Showing 30 reviews for Lanzar Max8

Customer Review Summary for Lanzar Max8
Average Customer Rating is 4.1 out of 5 stars:
4.1
based on 30 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
4.2
Features
4.0
Design
4.1
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 25, 2011 Lanzar MAX8
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vee from Stockton CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Never own any Lanzar products before til now...just wanted to put a little boom in the family car...waited a while to put it all together...since i order stuff separately.....when the day came I build my own custom box for it....got the Lanzar MAXP1201D amp, max8 sub and the amp kit 4 wiring kit .....everything went perfect....even surprise myself...how the little sub could put out that much bass...lol...highly recommend it to any one who wants to get some bass into their life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2010 Very good sub for the price!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ron from Oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had some doubts about getting this sub since the first one I got fried on me from another retailer. Anyhow, this item is very well made and hits very hard. I have the 8" in my Expedition that fits snug in the factory sub area. I would definitely recommend this sub for any novice or amateur sound enthusiast. It will be almost 8 months and still have not been able to blow this sub. Has a very well built and thick cage with a large magnet. The surround of the cone is not foam like other have and is very thick also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 Great price, great sound!
Review by
Joshua from Fort Wayne, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These small 8s produce great sound. They don't bang like 10s or anything, but they do produce some bass. A lot more than you would expect. Can't go wrong for the price. Add some nice sounds to your system without over doing it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2014 not bad for the money
Review by
alex from guntersville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought one to put in a sealed box it sounds pretty good but it bottoms out on a 400 watt dual brand amp at half the power so you cant get loud bass just a good thud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2014 Lanzar max 8
Review by
Ryanf from Peoria AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First let me say i love sonic electronix! The shipping is super fast and they are great! I cannot say the same about this sub. The build quality is really bad. One tinsel lead is shorter than the other! It is really tight to the cone and the speaker terminals are loose (cheaply) attached to the frame. It was unusable right out of the box. Not worth sending back due to shipping charges. Buyer be ware of this junk sub! Lanzar is not the old school company i remember SAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2014 DONT BUY
Review by
spencer from boise, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is crap you can get more bass out of your speakers than this. with a 300w amp almost all the way down it starts to bottom out and sounds like crap. If your locking for bass that you cant even hear and isnt clean at all this is the sub for you. if you buy it you will regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2014 going from 4 to 8
Review by
Todddizzel from pulaski , wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought four of these bad little subs to prove a point. You don't need big expensive equipment to get loud. Im running a 12x25x25 box with just one 4" round port with 4" of port length and it sounds amazing. I have not metered it yet but I plan on installing another 4 subs on the other side of the box I like them so much. My last system cost me over $7,000 in parts and labor and I cant believe that these cheap subs sound better than that. The bass hits so hard you feel it in your chest I cant wait for comps to start this year its gunna be interesting when I pull up with a cheap build. Its funny how these subs have 100oz of magnet and even the sundowns 8" and the American bass 8" run the same size. the only difference is the more expensive brand does run a larger voice coil and some come in dual voice coil.. but if you play responsibly that shouldn't be an issue. They are a little on the ugly side and the basket that covers the magnets do vibrate loose but can be removed and doesn't affect performance when you do. I actually think they look meaner when you remove it anyway(when mounted inverted). I have read some reviews that the surround is made of foam not sure if maybe that was an older series they got there hands on or not but my surrounds are made of nice rubber. real thick and can stand a good beating. One sub is good for acoustics but if you want chest pounding bass I would run at least 2 in a ported box to get started but for under $200 you can run four and buy yourself a good starting amp so why not. Ill post another review after I added the next four subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2013 good value
Review by
yero from colubus, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good product, but doesn't have spec for it, so had to do some trial and error
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2013 Okay sub for the price
Review by
Ted from Lockhart, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These would actually be a good sub for a 50 watt deck with no amp. These subs cannot handle any more power than that without bottoming out. Factory replacement is fine but do not buy these to build a system from. You will be very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2013 maxamus 8
Review by
Dan from niagara falls, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These little subs kick butt. Port them and tune around 34 and they sound great wow. great value here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Good bump, for the price!
Review by
Donnymon619 from Los Angeles, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice sub, small enough so you don't have to give up most of your trunk space! I don't turn it on all the time, but nice to have when the right song comes on. Good sound too! Best price in town and free shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2012 Little but gets LOW!
Review by
dwcopple from Bay City, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Perfect little 8 for low $$$. I built a nice ported box out of 3/4" 11-ply birch. (.75 cu ft with port tuned to 32Hz). This sub hits low notes (Chris Brown-take it to the head, Three6Mafia-Late Nite Tip) extremely well and does not get muddy at all. I am giving it around 250W RMS from an OLD SCHOOL Lanzar OptiDrive and I only have the gain about half way up and the bass boost OFF. Very nice product with a HUGE double stack magnet and screw on/banana lug terminals. Well built. Recommended. Can't beat SONIC ELECTRONIX!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2012 Great lil Sub For the Cost!!!!!
Review by
Wink from Campbellsville, Ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These lil subs are well worth the cost, good quality sound and a dependable subwoofer for your everyday applications....Very well built and a nice looking design as well. I actually built my own enclosure for them and ran them at the rated RMS power and never had an issue once. Very pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Awesome sub
Review by
GR88 from FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have beat the crap out of this sub for over a year with a 1500 watt mono amp. Holds it like a champ in the back of my TC plenty of bass, and if tuned correctly can handle anything I've tried but I can't blow this sub great construction, durability, and price line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2012 wow
Review by
Miguel from Long Beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Did i say wow, this 8" rocks. I have 1 ported and this thing drops well. I was amazed at how well made this sub is, you will not be disapointed if your looking into adding some decent bass to your car. I have owned this sub almost 1yr on daily use and it is still going strong, I definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2012 the ugly lanzar max 8
Review by
john from lexinton
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well, I always heard Lanzar sucks, but I looked at these subs for a while. I watched Youtube videos, and more people liked them than not, so I gave them a try. I was not disappointed at all!! They produce quite a bit of low end bass, and still maintain that punch that 8"s are known for. I tried a few different small boxes, and found you get a lot more bass with the large bass ports. For powering these, I recommend Rockford 500 Watt or Kicker 500 Watt mono amp. I would not give them anymore. They look like they want to jump out of the box with that much power. They will take every bit of that. I have been slamming these subs for 4 months, and if they blow tomorrow, I will order another set. I like them that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 Lanzar Max8
Review by
FRANK from HARLINGEN, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had these speakers for the last 6 month and I have not had any problems with them. they work great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2012 Pretty good for the price!
Review by
tearabite from Lewisville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put 4 of these in a absurdly small box in the trunk of a 1998 Mustang GT Convertible (very, very limited space). The box is one chamber and has a total volume of about 1 cu. ft. I must say these surprised me. I replaced 2 12" kenwood subs with these (for space reasons. I wanted to still be able to get to the spare tire) and while they'll never sound quite as good as two twelves, they really do sound pretty good. They break up a bit at the really low frequencies, but you expect them to give their advertised specs. However, with the right LPF/HPF settings these subs sound pretty good even in a tiny box. The four of them is enough to shake all my windows and get a little breeze moving in the car. I only just got these and so wont comment on durability. I will say, however, that I'm not a fan of paper cones at all. The cones and the surround are pretty brittle and cheap looking, but I imagine that as long as you don't mess with them too much, they'll hang in there for a while.

Overall I'd recommend these to someone either on a budget or looking for bass in a tight space. Also, note that these subs are ugly. So budget in some black spray paint to put makeup on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 wow
Review by
jt from terrehaute in
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are the best 8's I have ever heard period. I built custom boxes under the back seat of my Silverado and I couldn't belive the bass that came out of them. These things definitely have the little man syndrome going on. They think they are a lot bigger than what they are. Just blown away at these. I have them hooked up to the vibe 250 rms amp and it doesn't phase these subs at all. They would probly like a few more rms but it's plenty for me. Don't let the cheap price drive you away, seems like really well made speakers. If I heard them first I would have paid double.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2012 good sub going up in price
Review by
David from New Braunfels TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got one 3 months ago. Now its a little pricier which means they are selling quick. 3 or 4 of these can get really loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2012 Gets down!
Review by
808head from frederick, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love Sonic! I'm an installer out of MD and our shop has been putting these in for a stock substitute ha for a while now and customers are tickled pink about them. I had to get one and put 2 of them in a ranger with 500 watts rms in a sealed box and it's very impressive for the money. You don't get that much any more, except with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2012 Great product for the price.
Review by
Leo from Austin Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I had bought this sub because the factory sub in my 2002 cadi diville was blown so I had to make some adjustments but got it all working. I even added a aftermarket Mrp-500m amp from alpine later to get more bass and that was 6 months ago its still sounds amazing and louder than my two kicker comps put together. It still hasnt blown on me and I have abused it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2012 not bad cant complain for the price
Review by
c ballz from brooklyn park, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought with an FLI 450.2 amp to make a cheap system for my suv that was small enough to remove frequently when i need to haul stuff. Makes good sounding bass at low volume levels, starts to sound stressed pretty easy when you turn it up though. Tested the same amp with a coustic 10" and defiently sounded better louder but i think a few of these 8's in the right box would be impressive. Also i built my sealed box to the specs in the manual but i think its a little too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2012 lanzar max 8
Review by
s10_v8 from berea ,ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is well built, replaced my factory sub in a hyundai genesis, better than what was in there for sure, puts out good bass, but keep in mind it is only an 8" and it's not going to sound like a 10 or 12" sub but does good for the size and i just have it mounted in the rear deck w/ the trunk as the box so if it were in a sealed box probably would sound even better, would recommend, quality is as good as speakers i have paid way more for, good buy for dollars spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2012 NICE LIL SUBS
Review by
eric from mansifeld oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 1990 honda crx with a 160amp alternator and a shuriken bt 35 up front and a bt100in rear. 0g wiring. I run 4 of these 8s on a audiopipe mini 1000d. In 2.6 cubic foot box tuned to 34hz running 13" of port per cubic foot. These subs sound sooo awesome. Easily play down to 28hz and play very well up to 45hz. They take my 2hrs a day abuse on them I did a 142.2db legal at 42hz with these little guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2011 Awesome!
Review by
GC Metalhead! from GC, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 2 of these the other day and WOW! Amazing little subs. I bought them with the dual ported 8" sub box from here. I bought them just to mess around with, but low and behold they are freakin' great! I am running them with my Kicker IX500.1 at 2ohm. Lanzar has been around for many years, but this is my first purchase of their product. I may just have to try out their amp next. For the price i will buy again. May try 4 8"er's in my truck! Give em' a try!!! but don't be puttin thousands of watts into these and then when they blow say they don't work. Hahahaha Happy Bassin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2011 great buy
Review by
ranger no room for big subs from MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am extremely happy with it i played a dub step song to see how much it could take and wow thats it wow just as loud a most say 12s i have herd but sounds cleaner kick drum sounds super clean love it just ordered 4 3 way door speaker from lanzar i was so happy with the sub we will see about the speakers let you know soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2011 k.b. customs
Review by
badger from Livingston, la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok first off a customer wanted something cheap but put some bass in her little suv so i built a fiberglass dual ported box at 1.42 cu ft downfiring with ports facing the back and damn i was even surprised put out a good bit of bass more than i expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2011 lanzer max 8s
Review by
jeffery from columbus, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would not buy these again i used them very low wattage and after 6 months the gave out yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2012 Junk
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
melvonmon from South Range, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this sub because it looked really nice and really durable. It was a 600w sub and I used a 300w amp. The sub burnt out after 5.5 months. I took it apart to see the interior quality and was surprised to find that it was very low quality and durability. DO NOT GET THIS SUBWOOFER!! I decided that a kicker would be best :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz