Showing 17 reviews for SoundStorm (SSL) EV4000D

Customer Review Summary for SoundStorm (SSL) EV4000D
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.4
Features
4.4
Design
4.5
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 18, 2010 SoundStorm SSL EV4000D
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
A Jordan from Midland Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall power does not seem to reach the displayed wattage of 4000, however, it does stand up to reliability and perfoomance wise when considering nio overheating or random shut off as othe amplifiers can and may normally do! This amp was run on two 15' with peaks of 3000 watts each and a continuous of 750 each, ultimately blowing boh speakers in series, so one may say that the amplifier may push it true 4000 watts to have blown the speakers but according to more name brand amps such as kenwood, alpine and JL it does not produce a loud enough sound to be comparable in any form or fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2010 AMAZING!!!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jakboling from Wyoming
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't have this exact model. I have the older CR4000.1. But this amp should be even better. Specs are all the same for the most part other wise.

All i have to say is WOW. I am powering 2 Alpine 10'' 4ohm type X's..and holy crap! I out bump most 12'' setups..its ridiculous. Never had a problem with the amp. Read on another site that is around 2300w RMS at 1ohm which is how i have it wired. Only over heated once and it was 110 degrees outside and after 2 1/2 hours of bumping HARD..only took 5 mins to cool down.

Great amp for the money!!! VERY VERY VERY POWERFUL!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2013 Not Recomend
Review by
Rockford Fosgate from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would only recommend this amp if your on a budget.. This amp clips your subs big time, people say they are "POWERFUL" they blew my subs. doesn't matter the power it gives a distorted signal. fusing are 40x3 which is 120 amps of fusing. 120 amp fuse for a 4k? over rated by about 3,000 watts. I put this amp on a dyno. done no where near its power. it did 988 watts @ 1ohm on a 12.5 bank. 1203 watts @ 1ohm on a 14.5v bank.. if you want a quality amp find an good name brand for example.. "!!Rockford Fostgate!!" Kicker, SoundStream, JL audio, Memphis Audio. Think this you get what you pay for $100 for a 4k no thanks. spend the extra $ dont cheap out on your system power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2013 ssl evo 4000
Review by
jx2 from elletsville
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
14x120x.80=1344rms HAs be3n a little over a year now and mine is still going strong. If ask I would recommend this product. As long as you understand its doesnt do rated youll be fine with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
Barry from Charlotte NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this amp for about 6 months and it is still going strong. I will say this: tune it right. Use a DD1 or take it to a shop so they can tune it. Remember it is a gain knob not a volume control. If asked I will say buy this amp. It is great for a day to day amp. Pair it with some good subs. If will fry cheap ones trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2013 Absolute Beast
Review by
Tyler from Cartersville, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Amp is a beast. I've owned the EV4000D for a year and a half, and never have had a problem with it. The only thing is I have blown two subs with it because of the power that it provides. I am currently looking for a sub that will actually test this amp instead of the amp testing the Sub. If blown a Pioneer TS-W3002D4 and my most recent one was a Kicker 40CWR124
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2013 MONSTER POWER
Review by
Stereo Guy from OKlahoma City, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
In my '09 Ford F150 Crew Cab, I am running two 10" DB Drive K910D2 @ 1 Ohm and this amp is an absolute MONSTER. This amp will handle ANYTHING you throw at it. It is simply a BEAST!!!

I am currently in the process of upgrading my system in my Suburban: I am running Two 15" RE Audio XXX Series subs off of two EV5000D amps. I am pushing a total of 10,0000 Watts @ 1 Ohm. Believe me when I say, you cannot go wrong with these amps. They are built like a tank, but priced very cheap! I am an electrical engineer by trade; believe me when I say these are quality amplifiers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Power Output is Very Bad
Review by
Eric from Waukesha, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this product because I had a friend who used a EV2000D and he quite liked it, I also thought that the price:power ratio was very impressive. However the EV4000D just is not powerful at all. After hooking up my new amp, and hearing what my sub can really do, I realized just how little this amp was actually moving my sub. The difference was tremendous! If this amp is making your sub(s) move, chances are they can do a lot better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2012 ssl ev 4000
Review by
luvsubs420 from chauvin louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i use this amp on 2 kicker cux 12's at 1 ohm all day. I had a kicker zx750 before and this amp kills that 1 all day, its not a true 4000 watts but you get more than what you pay for!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2012 death to my pioneer champion pro series
Review by
e-man from dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is a monster it blew out my champion pros in a day and the gain wasn't even half way up!! Best amp for your dollar but better get some strong subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2012 great amp
Review by
pelon from houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp holding 4 12s down. It's a really good amp, I would recommend it to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2012 STILL BUMPIN!!!
Review by
Turkeysub_18 from springville utah
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this running at 1.4ohms to 2 kicker compvt 12's and two jl audio w3's. It pounds! Would highly reccommend this amp for anyone on a budget looking for some good power. Got it for 16 from my local dealer. Great buy. Doesn't over heat or clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2011 WOW
Review by
Tyrail from Cannon AFB, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was actually shocked at how much power this thing had. I have it hooked up to two l7 Kicker solobarics. It was pretty loud too and my rearview wouldnt stay still!!!! In this case u get MORE than wat u pay for!!! This is honestly the strongest amp I have ever owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2011 good amp
Review by
Paullo from Inver Grove Heights, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SSL EV4000D is pushing a pair of SSL 2500 watt subs (1200rms)quite well I'm pleased with the power of the amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2011 Nice Amp.
Review by
Cook from tahoka,texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp doesn't overheat, great size, pushes two Kicker Comp 15's easily. Does about 1100 watts RMS. Great amp, always go with sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2010 great service. fast and on time. great amp.
Review by
ryan from st louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp throbs my Orion Hcca 12.2! No problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Great Amp
Review by
max from marksville, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 12s running off of this at full power on 4 ohms...never had a problem. Would recommend this to anyone. doesn't get too hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz