Showing 17 reviews for Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 153 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.7
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
August 23, 2010 Hifonics BXI1700.1D Amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Will from Myrtle Beach
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own this amp and it is a very nice amp. The remote control bass is a very good feature if you want your bass low or slamming as hard as you can take it. I have them running 2 Kicker CVR's and its definitely getting the job done. Its not the best amp around but definitely not the worst. I would recommend this to someone who loves a lot of power cause this will do it for you. Has only cut off once and gone into protect mode so I'm very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2014 Pretty happy overall.
Review by
CODY from EAST MOLINE, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Most true bassheads will tell you these things suck. i beg to differ in all honesty. this amp has done very well for a year and a half. i torture it with hours of play time at full tilt. it takes it the whole time and barely gets warm. it really isnt all that power hungry like people say. it is one of the best amps you could get in this price range. i had one exchanged because something blew in it due to the bassknob but it was still working fine if the bassknob was not in use. ive had this same amp for 8 months before that i beleive and same deal. very good amp for the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 good!
Review by
daniel1616 from SILOAM SPRINGS, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this product 2 days before the shipping date. I recomend this amp cause its bumps real hard. The problem i had thou was that i got a defected amp so i had to send it back. All in all good amp and great customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 Not bad for the price
Review by
Alex from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Can't complain about the amp for the price that you get it for.. It does exactly what its supposed to.. Never had any problems when I had this amp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2012 Bangs for the buxs
Review by
I-pala from AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price you pay, wicked deal. Have recommended this one time & time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 worth the money
Review by
daniel from ft irwin, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've owned a lot of amps mostly mtx and kicker i wouldn't put this in the same class but it is def worth the money. I have mine running a single jl audio 12w7 @3 ohms so in theory it should be pushing aorund 900 watts its beating the guts outta my sub and sending pretty clean signal after a lot of tuning. The filters are kinda cheap and take a little time to get just right so take your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2012 You get what you pay for (or not...?!?!?)
Review by
James from Waukesha, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First 1700 worked for 2 days, then broke. Getting a replacement soon, will update review when that comes, until then.

For the price, you can't really beat this amp. The rules of the CEA-2006 compliancy is that it does rated power @ 4ohm, not 2 & 1 ohm, so I'm not sure if it does rated power at those resistances. I do not have a clamp meter so I can't verify.

..But this amp does do work. While it did work, I was told I could be heard a half mile away with my garbage of a box for a fi bl 18". So yeah, for the price you can't beat it, but if you have money to spend, go with a higher quality amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2012 Hifonics Brutus BRZ1700.1D
Review by
dontaey from fort wayne, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2012 Hard to beat
Review by
iPACKgoldDOTS from Cocoa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased four (that's right four) of these in december to run my FI SP418s. I am running one amp per coil so each sub is seeing 3400 watts. Upon delivery one amp was DOA so I had to send it back but Sonic stepped up and did a great job of getting me the replacement I needed. Im running four BatCap batteries to help with voltage. If anyone wants to see vids my YouTube SN is iPACKgoldDOTS. I rated the features portion of this review low because of one simple thing and that's angled terminals. I'm not a fan of trying to bend 0 gauge wire into a terminal. It's flat out poor R&D. Does it work? Yes. Would be allot easier and better if they were straight? Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
klove from Sugar Land, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced a RF Prime 1000 with this unit. I would characterize it as turning on a light in a cave. Now I can see!!!! Although I'm running it at 2 ohm, the 1200 watts deliver a much deeper and clearer bass than the Prime did. I've pounded it for several hrs without any ambient temperature problems. It is pushing a pair of Cerwin Vega VMax 10" subs and it hits very accurately. I would caution you to be careful during installation, the heat sink edges are very, very sharp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2011 perfect amp
Review by
beatinLikeAmOFO from craig, Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp running 1 comp cc 15 and it is absolutely amazing!!! Thanks hifonics for such a perfect amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Great product
Review by
Tony from dallas, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this amp. Very powerful. Have it hooked up with 2 cvx 12s and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2011 Monster of an amp!!
Review by
Dominic from Mansfield,Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is simply put, a beast. I had it pushing 3 12" kicker cvr's and though the subs weren't the best I've had people would still complain of headaches when they heard my system. All in all that amp did it's job 100%. This thing was pounding these subs to they're max with a one ohm final impedence with the gain set at only about 30%. The amp definately could do more but my little 4 gauge couldn't sustain it. Even thought it was at about 30% it still fried the wire a bit when turned up. Great amp overall cool design never overheated. But just make sure you have adequate wire gauge for and you will be beatin down your block!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Awesome value
Review by
Shalonda from Pine Bluff, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend this product because you are getting good power for the price, the brutus amp is under rated!! Great deal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 powerhorse!
Review by
muzicfinder1 from AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent proformance! POWERHORSE; great power output, durable, option fuction- very usefull, nice looking, blue power light! Well worth the money if your looking for a nice amp to power your sub(s). I used them in my cab with my two 12" L7s. They are pounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2011 Amazing value!
Review by
Alexander from Flemington, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an overall great buy, it powers a pair of Kicker CVX subs very accurately and smoothly, I have slammed the bass for hours and jar never had it over heat. Plus the blue illuminated Hifonics always grabs peoples attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2011 Great Amp
Review by
Tim from Elk Grove
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
High ouput of power @4 Ohm, really efficient.
doesn't take tooo much power out of the battery.
worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz