Showing 47 reviews for Alpine SWR-1043D

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWR-1043D
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 47 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
83%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 22, 2012 Alpine SWR-1043D
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Danner from Kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this sub to anybody. I had it in a crew cab Chevy Colorado in a sealed box. The sub hit all the notes well and deep. There's more than enough power there for me And I listen to mainly rock and some rap. The design of the subwoofer is great as well, very well built and the mounting depth was perfect for what i was looking for. I love it and will buy another if this one ever gives out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2012 was great unitl...
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kelz from San Diego, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It blew on me. I had two hooked up to a RF T-1000D, Birth sheet said 1102 @ 1 ohm. So slightly under powered. For three months it sounded great! Loud, clean, clear bass but one of them blew on me last night and the other one isn't in good shape. They were in a small sealed box because I have a mustang and dont want to spend 800$ for a custom install, so it's more so my fault than sub failure. A bit of advice make sure they're in a ported box so the voice coils dont burn up on you like mine did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2013 Deciding which sub started and ended with 2 ohm or 4 ohm
Review by
ANDREW from Fairfax, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I knew it was going to be an Alpine Type R 10" sub. All I had to do was figure out the configuration I was going to be most comfortable with now and in the future and the dvc 4 ohm was the answer. I could have looked at other subs but Type Xs are expensive so I devoted more time figuring out the best ohm load.

My certainty on Alpine subs was matched by my knowledge of the vendor I eventually purchased from and that was Sonic Electronix fulfilling through A*****.

Claims of top customer service can be posted anywhere, said by anyone. Where the rubber hits the road is when you are the party seeking customer service and receiving customer service that you were never expecting. Sonic answered the bell when I needed to complete an RMA. Weighing the cost benefit of the possibility of running into a completely unexpected scenario always has you leaning towards Sonic. I like purchasing from them and I will do so again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2012 Ridiculous bass for only a single 10"
Review by
William from Midland, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this older model Type-R and figured i'd give it a shot. I wanted to do it right and figured i could outhit my friends two twelves, so i put this ten into a ProBox 110SPB and it definitely did the job. I'm only running 400 watts rms from an Alpine MRP-M450 and it still hits harder than two twelves. The low notes player so clear and the bass is just amazing without having to empty out my wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2012 girlfriend approved
Review by
Kyle from Winnie, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put 2 of these in my gfs car on a wal mart pioneer amp and they slam. they almost hit as hard as my two l7s but thats prolly cuz hers are in a ported box. everything in her car flexes and tha bass clarity you get from alpine is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2012 its all aboit the box!
Review by
Chris from Cincinnati
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just purchased and installed this sub in a 0.75 cu/ft sealed enclosure with a 500watt Alpine amp and it did squat. I then purchased the 101KPRO ported enclosure from Sonic. The bass now renders my rear view mirror useless due to the bass. This single sub/box combo sounds like a pair of twelves. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2012 Sweet subs
Review by
The Iron Ranger from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these lil guys wired down to 1 ohm and they pound. I run them for long periods of time before on 3/4 volume and they dont get hot at all they barely get warm. I have come very close to breaking my back window in my truck, if I have them too loud. If you want a small sub that can hit hard and last forever this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 Alpine SWR-1043D
Review by
Kristen from Fordyce, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers. I absolutely love them! Great deal! Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2012 Very nice...
Review by
Dennis from Mesa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Once I pulled this out of the box I was very impressed with the build quality, not surprised, but impressed none the less. Sub definitely needs to broken in, cone is very stiff when new. Sound is incredible, very clean, tight bass. Wouldn't recommend for those looking for wide, boomy bass. Although with the right equipment and box probably could fulfill those needs as well. Make sure not to under power, fairly power hungry. However, when powered right, very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2011 amazing
Review by
ricardo from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pretty much the first heavy artillery i put into my car, along with the momo speakers. Best value for a midrange subwoofer and that is saying a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2011 Alpine SWR-1043D
Review by
Connor from Spokane, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced my 12" Sony Xplod in a sealed box with this Alpine SWR 1043D in a new ported box and this sub hits twice as hard as my Sony! Looking forward to purchasing another soon. Pros: Great sound for a awesome price! Cons: None
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2011 Surprising
Review by
Tonkka from Bronx, ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a reasonable speaker box, and this is it, inexpensive and great quality, sounds great in my mini cooper 08.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2011 Surprising
Review by
Tonkka from Bronx, ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a reasonable speaker box, and this is it, inexpensive and great quality, sounds great in my mini cooper 08.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Awesome Sub!
Review by
MJS from NO,LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Placed one SWR-1043D in a 1 sq/ft sealed box at the very back passenger side corner of my 240sx hatch. I am feeding it about 500W/rms with a Kenwood KAC-8105D. It really beats!! However we placed the same setup in a downward firing under seat box for my friends GMC, wish we would have gone with two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2011 Decent
Review by
Jonathan from Edmond, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the money I have few complaints. I am used to larger subs(12-15) and this is not like those. The audible bass is loud and clean but its not shaking the car next to me. Which is what I was looking for when I bought only one of these. I installed it in a .6^2ft box and am happy to have most of my trunk back to being useable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 great value
Review by
Krishan from Rogersville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I listen to heavy metal double bass to low frequency rap music and man do these pound. i have 1800 watts running to two of these and they take it like a champ. my friends think i had two twelves so if you want a sub that is a great value and sounds great playing anything then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2011 Very Good Sub for the price
Review by
astro161 from Fayetteville NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a chevrolet astro van, and since its only a ten i was doubting it, but was i wrong. This thing pounds, of course i made a box probably around 3 cubic feet, but this thing is nice, especially for the price. Alpine always has good things anyways so i decided to try it out, i used to have a type e but its not comparison for the lows. My box is ported and i have one in the astro and it will make the roof rack jump and make all the doors rattle. Not sure about the sealed box, tried but didnt like the sound. A VERY GOOD BUY. always check the ohms before you hook it up though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2011 Awesome sound
Review by
Keaton from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a bottom of the line Polk sub before I got the Alpine (the Polk blew out pretty quickly) and there's really no comparison. The Alpine is much more punchy, hits higher notes more clearly, and sounds much better. I compare it to listing to music at high volume with some decent computer speakers (Polk) to being at the concert and really feeling the bass (Alpine). You feel much more of the music, which is one of the cool things about listening to a live band. Anyways, I've had this sub for several months now (I got an e-mail from sonic-electronix asking for a review) and am a true Alpine fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2011 great sub for the money
Review by
O from CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these 10" type-r's sitting in one of my cars getting about 400 watts rms from an alpine amp. For the money, this is a great amp. It can easily push 600 watts rms cleanly. I like that the 10" hits hard and precisely. Good clean sub bass. Would def recommend to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2011 Very Impressed!
Review by
Maidenfan from Cozad, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have no complaints about Alpine subs. I have mine mounted in a self made sealed box. It hits hard and sounds smooth with the kind of metal music I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2011 Nice sub
Review by
TEXASBOY from HOUSTON, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The subs are great! and are very good quality. They just did not come with hard ware to mount them. but they sound phenomenal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2011 Awesome subs!
Review by
Peter from Hammond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are awesome subs. HANDSDOWN!!! Hooked up to the ever so popular (for a reason) Hifonics BXI 2610D, and handle what this amp can give. I love them and quite sure you will too. The thing is, these are in the smallest(sealed) box possible for these subs(per specs. from Alpine), I can imagine how they would sound in a bigger ported box OMG! Try them out. For the price I feel they can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2011 Thump!
Review by
Freewood from ABQ, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My 1043D is mounted in a downfire, center console, sealed box, powered with 600 true wrms, from an Alpine MRD-M605, and all I can say is wow!!! This sub will stir your insides up, and the SQ is nothing to be disappointed about.

Pro: Kills for the price, and can take a beating if wired properly.
Con: Let you know when I find one, and it's almost been a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Nice
Review by
CJ from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Alpine Type R is nice i have it with a kole audio amp 980w but it gives me 800w rms. I also have it with a epicenter and a equalizer and a capacitor and i have an amp for the speaker doors. This thing is loud Oh and i have a custom box for it and that box is a beast..it it louder than 2 12 cvrs and 2 15 memphis. this 10 makes my whole dash move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 Awesome Sub
Review by
Myles from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is awesome! I built a custom subwoofer box out of fiberglass to fit right in the side of my trunk of my 2007 civic. I originally wanted to power 2 of these subs with one Alpine MRP-M1000 amp. Didn't work very well for me. These can handle a lot of power. So I have one of these hooked up to that amp with the amp turned almost all the way up. Sounds better than when i had both hooked up. Overall very pleased and I have no complaints at all. Just can't wait to get another 1000 watt amp to power the other one i have :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2011 Great 10"
Review by
Tim from Roper, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have just one of these bad boys in a regular vented box paired with a Kenwood KAC-9105D and I get a very nice thump out of it. For the price, you get a great sub. I'm looking to pair it with another one in a custom band pass soon and expect mind numbing bass out of them as the Kenwood has power to spare. No problems with the amp or sub so far. This is a great sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2011 Alpine 10" Type R
Review by
Don from Lombard, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am reviewing the Alpine Type R. Overall the quality of the sub is great. Easy connections for speaker wire and solid frame. I have had an issue though and I'm not sure if I should blame it on the Sub or my amp. Originally I had 1 Type R hooked to a Kenwood 9104 at 4ohm so it was running 500 watts rms. The amp went into protect and when I swapped out the speaker it worked fine, so I figured it was a bad speaker. I bought 2 more Type R's and wired them at 1 ohm giving each sub 450w rms. After about a month, the same thing happened. The amp goes into protect mode. I worked with tech support and tested the speakers and they said they tested good and must be my amp. I am buying a Hifonics Brutus to run the subs. When I get that I will find out if it was the speakers or the amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2011 alpine is the best
Review by
william from camden, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
had them for 6 months and they still sound loud and clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2011 Love it!
Review by
Romel from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hits pretty hard for a single 10" sub inside my Infiniti G37
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2011 Awesome sound quality
Review by
Mo from Va beach
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got these in a week and breaking them in but man, the sound that comes from these are the best I've heard so far. I have had everything from L7s to MTX and almost everything else in the middle but these are the best sounding to me anyways. Before my car used to shake but now it rattles and I just can't get over the sound quality.I've only had these up to maybe 300 rms but I have a mrp-m2000 (overkill) on the way and I know it's going to be awesome. If you are looking for a great sounding sub from low to high volumes this is it. Sonic had them for the cheapest that I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2011 excellent
Review by
p from OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got a set of these to replace my old subs in my tuned slot ported box and they are louder than my old subs. My deck is a Alpine and the bass is all the way down (always-7) and subwoofer is on halfish (+6 out of 15) and the old subs hit 143db@46hz I hope these are hittin 150db I'll find out when I get them tested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2011 BUY THIS SUB
Review by
Michael from Mount Juliet, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am SQ guy and had a 8" RE & then Infinity. Could not get exactly what I was looking for with the 8". Read a lot on 1042d and it got great reviews. The new upgrade interested me. Bought sub and Alpine mono amp to run DVC @ 2 ohms. It sounds awesome and will run you out of car if you wanted it to.
Pro: Great sub. Great in a .75cu' sealed box. Running -2 on Pioneer 4200dvd.
Con: Trying to find one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2011 best speakers
Review by
jason from houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 4 of these for my cougar I didn't know thay could be soo loud they do call for a lot of power so I bought 2 3000 watt amps 1 for each set and they take it and ask for more it amazing and clear sound no distortion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 amazing
Review by
louis from milford, ct
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this was a wonderful product with great sound and boom. i recommend for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 Great sound quality
Review by
pkracing from Hammond,In.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased 2 of these 10's (replaced 2 Kicker L5's) for trunk space mainly, and let me tell you the bass is very accurate from low volume all the way up the scale! NO JOKE! They sound better to me than the Kickers they replaced, and they are in very little (.50cuft. boxes). And yet they play the lows every bit if not better than the L5's. I have them hooked up to a Hiphonics BXI 2600 and this works flawlessly! I HIGHLY recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2011 Nice product
Review by
brad from lake nebagamon, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2011 600 rms in a 10" sub
Review by
H from GARDEN GROVE, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just one 10" gets compliments from people who go for a ride in my truck all the time. they say it sounds better than their 12 sub. But thats the reason why i bought it, I like sound quality over spl, although it does offer spl if you use the enclosure dimensions that alpine recommends. Alpine's instructions include an optimal vented enclosure design that i am in fact using.

i most pleased to find a powerful sub for the price that is listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2011 this sub absolutely slaps
Review by
jb from buhl,ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub absolutely slaps i got it turned up two thirds of the way and its is turning heads like crazy. go alpine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2011 Great sub! Buttt i prefer the older model 1042d
Review by
James from Brooksville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent sub, as always. Can never touch the alpine type R subs with any other sub within $100 of the price of these. Although, I was slightly disappointed when I tried out this one after using the 1042d for a full year. Bass is not as tight or clean on this sub, I found some notes that it really couldn't play, and sounded bad on. Even after a full year of heavy usage I've yet to find a note the older model can't play amazingly well. Although, this sub does seem a bit louder, and power handling is improved, and mounting depth is shorter, it is more of a sidestep from the 1042 than an upgrade. (Note: I bought both subs brand new and used them in the exact same conditions to make the comparison). All in all, if this was the first alpine sub I bought for my car, i would have no complaints whatsoever. But considering I like the sound of the older model a little bit better, ill be switching back to that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2011 pretty good
Review by
spuds from luxemburg, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs pound pretty good for the price, but you get what you pay for. if your on a budget then these would be a good choice. I would recommend these to anybody who is looking for a good sub at a decent price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2011 The one to have in your trunk .
Review by
Greg from Phila Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As with all alpine subs it totally slams .in my opinion it is the best bang for the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Incredible
Review by
pro10is from Westford, VT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I didn't have the room for a 12" unit and I was concerned that I wouldn't get enough performance out of a 10" subwoofer. There is no need to worry, this monster will knock your rearview mirror off if you let it. Clear, clean, powerful bass that you can feel as well as hear. If you need more bass than this in a car you're insane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2010 Underpowered and still kills
Review by
KNIZ from LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a sealed box at 2 ohms hooked up to an Alpine MRP-M500. The sub is a little bit underpowered but it still hits ridiculously hard. I am definitely going to get a second one of these. The value is amazing.... Similar Kicker and RF's are more expensive and don't have as good of specs. In my experience with Alpine, you'll get what you expect plus much much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2010 Buy it cant go wrong
Review by
Sldrs61 from Andover,MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing will blow my old pioneer premier pro out of the water. Was originally going to get two of these but after listening to one I was amazed at the accurate and distortion-less bass reproduction. I have all Alpine components in my truck including the head unit. This thing is loud!!! I have it hooked up at 2 ohms with 650 watts RMS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2010 Buy Now!!!
Review by
C2daLo from Turlock, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this and put it in a sealed box n they hit hard! Sound great and very clean! Broke them in for 2 weeks and then built them a custom ported box built to specs and man to they pound! They hit ridiculously hard and I mean hard not like when people have a kicker comp ams say it hits hard that's not hard at all! These speakers pound!!! I have them on an arc audio 1000rms amp and they love it! Pair these subs up with a ported box and quality amp and be ready to rattle u car apart and get alot of attention! Had L5s, W3s, CVRs, cliff designs, cerwin vegas all 10s and all on the same amp and the type Rs are deff the best!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2010 good buy
Review by
king from saint joe , mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
thing pounds. make sure you have very durable box cause this thing will tear it up its almost ridiculous if you are pushing 600 true rms into it. i bought two but am only able to use one cause otherwise i cant hear anything for rest of day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2011 What it really is...
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Aarron from Johnstown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The RMS rating is a "little" false. I put one Type-r 10 in an eclipse competition bandpass box... played it for two hours low volume and cranked it for about 20 seconds..... bang, left my daytona's hatch in a cloud of smoke. im not sure how. i was only powering it off of a sony 800w max 2 channel amp. But I'm sure if you had at least 2 of these, and didn't slam them on a constant basis you would be just fine. THESE THINGS HIT HIGHS LIKE NO OTHER. i would strongly recommend a sealed box. dont push more than 350w to a 10 or problems may occur. (from personal experience)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz