Showing 24 reviews for MB Quart ONX1.1500D

Customer Review Summary for MB Quart ONX1.1500D
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 36 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
31%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
3%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.3
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
January 26, 2011 You'll be happy with this purchase.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
evasivenotraKcs from Middle of the Map
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was in the market for an amp to push a Sundown Audio SA-12 dual 4ohm I picked up, with the ability to ideally push two of them when I got another one. Based on the reviews of the SA-12 it sounded like pushing more than the 600rms was going to be completely okay, so I was looking for 600+rms @ 2 ohm for initially hooking one up, and then 1200+rms @ 1ohm for when I picked up another sub. I wanted to cop the Sundown 1500d but it costs buku. Currently just have this pushing one @ 2ohm and this combo hits almost as hard as the 2 JL-w6 12s on a JL 1000.1 slash v1 I had. Nice and clean also. Originally I had planned on running the 2 SA-12s off the one amp but this one is taking the 1000w so good that it seems silly to drop it down to 750w a piece. Blasting it in traffic today for about two hours total its running barely warmer than it was in the car. Nice and cool. Woulda been nice if the 12v and ground terminals were a bit bigger so you could get the 2ga cables in there a bit easier but they fit.

Low points on Look/Design because the whack orange/red light up logo. Would have preferred it blue or color neutral with no light and instead just being a classy piano gloss black amp. Then maybe it would have gotten mounted where it was visible so someone could want to rip me off. So maybe that's really a plus/minus?

Four stars on durability simply because the back/bottom board where the "warranty void if removed" stickers are seems kinda loose/cheap. Doubt this will ever be an issue whatsoever, but this amp is not a tank.

Overall, a great amp for the money. Really happy with this amp, very likely will buy another when I pick up another sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 amazing
Review by
james from Lansing, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
everything on this amp is amazing. i loved it while i had it then traded it for a new alpine amp.
i pushed two 12" type R's off of it and they LOVED it lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2012 AWESOME AMP!!!
Review by
Thundergod43 from Alvin, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am so happy (so far) with this amp that I stopped right in the middle of installing it to write this review! I hooked it up to test and listen to it before installing it as I do all of my products and I am VERY impressed! I have been into higher end a/v systems (home theater & car audio) for 30 years. I am familiar with the high end brands as there are not that many (JL, Fosgate, Alpine etc...), but there are lots of low to mid level equipment that I am not that familiar with as I have always ran high end systems. However, I can't afford a high end system in 2 cars, and this is the first time that I have owned 2 cars. I bought and have been running another very good amp (Phoenix Gold Xenon 200.2) on a single 12" Kicker CVR, bridged to 400 watts at 4 ohms, but it just did not impress me very much. Everyone else liked it, but it seemed lacking in impact to me. At first I thought that my judgement might be off since I'm running a JL Audio 1000/1 on 2 Kicker 10" L7's in my other car, so I decided to try a different amp. It could also be that the Xenon is a Class AB amp and draws a lot of power that my stock alternator can't supply (I spent $600 on a custom built alternator for the JL, but can't afford another one for my daily driver). I researched for about 3 weeks before deciding on this amp. I wanted 500 watts to run at a 4 ohm load with plenty of power left over for future subwoofer upgrades, should there be any. The reviews on this amp were better than a lot of amps costing 2 or 3 times as much. Anyway I hooked it up and it pretty much blows the Xenon out of the water on subs, but keep in mind that the Xenon is really a 2-channel amp with no subsonic filter, bridged to run subs, and it did sound good, it just did not HIT like I wanted it to. The Onyx sounded as good, and hit a lot harder than the Xenon with roughly the same power, and it did not even get warm! Keep in mind I'm running it at a 4 ohm load with 500 watts, so I'm not even beginning to tap the real power in this amp. I will write another review should I ever do that. To make a long story longer, you will not be in the least bit disappointed with this amp. I must mention to that it is also one of the finest looking amps that I have ever seen! To sum it up, unless you have a lot of money to spend on a JL, a higher end Fosgate, or a similar high end amp, then I would definitely recommend this amp, or brand as a whole to go with. Now I may look into one of their 4 channel amps to replace my Ken wood that is getting to hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2012 Son of Bass
Review by
Bass It from Wichita, Kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this Amp running Two 12" Kicker Comp VR subs in vented box. The amp is only turned up to @ 40% and has never over heated, in fact it never even gets warm! This Amp has proven itself to be reliable and at this price point provides enough power to upgrade my subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 this thing can take a beating
Review by
WHITE MATT from Atlanta GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking to get this or or a hifonics brutus 1200d and after all the good things people had to say about the brutus i had bought it even though it costs more. It was decent but after about six months it burned out. Maybe i was too hard on it i dont know. So i decided to buy the mb quart since it was made buy the same company and cost about 50 bucks less i gave it a shot and i got to say it has been a GREAT amp and not only for the price it never over heat, shuts down, burns fuses it just beats i got it on two pioneer 12s 500 watt rms each so only have it turned up have way and it hits like 2 15s aslo i would recomend getting a pro box aslo they are worth it if you want the best sound for your system. But if your thinking of buying this amp i would pick it up im glad i got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2012 Great amp
Review by
Big b from San Diego ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp does exactly what it supposed to do.
I am pushing two L7 12's and it hits hard people
Can say whatever they want about these mb quart
Amps I like mines and I've been into car audio over
10 years. For the price, you can't beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2012 Lots of Bang for the Buck
Review by
Audiophile BadMan from New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to power two Alpine R-series 12D4s, and this thing has met all my expectations. It is driving these 2 subs with extremely crisp clear bass. This amp is a great value and I would recommend it to my friends. I am considering buying a second amp to power two more subs.

PROS: High quality sound; lots of power; stays cool under load

CONS: The attachment points where you screw this down to secure it to your car could be a little beefier. It's made of plastic and could crack if tightened a little too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2012 better than expected
Review by
guero from woodburn or
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I push 2 Earthquake 12s with this amp and I am very impressed with the rms rating. For the price this is a very solid amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2012 Mb qaurt onx1.1500d
Review by
jacob from Richland, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp, has plenty of power. Had it on two kicker cvt now i have it on two kicker 15 and it blows any of the past amps i have owned out of the water. This amp is a great product and will recommend it to anyone wanting a good amp for 12 or 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 MB Quart is Superb! Boom, Boom, Boom...
Review by
L.W. from Darlington, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I did weeks of research before I purchased the MB Quart ONX1.1500D a few months ago. I then ordered a JBL GTO 1014D dual 4 Ohm sub to pair up with the 1 ohm stable amp just for starters. Even though the amp is wired at 2 Ohms I am very satisfied with the sound quality and the power that this amp provides. I also have an Alpine PXA-H510 digital signal processor to process the analog signal from my head unit using a firber optic cable for signal transfer to the processor. I believe this amp will still be great without the help of the processor but who out there doesn't use additional components to improve sound quality? Like I mentioned before, the power is there and always available. Maimum current draw is 140 amps. Please use 2 gauge power and ground wire and upgrade to a Kinetik or Optima Battery with the purchase or upgraded voltagle regulator on your altenator. A capaitor or two just won't do. My sub is beatin' hard in it's 1 1/2 cu.ft. vented box. No trunk rattle, no dim lights, plenty of eye's wathcin'. Oh, no tickets yet. I would recoomend this amp to true audio entusiast who want real sound quality and power for minimal wallet emptiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 powerhouse
Review by
tatersalad from orlando fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I can't be happier with its performance. I'm pushing two l5's in a ported enclosure and im so pleased with this amp I plan on buying another and going with 4 15s in my escalade would recomend to anyone looking for a quality amp at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2012 Just buy it!
Review by
Big B from Washington, D.C.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp ain't nothing but the truth. I have this amp in my 06 Chevy Suburban. It has exceeded my expectations. As a matter of fact, I haven't any negative comments about it however, you must use high quality subs with this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2012 BADDASS AMP
Review by
Chang from ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a must buy. I'm running a kicker cvx 1000rms on this amp and this amp keeps cool no matter what comes at it. To add to that I find its not dimming my amps compare to the other amps i have purchase for bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 2011 t2 15 rockford
Review by
ABIGAIL from LAS VEGAS, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp powering a Rockford Fosgate T2 15" and it sounds clean and loud. Makes my t2 hot I play loud max good efficient but I need an extra battery because stock batt not enought to maximize this amp. You need use 0 gauge wire lot difference sound quality only problem is d terminal is tight to 0 gauge wire. I also use this amp to power the mtx rfl 15 2000 rms and I blew the sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2012 Awesome
Review by
Brandon from Fortson, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a awesome amp I had heard of mb quart but never used them. I have this on two w7 8's and it sounds amazing. I built the boxes myself. I will get another 4 channel amp next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2012 POWER!!!!
Review by
AudioPro from UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a really good amp for the price. It puts out nice clean sound and can produce low bass notes unlike the Kenwood kac-9104d wich I wouldn't recommend. I have the onx1.1500d currently pushing two 10" mtx ts5510 (I would recommend) 2 dual ohm wired to 2 ohm since I can't wire to .5 ohms. So far this amp pushes them like a pro it only warms up to the normal after 30 minuets but never goes beyond warm I have stock alt and battery and a 1 Farad frc1d cap for a quick fix only though. I can say that my onx1.1500d hits harder than the brz1200.1d a d hfi1000 I can also say that the MB quart will do rated power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2012 this amp is bad ass!!!!
Review by
RUERTO RICO from LUTZ,FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Relly happy with this amp. I have 2 kicker solo-baric 12L7's and they sound loud. I would recommend this amp to anybody who likes power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 great amp
Review by
joe from cleveland ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp hooked up to a 1000 watt rms RE Audio 10. It gives you all the power you need. Sonic tells us that this is not a certified amp. However if you go to Mb quarts website it tells that it is infact certified. Great amp at a great price. Makes my ten sound like 2 12's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2012 onx1.1500D
Review by
TRIP559 from FRESNO, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally ordered this amp to push 2 12" v-max dual 4. O man. It pushed those babies hard and they took the power. I then sold the Cerwin's and went with 2 12" orion XTR-PRO dual 4ohm. And lemme tell you, those xtr blew the cerwins out the water. The orions are sum beefy subs. And i wired it dwn to 1ohm on the onx and it plays them LOUD N LOWWWW. Luv the glossy finish. After hour of beating the orions up, the amp is still kool to the touch. Higbly efficient indeed. Nice features nice look and power to spare. My only gripe is the power and ground terminal, would be nice if it were 1/0 but instead its 2gauge LAME! So i had to cut a lot of copper off my street wires power and ground. Other than that, GOOD AMP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2011 fantastic product for the money
Review by
uriel` from des moines , IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is by far the best amp i have owned. This amp makes my rockford fosgate hx2 15 hit so hard that the woofer gets warm just a little bit. I'm pushing the woofer at 1500 rms at 1 ohm. The only problem is the brackets are super thin and break easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2011 LUV IT!_!
Review by
christian from Sanford, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off, KUDOS to sonic, ordered amp late on tues. night, was @ my door on Friday in Fla!! Ok, I have this amp running onmy 2 10 dvc 2ohm phoenix gold rsdc, and it sounds great. The amp, outta the box, with me sending 6 volts (mb quart specs). From my line driver, was reading 48.8 volts ac!!!!!!!! I have it gained set at 58ac volts, no clipping, and hits hard and precise(def. makes more than 1,000 watts @ 2ohm). Buy this amp, youll be glad you did. I like this amp better than the brz1700.1, however my subs are rated 600rms/1200 max, mayb this amp is better suited for my subs specs. Also, i ran it for 4 1/2 hours straight, at 2/3 to max volume, & IT NEVER GOT WARM, SERIOUSLY WAS COLD TO THE TOUCH!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2011 Solid amp
Review by
John from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Picked up this amp in late march, worked perfect for two months up until I hooked up the remote "bass knob" that comes with it, after that it died within two weeks. Why? I didn't know that the "bass knob" actually just increases the gain, which ends up sending a clipped signal and frying the amp. DO NOT USE THE GAIN KNOB WITHOUT RE-TUNING THE AMP FIRST. Luckily they warrantied it without a hassle and it's been problem free ever since; runs nice and cool even in the summer heat. Great amp for the money; I was going to buy a sundown 1200d originally but came across this. For a $200 amp, it works amazing. I'm currently running it at 4 ohms on a type r, but will be soon powering an FI q12 @ 1 ohm.
PROS: Looks sleek, can't beat the value, outputs the power it claims.
CONS: The batt/ground terminals claim they accept 2 awg, which they sort of do but it's a tight fit. The mounting points are somewhat flimsy which is probably why they only recommend mounting it horizontally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2011 Solid Amp!! Solid Price!!!
Review by
Mike G. from Detroit MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Currently using it to push a 2011 Kicker 15"l7. This amp has plenty of power to spare. It's running @ 1 Ohm and I've had no problems with it overheating. Good Power for the $$$. Cant really speak on the durability yet, as I have only owned it for 2 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2010 Great Amp
Review by
Paul from Garden City KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp powering a single 12" Fi Bl and it sounds amazing. Great price for the power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz