Showing 36 reviews for Sony CDX-GT700HD

Customer Review Summary for Sony CDX-GT700HD
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 36 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
25%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 9, 2011 Get the goods
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RL from Harrodsburg, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All the requirments for your listening pleasure in one unit. USB and a line in on the face. HD radio if you live in a strong area.
I installed the unit in a boat where you can spend hours with audio of all kinds and it makes a pretty versitile base of opperations. With the wired remotes, I used two, it can be located inside away from the enimies of electronics. All for little cash so what not to like, except maybe the sensativity of the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 One Great Deck
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Will from Alexandria, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this deck for my 2006 Nissan Pathfinder. It worked great. Easy to install. Just had to splice and connect the same color wires together. I couldn't keep this deck because my car has a factory DVD player installed in it. This unit was not compatible with it and would not play the audio from the already installed DVD player. Further, this unit has a front USB slot. It did not work with my iPod to select songs from the deck. You have to play from your iPod to get it to work. I really wanted to control playback from the deck. Thus, I was sorry to return the product. I really wanted to keep it. It was sleek and it has built-in HD radio. I really enjoyed the quality of the audio when it was working in my car. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a really nice deck with USB capability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 16, 2010 Nice Head Unit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric from Commerce Twp., MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking around for a long time before I came across this head unit. I needed the 3 preamp outputs to hook up my amplifiers. Let's get straight to the facts...it looks beautiful, the HD radio is awesome but it skips every once in a while, the iPod control is cool, and it is an all around good product from Sony. It is a bit confusing though since you have to sift through a bunch of menus in order to do something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2010 good deal
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
allan from sacramento ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i like this stereo the hd is working just fine the sound is good from low to hi end if you are looking for a stereo i would get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2014 The best sony stereo so far and cheap!
Review by
juan villafane from los angeles, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this stereo car for 1 year and my car got stolen once I found it I decided to buy this car stereo once again as simply its awesome it lets you custumize you music the way you want in the sound is really really clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2013 Best HD Radio for the $$$
Review by
Joel from Covina, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I needed to replace the factory Head Unit in my wife's SUV with a double din, but this is a single DIN. The factory unit was toast and I wanted iPod conectivity and HD Radio. Going from analog radio to HD radio is like listenting to a cassette tape then CD. My only Con is it is a pain to find a specific song on your iPod, because it gives up controls to the head unit. Too bad this is the only unit that Sony currently makes with HD Radio built in. This will eventually be re-installed in my 93 4Runner that has a 10-disc changer which this can control. Hopefully Sony will make a double DIN head unit with HD Radio built-in sometime in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2013 Sony Deck User for 11 Years
Review by
Andrew from orem, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my forth sony deck. Ive never had a problem other than the 2 that were stolen from me. My last deck I used for 5 years replaced a fuse once and it still works great I just wanted 6 rca pre amp outs and hd radio is cool. My favorite thing is LPF and HPF from the deck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2013 Great stereo overall
Review by
Mark from West Jordan, Ut
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'd say a great car stereo. I installed it in my 2006 Harley Street Glide. I rode last night for the first time and to be honest the CD player isn't worth a crap on a motorcycle. It skips constantly. It has the usb port so an external player should be better although I haven't tried it yet. If I had to do it over again I would go with Sony's marine player that has the ipod tray and forget about CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2013 Works great!
Review by
B from Leland, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Serves as a replacement for an older Sony. Upgrades are nice, remote, Music player connection great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2013 Bell and whistle, but no Bluetooth "what up with that".
Review by
ROCKHEAD123 from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sony GT700HD sounds good as most new head units do. The HD Radio is what sold me. Detachable face is great,3 pair of outputs was key for my kappa 5 channel amp. The pre amp output, 2 volts little weak so I put a relay on it. Takes a little time to learn to navigate the little buttons even when you do, I don't think it is so user friendly, The way Sony set up the bright BLUE and green button and the what looks like an old school white display, does not go together. If Sony put Bluetooth on this head unit they would have had a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2013 Sounds great
Review by
Miller from New Market, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds great on stock speakers but radio reception was horrible. I would recommend if you were using your ipod or cds but not if you listen to the radio a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2012 Awesome head unit for the price.
Review by
Eric from Tempe, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I first ordered a Pioneer DEH33HD from SonicElectronix and the unit died within 6 months. I sent the unit back per the warranty and picked up this Sony. I'm very happy with this unit and the price was the same. Built in HD radio, Ipod controls and amazing sound quality. I honestly didnt think there would be much of a sound quality difference between two head units that both cost the same but this one sounded much better. It pushes my speakers and the clarity is excellent. I'm very happy with this purchase. It's very easy to use and looks great and I love the remote control as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2012 Pro Installer
Review by
Mr.Audio from saint charles, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This deck was installed into a 2003 kia Sonata. The radio is great looks sharp the menu set up is a little difficult. This deck sounded great and has good FM reception, also worked perfict with the iPhone. Perfect for a factory upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2012 Met Expectations
Review by
Bobbie from Perry, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Researched many car stereos and websites and found Sonic to be a great value. The stereo has met and even exceeded expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2012 so many features
Review by
matthew from West Columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I can not find a head unit that gives you more control over your sound, i just wish it had an sd card reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2012 Why not have it all
Review by
Capnron from Orange Beach, Al.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice unit, controls are a little clunky, the remote is handy, I use 2 wired and the included wireless remote. I have purchased 3 of these and may add one more for the new boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2011 Not bad for a new stereo
Review by
Jonathan from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good Sony product, the only issues I've had have been loose connections with the metal over bumps and such, making the screen go black, as well as an inability to transfer my tagged titles to a flash drive or to my iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2011 Great quality few complaints
Review by
FX from riverside , CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good headunit if you live in a metro area with HD stations. If you live farther from the downtown areas you may be best off not investing in a HD deck.

Pros: Good quality, usb jack, HD, easy to use, easy to read LCD, decent power output.

Cons: LED blue too bright at night, ot dimmable, must switch to green led mode to avoid brightness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2011 Great value for the money
Review by
Sean from Miami, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros-Great overall head unit for the money. Cons-None. Unit worked great and install was a breeze. Great for factory replacement. HD radio sounds amazing plus HD-2 channels provide more channel options and commercial free music, at least in the South Florida area. Ipod/phone interface through usb was "turn key" plus it also charges device. Comes with ample power for typical 4 speaker system plus outputs for amp. Like that it has preset "1-6" buttons as opposed to scanning through presets to get to desired one. Only thing that would make this unit perfect for me would have been built in bluetooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 sony
Review by
roger from Lincoln Ne
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome CD player works just like it said and all the features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2011 Solid
Review by
Buc Nasty from Macomb, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this in my ride for a 1 1/2 years and still love it. The HD works great. The Sony name for mobile electronics may not carry the same appeal as an Alpine, but I would take this unit over a Pioneer, Kenwood, or JVC any day of the week. Low end Sony is a different story, but when you get higher up into their head units, they are solid. I almost bought this again for my winter ride, but opted for the Alpine 123 for the Pandora feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2011 Sony Car Radio
Review by
ken from Brook Park, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2011 Great buy for the money
Review by
JOHN from EDGEWATER, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This deck works great! Plenty of wattage for the money. I have a 4dr dodge ram and it powers my aftermarket sony 4 door speakers with ease with no distortion. Paired with my kicker 10"s it really makes a clear, complete system for the money. 1 minor problem is scrolling while driving when hooked up to ipod. A little complicated to find a particular song and takes my eyes off the road for too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 18, 2011 Has everything I needed butÖ..
Review by
Peter from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo fit the bill for my install. Easy to use, has HD radio and iPod connectivity both built in, front/rear/sub outputs. My only problem is the EQ, fade, mid/low/high, and sub out are accessed by pressing the volume knob. I have on a few occasions tried to quickly turn the volume up or down and accidently ended up just fading the speakers to one side or changed my EQ setting. Not a big deal but could easily been avoided by using an additional button or required the volume to be held down for couple seconds. Overall itís a good unit in its price bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2011 Great value for digital FM
Review by
Pi3832 from Reserve, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to replace a Kenwood deck that was flaking out on me. (It was a refurb that I failed to get warranty service on in the shorter warranty period.)

I'm quite impressed with this Sony deck. It has plenty of power to drive my main speakers, with a separate amp to power a sub. Good clarity--in fact, switching to this head unit eliminated the harsh highs I was getting from the rear Polk two-ways.

The controls are easy to use, even when driving down the crappy, bumpy roads in the River Parishes of Louisiana. The digital FM tuner works well, too bad there's so few digital stations around here! Oh well, at least I get NPR crystal-clear.

The on-board high- and low-pass filters also make setting up a sub-woofer a lot easier. I just leave the amp's x-over set as high as it will go, and let this Sony head unit filter the lows from the main speakers and send them to the sub. Instant seamless transition!

The USB jack is really convenient too. I can just copy a bunch of MP3s onto a flash drive and pop it into the deck and start playing. I only wish the thing could play FLAC or some other lossless format.

If you live someplace that has some good digital FM stations, I highly recommend this head unit. You won't find anything in this price range that is as easy to use and puts out as much clean sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2011 Excellent stereo!
Review by
William from Oxford, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this stereo for my old car which is now my brother's about 6 months ago and it works great! It takes some time to figure out how everything works but it's easy after using it for awhile. Worth every penny I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 26, 2011 Great Little Stereo
Review by
Vasquelli from Cumming, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I received this radio for Christmas last year and only have good things to say about it after 5 months of constant use. It has lots of settings to configure your music exactly how you like it. The RCA sub outs are a plus. The only negative thing I have experienced thus far is that the display is hard to read in full sunlight. I have it mounted in a 2004 F-150 and coupled with an electronic crossover, 3 amps, and a Kicker sub, this little stereo sounds like a million bucks. It has all the features you could ever want. I especially like the USB port. It charges my iPhone as well as plays the music from it. I also have XM radio hooked up to the AUX port. The HD radio sounds very clean. You can't beat the price for all you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2011 Great Sound
Review by
Michael from Saginaw, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 4 of these receivers in our 4 vehicles. I love them. I researched and have tried some Pioneer receiviers. This Sony model has the best reception for rual areas. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2011 Excellent Deck
Review by
Castro from salinas, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this deck for my dodge ram as the final peace for my system. This unit has it all. Aux, USB that functions with my iPhone and a ton of other features, it's actually to many features that require time to get used to, but well worth it. I would say for the price it cannot be beat. Good sound, quality and aesthetics not to mention installation was a breeze with the entire install kit provided by SonicElectronix. Buy and install, you will not be dissapointes with this Sony product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2011 Love it.
Review by
Kenneth from Metairie, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this stereo, I went in to Best Buy to compare different brands and I liked this stereo over same price and more expensive JVC, Pioneer, and Kenwood units. I can't speak to the sound quality compared to these other brands but the Sony sounds fine in my car with stock speakers. I read on the internet that the "skipping" when the unit switches from FM to HD radio is the stations fault. They are supposed to account for the delay in their broadcasts but not all stations do. The stations I listen to do account for that so there is no skipping when it "finds" the HD station.

Pros:
Easy to use
Memory starts back where you left off listening to music on the flash drive.
Good functionality

Cons:
only 6 memory presets for the radio per channel (FM1, FM2, FM3, AM1, AM2)
buttons are a little small
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2011 Not Worth the money.
Review by
Kyle from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The deck has some annoying features. If you select the volume button to adjust the settings you must go all the way through it to get back to the main menu. This is particularly frustrating if you accidentally select it. All the other decks I have owned automatically go back to the main menu after 2-3 seconds without use. Also, every time you shut off your car it has an annoying 9 beeps. For a while it kept playing my ipod in alphabetical order and not allow me to go through it. Eventually it worked again after a week. But again, annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2010 Great Little Unit
Review by
Mark from Cumming, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit after seeing some good things about it on the internet. I installed it in less than an hour with the helpful kit that Sonic Electronix sent with it. The radio has an amazing array of features and sound settings. I used the 3.5 aux input for my satellite radio and it works like a charm. I'm very impressed for this unit at a price that was pretty awesome to boot! I have this radio feeding 3 amps and it raises the roof!! The USB feature is quite nice. Fill up a USB device and listen all day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2010 GREAT!!!
Review by
E-dub from Bountiful Utah
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great deck. Some of the features on this deck are on models twice its price. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great cheap deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2010 great stereo
Review by
moises from abingdon, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I buy this radio two times because is a good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2010 good head unit
Review by
Thomas from Pasadena, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i upgraded from the sony 640ui model to this for the HD,i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2010 waste of money
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
mulaca man from haverhill MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The built in hd aspect doesn't work. The unit looses reception (cuts out) when listening to hd stations. Most radio stations are converting to hd. So if you want to listen to the radio, you're out of luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz