Showing 7 reviews for MB Quart ONX4.80/500

Customer Review Summary for MB Quart ONX4.80/500
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 7 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
57%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
14%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.9
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 4, 2011 Great amp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brett from Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was my first 5 channel amp and I was pleasantly surprised at how well it did the job. It looks fantastic and delivered all the power I required to the rest of the system flawlessly. Tuning was simple and the standard operating temp was unbelievably chilled, it was below every other amp I've owned before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2011 Overall Good 5 Channel
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steve from Tulsa, Ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Currently have this installed with 2 pairs of MB Quart 6 x8 components and 2 Boston Acoustic 10.5lf Pro subs. The front and rear channels have a lot of power and overall the amp has a lot of features.

However, the 5th channel lacks a bit, however acceptable for my listening levels. I have the 2 Ohm 10.5s in parallel so I'm presenting the amp with 1 Ohm. That was one of the reasons I bought this amp as it was 1 Ohm stable. The 10.5s just require a lot of power to get them to stand out, previously I had them paired with 1000watts at 1 Ohm and that was a good match.

I would have to say though now that I'm older, this is a perfect one amp solution for someone looking to have a single amp driving everything. Has a load of crossover and tuning options, the bass control works great as well. Just don't expect it to drive monster sub woofer loads. Would I buy again for a standard car audio system with great sound quality, yes! Would I buy it for a competition system or at least one over the top, no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2013 Cheap
Review by
Allen from Oakland, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cheap product with cheap quality. Clarity is not very good. The good thing is that it never shut off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Powerful
Review by
Kalob from Driftwood, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was my first five channel amp. Before, i had un-amped pioneer door speakers and 2 L5 15's hooked to a brutus 2400w. When i put the onyx amp in, my door speakers were noticeably way louder/clearer, and the fifth channel is said to put out 500 watts max on this onyx amp, but pushed the hell out of my 15's. Sounds louder and better than the 2400 watt amp. The MB Quart is a great amp, with no extra batteries or big 3 upgrade, my lights still don't dim from this amp turned 3/4 of the way up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2012 Great amp!!!
Review by
Alvin from New Orleans, Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm a former Pro installer..now its just a hobby! I installed this amp into a relatives old school Monte Carlo a few months ago! This amp really impressed me with its clarity and output! I installed it on two Polk 5x7s, a set of Polk MoMo 6.5 components and tweeters...with the fifth channel powering a JL 10in. sub! This amp really puts out some very loud and crystal clear highs and Mids! I will also tell you, I didn't think that little ten would be heard in that big trunk...I WAS WRONG!!! This amp is really pushing that sub! You can really feel the bass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2011 Good 5 Channel Amp
Review by
David from Pullman, Wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a good SQ type amp for my pickup (limited space) and found this was 1 ohm stable on the sub channel for future upgrading.

The filters make it easy to keep bass out of the speakers that can't handle it without use of the head unit filters. Sub is crisp and clean but not insane. For the price I was very surprised how clean an amp this is, just don't expect to win any SPL awards. Perfect for listening to your music instead of using it as a back massager :)

The only weird thing is that there is no external fuse on the amp, and they suggest a 120 between the battery and the amp. I've run a 60 amp since ownership and haven't blown it yet. I suspect you would need a lot of load to warrant a 120 amp breaker/fuse.

I would buy again for this application, but would always run different amps for sub and components given the space and budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2011 Great amp overall
Review by
Brian from CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this around 6 months ago for my whole system, running a Fi Audio 10" sub and 4 5.25" JL Audio door speakers. This thing sounds really clean and doesnt seem to draw too much power. The door speakers sound so much better than when using the deck, you almost dont need a sub.

i have my sub running at 4 ohms, so i could be getting more power out of the amp, but it still slams really hard. I also noticed that i dont have engine noise anymore, probably because of less draw on the alternator.

Build quality is pretty good overall, my only annoyance is that the tuning knobs are kind of set-in to the amp frame so you need a screwdriver to get to them. Just makes it harder to tune it tight spaces.


overall i am really satisfied with this amp, would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz