Showing 9 reviews for SPL SPQ20

Customer Review Summary for SPL SPQ20
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
11%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 12, 2011 Great sound & great deal
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Big Cat from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been experimenting with a few configurations over the past two years and without a doubt, this EQ delivers the best tonal quality as compared to a standard graphic EQ. Of course, these opinions are subjective, but I really stand behind my recommendation for this product.

I can't complain about any noise issues, and certainly there are many EQ's that will introduce quite a bit of hiss to your system. The SPL SPQ20 has a very high Signal to Noise Ratio, higher than most other EQ's I've seen. That's a good thing and a good spec to be on the lookout for.

The unit is rated at delivering an 8V signal to your amp, and it's obvious compared to the much lower 2V-4V signals that many graphic EQ's put out. I was most impressed with its "punch" or aggressiveness as a result of such a strong preamp signal to the amp. (Of course, it helps to have a quality amp.)

The number of tonal possibilities is limitless seeing that you can turn the rotary knobs to focus on a particular frequency and proceed to cut or boost +/- 18dB, which is a much greater range than your typical graphic EQ which usually allows up to +/- 12dB. Also, I find that with 4 knobs plus 1 for a sub, there's MUCH LESS confusion on the way to adjusting for tone compared to a graphic EQ.

Good build quality for an automotive environment, perhaps leaning to the delicate side. I would suggest handling and thinking of this unit as an "instrument".

I do wish the knobs were shaped to be more finger friendly and perhaps the blue LED lighting is a bit bright. (Would be good to have a built in dimmer.) I will probably open the unit and dampen the unit's bright lighting.

In closing, when I got this EQ connected it was obvious to me from the beginning that I was getting a much stronger signal to my amps than any graphic EQ or headunit could deliver. This is what I've been wanting without realizing it until I made the purchase.

Sometimes, as we go about building our sound systems, we can often detect the missing elements. This unit filled the gap and provided that "thing'' I knew was missing but didn't know what it was until I started using it.

Good-bye, and good luck with your sound quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 SPL SPQ20
Review by
Mrhemi from Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Decent unit for sound and quality. I ended up replacing this unit with a 7 band and was able to better shape the sound I was after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 spl spq20 very nice
Review by
gerald from richland,ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product easy to hook up and are very easy to use. Blue lights are great. Very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2012 awesom sound
Review by
tim from huntersville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
small knobs but the sound from this is awesome, super clean no noise, works great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 Good product
Review by
HEREMOANA from FRANCE, 0, France, Metropolitan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice items, frequency adjuste and gain ;) good good good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2012 Outstanding EQ!
Review by
unseenme from Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My system consists of a JVC KD-A925BT, this EQ, an MTX TC4004 amp, Sony 6-3/4" Xplod components & a Sony 12" Xplod sub I listen to rock music...Korn, Linkin Park, Tool, Chevelle, Slipknot, etc. This EQ is unbelievable, especially at this price.

The sound is crystal clear. The crossover & equalizer features are top notch. It has all the standard features of most modern day passive EQ's...input gains, 8v output, sub crossover/frequency select, front/rear/sub outs. The selectable frequencies on the 4-band EQs fit nicely with my deck as it has a 5 band EQ so technically I have 9 bands of equalization which really helps create a great sound.

I have zero distortion at max volume & no engine noise (which is achievable if you know what you're doing). The bass is punchy & the mids/highs are clean & strong. Be careful with the input gains. My deck has 5V outputs & setting the deck volume at 75% to use the volume control on the SPL will push the volume up at low levels.

My one complaint would be the mounting brackets. They didn't fit into my vehicle's double DIN mounting space below my deck so I had to manufacture a mounting system which was no problem for me since I've been doing custom installs for the better part of 25 years. Overall I give this machine a definite 5-star rating. It's totally worth the $35.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2012 You dont need any more than this
Review by
NX2K from Tulare County, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Looks very durable, solid aluminum face, easy to use controls and the output is insane! I had to turn the gain all the way down on my amp for my front and rear speakers. The best feature is the ability to adjust the sound band's volume on top of adjusting the frequency of each band. you dont exactly need 7 bands unless youre a perfectionist. This unit actually bolted right in where my car's cup holder went, the size and the mounts were exactly the same so the install looks factory stock. The blue lighting matches my Sony DSX-S100 perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2011 It was GREAT!!
Review by
luis from Lamont, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It sounds really good and I don't have any problems with it. I was looking towards buying a bass expander but I realized I don't need it anymore. I would recommend this product sounds nice and makes my speakers sound clearer too. Really worth the price in my city they would sell me one of these maybe for like $100 dollars and a cheaper brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 29, 2011 how great it sounds
Review by
poochie from jackson ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I installed this item right off the bat my system sounded diffrent highs were clearer bass got deeper I Love this product would buy it again again and again keep up the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz