Showing 10 reviews for Hifonics Brutus BRZ1200.1D

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics Brutus BRZ1200.1D
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 152 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
1%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 3 star Customer Reviews:
June 14, 2012 ok buy
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kronmuffin from PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this amp for a few months. Made my Alpines kick so hard, people could here my car for blocks. Amp started cutting out after a few months when I played something with too much bass. Called Sonic Electronix. They handled my problem greatly and sent me a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2013 First one broke, now the second one broke too
Review by
Jonah from Espanola, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a professional installer and I hooked this up correctly but it just never worked well. so I sent it back and got a new one. No worries right? WRONG this time its lasted 4 months and it pooped out too. Time to send back to sonic's great customer service (I really mean it, its top notch). spend a lil more money and get something worth while like a Rockford Fosgate amp that would be my best advice to you friends. STAY LOUD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2013 Brutus 1200
Review by
DJ from Farmersville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not bad, just has some distortion. Won't push as much without distortion. But not a bad amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2013 Good but inconsistant
Review by
Big A from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let me start off by saying I would give this amp 3.5 out of 5 if I could. This is because the amp was really inconsistant. By that I mean that some days it was an absolute workhorse that pushed my subs hard, and some days it would sound not as loud or even sporatically cut out. I got my battery checked out, checked the ground and wiring, but could never figure out why it would cut out. Overall, I would say this was a good amp and worth the money, but don't be sceptical of people saying it would cut out, like I was before I bought it. Other than my frustrations with the inconsistency, the amp was well designed and has several nice features that really simplify installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2012 Ok amp
Review by
Stogie from FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked well for about a year. Had it wired to 1ohm on some CVR 12's. Decent low grade amp. I would say one of the better of the cheap amps. Although if you wire it down to 1ohm i wouldnt expect it to last more than a year if it's being played every day.

I only got it cause i was strapped for cash at the time. And basically would only recommend as such. An amp to use for a year while you save for a better one. If you want more use than that id say dont wire to 1ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 Makes noise
Review by
Jay from California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp is alright, does the job and makes noise, however lacks a little in the lows, and wont even touch the LOW lows. Had multiple shops look at the amp and adjust the settings and it just wouldnt hit them. If your just tryna slap, this will work, but if you are a true bass head, keep on looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2011 Not so sure
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dillan from Bloomington, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amplifier, from the reviews, looked and sounded like it would be a good choice. I ordered it and received it in 3 days. Great speed for free shipping. The package wasn't damaged and everything inside looked good. When I wired it up though, that's when fuses on the amp started blowing. I got through and they offered a replacement or my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2011 okay for the price
Review by
Diego from basstown, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Okay so I had this amp for 3 months before I sold it and it was an okay amp for the money. I had this amp pushing a 15 " Alpine Type R wired down to 1 ohm and it played pretty loud but I had to turn the gain almost all the way up to get it at a decent level. Sound quality was good but not great. its pretty power hungry so you better have something better than a stock electrical system or you'll be seeing a lot of headlight dimming and won't get the best results like I didn't. As for looks this amp is very stylish I like the blue Hifonics sign lol overal this is an okay amp if you don't have the cash for a more expensive amp. By the way I upgraded to a Rockford Fosgate T1000BdCp and its awsome. I wrote a review on that one too ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2012 Eh....... so so
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Saul from Escalon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put this amp into my 2000 Honda Civic with stock alternator and grounds upgraded to 0 gauge. 0 gauge from the front battery to a distribution block in the trunk with 4 gauge running to the amp from there. Hooked up to a 10" RE Audio SXX dual 2 ohm sub down to a 1 ohm load and..........not that great. The box is very very close to spec ported and still not hitting as great as I thought it would. The gain/level is a little past half with no clipping at any point but supposedly that's where 4 volts would be if I eye balled it correctly which is what my Alpine head unit puts out. HU is at +2 on bass and still does not amaze or satisfy me.

In conclusion its not pushing this sub like I thought it would, nothing "crazy loud" or "super hard".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2011 Not pushing my sub!
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Briley from Shallotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp to power a 12" kicker cvx and when i got it wired up, it doesnt even move the cvx unless the gain is turned about 3/4 up at 1 ohm which should be blowing the subwoofer? i have a solid 14.6 voltage so clearly these amps are not what they say they are or i have a defective. Also my fuses are froze in the amp and cannot be taken out. My friend has the hifonics 1500.1 and his fuses will not come out either. i will write another review after i receive a replacement. Don't get me wrong though, i have heard many good things about hifonics and im sure i just got the lemon. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz