Showing 43 reviews for Kenwood KAC-8105D

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KAC-8105D
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 72 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.5
Features
4.2
Design
4.5
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
November 25, 2010 Bang for your Buck
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
G from Weed, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp pushes 500w RMS at 2 ohms which is perfect for my two MTX Terminator twelves that are rated 300w each so its giving them both a solid 250w. I've taken it on multiple 3 hour trips and has never overheated. For those of you bridging your amp and complaining about them overheating, you need to buy a monoblock. Bridging puts much more stress on the amp and you can get the same power output from a monoblock without putting additional streets on the unit. Sounds great for a low wattage system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 its a bird its a plane it kenwood
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwood amp sounds great also when its paired up with their subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2013 best amp out there
Review by
2008 jeep from Austin,TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I 100% recommend this product. I have this amp in my 2008 jeep pushing my 2 12 pioneer comps and I have yet to have a problem. It sounds great all day and never overheats. Bottom line, i would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2013 Nice value
Review by
Negolien from Sacramento,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I' am running this amp to the Jackhammer dual 12" ported enclosure. I have had this setup for a couple of years now and I' am very impressed. I run it in a 2001 Oldsmobile Alero Sedan with two Bi-Amplified SoundStream 6X9s run by another amp in the rear deck. I listen to rock only no rap. This set up is pretty loud I must say and very reliable I have had 0 issues. the amp is screwed to the back of my enclosure and sits between the enclosure and the rear of the rear seats. I never have any issues with clipping or overheating. I would recommend this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2013 Great amp. Sylish, too!
Review by
Justin from Columbia, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used this amp to power 1 alpine sws-10d2 sub. I have the sub wired to 4 ohms, which gives it 300w rms. Even though I don't have it running the whole 500w rms, there is still plenty of power to rock you car and shake the mirrors.

As for the design of the amp, it looks very cool with the blue and red lights on the top. My only prblem with the amp is that the wires and control knobs are on the same side of the amp. The way my amp is mounted, it makes it difficult to adjust the bass when I first set it up. After it is tuned though, its not as much of a problem.

Overall, this amp is a great investment, and it still has plenty of power left for adding another sub in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2013 Great little amp
Review by
PoweredByDodgeV8 from Buffalo, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Outstanding little amplifier, small footprint for the output, provides plenty of subwoofer power for a full size extended cab pickup truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 Kenwood KAC-8105D
Review by
Serguei from Cambridge, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a powerful amp with a compact size. Fitted perfectly behind the passenger seat in my Ford F-150 (standard cab). In fact, the audio shop that did the install just bolted the amp on my Sony boxed subwoofer. Never had any problems with it. The sound quality was excellent. Very satisfied with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2012 Awesome amp!
Review by
AudioNub from CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like how durable it is and the ease of install. no complaints works as intended for my two 4ohm 250Watt subs. I simply connected it in parallel to get 2ohm connection at 500Watts. They could have remove the cover panel, its pretty useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2012 Very nice little amp
Review by
Tim from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to power a Pioneer TS-W309D4. I have had it for 6 months now and have had no issues, It is really small and puts out more than enough power to make my sub really loud. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2012 Definitely an instant classic in modern car audio
Review by
Ish from Aurora, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this Kenwood amp not knowing what to expect, as I had never owned anything from Kenwood's "Performance Series" line of car audio products.
Let me tell you. . It's definitely an instant classic.
Not many other amps out there can promise the same wattage for the same dollar (except maybe HiFonics, and even then you know it's not true). Being CEA compliant, I have full faith that this amp does what it says it does. It seems a bit power hungry for just 500 watts RMS though, as it makes my lights dim depending on the gain setting. I use it for occasional musical enjoyment, not really everyday use. I don't have a capacitor, nor have I done the "Big 3" upgrade. Having said that, a true enthusiast should probably do these before purchasing this. The sound is amazing. Clean bass no matter what you're playing. The settings are simple to use, yet functional. The overall design of the amp is classy, in my opinion. Overall a solid, great value for plenty of good sound. Would recommend in a heartbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2012 Kenwood Quality
Review by
Joe G from Soqualmie WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp for the class D series and match up to my excellon reciever. To fire my 12" CVR dual 4 ohm. A perfect match it was. No need for a remote boost control. Take advantage of the KW reciever controls. This 8105D is running at 2 ohms. With a little adust its totally pounds. True watts. Looks so killer in design. Never even gets hot. Just wire it up correctly give it perfect ground the proper volts. I gave it shurken from Sonic. I highly recommend. You wont be disappointed. It pushes my 12 so hard my door seals will leak water in on a heavy rain day. Thanks Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2012 great amp!
Review by
Richard from Spring Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp pushes more power than i was thinking. i have it setup to 2 10's from infinity. they are 250 rms each and going strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 This amp is fantastic
Review by
Cody from Dwight, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked this amp up to two 12" MTX terminator subs and turned up the input sensitivity and LPF and they hit so hard. I took that setup on a 4 hour car drive through Illinois and the amp did not overheat during the whole trip (with the car running and audio going the whole time). Class D amps are the only way to go for subs and anyone who uses A/B is doing it wrong ;D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 Awesome
Review by
Caleb from Battle Creek, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome hits harder than I thought it would. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2012 Kenwood KAC-8105D
Review by
Jeremiah from Medford, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amplifier second hand about a week ago. It was used gently, but still the newest model. First things first, Kenwood has always put out pretty good equipment. They're like Alpine or Pioneer, but cheaper. Right now, I'm running them to two ten inch Alpine type E's in a massive ported bandpass box which makes those little guys pound like the cops with a search warrant. (It might be because they are in the backseat of my 84 Z28 which has about as much storage space as your back pocket). The sound is still very clean you can tell its a quality amp. It stays true to its power ratings for sure, and you can crank it for days and have no trouble. In my opinion, if this amp blew on you, you wired it wrong. It's not the 5000 watt blah blah. But for a good amount of clean bass, this amp is worth it for sure. I would consider buying more Kenwood equipment because of the quality and craftsmanship of this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2012 Solid entry level amp
Review by
Tommy from San Francisco, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this when they had their black friday deal. So far the amp has held up perfectly fine. Being a entry level amp, it was a solid investment for my 12" sub. I had the audio shop professionally install my system so they pre-set the amp settings. It was powering my 12" MB Quart ONX304 and ended up blowing it. I figured the extra 100wrms delivering into the sub caused the sub to fail. That should tell a bit how the amps power wattage is accurate as rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2012 Small yet powerful!!!
Review by
Nado from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This item is compact and appealing to the eyes, yet packs a powerful punch and can be mounted anywhere. I have this item in my corvette, and do not regret buyin' it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2012 good combination with my polk audio db1212
Review by
jith from riggae, Kuwait
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hi friends, this is giving a mind blowing deep bass though my polk db1212. It is shaking my montero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2012 Amazing
Review by
cole from MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very inexpensive, worth every dollar, easy to set up and it pounds my kenwood sub! Perfect amp if it's your first time buying new audio. Also very fast shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Great amp!
Review by
Brian from Glendora, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound is great. Use with Polk Audio single 10" sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2012 Great Amp!
Review by
Tom from 203, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I wasn't sure if i wanted to pay the price for this amp when i could have gotten a cheaper one, but im glad i didnt. This amp has given me absolutely no problems whatsoever and has always sounded amazing! Puts out plenty of power too, trust me! This really is a great amp. Very easy to use. I would absolutely recommend this amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2012 Great amp
Review by
Marcus from Covington, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used to own this amp. Very powerful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2012 Powerful Amp
Review by
Mike from Harrisville, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is awesome. My only gripe is that the connections should be on the top not the bottom. Very powerful. Made the 2 MTX Terminators sound a LOT better than the amp that it originally came with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2012 great amp
Review by
gator from owen, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these amps running 2 12" kfc's and two 10" kfc's. Thats 1000 rms to four subs and im hitin low 150 dbs with the boxes tuned for the subs. Great powerful sound for a lower wattage system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2011 best bang for your buck
Review by
Leon from Vancouver, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I tried ordering the older 1000w kenwood amp, the previous model, it was like 100 bucks, when i opened my package they gave me the updated amp, which was a surprise, at least in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2011 Great Value
Review by
Ismael from Los Angeles
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good Product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 Excellent value!
Review by
Danny from Wetumpka, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the 8105D to power a DVC 12. The amplifier performs flawlessly and remains acceptably cool while hard driving the 12 and it's overall quality is comparable to higher priced units. For someone who has a receiver without sub-woofer controls, a remote would be a plus but I would still recommended the amplifier to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2011 Great beginner's amp
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bob Barker from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this amp for a few months now, my first amp. Have to say it really kicks for the price its at. Have it powering one Kicker CVR 10". Already not enough for me, so I'm saving up about $3000 to sink into a serious system now that I've learned the basics and am confident in my own abilities. For the guys that say it cuts out on them, monitor your voltage because if you are running this on stock electricals (no "big 3" upgrade etc) then you are experiencing voltage dips likely down to 11 volts. First off this means the amp is working much much harder to provide the same output, and second off it means that you arent getting as much power to your sub as you could.
Putting in a second battery or possibly just a capacitor may help a little but if you want that big of power you are going to need a more expensive amp.
I have yet to do any real upgrades to my own equipment besides a cap (which was like a bandaid on a cut artery) and even just my 10" CVR gets anemic for power at a certain level.
If you are serious about your BASS then you will want more from this amp. I would say unless you are willing to upgrade your electrical system, go with a better amp such as the KAC-9105D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2011 Great amp!
Review by
Fausto from Lima, Peru
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp powering a JBL GTO-1214 sub at 4 ohms. It rattles my car with no distortion whatsoever. It was definitely a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Avid from ronkonkoma, ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this paired with two 12 inch kicker comp single 4ohms. its wired at 2 ohms and it rattles my car. After my experience with this I'm definitely buying another Kenwood amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2011 Good amp!
Review by
B.W. from Toms River, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for about a month now,and Im completely satisfied with it. Never experienced any of the heat issues others have talked about. In fact its barely even gotten warm expect for when I had my gains set wrong and was pumping it hard for about an hour(even then, it was still barely warm). Then again, I have it matched perfectly RMS wise to a 300rms Infinity sub. I also added a PAC-LC1 remote to it, and I'm enjoying it now more than ever cuz I can dial in just right amout of bass to go with different types of music now. I recommend the PAC-LC1 to anyone whos amp doesn't have a remote or sub control on their head unit.
But back to the topic...if you're looking for a good entry level/budget amp, this ones got u covered! Look no further. This amp is solid, it puts out a clear signal, and its priced right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2011 Great am for the price!
Review by
Dave from salem, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a must buy if you have a sub that needs 500w rms and up to 1000w peak. Its never overheated or cut out. I have it mounted under the rear seat of a jeep cherokee ad this thing pounds!! Highly recommend this amp, you wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2011 great amp
Review by
Angel from South Gate, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good amp. It hurts my Kicker 10" sub in my shallow mount box under the back seat of my F150. Barely gets warm if at all. Hooked up to my Pioneer DEH-6300 ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2011 great
Review by
jay from garland texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this amp today for my Kenwood KFC w3012 and it make my subs hit way more than my last amp. it has the fans on it which really do work to keep it cool and its stable at 2 ohms! good amp good price. cant go wrong with Kenwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2011 SICK!!
Review by
D from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Dizzlle says he has a P3 getting pushed by this amp, but I have the same set up and this amp pushes good. My 1 is better than majority of the guys that have 2 12's in their car. My P3 hits so hard, I had to adjust and lower my amp and bass. People who are in their cars in front of mine can feel it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Great value for big boom!
Review by
Steward G from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a great amp for the price, its looks very clean and sharp.
Using it at 300 rms @ 4 ohms it bumps my rear window.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2011 good deal fast delivery
Review by
sorefoet from portland, or
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
as above. good price delivered in a timely maner. what's not to like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2011 Works Great
Review by
craig from shreveport, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp hooked up to two 12" Kicker comps. Its running at 4 ohms so it gives the subs 300 RMS, which is their exact RMS. They sound great and go really loud if you want them too with this hooked up to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2010 Good Amp
Review by
stupendicleshot from Washington
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great and strong for my 3 JL 10's. Haven't even had to turn it up all the way. The Overall sound quality is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2010 Great Amp
Review by
Johnny from Westchester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this puppy powering my two 12" Kicker Comps that came already in a ported enclosure. They take about 300 watts RMS and man this thing works like a charm. I live in NY so the temperatures are 0-40 degrees F lately and it's had no problems. No overheating, no freezing.
The sound quality is amazing, I'm nothing but impressed. Amazing bang for the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2010 04 Civic sedan with a kicker comp VX 12 this amp, capacitor.
Review by
acwood04 from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp at a stereo shop locally, where they have given it great reviews as long as its tuned properly. I decided to go with since I just bought a Kenwood head unit. Im using it to drive a sub that handles 750 watts RMS and 1500 peak. Its a 4 ohm load, and I know this is only rated at 300 rms x1 @4 ohms, but WOW. This amp drives that sub very nicely and then some. With the cap i have NO light dimming and i am getting amazing bass. I am very happy with this the only thing i wish it had a wired remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2010 love it
Review by
bassgolfer25 from Sioux Falls, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
see it, love it, buy it. it's that easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2011 Great Value!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
[email protected] from Hixson, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great for the price! I'm using mine to push 2-10" Kenwood KFC-W2512, in parallel, with a 1-farad cap, vented box. Amp does great with those subs. Only downside is amp will overheat within 10 min. at max.gain and max. volume. I have mine mounted on top the box in my Ford Focus. Not much room to breath with only about 3" clearance of rear deck. Great overall amp for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz