Showing 23 reviews for Sony CDX-GT740UI

Customer Review Summary for Sony CDX-GT740UI
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 2, 2011 THE REAL REVIEW
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matt from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this and could not be more pleased with it.

pros.
I have Kenwood rear speakers which are great and put out some hella bass with my Sonic 6x9 ported boxes I got from here and this allows me to put the highs up front and keep everything in the back how amazing is that I have a stock front from my Saturn 95 with any bass they slap against the magnet and sound horrible but hits head unit let me put just the highs up there how great with the equalizer you can change the hertz that it increases and the range and the decibels how amazing is that overall a great buy DEF WORTH THE MONEY

cons. Mine died after a month but Sonic is so amazing that im shipping it back to them and they are either going to repair it or buy me a new one and when i called them i only had to wait for a minute! quick response and everything GO SONICELECTRONIX!

overall.
...........BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2013 Good Hardware, bad interface
Review by
Patrick from Pawtucket, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First let me say this is a great Head Unit and it gets its job done.

That being said, if I could do it over I wouldn't buy this or anything in its family.

The interface is not so friendly, I don't mind too much as I usually just use the AUX but for the times I need to use the radio features that should be simple took me a bit to figure out. (I know I could read the manual or something but let's be real.)

You have to hold a button to scroll stations individually, as the normal mode is "SEEK" where it searches and skips 10 stations if they aren't perfect. the problem is once you are done selecting stations next time you go to use it it switches back to the "SEEK" feature. Other minor issues but that was the most annoying, if you can don't mind that then get this unit without another thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2013 The Best Headunit
Review by
Jeffery from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great powerful head unit. I have always liked sony products. value was a nice purchase. happy to have made this selection. thanks sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 29, 2013 good value
Review by
Kenneth from Mobile, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A good value priced head unit with plenty of features,simple to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2013 Great stero tunes of features
Review by
Jon from Fort Wayne, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this stereo for about a year and half now and no problems. This head unit has tons of features and is built well. The only problem is the button layout, especially the next and previous buttons since they aren't raised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2012 great product for price
Review by
brendan from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great for how much it is. Yes its a Sony deck but its not the worst they have I power every thing with separate amps so I don't know how the deck it self sounds but it provides great signal to my DB drive A7 125.4 and my CDT comps along with my A7 2500 powering my DC audio level 3m2s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2012 Wow....just wow
Review by
Bj from Tampa bay,florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok first off I buy all my audio from here and the service is second to none. Second I bought this head unit to replace my crappy Sony one in my C class. Really didnt want a sony but after the look an layout of this one I thought id give it a try. For the money I didnt mind figured if I didnt like it id sell it to my brother. Well I also bought two sets of components to replace my kickers in the car. Well I put this head unit in and holy crap it changed the sound even with the old speakers. Not only would I recomend this headunit I WILL recomend it. I honestly just can not say enough about it. In fact i am writing this from my car inside the garage on my tablet lol. DONT BE ON THE FENCE BUY THIS HEADUNIT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 good value
Review by
Justin from St. Lucie, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great, although i noticed CDs skipping due to LOUD music. Every day usage at a decent level not a problem. USB and aux outlet both work great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2012 Awesome value
Review by
Paul from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. Excellent delivery time. 100% satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2011 my son loves it
Review by
mickey from reno, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My son has this in his 4runner, he uses it for his iphone and it works great. Sonic is the best place I have ever bought from. If you have a problem call them they answer the phone with a person that speaks english and knows what they're talking about. They beat b*stb*y in price and free shipping and I got it in 2 days what more can I say. I wil never buy from anyone else. I have ordered 6 times and always been happy. The Sony went in in 15min with the free install kit Sonic threw in for the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2011 Great head unit
Review by
William from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall this is a great head unit. It sounds great, the interface is easy to use and it has plenty of options. The remote control is a nice touch, but it's a little crowded. The only real complaint I have is that the red / green LED modes are too dim. If you buy this, only expect to have the lights set to blue. Other than that, it's a great product and a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2011 Very Nice!
Review by
Michael from Hays, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always been an Alpine fan, being on a budget, I stumbled across this head unit and am glad I did. It has all of the options the Alpine had, plus more. It is very user friendly and pretty much does everything for you. The sound quality is very impressive, and just as good as an Alpine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2011 Highly recommend!
Review by
Brandon from Arden Hills, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is awesome, I have had it for a couple months now and it works great. I got it professionally installed. It has so many options and controls (even customization options like what color buttons). The sound quality was greatly improved and it sounds great with my subs. Bottom line, its a lot of bang for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Amazing
Review by
Jason from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound good and looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 AMAZING PRODUCT!!
Review by
Devin from Bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This HU was my first upgrade to audio in my Honda accord! ( first car) i am 17 years old and to install this radio is REALLY easy! I like how the HU has 3 sets of RCA outputs! Front rear and subs! First I just had my subs hooked up to the sub connection! It's really good response! The headunit is mainly a 5/5 rating! It performs great! And the 3 colors illuminations! BLAST IN A GLASS! The USB is what I mainly use! And it is 100% great. No complains unless you have a poopy iPod cable, It will mess up the function. The CD player is also awesome! And all the audio settings are the best! This is a great first headunit I would recommend to anyone and everyone for a first!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2011 Awesome Head Unit!!!
Review by
Gabriel from Ada, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This HU is amazing. The installation was easy. It makes the music sound way nicer then the factory HU. I have some kicker speakers hooked up to this and they sound so crisp compared to the factory HU. Everything with this stereo is nice. The zappin feature is sweet and the display looks pretty neat. Plus sonics shipping was quick and reliable. Im def recommending Sonic to everyone that I know who wants to get anything for their car audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2011 Great Sony stereo I ever owned
Review by
Daniel from El Paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned this Sony for about 8 months now and havenít had a problem whatsoever. Great product has a lot of features and looks good removable face is easy to take off and put one Sony should of added a case to it but no other complains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2011 Great Deck
Review by
Nathan from Greeley, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great deck. I have it in both of my vehicles, I would highly recommend this to anyone. It is simple and easy to use and has some great features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2011 Excellent !
Review by
Brian from Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recomend this Sony car stereo....have owned it for six months in my '02 Chevy Tracker, had it professionally installed, and have had zero problems....plays as advertised, love the EQ and looks great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 29, 2011 Am very pleased with this headunit
Review by
reginald from lewisberry, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Can't explain enuff how much I like this Sony headunit. They have come a long way from what they used to put out I'm lovin it great sound and all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2011 Great value for the cost..
Review by
Dannis from Coarsegold, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The radio, CD player and the USB connection. What is the most used is the USB connection, I use the USB to play my Kingston thumbnail file carry, and the MP player from Sony. Very good investment,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2010 very satisfied
Review by
Hersh from Mobile, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At some point in the past Sony head units were not very good. Well with time and the advancement of technology, Sony has come a long way with their products. I researched head units for almost a month. I looked really hard at Alpine, Kenwood, Pioneer, and Sony.. At the end of my research, I decided for the amount of features for the price, this was the head unit to get!
As far as looks, this head unit is absolutely great looking! You can change the button colors from blue, green, and my favorite red. The fluorescent display is very, very nice addition. Only 17-watts RMS coming out, but it still sounds great. I plan to add on a 4 channel amp soon! I I just recently got an 8 gb USB flash drive to put all my music on instead of fumbling with my CD's.
Overall an awesome head unit! It's a little pricey but well worth the purchase. I am very satisfied with this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2010 Excellent Quality for a Great price
Review by
Mark from Clarksburg, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just ordered this headunit recently to replace my hold factory stereo, and I couldn't be happier. The tone is beautiful out of the box, but is easily configurable and customizable to taste. The 4 line active screen is easy to read, and the text is clear as day. I primarily chose this device because of the front usb port. I wanted something to plug a thumb drive into and listen to my music without having to burn a bunch of CD's. And this thing works wonderfully. It's quick to detect a 2gb drive full of music, and seamlessly moves between tracks. The install was simple and straight forward. The unit has both RCA input and a wiring harness for speaker connections. I chose to hook up via the RCA, and the sound is fantastic. Also, again, about the screen. It's gorgeous. That was the real reason why I chose this device over other stereos with USB ports. It's just fantastic to see entire track name, artist, and album all on the screen.
I'm really pleased with this system. I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz