Showing 36 reviews for SoundStorm (SSL) EV1500M

Customer Review Summary for SoundStorm (SSL) EV1500M
Average Customer Rating is 4.1 out of 5 stars:
4.1
based on 36 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.4
Features
3.9
Design
4.4
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
good

Got this hooked up to 2 Kenwood 10's rated at 300 RMS a piece and it seems to push them good. The price seems about right tho, i had a Kenwood 1000W max amp that was very high end, and it sounded better with less RMS output but she gave up finally and I go this one. Pleased with the product for the price. would recommend this to anyone who is not looking for spending a ton on sound.

VS
No Bueno

I would recomend this amp to someone who just want like a 10" sub. If you want a loud system don't buy this. It's a piece of crap.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 9, 2010 good
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dylan from Livingston, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this hooked up to 2 Kenwood 10's rated at 300 RMS a piece and it seems to push them good. The price seems about right tho, i had a Kenwood 1000W max amp that was very high end, and it sounded better with less RMS output but she gave up finally and I go this one. Pleased with the product for the price. would recommend this to anyone who is not looking for spending a ton on sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2014 Amazing bang for buck
Review by
Bob from Atlanta
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It simply works. I am using this amp to push one Pioneer Champion Series Pro 12" woofer. Pushes it hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2014 Great value!
Review by
Jr from Worcester ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is loaded with adjustments to fit your needs and the power to back it up at a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2013 LOVE THIS AMP
Review by
Matty from GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had it for a while and have hasnt given me any problems. It slams my sub in its ported box!!
Plus the wife likes the bass nob so i dont kill her EARS..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2012 Graet amp!
Review by
R & S Racing from Richland, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this amp on 2 12" Fosgate P2 Shallow mounts in a 2006 Chevy Ex. Cab. The amp runs cool and has plenty of power. I will use this amp again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2012 Think Twice Before You Buy!
Review by
George from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp and I currently have it hooked to 2 dual 2 CVRs wired to 2 ohms. This amp got the subs moving only okay. My car doesn't have any deadening in it and even still there was basically no rattle/flex. So I hooked the amp up to an O-scope to see what the amp was actually doing. And I found that the amp would only push about 130RMS before it would start clipping. I checked to see if my car's electrical was part of the fault but it was running 14 volts solid. It wouldn't dip even when I played tones. So this amp can only do 130RMS at 2 ohms, not the 900RMS that it is "rated" for. Maybe I have a defective unit, but everything else works fine. I mean most smaller companies amps usually don't do their rated power but this is in a different league of BS. Sure its cheap, but for what you get there are way better amps. I would definitely recommend to not get this amp as there are so many better options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2012 (SSL) EV1500M
Review by
alec from Ogden, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this amp due to its power rating and small size. I power a Treo SSI 15" DVC 4ohm wired 2ohm Sub in a slot vented enclosure. This amp makes thunderous, precise bass and pounds my sub! I am more than pleased with this. The price is dirt cheap! I've owned much more expensive amps and this tops them all! My Hummer H3 booms like a high dollar system! Only slight draw back is the power/ground terminals are a little on the cheap side and small for the the proper gauge wire needed to effectively run this amp. But with a little tweaking, worked the connections out. Outstanding value and performance! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2012 I would buy this amp again and again.
Review by
Pipes from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is one of the best buys I have ever made. It is powerful, I had to buy a new sub because it couldn't handle this amp at even half power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2012 Nice Amp
Review by
Dan from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I totally recommend this amplifier for its price and for the bass it puts out, I just threw it together for my home system and it hits hard with my Alpine 12" Type R wired @ 2 Ohms in a QLogic 1.27 ported box. It really surprised me because I wasn't expecting it to push it as well as it did. If you're looking to power a single sub in your car around 600w RMS, this will push it hard and put out clean sounding bass and it's a cheap way of throwing together a system. The only thing I didn't like was a few minor aesthetic problems with the amp, though it was brand new there were some scratches in the bottom steel plate that connects to the plastic screw holes. Overall though, extremely happy with this purchase. On another note I knew before buying that it was supposed to come as a 25amp fuse regulated amplifier, although it came with a 30amp fuse, I guess they made some changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2012 Amazing what it can do for its price
Review by
Avery from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently have 2 10" 4Ohm (sadly, really wanted 2Ohm-er's) Kicker CVR's in an actually under sized sub box and this amp makes them hit hard as hell even when they're in the trunk of my '66 Ford Falcon. it puts out enough power to make those subs hit hard enough to be heard over my enigne with a blown exhust pipe gasket. Only problem i have with it is that it gets hot fast and the pass over adjustment settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2012 SSL EV1500M
Review by
Joseph hernandez from Anaheim
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was the best amp I have purchased in a long time! And Sonic Electronix has great service! Says delivery in 7 business days, but always comes in 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2012 SSL EV1500M
Review by
Joseph hernandez from Anaheim
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was the best amp I have purchased in a long time! And Sonic electronics has great service! Says delivery in 7 business days, but always comes in 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 Solid Amp!
Review by
Birdman from Northern California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp about 7 months ago to power my Boss P126DVC sub. Have had no problems with the amp so far at all, and it doesn't seem like I will be having any in the near future either! I'd definitely recommend this amp to anyone, even a friend! In fact, I have four friends who have all purchased this same amp, and agree that it does a fantastic job for what it is. Especially the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 20, 2011 horrible
Review by
micah from nevada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked this up to one kicker CVR 12" and the amp had to be turned all the way up for the sub to even move. Spend a little more money and get something that can actually push a sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2011 nice does the job
Review by
omar from San Luis, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i wasnt sure of buying this brand but it was worth it. Does the job and very low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 Good
Review by
Jesse from Mount vernon, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would have to say it's not a half bad amp it ran my kicker l7 12" just fine plus it's small very small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 do not waste your money
Review by
El Seven from Utah
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to power a JL Audio 12w0 and this amp sucks the bass it produces just sucks. Don't buy this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2011 ehh.
Review by
Joe from Holly springs NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I kind of recommend this product.. its a great amp for starters but if you are looking to upgrade then dont get this.. this amp only has 1 fuse and i had it hooked up to my 12 inch L5 kicker it produces quality sound and bass but i highly doubt it has an RMS rating of 900 @ 2 ohms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2011 Better than expected
Review by
dog24fret from Valley view, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is performing quit well. There has been no noise or protection mode for heat. Which after passing 139.6 degree trunk in Texas heat wave says a lot for dependability. I would recommend this amp. Also would recommend a fan or good air movement for amp does run a little warm. This amp is pushin 2 10" JBL 350 watt RMS subs in sealed inclosure. With plenty of power to spare excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2011 ehh
Review by
Kenneth from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not a very good amp. Didn't put out the power it said it would but what do you expect for the price? It's a decent amp for a temporary system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2011 QUALITY AMPS
Review by
MR.HATCHBACK from EVERETT,WASH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was looking for budget amps for my ride and thought I would give these SSL EV amps a try, wow!! Great sound and exstream power. Have used Diamond and MA audio and these amps for the price wrip them up!!! Look amazing too! Another home run Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2011 ev 1500 amp
Review by
96 ride from houston,tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a good strong amp for the price. I had it on @ 12s and push them hard. This work so good I had to what the 5000 ssl can do and let tell u 5000ssl & three cvx's u do the math . Hits hard!! oh yeah i stiill got the ev1500 & 12's in my other car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2011 Great Purchase
Review by
Samcrow from SJO, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased from this site on Thursday, package came Monday. I just installed this today in my 2003 Honda Civic. It hits hard, I have a 12" Polk DXI 124 sub with a ported box that I bought off this site. I would recommend to anyone that wants great sound on a budget. I'm not into competition systems, I just wanted something better than stock and to upgrade my music enjoyment. Love this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2011 Not a bad deal
Review by
Sean from Canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are looking for something to power a sub for simply listening to tunes at a reasonable level I believe this amp would be great for you. I have it powering a single 10" Alpine and it works well.

I have taken the amp to much higher levels at times and although I think the speaker is quite capable of taking whatever the SSL can dish out I noticed it lacked the cardio to maintain higher volumes for a long period of time. A few times there was a smell of burning boards but I was unable to tell if it was the amp of the speaker coils.

The sound was clear and gave good lows around the 100watt - 150watt area but after that it became distorted. Good amp only if you are looking for a bit of extra base but find something more suited to the high end for the low end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2011 I was skeptical
Review by
Charlie from Long Island, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was pretty skeptical when I read that this amp only has one fuse (25A) and VERY skeptical when I wired it up (cheap looking connectors) but when I started testing it, all my fears disappeared. This amp puts an absolute PUNCH into my 2 12" Bazooka subs at 4 ohms and provides distortion free power at max volume, for under 100 bucks! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the shabby power connectors and the lack of more tuning options (the kind found on $200 amps, (I'm probably being too picky...)). Overall a great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2011 decent amp on a budget
Review by
Tracie from Frankfort, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have it matched up with 1 alpine type r. it sounds great. yeah its a cheap amp so its output probably isn't accurate but when on a budget it gets the job done and sounds great while doing it. This gets my recommendation for a beginner in car audio or somebody on a buget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2011 Completes the system
Review by
josh from shasta lake, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall the amp is built like a brick house and is a very solid unit has all the variable adjustments that allow you to tweak your sound to perfection. This amp puts out more than enough power to push 3 DVC 4 ohm Polk Audio DXI series to there limits. Some people disagre with the power out put but once you strap this in your hooked. I put ease of use at a 4 just because if you have no idea what these knobs mean or do you will be lost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2011 worst amp ever
Review by
Jschray17 from Peoria, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 12 inch mtx audio in my chevy silverado ext cab. This amp only has 1 fuse on it and my mtx audio RMS is 400 and PMS is 800. This means that only about 130 watts are going through. Just becasue it says its 1500 watts max doesn't mean anything. When they were testing the amp the got it to hit 1500 watts max for maby half of a second. I know everyone out there wants to save money but trust me its worth buying an amp that is 100 more dollars then buying a piece of crap amp like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2011 the soundstorm ssl is awesome
Review by
BassHeadJared from fort worth, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the soundstorm ev1500m is great amp for the price i slammed the heck out of it an it kept going an going execelent power outage so a great amp for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2011 Good Power for Little Money
Review by
Joe from NW PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I just did an entire A/V setup in my EXT Trailblazer and didn't want to go too loud (like my old days) so I picked up this amp along with 2 10c108 Kicker 10" 8-ohm subs and the combination is almost perfect. I wanted this amp to run at 4ohms but like having the 2ohm rating if ever needed. So far my Kicker's are not quite able to handle everything efficiently that this amp gives at a 4 ohm load but it's pretty close. My family watches a lot of movies in the truck so I was going for SQL and not SPL, though when playing some hip/hop tracks I can be heard from a block away! Overall, amp does not warm up too much (easy load at 4 ohms) and it performs flawlessly in my book. The only thing I don't like to see is a single fuse rated at only 25 amps but hey, you get what you pay for. All in all I would recommend this to anyone looking for good (not great) amounts of power being on a budget! I'm glad I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2011 Great Budget Amp!!!
Review by
Swanks from Canton, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this bad boy to pair with a simple Hifonics 12D4 woofer running a 2ohm load and I am very impressed for a budget amp. It is clear, provides VERY close to the power ratings listed, and has all the features you need. It feels very solid and nothing is flimsy. I have pounded out -Bass, I love you- three times in a row with no heat build up and I assure you, my garage was shaking (project car).
I would buy this amp again in a heart beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 great power for price
Review by
Jared from Springfield, mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp powering two JL12W1v2 subs and it never misses a beat. I have been extremely impressed with the output of this amp for the hundred bucks. I plan on buying a bigger ssl amp in the near future and will deffinatly be buying from Sonic Electronix again. I haven't been able to find anywhere that can hold a candle to their prices on new equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2010 IT SLAPS MAKES YOUR CAR FLEX
Review by
LOS from EAST PALO ALTO,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is pushing my 2 12s cvr like if it aint nothing i strongly recommend it. The only bad thing is that it gets hot . Overall i would buy it a million times!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2010 Ssl ev 1500m
Review by
Jared from springfield, mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp puts out great power for the price. Powers my 2 Rockford R1s with ease. Would buy another anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2010 soundstorm 1500
Review by
whatever from new bern nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this running at 2 ohms pushing a planet audio big bang subwoofer and let me tell you it does work. Good product for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2012 No Bueno
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gabino from Green River, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recomend this amp to someone who just want like a 10" sub. If you want a loud system don't buy this. It's a piece of crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz