Showing 44 reviews for Kenwood KAC-7205

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
73%
4 Star
20%
3 Star
5%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
2%

Average Attribution Rating

Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
4.8
Joe

San Diego, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
pretty good

July 14, 2011

Pushes strong, good quality amp here, i had to get something a bit more powerful but this thing is great if ur looking to push a couple small subs.

18 of 29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Loud subs

Pacific, Missouri

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Value

October 3, 2012

Upgrading from an old 700 watt amp to this made a huge difference on my 2 10" subs with a ported box. Very good value. A lot of power with clean sound if tuned properly

15 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Ryan

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just Installed

March 13, 2013

Just installed this amp to 2 10" JL's. It's working great, sounds amazing. Fans are noticeable when no music is on and its sitting close to you (mine is mounted on the back of my collapsible seat)

14 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

John

Smiths, Alabama

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice amp! But...

March 29, 2012

This amp looks nice and works good with my speakers and is good for the price. The only downfall to me is that it has a safety switch built into it, so when it gets too hot, it kicks off. Which is good so you dont blow any fuses, but then the speakers won't work at all. They come back on after a few mins and then go right back off, either the fans in the amp are not working right or I just have bad luck.

19 of 35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jonathan

Xenia, OH

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Yet Another Great Kenwood Product

January 14, 2012

I bought this amp to power my 12" Kicker subwoofer. The cooling fan is a great feature and even through hours of use it still remains cool with little to no heat being given off. As I continue to upgrade my car's audio system, Kenwood will continue to be my brand of choice.

15 of 27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jon

West Virginia

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwoos KAC-7205

June 16, 2011

I have had this amp hooked up to two Hifonics 12's for about 6 months now and never once has it gave me any trouble. Great amp.

16 of 29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Kevin

Fairport, NY

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great buy

March 2, 2011

This amp is awesome! have two 10" focal auditors hooked up to the amp and it rocks the whole car. never had any problems with it. been working great since i installed it 7 months ago

14 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

jjjjjj

iowa

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
junk

January 6, 2012

Crappy as hell keeps powering off and blowing fuses.

17 of 32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

john

west jefferson, NC

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
wonderful

April 11, 2011

great power and a great price

13 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

mr. alba

San Ardo, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwood

January 1, 2011

for the system i have this amp is perfect but the amp does overheat i am powering 2 crv 12' kickers and if i play it full blast for just 2mins it overheat but this amp does carry a punch

8 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Austin

jacksonville, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very reliable

October 4, 2010

this product has been awesome. easy install. accepts a lot of abuse. been on many 2-1/2 to 3 hour trips and never overheats. i would recommend this product.

8 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Cody

Port Orchard, Washington

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wow GREAT PRODUCT!

March 17, 2010

WOW! I'm amazed with this item, im using this amp to power 2 12" Infinity 1252w 4ohm DVC subs. And let me tell you that its so efficient! barely even runs warm since there's cooling fans. Fast installation to my OEM stock deck since the amp has speaker level inputs.

PROS: Speaker-level inputs, bridgeable, bass boost

CONS: 2 channel, no remote

10 of 18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Marcus

Covington, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwood

August 5, 2011

Very powerful amp.

12 of 23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Alan

Bethlehem Pennsylvania

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
solid amp for the price

January 10, 2011

I purchased this amp to power my Boston acoustics G5 subwoofer which is rated at 450w RMS. It is bridged and should be putting out about 500w RMS. It powers the sub nicely and it is a good all around amp. I also found it easy to use and work with. I have owned the previous model and used and abused it with no problems what so ever (as long as it is used properly durability isnít an issue). The circuitry isnít as beefy as a 700$ amp but it gets the job done well.
/// This was a top pick in this price range because I bought a dual 2 ohm speaker. I wanted and amp I could bridge to save some $. It is wired in series instead of the typical parallel. As a result I have a bridged 4 ohm load going to the amplifier. I expect to have this amp for years to come./// Also the sub sounds great itís only one but its very tight and hard hitting.

8 of 15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Joshua

Palm Harbor, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THE BEST

December 20, 2010

THIS YOU MUST HAVE >>>> SOUNDS BEST ON 12" Subs

11 of 21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Rigoberto

Santa Clarita, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bang for your buck

October 7, 2010

I would highly recommend this product because it got enough power to handle 2 12inch alpine typeS subs. And it is possible to down to 2 ohms which was another plus. Over all I would definitely recommend getting this amp on a low budget project.

6 of 11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Tyler

Roseau, MN

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product

September 24, 2010

I have been using this amplifier for over a year now, and i haven't had any trouble with it. It never ceases to amaze me! It is certainly worth the money!

6 of 11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jordski

Minnesota

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Couldnt have made a better choice

January 15, 2013

My friend had a Kenwood amp and i went off of his referall, and i couldnt have made a better choice, easy to install, and when i went to bridge em it had it labeled, for my first amp this works great and its a great value.

13 of 26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Larry

Albuquerque

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The car Guy

January 10, 2012

I have had these amps for about a month running 2 10" rockford fosgates and these are the best bass I have ever had. Loud crisp and right on the money.

11 of 22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

antonio

Mayodan, NC

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
not the best

May 27, 2011

Its an ok amp but for the same price just get Hifonics this Kenwood isn't worth the money

10 of 20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jonathan

Williamsburg, VA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A- Quality.

March 7, 2011

Great product and does exactly what it's meant to. However, dish out the few extra bucks and get the next higher model. All in all, easy installation and manual to go with it. Slick design and easy to make adjustments to.

7 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

ernesto

Costa Rica

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great value

December 9, 2010

I like this amplifier because it very good quality and it has a fan to cool it down.

8 of 16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Matthew

Bellevue, NE

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
AMAZING AMP, GREAT PRICE!!!!

May 12, 2010

If you are skeptical about buying this amp dont be! It will bump whatever you have harder then your previous amp!!! WONDERFUL ALL AROUND!!!!!

6 of 12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Blak Bettie

Elk Grove Village,IL.

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwood you done it again

June 26, 2012

This has been the second time I've own a Kenwood product and it is doing the job for me.I really like the way it lights up,not to bright and cool blue and red

11 of 23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

nathaniel

spokane wa

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great deal built right

September 3, 2011

I bought it about 8 months ago and still works great. i have the bass boost set at 8 out of 12 and it is plenty. anything more would be too much. is pushing my 1000watt orion and have never had a problem. i recomend it, especially for the price.

12 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jon

West Virginia

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwoos KAC-7205

June 15, 2011

I have had this amp hooked up to two Hifonics 12's for about 6 months now and never once has it gave me any trouble. Great amp.

9 of 19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Tyler

Pennsylvania

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Incredible

March 15, 2011

If you are doubting this product, DO NOT. This product will amaze you. It will push anything you've had louder and harder than before. One of the main reasons I got this amp was because of all the reviews, and I can see why so many left reviews. I encourage anyone looking to buy a new amp to seriously consider this. This amp is vastly underrated, I'm pushing close to 300 watts each through two 12" Rockford Fosgates.

Pros: Power, Quality, Bass boost
Cons: No remote

10 of 21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Austin

jacksonville, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
awesome amp

March 3, 2011

amp has worked exactly. NEVER over heated and went on very long trips with it blastin! very easy to hook up all the wires. true 1000 watt amp. very neat design and still hasnt blown any of its fuses. it simply does work

7 of 15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

lavoy

danbury,ct

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
nice amp!

February 7, 2011

I don't care what anyone says this amp is a beast! it pushes my Kicker comps just rite. When I pull up you know a monster is coming! thanks Sonic!!

6 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Maginkieo

FM 96944

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome Product

January 10, 2011

I will highly recommend this to any music fanatics like myself who likes the low bass either via one speaker (bridge) or two. This product is so robust that even when I accidentally touch the body of the amplifier with the positive plate, since I connected a capacitor to it, it just zapped and nothing was shorted ???

I have boasted much about it that pretty soon I will be purchasing at least two more for friends. The other good thing about it is the fact that it could be placed anywhere within the car, as its two ventilation fan keeps it cool no matter how hard you are using it. For me, it is all praise for this item, and thus, I highly recommend it to any music lovers.

The bonus is the fact that it comes well packed and with expedited transportation.

6 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

john

ocala, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
back amp

December 10, 2010

I have this hooked up to my Kenwood KAC6993PS there are bad a** with this amp loud as **** I also have a amp hooked up front by Kenwood 6404 pushing 4 speakers all Kenwood and the system is also I have the 9105 Kenwood amp for my subs which are Pioneer Premium dual coils and 2 ohm they got the boooooom booooom best system I ever had I all for under 1000 dollars

10 of 21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Evo

Somerville, NJ

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great buy

December 1, 2010

Really powerful, got it hooked up to a 12 inch Alpine. Lotta thump, I would reccomend buying this.

9 of 19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

jay

menasha WI

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so/so

October 29, 2010

this amp is great for just pounding but if u really wanna punch ur sub to the max (like most people) the amp will do it, just it will overheat within 5 min. i have this amp bridged at 2 ohms to my 1000w mtx sub and it overheats too easily i would not recommended it to any with a 1000w sub. but it has more then enough power to blow any 1000w and under sub.

6 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Antonio

north carolina

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good for money

October 5, 2010

good starting amp it is stable in 2 Ohms bridged believe it or not i haven't blown anything yet. And i'm mecp certified not a dummy. I would recommend this to every sub owner!

6 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Tucker

coquille, OR

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwood KAC-7205

May 18, 2010

This is a great amp. the first one i have ever owned where you could audibly tell that the adjustable LPF was actually making a difference. I used to own a Cadence ultra Q drive 3000 that put out slightly higher wattage but did not have the SQ i was looking for. it made my MTX subs sound sloppy because it was letting in the high notes. I listen to a lot of metal and when those bass drums start to get fast i like to be able to hear them clearly. This amp will do that no problem with the bass EQ turned down and the gain up. Im going to upgrade my 12" MTX terminators to the alpine type r 10" because it will be tighter and more punchy.

12 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Maurice

Camden, DE

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Decent Sub

January 22, 2013

Decent amp....first time putting a system in my car and I should have gone with a Mono amp for a little bit more bang but it does the job pretty nice. Overheats quite a bit on songs that are heavy on the bass. Gonna try 0/1 gauge wire and actually putting a capacitor on see if that stops the overheating like some people suggested. But overall I'm happy with what I got. Powers my Power Acoustik P3-15W pretty decently. Issue might need a better sub but my kenwood blew so went with the Acoustik.

12 of 26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Kevin

Grayson, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this amp for 8 ohm midrange/midbass speakers and 8 ohm tweeters

December 3, 2012

I know a lot of people use this amp for a subwoofer, but i actually use it for mids and highs. i use this amp to power 4 8ohm cadence fx6m8 midrange speakers and 2 8ohm cadence xt20 tweeters. I have 2 speakers and 1 tweeter wired to a 2.67ohm load on 1 channel on this amp and the other 2 speakers and 1 tweeter on the other channel on this amp. The midrange speakers push 75RMS each and the tweeters push 75RMS each. So this amp is running at 225RMS at 2.67 ohms per channel. This amp pushes my speakers and tweeters really loud, my car counds like a rolling house party or club.

Overall, this amp has never given me any problems. It never went into protect mode, and it has never gotten hot nor even gotten warm. Also, this amp is CEA compliant so you can have peace of mind.

11 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

jimmy

montevallo, AL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great amp great price

July 16, 2012

Great amp. Have it with 2 12"s. Sony sounds great, but drains battery when shut down. Yet, I haven't any power being used per amp meter. I would still recommend.

8 of 18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

chris

Saint Louis, MO

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
kenwood

November 17, 2011

My best friend has this amp and it is great... the looks are great and it pushes out just about as much as its marketing. It is a great amp for the right sub or subs.

10 of 22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

mmtampa

Tampa, Fl

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price for an above average receiver

May 9, 2011

I was unsure if this was the right one for me, but it does the job great.

8 of 18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

shoulders

kent island

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great amp

February 14, 2015

i own this amp i got it pushing two 12 in mtx terminator subs and two jl w3 subs also it pumps seriously loud in my 2008 dodge charger. def recomend this brand and its over four years ive had it

11 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

dclar4

Westbrook, CT

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Amp

February 1, 2012

GREAT AMP! It really rocks my car!! Couldn't be happier and the price is more than worth it! Great sound, durable, easy wiring and tuning to get that perfect sound. I love it, I would recomend to anyone looking for a great sounding amp for a great price!

7 of 17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

kwood

richmond, va

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
KAC-7205

July 26, 2011

Great amp like all the adjustable settings on it. very easy to set up and set to anyones perfered settings. i had this running two kenwood 12s at one time and and i never had a problem never over heated or cut off. later on i added another 12 and i ran all three of this amp i know it was very under powered but it still got down. very very pleased

11 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

robert

marietta, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not bad!

April 6, 2012

I have had better but this amp hasnt failed me yet ....well on one or two ocasions but it was my fault... it does make some heat for sure but it has great power for the money i have it powering two Polk Audio db840DVC 8in subs and it does the job well.

8 of 20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?