing had. I had it hooked up to two l7 Kicker solobarics. The plastic plates are annoying though. It was pretty loud too and my rearview wouldnt stay still!!!! In this case u get more than wat u pay for!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2011 Good Stuff
Review by
Gary from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good amp , I have been playing it hard (dubstep, hiphop, dancehall/reggae) for a 2 week period and it is solid as a rock so far. One thing, when I took the end plates off the plastic border broke, but its not noticeable when the end plates go back on. The Bass level remote control looks kind of cheap but it works. Looking to get a 4ch phantom for my tops as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2011 Great.
Review by
Ryan from Blountsville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very Sleek, Pretty Powerful. For the price. DEF. worth it! The end caps are a little annoying when tinkering with it at first. I almost left them off. This is paired with two Boss Outcast 12's and it's super Loud. and the amp only stays halfway up. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a powerful budget amp. But if you just wanna Blow money and get super power, Go with Kicker, Orion, JL, or Rockford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2012 piece of crap
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jr from fairfield,pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is crap. It is way over rated and pushes maybe 1/4 of what it really say. It has a protection mode, but guess what it don't go into it, all it does is blow up and catch on fire. This amp about burned my truck. Do not get unless you want to roast marshmallows in your trunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2012 Joke
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Carroll, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a joke. Good if you only have one sub but for price you pay I expected it to push both my subs since it has more power then one. On a side note it does make my one sub I can hook up to it hit hard so if you only plan on using one sub then this amp will work fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2011 impressive
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
matt from roscoe, illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this amp on 2 15" phantom subs and blew them within 2 weeks. Had them hooked up to 3 12s and blew them. Now I have it powering 3 10s and its plenty of power. I beat them all day long and the amp is fine definitely well worth the money I would buy this amp all day long. Next investment I've made in car audio besides the subs its powering. Buy this amp!!! And I'd definitely suggest buying a 10 or more farad cap or a battery. This will for sure make your lights dim. Hope this was helpful to anyone wanting to buy. Here's a list of what I'm running. Stock alt and battery, 4 gauge wire, phantom 4000 watt amp and 3 10" crunch groundpounders in a sealed 1.5 cubic foot enclosure (very small) wired at 2.6 ohms. Very clean and loud hut I need a different box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz