Showing 154 reviews for Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 154 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.7
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Bad A$$ Amp

I have had this amp for almost a year now, I have it paired up with 2 12" Alpine Type R's in a ported box and it pushes them to the max. I have had people asking if i had 2 amps running the system and i only have the amp tuned about 3/4 of the way up. I would highly recommend this amp!!!!!!! Definitely going to get new ones when I redo the system.

VS
Waaaaay Overrated

I bought this amp from here, great value, definitely ohm stable as promised. I can't see where this amp is actually CEA certified. 1700 watts? I soon after sold the amp and purchased 2 JL 500/1 amps to power my Kicker L7 12's. With just 1 of these amps, my subs were getting more power. Needless to say how both sounded when installed. I would maybe recommend this amp if you have lower class subs, such as Crunch, Boss, Hifonics, Sony, Lanzar, etc etc. However if you have any nicer subs JL w3 & up, Memphis C3 or mojo, Orion HCCA, or anything close to these. Do not try to power them with this "1700" watt amp.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 23, 2012 Bad A$$ Amp
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Shawn from Jamestown NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this amp for almost a year now, I have it paired up with 2 12" Alpine Type R's in a ported box and it pushes them to the max. I have had people asking if i had 2 amps running the system and i only have the amp tuned about 3/4 of the way up. I would highly recommend this amp!!!!!!! Definitely going to get new ones when I redo the system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2012 Awesome Amp
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
LAYNLOW from Jackson, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm updating my previous review due to some changes i've made to my system. My digital designs 3512 sc subs are now broken in. I have two brutus 1700 amps driving the two dvc 4 subs, coils wired parallel, amps are being presented with 2 ohms each. I can't say enough good things about these amps. My system is intended to be competition level and it's almost there. The most recent spl check was 154.3 in a '09 silverado ext. Cab without the rear seat.

For all the people i'm seeing that say hifonics amps are power hungry and their lights dim when the bass hits blah blah blah. You do not start building a system by throwing two huge amps and two subs in a car and go from there. Upgrade your charging system first! You can't expect to blast 1,700 watts off a stock alternator and 4, 6 or on some foreign cars, 8 ga. Charging system cabling. I have two yellow top dura last 1100 cca batteries and a stock hd 160 amp alternator and i have no problems driving two brutus 1700's and a zeus zxi150.4 (1,200 watts). No problems at all. I have gains set properly! This means doing the simple math to convert expected wattage output to ac voltage and setting the amp gains to that number using a test tone with your head unit at reference volume! If you don't know how to set up an amp, get some help! These brutus amps are awesome. And Sonic is awesome. I order on a Monday night and i have boxes on my step by wednesday when i get home from work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2011 Great amp for the $$
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jeremy from Holiday, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the Hifonics BXi2010, which was a good amp but only lasted 7 months then went into protect. I have 2 Alpine Type R 10's & im running them @ 2ohms. I now have the BRZ1700.1 running @ 2ohm's & this amp is much louder than the BXi2010. The BXi might have been faulty & not putting out the 1300 rms @ 2ohms, but this BRZ is putting out at least the 1200 it claims....I highly reccomend for the $$
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2011 AWESOME AMP!
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zookz from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp a few months ago and man do I love it! It's so heavy and the only downside to it right now is that I only have a stock battery/alternator so I'm sure I'm not getting the most out of it! WORTH THE MONEY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2010 BADASS
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tim from Elk Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had A crappy lanzar vibe amp I got at the flee market at full power hooked up to two Alpine Type R 15 in a ported box in my truck. I was looking for something with more power and damn, this amp pounds my 15s hard! My rearview mirror shakes off and parts of my truck are rattling apart. Good value for under $300 out the door(with tax). highly recommend this amp. Never heated up, not once. Blue illumination looks nice at night.
- Dont have capacitor? GET ONE. You will need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 4, 2010 worth every penny . thanks hifonics
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
brandon from odessa, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had amp 1608d 1610d and now brz 1700d u can tell the difference between thees amps. 1608d and 1610d were good amps no problems. The brz line is way better . I got this pushing 2 kicker l7 12s in a 6 cubic foot box tuned at 40 htz . And all i got to say is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Buy this amp its worth it . If u feel like the amp is not putting out properly upgrade your wiring. Also add a yellow top battery and maybe a high out put alternator. And then see what happens . U will be impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2010 Hifonics BXI1700.1D Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Will from Myrtle Beach
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own this amp and it is a very nice amp. The remote control bass is a very good feature if you want your bass low or slamming as hard as you can take it. I have them running 2 Kicker CVR's and its definitely getting the job done. Its not the best amp around but definitely not the worst. I would recommend this to someone who loves a lot of power cause this will do it for you. Has only cut off once and gone into protect mode so I'm very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2014 hifonics
Review by
Magda from Watervliet, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is the best and I have ever bought recommend it to anyone and their brands no complaints from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2014 Pretty happy overall.
Review by
CODY from EAST MOLINE, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Most true bassheads will tell you these things suck. i beg to differ in all honesty. this amp has done very well for a year and a half. i torture it with hours of play time at full tilt. it takes it the whole time and barely gets warm. it really isnt all that power hungry like people say. it is one of the best amps you could get in this price range. i had one exchanged because something blew in it due to the bassknob but it was still working fine if the bassknob was not in use. ive had this same amp for 8 months before that i beleive and same deal. very good amp for the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2014 amazing deal!
Review by
Jared from Springfield, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a beast! have it on 2 15's in an obcon box and it pounds for days without breaking a sweat. it stays cool and consistent. no issues and looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2014 Excellent Amp
Review by
Greg C from Saint john, NB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What a powerful amp. Woke up my pioneer 12 in subs. Insane bass. Would totally recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2014 Hifonics BRZ 1700.1
Review by
keev from Indianola, Ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend to any customer the BRZ.1700.1. If your looking for great performance with a reasonable price, this is the amplifier for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2014 Great Amp!!
Review by
Pete from pineville, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing 2 12" kicker cvx and the amp is a quarter of the way up and im scared to turn it up cause its slamming them. Amp is a beast. Great purchase for a great price and you cant go wrong dealing with sonicelectronix!! Very pleased customer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2014 hifonics amps
Review by
Andrew from alexandria, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these amps are the best for good power for less money, sonic electronics also ships very fast and accurate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2014 Great product!
Review by
Srubio94075 from Coachella, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this product. Great seller! Fast shipping. Happy with my product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2014 Awesome
Review by
Raymond from higginsville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp to run 2 alpine swr 12s..the amp is doing its job.I took it to my shop and the amp will give you 1400 clean watts before clipping..and for the price that rocks! Will be buying another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2014 The Beast aka Brutus
Review by
The baconator from wilmington, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp with 2 orions 124 and it is giving my speakers the business. I have the amp turned over half way down one the external boost control. I Have been told that I could be heard about 3 blocks coming down the street. This amp is a great buy. I plan on getting 2 more orions in the near future and this amp can handle those as well. Get this you will love it , its worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 good!
Review by
daniel1616 from SILOAM SPRINGS, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this product 2 days before the shipping date. I recomend this amp cause its bumps real hard. The problem i had thou was that i got a defected amp so i had to send it back. All in all good amp and great customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2014 Impressive
Review by
Robert from Morgantown, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp powers my two sundown sa 12's with ease
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2013 Great amp for the money
Review by
johnny-blaze from Torrington, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this amp on two RE Audio SEX 10's in the trunk of my BMW. It pounded!! I love Hifonics because they are easy to tune and the price is great. I like this design better than the new models. For around $200 bucks, you cant go wrong. If you use 2 gauge wire and a Kinetik battery, this amp becomes a certified beast!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2013 you get your money to wattage value
Review by
oscar from venice, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i highly recommened this its a deal for the the money it is pushing my kicker l7 dual4 to max amp is a t3/4 up not even full up only thing is that its a voltage thirsty amp do big 3 and good capacitor im using a sunami hybrid 5 wich i also purchaesd here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2013 love it
Review by
Thomas from Redding, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp it works and sounds great i would buy more if i need a new amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2013 great amp
Review by
Dom from Upstate NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to power my 2 10"eclipse subs, and it is perfect. Never gets hot or even warm to the touch. Has everything you need. Awesome amp for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2013 Be Smart!!!
Review by
Big Gee' from Springfield, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would tell all my boys to get this! But please listin to the ratings if your sub say 300watt rms find an amp thats for that sub if it say 600watt rms wire it to the specs or else u wont have your sub anymore I had an punch BD 1000.1 an this is cheaper an hit harder if u kno what your doing so join the band wagon if u want to beat your town up much luv Hifonics an Sonic nobody beats U!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2013 Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D
Review by
Nick from lincoln, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp! im pushing two alpine type r's and they just sound fantastic (my car sounds like its going to fall apart) i would recommend it for anyone who wants a good output with a lot of power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2013 Loud Bass.
Review by
Tre' B. from Columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running this @ 1-ohm to a Audioque HDC3 18" (Dual 2) & it gets LOUD. Runs nicely & hasn't gotten hot on me, yet! Love the bass knob & blue power lights! I'd recommend this to anybody looking for a nicely priced amp that puts out some power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2012 Awsome Amp
Review by
Tender from Livonia, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love it cea compliant and it doesnt break your pockets. I have two of these and I have had them both for a year beating the crap out of them and they are still running strong. Great product would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 brutus
Review by
Eric from charlotte,nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp is worth every dollar, I'm pushing one 15 inch solo baric L5 with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2012 great service
Review by
page from slidell, la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been pleased with my service. At 1st i ordered the wrong amp and i had no trouble returning it. They have been very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2012 Awesome amp!
Review by
Matt from TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been a fan of Maxxsonics for years, so when I rebuilt I decided to pick up this little beast.....I love it! plenty of power, does well over rated power, looks amazing, etc. It was recently replaced due to it just not being big enough for the application I had it in (I.e. needed more power lol) But it is still an amazing amp I would recommend it to anyone!
Only reason I rated it down on ease of use was the stupid angled power/ground inputs, so difficult to get 1/0 into while mounted.
(Also, to everyone talking about heat issues, I ran this amp at a 1 ohm load in 110 degree heat full tilt on low voltage and it never broke a sweat, you were probably clipping =P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2012 Excellent Amp
Review by
Dylan from Mulberry, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent Amp. Does rated power and doesn't get hot. Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 this amp is awesome!
Review by
Cee-Jay from Wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've only owned this amp for 2 days..i have it hooked up to 2 Re Audio SEX 15s DV2 and before this amp i had a Alpine Mrp-500 hooked up and this amp blows the alpine away..by far this is the best amp i've owned. i have it running at 2 ohms and it barely gets warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 Not bad for the price
Review by
Alex from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Can't complain about the amp for the price that you get it for.. It does exactly what its supposed to.. Never had any problems when I had this amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2012 Great AMP Too much power!!!
Review by
Steve from Frisco, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp puts out exactly what it is rated at, my only problem is that it keeps over powering my subs. I just blew the 2nd Orion XTR12 @ 2 ohm and had the gain turn up to about 40%. I live in Texas and even when the temp is well over 100 degrees this amp has no problems.

The frame of the amp is plastic a bit cheap but that is the only con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2012 Bangs for the buxs
Review by
I-pala from AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price you pay, wicked deal. Have recommended this one time & time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2012 hifonic brutus
Review by
aob from hutchinson ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp it pushes my type rs amazingly had it wired to 4ohms and was at a bass comp did 136.8dbs sealed prefab box it flexes my hatch and my windshield in my camaro with only round 600 watts get this well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2012 awesome amp.
Review by
Alek from Florence, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to power a kicker L7 i had in a SPL box tuned at 40 hz. It was an awesome amp on that setup, and it hit quite hard. I sold the kicker and got two Skar VVX-15's and it hits even harder, the lows are perfect and it shakes the roof so much that people want to lay on it. I would recommend this amp to anyone who is a bass head like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2012 Great amp line
Review by
Dr. House from NOLA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp does what it says. Ease of use has been lowered because of sharp edges and strange angle of power terminal; however this angle has been designed for the mounting of the amp. Performance is top notch. I know that some people knock on this Brand; still can't figure out why. I have owned several higher priced amps with the same power rating and get the same performance. I think my brand is Hifonics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2012 excellent amp for the money
Review by
big al from kettering ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing 2 12" type r in a civic and they pound. Take in mind the amp is at a 2 ohm load so I don't blow the speakers. Can't wait to get new speakers that will handle 1700 watts. I have upgraded battery to a yellow top, high output alt and a capacitor. I added the cap because I fried the alt. For the money u won't find a amp with this much power. I love it. I have had it in for at least 6 months. And I have it cranked up to and from work 40 min. Each way holding up great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 bad amp
Review by
antonio from del rio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Idk sounds good when hooked with 2 kickers cvr 10s but went out after 3 months idk if I should use this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 worth the money
Review by
daniel from ft irwin, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned a lot of amps mostly mtx and kicker i wouldn't put this in the same class but it is def worth the money. I have mine running a single jl audio 12w7 @3 ohms so in theory it should be pushing aorund 900 watts its beating the guts outta my sub and sending pretty clean signal after a lot of tuning. The filters are kinda cheap and take a little time to get just right so take your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2012 Ok for the money!! but not the best
Review by
bass4rmthe619 from San diego ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a good amp puts out a lot of power but it doesn't get loud unless u put the gain almost all the way up but then you are clipping the sub which is really bad I'm goin to upgrade to the fosgateT1500 but the brz does power my 15 inch fosgate t2 at 1 ohm but I have 2 kinetics and my volts are never below 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2012 LEGIT
Review by
alex from Cypress, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this hooked up to 2 apline type R 2ohm with 160 amp alt. , stock everything and 0 gauge wiring.The amp does what it says it does, my current reading is 1040 watts since i cant run 14.4 all day and it never gets hot, its crazy how much it can push these subs. now i have a stinger battery, did the big3 and put sound damping material through the trunk, now it SLAMS, i keep a consant 14.6v and now im pusing 1300w all day!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2012 POWERFULL
Review by
dude audio from georgia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp from a dealer for same online price and i have 2 15" hifinics brutus subs with a 4.8 cf box ported btw and man this amp made my subs shake other car doors next to me. No lie my roof was flexing a half inch. Great true 1700wat amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Great Purchase
Review by
Junior from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's an easy connect hook up no fails, pushing my sub just right, would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2012 You get what you pay for (or not...?!?!?)
Review by
James from Waukesha, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First 1700 worked for 2 days, then broke. Getting a replacement soon, will update review when that comes, until then.

For the price, you can't really beat this amp. The rules of the CEA-2006 compliancy is that it does rated power @ 4ohm, not 2 & 1 ohm, so I'm not sure if it does rated power at those resistances. I do not have a clamp meter so I can't verify.

..But this amp does do work. While it did work, I was told I could be heard a half mile away with my garbage of a box for a fi bl 18". So yeah, for the price you can't beat it, but if you have money to spend, go with a higher quality amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2012 Uh oh
Review by
Dominic from Endicott, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I received the amp yesterday to power my 2 10" eclipse sub woofers. they are supposed to be SVC 4 ohm, so it should wire down to 2 ohms. when i have 1 sub hooked up, it sounds great. when i hook the other up, however, it sounds like crap. barely any bass, and it sounds like the subs are rattling from within. i might just be stupid, but ive been messing with car audio for almost 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2012 damn! badass amp!
Review by
JOHNNEYBOYFRESH!!! from Barbers Hill, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this amp for alomost a year now pushing to 12" Kicker CVX's at 2 ohms in a probox and it absolutely slams! Great amp! I would recommend to anybody, people ask me all the time if I have 15's and I have been told they're louder then 2 15's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2012 best amp ever
Review by
Carmine from Effort, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this thing i was told its top of the line well i can back that up it is friggen amazing. It sound 10x better then my other amp AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 ITS A BEAST
Review by
Josh from Wagoner, Ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got this amp and hooked it up in my PT Cruiser to 2 12" subs with an extra battery and a volt meter. This thing will pound your subs into oblivion. Be careful of the fins though because they will cut you open in a second. For the price, what you get, and the quality of Hifonics, these will be the only amps I buy from this point on. AMAIZING. Cant say as far as durability because I have only had it 10 hrs but it has already been dropped twice. The second time on the frame of the inside of my car and never missed a beat. Thanks SonicElectronix and Hifonics for a great product!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 ITS A BEAST
Review by
Josh from Wagoner, Ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got this amp and hooked it up in my PT Cruiser to 2 12" subs with an extra battery and a volt meter. This thing will pound your subs into oblivion. Be careful of the fins though because they will cut you open in a second. For the price, what you get, and the quality of Hifonics, these will be the only amps I buy from this point on. AMAIZING. Cant say as far as durability because I have only had it 10 hrs but it has already been dropped twice. The second time on the frame of the inside of my car and never missed a beat. Thanks Sonic Electronix and Hifonics for a great product!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2012 Extreme Bang for your buck!!!
Review by
Ken from Sugar Land, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
In the past I swore by Rockford Fosgate but thought I'd give Hifonics a try. All I can say is what a fantastic product. I'm using this amp to push two DVC Cerwin-Vega Max subs. It produces crystal clear accurate thump. The amp has never cutoff and hardly gets warm at 2ohm. I considered adding a 3rd sub to get down to 1ohm but I'd like to keep my rear window.

The only knock on the design is the heat sinks. They have sharp edges and will cut you if you're not careful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2012 GREAT!!!!
Review by
christopher from tucumcari, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall this amp is amazing, i have it pushin two 15 kicker cvx. Through the whole town im told i can be heard well over 5 blocks. Only problem i have found is it grounds out a lot just make sure to find a large enough ground that will fix it. Also has quite sharp edges use caution when handling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 Can't say anything good..
Review by
Mike from Chatham, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First Hifonics product I have ever tried. Not a good experience. Amp began smoking after installation. No user error involved. I have been installing stereos for years now. Decided to send it back and go with the t1500.1bdcp. Should be a whole different story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 excellent
Review by
1m2 from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good, heavy, solid excellent amp. Bumping the heck out of two 6Ohm 10" DVC Audiobahns. Amp is running @ 1.5Ohm Mono and flexing the heck out of those Audiobahns. Love it.

Thank you Sonic Electronix for the excellent customer service and ease of exchange transaction! Great customer service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2012 excellent amp for the $$
Review by
josh from massena, new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally had a rockford 2000.1bd on 4 kaption spl 12's until the amp fried. I wasn't looking to spend a lot of money so i took the chance and ordered two of these just in case I needed both. Little did i know i would only need one! This amp pushes harder and better than my old Rockford. I definitely give it 2 thumbs up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2012 AMAZING amplifier
Review by
Me from Here
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
AMAZING amp... i'm running 2 Obsidian 18's off it at 1 ohm and even with stock electrical it still puts out TONS of good clean power and never gets more than warm enough to tell it's been on. i've been a fan of Maxxsonics for years and i'm quite happy with this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2012 Solid Amp
Review by
1m2 from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I returned the Planet Audio amp for this one because it was too big and went off the measurements posted but I still ended having to remove the side's that are used to bolt down the Amp on this one. No worries, doesn't mess with the heatsinks and you can't get to it w/out removing 4 big bolts.
Any how the build quality seems solid and it's a hefty Amp. Thus far it's rock'n my 2 10" DVC 6Ohm subs. Good Amp so far. Thx Sonic for the easy transaction and excellent customer service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2012 Solid Amp
Review by
1m2 from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So I had to return the Planet Audio because it was too big and I got this one. The measurements said it should fit (in comparrison to the Planet Audio measurements) but I had to take off the sides that you would normally use to bolt down the Amp (not the heat sinks of course). I've been using it for a few days and it seems to be rock'n those 2 10" DVC 6Ohm subs. I need more time to tweak the Amp settings but I'm liking it thus far. The Amp build seems pretty solid and it's a hefty Amp. I can't really comment on the LED that lights up because it's behind the back seats in my Dodge RAM quad cab. Any how it's getting the job done for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2012 BRZ1700.1D
Review by
Bailey from salisbury, VT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic amp. Worked well driving 4 Alpine 12s and also works on just 2 little 10s. Great all around sub amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2012 Yes
Review by
Big Papa from Drizzy Day
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp, buy it. It is phenomenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2012 BRZ1700.1D
Review by
Tyler from Mulberry, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp. I have it pushing two L7 15's and it does a great job. I can play my subs hard for any amount of time and it never even gets warm. Definitely worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2012 Awesome mo
Review by
hank from rogers, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp pushed alot of power and was pleased with this amp. never had any problems with it what so ever and for the price it's a steal I would recommend this amp to anyone or any hifonics amp to use. These amps push power!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2012 steven walter
Review by
the slamhouse from houghton, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What a powerhouse. I have this powering a Pioneer 10" Premier and it powers it hard for my 10 hour rides home from college and when I get home it isn't even warm. Ridiculous power and the lights are awesome. Definitely worth the money. Very high quality considering the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2012 Amazing Amp for the money...
Review by
RomeoOG from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the same amp but an older model for over 5 years one day it just went out so I order a replacement this one is even more powerful, Love it... For the money you can't find the same amp in the same class anywhere...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2012 makes my subs beg for mercy!
Review by
Roger from Melbourne, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this amp wired up to 2 jbl p1222's and a pioneer 3002d2 (1.33 ohms) and it pushed them to their limit. I used 0 gauge wire with a shuriken skbt60 to supply the power. I would recommend this amp to anyone who needs a lot of power as long as you give the amp enough power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2012 Awesome Amp
Review by
Mike C from Midland, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned pretty much every brand of mono block amp, and as far as the money/ output ratio very nice product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2012 Great amp
Review by
5150 from Mason City, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp cause of my friend it pounded his two sundown sa 12 like there were nothing. Takes alot of power. I got my to sundown sa 15s running at .5 ohm which this amp is not stable for but have not had a single issue with it heating up, clipping. But this amp is POWER HUNGRY SO have a cap. But i would use a battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2012 power power power
Review by
lakers fan from des moines , ia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Only had it for a week but it pushs the hell out of my 3 ( 12s ). Great power for the money , can't beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2012 PERFECT
Review by
Kevin from Fredericksburg, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I bought this amp about 6 months ago and I am very pleased! It really puts the power out that it is rated for and may even be underrated! I have it running at one ohm to two kicker 15" l7's and they are getting all the power they can handle. I have never been more pleased with an amp and I would reccomend it to anyone! The price was fantastic and sonic shipped it right away! Definately a home run!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 best amp ever
Review by
q from columbus ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is definitely worth the price. If you want to be heard from a mile away get this amp. I have it hooked to two P2 12" Fosgates and nobody can compete with me. Everybody always ask me if I have 2 15's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2012 Amazing performance
Review by
Zach from winchester, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend the Hifonics Brutus 1700.1. I have it pushing my 12" kicker L7 and it doesn't get hot when turned up all the way. It hasn't skipped a beat and sounds terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2012 Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D
Review by
dontaey from fort wayne, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2012 Best bang for your buck
Review by
jack from Reno, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this powering an RF T2 @ 1200w rms, and it makes it slam! I did my homework before buying this amp, and i can say its the best bang for your buck hands down. I've had it running for about 5 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 BIG BOY STATUS!!!
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
OC BOY MONE from Chicago, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Finally here to write my own. This thing is nasty. started off with it on 2 600 watt american bass 12" @ 2 ohms 1200 watts. Reeediculous! killing my mirror, breathing trouble and all. Threw the 1000 watt pioneers on it, didnt realize it was still @ 2ohms and still.. oh my god.. went out this morning and dropped it again. HOLY F***!!!!! And the volume on 12! amp is up bout 85% + now since I broke them in at 1200 watts for so long (few weeks). (now remembering i hated long reviews)

Pros: great price for the power, looks good
Cons: sharp edges (dont ignore like i did), Poower huuungry!!!. New alt 105 amps old battery says 12.5 on meter, big 3 with 0 gauge and i still dim in my 98 mc z34. Overall I am very pleased with what I see and hear being a beginner in car audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2012 Waaaaay Overrated
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
iamjtrent from Durham
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp from here, great value, definitely ohm stable as promised. I can't see where this amp is actually CEA certified. 1700 watts? I soon after sold the amp and purchased 2 JL 500/1 amps to power my Kicker L7 12's. With just 1 of these amps, my subs were getting more power. Needless to say how both sounded when installed. I would maybe recommend this amp if you have lower class subs, such as Crunch, Boss, Hifonics, Sony, Lanzar, etc etc. However if you have any nicer subs JL w3 & up, Memphis C3 or mojo, Orion HCCA, or anything close to these. Do not try to power them with this "1700" watt amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2012 Burned up in less than a month
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
trevor from three mile bay, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked and sounded great but it burned up in less than a month this is the 2nd hifonics amp that has not lasted a month. I've never burned up an amp and I've had amps in my cars for 15 years. I'll never use Hifonics again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2012 Amazing amp!!!!
Review by
Dreton from Westminster, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for a year and I love it!!!! I have them hooked up to two Hifonics Atlas 12's at 2ohms. It powers them very loudly, clear, and hard! It has great durability, during this past winter i came out to my car and found the amp coverd in frost. I turned it on and it worked fine then i let it thaw and dry and it kept working.

PRO's: Comes with a bass knob, looks great, great build quality product made by maxxsonics!

CON's: goes into protect when revs up an makes a 16volt pulse, 2AWG power and ground terminals.

I would recommend this to any one who want a great amp that produces a loud and clean bass signal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2012 1700 rms
Review by
nicholas from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great buy. I love this amp, great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 Hard to beat
Review by
iPACKgoldDOTS from Cocoa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased four (that's right four) of these in december to run my FI SP418s. I am running one amp per coil so each sub is seeing 3400 watts. Upon delivery one amp was DOA so I had to send it back but Sonic stepped up and did a great job of getting me the replacement I needed. Im running four BatCap batteries to help with voltage. If anyone wants to see vids my YouTube SN is iPACKgoldDOTS. I rated the features portion of this review low because of one simple thing and that's angled terminals. I'm not a fan of trying to bend 0 gauge wire into a terminal. It's flat out poor R&D. Does it work? Yes. Would be allot easier and better if they were straight? Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 Bada$$ amplifier!
Review by
Jesse james from East Bernard, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pure power boyz! Have tried kicker amps and they just couldn't hang. The Brutus rules over the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2012 Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D
Review by
GriffD from Normal, Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a great amp has been great for the 6 months that I have owned it. It is powering my 2 12" L7 kickers and they sure do get enough power that is for sure. It has a great display of the Hifonics lettering that light up blue. The price was right with this amp as well and very much so worth the money. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great class D amp for a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2012 Great Buy!
Review by
James from West Yellowstone, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp for the price! This amp has a lot of power only if you have the right hook up! A kinetic power cell battery you will need because this amp requires a lot of power i would recommend a 2400 kinetic power cell. Great buy! Highly recommended! By the way this amp has never overheated, a little warm, but not really warm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2012 Bad ass
Review by
cheese from Gillette wy
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is pushing my JL 12 W7 and all have to say is bad ass amp it does all and more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2012 An amp this inexpensive that puts out rated power? NO PROBLEM!
Review by
LAYNLOW from Jackson, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these amps powering a pair of Digital Designs supercharged 3512, DVC 4s. I have installed car audio, and designed and built enclosures for over twenty years. The enclosure I designed and built for this set up is 5.05 cuft net with 80 sq in of port area that's 26" deep, which tunes at around 35 hz. The system is in a '09 Silverado Ext. Cab. I chunked the large part of the back seat for the enclosure. I have 2/0 cabling on the "big three" (in my case "big four + two"), two Dura Last gold top 1100 CCA batteries (IMO the best gold top value available at $110 ea.), a stock HD 160 amp alternator, and 1/0 power cables to the amps.
Now for the good stuff. Each sub is presenting a 2 ohm load to it's amp. These amps are rated at 1200 watts @ 2 ohms, and let me tell you, they are both doing that with ease. When I made the initial adjustments to the amps, I set the gains with an output of 49 volts AC (which is the close equivalent to 1200 watts) on a 60 hz test tone. Amp #1 reached rated power at the eleven o'clock position amp #2 reached it at the twelve thirty position. I knew right then that these amps would rock. THESE AMPS TURN MY DD SUBS INSIDE OUT! I've cracked two windshields and had so much roof flex, it would bounce a quarter off the center of the roof on the first hit. I subsequently pulled the entire interior out and laid sound dampener covering every square inch of sheet metal from firewall to back of cab, floor to ceiling, and door to door. Now it takes three to four hits to bounce a quarter off the roof. The subs and amps are running off a Pioneer AVH-P4300DVD head unit. The HU is powering a single set of Kenwood Excelon component 6.5" mids/tweets (for now). Once the subs were broken in, the system was metered with a competition judge's calibrated meter at 149 db, far better than I had hoped for. I'm pleasantly shocked with the performance of the two Brutus 1700's. To be honest, my system build is still in process and I originally purchased the two Brutus amps just for something temporary. Once I had the system completed, I had planned to sell the Hifonics amps and purchase a pair of Rockford Fosgate T-1500 amps to go with my subs, which are conservatively rated at 1500 watts RMS ea., but not now. I love these amps. I bought both of them for less than the price of a single RF T-1500 and they routinely turn my subs inside out. I've run the system extremely hard, at reference volume for 45 minutes and the amps remained cold to the touch. No hiccups, no failures, nothing. I sang the praises of these amps so much, a friend purchased one. He inadvertantly connected the power and ground cables backward and tried to test the amp. He said it sparked a frankenstein spark and he quickly shut the power off. After a sleepless night from thinking he had smoked his new amp, he got up the next morning and wired it correctly and it played without a hitch as if nothing had ever happened. Try that with an RF amp. I had also planned to install a RF T600-4 for my mids/highs but I love these Brutus amps so much, I purchased a Hifonics Zeus zxi150.4 (150 x 4 @ 4 ohms, 300 x 4 @ 2 ohms) to power them. Next up, after installing the Zeus and two new sets of KW Excelon components, I plan to install one more sub spec'd the same as my first two and, of course, another Brutus 1700.
BTW, every single piece for my system (except the subs) came from Sonic. Never a problem with a shipment or a product. As cheesy as it sounds, Sonic is my new home for car audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2012 awsome
Review by
Brandon from LeRoy, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 the beast
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a beast my cousin has it pushing 2 1000 watt rms 15" subs and they are way under powered and this thing sounds like its pushing the max. This is a beast, soon when i upgrade this is the one im getting or the 3000 watt one not sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 awsome
Review by
austin from mineola, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp a couple weeks ago and have it hooked to two brutus square 12's wired down to 2 ohms in my truck. They hit hard and the amp never gets hot. Great amp for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
klove from Sugar Land, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced a RF Prime 1000 with this unit. I would characterize it as turning on a light in a cave. Now I can see!!!! Although I'm running it at 2 ohm, the 1200 watts deliver a much deeper and clearer bass than the Prime did. I've pounded it for several hrs without any ambient temperature problems. It is pushing a pair of Cerwin Vega VMax 10" subs and it hits very accurately. I would caution you to be careful during installation, the heat sink edges are very, very sharp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 Good AMP
Review by
Christian from Moody, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to push my 2 Rockford Fosgate 12" T1's, it pushes them very nicely and is overall a good amp. I ould recommend this to anybody for the price you can not beat it but at the same time i had a fosgate T1001bd mono amp and that thing was beast kinda expensive but BEAST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2011 Brutus 1700
Review by
YAboi from
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything is good, except for the fact that this amp does not put out anywhere near 1700 clear watts. It might put out around 1300watts before clippage occurs. I have an FI BL 12 and this thing barley moves with the amp pushing its max at 1 ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2011 Good amp
Review by
CKelly205 from Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is pushing my two Rockford fosgate T1's and it pushes them with no problems good amp and I would defiantly recommend only thing negative is the amp material it's really sharp and seems if it could cut you lol high quality though for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2011 hutt yeahh!!!!
Review by
iiXvXii from NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'll start out by saying this amp is awesome!!! Although I did blow quite a few subs already so make sure you don't cheap out on the warranty for your subs. This thing on the other hand is rock solid awesome design and is most deff puts out what it say's possibly more. I just have to get enough money to buy another sub. I'm currently using 1 4ohm Alpine Type-R series dual voice coil sub. It's currently running 8ohms until i put on another sub which will make it 2ohms. Much more power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2011 great amp
Review by
CHEVY BOY from MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp at a great price, best value. Running 2 alpine type-r 12's, sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2011 Great amp
Review by
Sean from Mount pleasant, michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Couldn't have found a better amp. Puts out a lot of power for what it costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2011 perfect amp
Review by
beatinLikeAmOFO from craig, Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp running 1 comp cc 15 and it is absolutely amazing!!! Thanks hifonics for such a perfect amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 great buy
Review by
lamar from atlanta, ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp really puts out I'm very satisfied with this brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Great product
Review by
Tony from dallas, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this amp. Very powerful. Have it hooked up with 2 cvx 12s and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Clean!
Review by
Daniel from Gwinn, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I noticed more of a clean sound to my subs. I'm not really a fan of the sharp corners, but hey who is going to be really touching it once it is installed right? The Amp is also decently heavy which i find a good quality in an amp. I'll edit this review once I've owned it a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 great deal
Review by
Krishan from Rogersville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp about 4 months ago and it works really well. I have it hooked up to two 10" Alpine Type-R's and man do they pound. Over all this is a great amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2011 Monster of an amp!!
Review by
Dominic from Mansfield,Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is simply put, a beast. I had it pushing 3 12" kicker cvr's and though the subs weren't the best I've had people would still complain of headaches when they heard my system. All in all that amp did it's job 100%. This thing was pounding these subs to they're max with a one ohm final impedence with the gain set at only about 30%. The amp definately could do more but my little 4 gauge couldn't sustain it. Even thought it was at about 30% it still fried the wire a bit when turned up. Great amp overall cool design never overheated. But just make sure you have adequate wire gauge for and you will be beatin down your block!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2011 amazing product
Review by
John from Rahway, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am currently running my two Alpine type-r's at 1 ohm. It pounds ridiculously hard and is extremely tough. With a stable voltage, it never over heats, stays warm to the touch. After 6 months of running it hard, its still running like new. I highly recommend this product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2011 Real power!!!
Review by
Matthew from Lewisville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You order 1700 watts you will get 1700 watts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 7, 2011 Wow!
Review by
King Kong Audio from Des Moines, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Paired this up with an Ascendant Audio 12" Chaos for a custom build. Amazing power and clarity! Well worth buying if you're looking for pure power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2011 AWESOME PRODUCT
Review by
T.SOB from Shawano, Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp id buy a new one if i had spare money, just got to watch out the black edges on the amp are kind of sharp i cut my self really bad on it other than that it's a great amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 no problems yet
Review by
andro from randle, wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
have mine pushing 2 RE audio SEx 12D4's, with extra battery (Kinetik) 0 gauge and 110 amp alt ( not enough) in a 3000gt. my voltage is dropping quite a bit but the amp is still pushing both subs hard enough to hurt my brain!! I have read of this amp burning up easily, so far it has barely gotten warm. I couldn't possibly sit in the car at full volume long enough to burn it up so no problem here. Only cons I can think of are the edges are sharp so dont cut yourself installing like i did, although the blood stain kinda looks kewl! and the hookups for the wires are angled, kinda making it hard to install wires after amp is mounted, but also helps protect the connection so maybe not a con?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Awesome value
Review by
Shalonda from Pine Bluff, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend this product because you are getting good power for the price, the brutus amp is under rated!! Great deal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2011 Hifonics 1700
Review by
Aaron from Maple Grove
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this amp a few weeks ago and installed it. Running my Type R 12's perfect @ 2 ohms. I have the gain about 3/4, and bass boost OFF. My voltage does not drop into the 12 volt range even at full tilt, i love this amp. Stock Bat and alt, and not bad voltage drop. Overall I love this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2011 best amp ever.
Review by
nathan from easton, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is one of the most rocksolid amps i have ever seen. i have this in my 300zx and it pounds on 1 15 sub. most people cant believe i only have one fifteen. i have played this amp full tilt and i was underpowering it and it was still ice cold. if you are looking for an amp. look no further, get a hifonics...NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 Buy it!
Review by
Eman from Warsaw, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My bud has two 12" CVR's hooked up to this thing. Not what I would do cause its overkill on the subs, but it sounds great and really knocks. This amp will do everything your looking for so cop it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2011 HIfonics Brutus 1700.1
Review by
Leon from Shiprock, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All i can say is awwwwsome. I love this amp. a aluminum cast amp, with a blue led hifonics logo.. love it.. I wired this to a Fi BL 15, it loves the raw 1700 watts. Need to upgrade the electrical for this amp. Worth every penny, want to buy another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 great value!! great buy, good amp for the price!!
Review by
Rick from las Vegas Nevada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running at 15" Fi sub rated 1500 watt rms. IT pushes it perfect. Whent through a few amps but this one is the best by far for the great price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 powerhorse!
Review by
muzicfinder1 from AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent proformance! POWERHORSE; great power output, durable, option fuction- very usefull, nice looking, blue power light! Well worth the money if your looking for a nice amp to power your sub(s). I used them in my cab with my two 12" L7s. They are pounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 Amazin amp
Review by
zechariah from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is fabolous I just got it today n im from ptown oregon n diz amp looks nice I opened it n saw da inside of diz amp n it iz stuffed with power I luv it.. Going 2 install soon... Post another review after I get it bumpin. Sonic also ship fast and they have great customer service I thank u sonic n im goin 2 keep doin business with u guyz I love Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2011 Great buy Great product
Review by
jon from southaven, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used this nearly every day since March. i have to say this thing is amazing, since its a class d it disapates heat amazing so it doesnt get hot after hours of use. It's build solid and has the cool illuminated logo on the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2011 power
Review by
CHRISTIAN from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp on my gf car hooked up to 3 Kickers CVR 15 with an epicenter dang this amp has power. Totally recommend you to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2011 the best line yet. Rep brutus!!!
Review by
jason from Dauphin, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design