Showing 28 reviews for MB Quart ONX4.80

Customer Review Summary for MB Quart ONX4.80
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.5
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 1, 2012 real good amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rashid from Kansas CityRaytown, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Man this amp is hard. It makes all my speakers like im at a concert or something. I would reccomend this to anybody that wants quality sound for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 Great amp and great value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PSH from Southwest FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently was introduced to car audio and it has quickly grown into a hobby as mine. I started by purchasing a pair of Kicker DS68 for my rear deck and bought a JVC head unit as well. I quickly realized deck power was not ample for speakers so I started looking into amps. A friend of mine works at B**t Buy and is heavy into the car audio scene. He recommended MB Quart for amps. I looked into them and was taken aback by how cheap they sell. I can't possibly get a quality product for this price, can I? Well, I was way wrong. This thing POUNDS. I still have stock speakers on the front and will be very surprised if the sound quality doesn't jump up by 1/2 when I have them installed. I have no sound issues and it is quite easy on the eyes too. The glossy black on matte on gloss is very nice too and the light adds a dash of "bad*ss" to the amp. It doesn't overheat and it sits under my seat. You would have to pay quite a bit more to get anything near this quality. I only put 4 stars for ease of use because I am still learning how the toggles work, it is not a knock on the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2011 musical majic
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Micky from NYC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned the others and like the maxxsonics amps because they have the most flexible and easiest controls. I dont know why they even bother with a Hifonics line when this MBquart line is the best and actually I think it sounds better than any amp out there which makes this amp an absolute gem and steal for the price. I also had both the Hifonics Zeusi80 and the Autorek1400.
The Zeus was a nice amp, with sweet highs, and the Autotek was very nice amp also, with rich mids, BUT THIS mbquart just sounds so open and clear and musical that I would say borderline magical.
The only oher explanation for such unbelievable sound is my new head unit I put at same time, a Pioneer HD unit.

I seriously doubt you can get a better sounding amp for at least double the price. I also had a Polk660, and none compares to this amp. It just sounds so open, big, and clear at low and loud levels. If I had to sum it up in a main characteristic, it would be "transparently immersive" as you seem to be in the music, not just listening. I have to credit some of this to the head unit as well. I used to think I had overly bright and lean speakers untill I upgraded and now they sound totaly transparent :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2011 best sound for the buck
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
doug h. from albany,ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been into Mb quart since '95,I've heard them at their best...and their worst. I purchased the onyx 4ch x 80w to replace a blown interior amp.i was kinda hesitant to get the (maxxsonics) mbquart amp,at first.but I went with the name brand I have grown to love,and trust. And I was blown away by the sound quality(crystal clear,uncolored highs, solid mid range,and bass reproduction) and the depth of the soundstage that was produced by this amp.paired with Mb quart speakers- you will be astounded by the low price but quality sound.hands down the most flexible, best 4ch amp I have owned to date. To sum it up-don't want to kill your pockets,but you demand great sound quality...THIS AMP IS BUILT FOR PEOPLE WHO LOVE GREAT SOUND....and I'm glad maxxsonics kept true to the name brand and the quality,associated with Mb quart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2014 Great amp
Review by
JR from Van Nuys, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has a great sound at a good price....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Great Value.
Review by
Jimmy from Morriston, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp puts out good power for price. I like the MB Quart amps for highs but the mono MB amps don't put out close to rated rms power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2013 Awesome Amp At An Awesome Price
Review by
Lars from Groton, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp, I have to say this amp came pretty highly recommended to me for my price range and I am glad I got it. The sound quality and power of this amp is great, makes my cheap walmart speakers sound good, which I had no idea they could.

Looks great, easy to use, sounds great, cheap, doesn't get much better than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2013 Good
Review by
Vaughn from Burnaby, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Paired it with the onyx 1000.1d Great amps, don't heat up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2013 Sounds great if you can find one that works...
Review by
M from bradenton, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered this amp to complement my onx1500.1d, channels 3 and 4 were defective. Sonic sent it to MB Quart and delivered me a new one, unfortunately it was also defective. Maybe I just had bad luck... these amps DO sound good for the money, maybe run a little hot (a/b class), I am just tired of swapping out brand new amps...

Again, if you can find one that works, good deal for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2013 great 4 channel
Review by
kj from omaha
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this to power four infinity 3 way speakers and it works great. I am happy with this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2013 Amazing Amp.
Review by
Christian from Overland Park, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
bought to keep up with my 2 15' obsidian audio subs on 2200 watts. i have them on 2 crescendo 6.5 mid range and 2 cadence tweets. if you set your gains and x overs correctly, this amp sounds amazing. would buy again in a heartbeat. and DOES NOT GET HOT IF YOU SET GAINS RIGHT. people just crank the gain all the way most of the time and you cannot do that. youre creating excess power and distortion causing excessive heat. buy this beatiful amp guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2012 fuse mb quart onx 4.80
Review by
zica from mar del plata, buenos aires, Argentina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the official website of mb quart says that this amp has two 30 amp fuses and two 25 amp specifications as stated on this page are wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2012 GREAT Amp
Review by
Cody from Dalton, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Upgraded from infinity reference components & 6x9's powered by a Sony XM-GTX6040 (60 watts to 4 channels) To this bad boy powering Focal's Access series components & 6x9's in my '06 Tiburon and its a MAJOR improvement. I thought my first setup sounded great but this beyond expectations for the money. Cant say much about the crossover settings though, ive got them wide open controlling the frequencies played with my EQ up front under my deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2012 Great amp
Review by
Big tank from Temple, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent amp at a great price. I am running two sets of components with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 20, 2012 Great amp for the money!
Review by
Aaron A. from Chandler, Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked this amp up to a pair of Kenwood Components and this amp really makes them scream. It has great power output. It does get hot because of the A/B class but if you have a cooling fan on it you will be fine. Lots of settings make for good sound. Not too big, it will fit under most seats. Great design and easy to use. One of the best bang for the buck on this site!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2012 great buy
Review by
bigsweat from ney york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
had this amp a while running all my door speakers.This is a great amp and a great price.set the gains corrett and it shines.A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2012 MB Quart ONX 4.80
Review by
Danny from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these pushing 3 sets of Polk Audio MM6501's.....these amps are great with awesome sound quality.....lots of power!! I give 5 stars cause the price is great, the look and design is sharp out of the box.....I have had them over a year the rest is user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2012 this is a great buy
Review by
mickey from reno, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put it in 1994 4 runner 2 4" dcm 2 ways and 2 dcm 6x9s sound great no problems no over heating and we have it under the seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2012 this is a great buy
Review by
mickey from reno, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put it in 1994 4 runner 2 4" dcm 2 ways and 2 dcm 6x9 sounds great no problems no over heating and we have it under the seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2011 power and beauty
Review by
charles from rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is strong durable and beautiful. From its black piano finish to its powerful clean bass it puts out you will be happy. I loved it. I owned it for a year and was never dissapointed or let down. It never got hot clipped or shut off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2011 Great Amp!
Review by
baceman from pulaski, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I studied on this amp for a long time before I ordered it. I read the different reviews comparing MB Quart to Old School Phoenix Gold and US Amps. I was like...I don't know. I went to the MB Quart web site and all of their amps ARE CEA 2006 compliant and I likeed the looks of the ONYX sreiers the best and decided to give it a shot. Let me just say that if you are worried about buying this amp...don't be! I have it in my van 160x2 (2-ohm stereo) on my highs and 320x1 (4-ohm bridged) to a pair of 12" subs and I am glad I went with these amps. They sound amazing!!! Both quality and strength. I would say that this amp would compare to a pair of Phoenix Gold M-50s...for those of you who know old school and are looking for an amp to make your system scream loud and clear like it used to - this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2011 Good amp for the buck.
Review by
redeyz V.F.A.C. from Woodbridge Va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great and louder with an EQ hooked up to it. You'd pretty much get a great, clear sound with a Alpine high-end head unit. They complement each other like night and day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2011 Love It!!!!
Review by
Nicholas from Medford, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I absolutely love this thing it was perfect for what I needed pumps out a lot of clean power its a little big for my small car but i knew that when i ordered it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2010 great value
Review by
matt from florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has a lot of features allowing for a lot of adjustment in my system. the amp puts out a lot, very clear sound and well priced. Good amp for the mids and highs. at least to start out with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2012 so so amp
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this amp awhile back, so far it sounds great at lower volumes but when cranked there's some apparent distortion. I also tried wiring it bridged to my 2 front speakers and still, the amp distorts some even with more power.

This amp has also gone thermal on me and cut off several times in both 4 channel and 2 channel bridged operation after about 25 minutes at about 2/3 to 3/4 volume. This amp gets hot, sometimes too hot to touch and i've had to mount a computer fan to tame it a bit.. And even still, it's cut off with the computer fan.. Only real advantage i gained from the fan was that the cutoff time went from 5-6 minutes to about 1-2 minutes.

I'd say this amp is good for just average systems, gets pretty loud but not that loud. Keeping gains and volume down is a must. Overall, i wouldn't buy again. I think i'm shooting for a class d next time, like a polk audio pa d4000.4, kenwood xr-4s or infinity kappa four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2012 High pass crossover
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Adam from Thomasville, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 125.4 and a 80.4, both onyx series mb quart amps. The high pass crossover on these really does NOT go to 13000 hz. It is actually closer to 1300 hz. I found this out when trying to set the high pass filter to 4000 hz using the SMD CC-1. I tried a lower tone (1000 Hz) and was able to calibrate it, but the adjustment was almost all the way up. About a 16th of a turn from the highest setting or "13000 Hz". Other than this the amp pushes pretty good power and works fine for running full range speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Owned up to its reputation
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Larry VFAC Washington from NO. Va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For many years in the game (1996) This brand like the Percision Power amps have been the Apex to car-audio geeks who have used these lines in exotic cars! Well lets just say they have not changed their quality of performance but went to plastic. Not bad but it heated up, what will happen? A MELTDOWN! I will say this is a great amp for the buck and you can take it to its max potential! It does what it says!!! Just dont use cheap speakers like Kenwood it will distort to oblivion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2012 MB QUART LIES
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric from Ochlocknee, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp lies about the HPC range! The amp says 60-13kHZ when actually it only goes to about 1100HZ! This is verifiedy the SMD CC-1! This greatly upsets me because i was suppose to use this and run my superpowers but realizing this is going to set my build back.. Will certainly be boycotting MB Quart. I do own a MB QUART ONX 4.125 as well and checked it to double check my discover and it also did this. So.. no more MB QUART for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz