Showing 32 reviews for SoundStorm (SSL) EV5000D

Customer Review Summary for SoundStorm (SSL) EV5000D
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 32 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.5
Features
4.3
Design
4.6
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 27, 2011 Ridiculousness
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
SIMEE from Portage,WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this for my S-10 and all i have to say is get 0 gauge wire. 8 gauge does this amp no justice at all. I had a 1000.2 hooked up to my three 15's before this amp. I switched it out with the SSL 5000.1 with 8 gauge power and ground. No doubt it pounded louder than the 1000. I decided to do the big 3 (from SonicElectronix, i recommend, big time!), also 0 gauge power and ground. The after effects. I have a glass table in my room with a full gumball machine. I forgot my wallet one day after i started my truck and my music hadn't started playing and of course it was at full tilt 3 clicks from full volume. I started running up the stairs and my whole house started rattling white girl, i mean every picture, cup, vase, controller that was out was rattling. I went in my room and my full gumball machine was vibrating off my table. My town of 11,000 now hates me!!! Thanks SonicElectronix!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 good value!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Audio Kid from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
but its not the rated power, but a good value for the price! I would recomend this amp i have it powering one MOFO 15 and it slams pretty hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2014 Check this out.
Review by
jr from florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a good amp it pushes my 2 dd 3500 15s pounding down for the price u can't beat It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2014 SSL is the best amp i have owned
Review by
cody from labelle
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have had my SSL for about 4 months now and it can fry my orion hcca very easy if you are having a problem with it shutting off then upgrade your remote wire to 8 gage that is what i did and it solved my problem this amp needs alot of power so i also added a cap and extra battery i would definitely recommend this amp to a friend i will be taking this amp to competitions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2013 BEAST!!!!
Review by
Tylor from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
True power blew my LANZAR 15's in two days and shock my whole car for the time being
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2012 needs air constantly
Review by
Jose from Chandler, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this product twice the first time it lasted longer than ever and now it shorts on me and blows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2012 BEST VALUE YET!!!!
Review by
C-MURDER from TUSCALOOSA, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp 6 months ago and let me tell you, this amp brings it, i'm getting around 1850 watts to 2000 watts true power and it delivers, it's a little power hungry but put you an extra wet-cell or cry-cell battery with at least 600 cold cranking amps along with your stock battery and you should be fine. I have mine pushing three twelves in a 1 ohm load, the aluminum finish is great, also it doesn't get hot quick with the right amount of power going to it. If you're having problems with this amp or it burns up, then you didn't have the right amount of power going to this amplifier. My three twelves have my ears ringing with ease and can hear me blocks away, true it's not 5000watts but tell me where are you gonna get a true 1800 to 2000watts of true power for this price. Stop complaining and do your system the right way and you won't have to worry about it burning up or frying!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2012 soundstorm ssl ev500d
Review by
los from cameron mo.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would recommend this amp if you don't compete. got one on two kicker 12" nice low budget hitter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 WOO HOO
Review by
Nate from Dayton, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased this amp with some assistance from the very professional sales reps there at Sonic Electronix. I have to say I have never owned an amp that puts so much power to the sub this thing is fricken awesome like OMG awesome. I own a sub that is rated at 2200 watts RMS and I have had trouble finding an amp to push it. Well i need to look no further. The sound quality, power per price and all around performance is awesome I love it and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2012 Great Amp!
Review by
Robert from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was easy to set up and never gave me any trouble. Pushed my T2D212 sub like nothing and never clipped nor over heated and i played it on a 700 mile drive, non stop usage. Great amp and I am planning for another set up with another one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2012 Great item
Review by
Danger from Oranjestad, Aruba
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a great item and will tell a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2012 Great buy for the money
Review by
Jared from Springfield, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has done good by me. It doesnt push the power that they claim. Maybe 1700w rms at 2 ohm. But for the price paid, cant complain a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 Great amp for low price
Review by
05pont.grandprix from Appleton, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased it, and love it. Not 5000W but thats expected. Pushing my 2 12" cvx subs easily right now.
Pros- Cheap, good quality, big watts
Cons- Heavy and has small mounting holes, so beware
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2011 BUY IT NOW
Review by
BabyBassHead from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Almost got a "better name brand" for tha same price & half the max output but I decided to try it & WOW! First time I tried I thought I was going deaf. I had a Rockford Fosgate 600watt which max is about the same as this one. I'm running two 12's & I can only turn it up half way or I can smell my speakers burning & I only dream of turning it on with out starting the car for 2 mins or more. Fast shipping as always & another great deal Sonic Electronix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2011 Big time flex in the Chevy
Review by
Shawn from Monroe Ga.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these going on 4 12's with a cross over man when I turned the bass knob My Surburban was flexn so hard I dam near cried! I no longer have theose 12's any more but these amps kick butt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 Good power for the money
Review by
Murc from SoCal
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is overrated at 5000w, it puts out closer to 2000W pending on your electrical but for the money its pretty good. The amp it self looks really nice with the brush aluminum look. Had 2 15" Kicker L3 and it pushed them with ease without getting hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2011 Sweet Deal
Review by
Public Disturbance from Rapid City, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok I got this in for a buddy of mine. we took it to the local shop and had them do a true bench test and while it is over rated for the money it is a great amp.
4ohm:523 true watts
2ohm:1053 true watts
1ohm:2001 true watts

so it is a pretty decent amp for the cost just over rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2011 great amp for a great price
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
michael from fort worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This a great amp I love it. Its very powerful I hooked it up to 2 kicker comps and wired them at 2 ohms and they beat workers in the back of walmart were I worked at said they could here me pull into the parkin lot and as far as sound quality goes I just used a name brand crossover which made the sound so much louder and deeper and clear. But without the crossover it still very bada** I didn't use the crossover to make it louder though cause it was already so strong it was melting my speakers litterally I just used it only to help get a lower frequency. But the amp is huge all my friends go crazy when they see it or hear it they think I'm some kinda audio expert I'm actually about to hook up a system today for a guy cause he heard my subs but recently I sold the comps and switched to 2 kicker cvr 15 4 ohm subs and wire them at 1 ohm man when I say this car bang so hard I have to turn it all down cause it gives me a headache I see windows on buildings shaking around me people who are in my car complain for me to turn it down mad cause I ruined there hair and don't think I'm an idiot who just packs his car with bass and it sounds horrible well I have alpine door and reak deck type r they sound perfect alpine headunit cde-102 I had an dvd screen at first but I took it out and gave it to my dad so no one would break my windows on my car tryin to get it and they broke his window and stole it from his car a week later but that's how it is in the hood lol and that's why I took it out my car my friends were sayin I downgraded my car but I didn't car I save my window and it became somebody elses who's got smashed but anyways I also amped my inside alpine door and deck with a 1000 watt alpine amp and I used a raptor capacitor on my subs which I bought here as well and I use 4 sq tweeters on a seprate crossover and a yellow top battery can't think of the name of my battery at the moment but it cost me 200 dollars but I had it long before I got a system and that's my review I would definetly say get this amp if your want to crack concrete with sound volume lol even those guys at car**ys were surpise to hear how good and loud it sound they claim there that jl audio subs are better than kicker subs well I heard 1 jl audio W7 maxxed out and a solo x maxxed out solo x kills it even the L7 kills it and a lot of people hate on the L7 well there better than FI BTL that's it and Kicker still takes that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2011 great buy!!
Review by
cpars from Stockton,MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned this amp for about a year now and i have it hooked up with two AudioQues Hcd3's with a mtx bass slammer box. It has never overheated or gone into protect. I can be heard from two miles away and it pushed them so hard it flexed my front window of a 4 door oldsmobile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2011 there good
Review by
king aries from lexington nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got two of them strapped up on some 18 in Solo X and all I have to say is damn. I got them at 2 ohm and they supply the power I need
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2011 great no problems
Review by
james 89scbird from ashland ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
no the rated power but one on 2 mofo122x it hits pretty hard at 2ohms but bout another one and going to strap them and see if it puts out like my hk4000d which is a current huge and die do to voltage drop and had power akoustic ovn 5500d which went throw 2 of them in the one work 5 minutes and the other one i got didn't even work so im happy true clamp at 1 ohm is 2100 watt at 13.8 volts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2011 great no problems
Review by
james 89scbird from ashland ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
not the rated power but one on 2 mofo122x it hits pretty hard at 2ohms but bout another one and going to strap them and see if it puts out like my hk4000d which is a current huge and die do to voltage drop and had power akoustic ovn 5500d which went throw 2 of them in the one work 5 minutes and the other one i got didn't even work so im happy true clamp at 1 ohm is 2100 watt at 13.8 volts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2011 overrated, like everything.
Review by
Nic from Mesa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've seen bench testing that showed 2143 into 1 ohm. Speaks for itself really, Its not a bad amp at all, makes some pretty good power, especially for the money. Just dont expect to get anywhere close to the ratings on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2011 not a bad amp for the money
Review by
jeremy from chambersburg, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
ok to start off saying this amp is not junk i have two alpine type r 12 wired at 1 ohm so i guess im getting about 1400 watt at 13.8 volts and it get loud im sure that this amp will not do 2500 watts at 2 ohms with a 175 amp fuse rating cause if you take 175 times 13.8 you get 2415 but next time i will get a hifonics amp one that is CEA Compliant so then i will get the watts it says it has and this amp has some weight too it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2011 Awesome Amplifer!
Review by
Oscar from Mount Vernon, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would really recomend this amplifier for ANYONE that wants to have a loud subwoofer set up at 2 Ohms, Sonic Electronics ALWAYS has the best prices for new stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2010 This amp + 2 15 inch Memphis Mojo's = Massive Power Outputs!!
Review by
Oscar from Mount Vernon, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp (if wired properly) is one of the best amplifiers you can get for under $200! At 2500 watts RMS @ 2 Ohms, its suitable for most daily pounding systems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2010 Power!
Review by
Paul from astoria, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tis amp BUMPS! It is the single loudest amp that I have ever heard. I have it hooked up to 2 12" Kicker CVR dual 4 ohm subs wired at 4 ohms and rated at 400 watts a piece. Absolutely no light dimmage with 30 farad capacitor and stock alternator and stock battery in a 1983 mercedes benz 300sd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2010 Great amp for what its worth
Review by
Gordo from Waco, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing 2 12" Kicker CVX in Probox in a Mustang and And I can tell you this amp is pushing those speakers with all they need. I'm sure its not 1800 watts rms like they say but from watt i can hear it pushes around 1200 watts rms at 1 ohm. I would definitely recommended these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 20, 2010 best value
Review by
bass head from st. louis mo.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp is awesome for the price, out powers my audiobahn a2300hct on 5 15 inch cozmic subwoofers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2010 omg!!!
Review by
ashton from dade city, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp plus two audiobahn 12"s and a jbl 15" flexes my glass in the back of my my truck so hard.... the bass is so much that when u roll the windows up you cant breath.... decent amp for so cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2012 Would not recommend
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cody from Portage, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Within a month of this thing pushing my 2 10" orions it popped all the capacitors. If you want a quality amp dont go for this one. I now have an HFi 3000D and am very pleased with it pushing my 10's. If you can afford a better amp do it. The bass knob only works when you turn it up to half. The other half it just seems like a distortion boost instead of a bass boost. It may look like quality but dont be fooled. It also only pushes out half the power it says it does. I recommend hifonics by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2012 this amp sucks
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
starsky from lake city
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went through 3 of these amps in 6 months. They all fried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz