Showing 18 reviews for Boss BV9155B

Customer Review Summary for Boss BV9155B
Average Customer Rating is 3.7 out of 5 stars:
3.7
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.7
Value
3.8
Features
3.7
Design
3.6
Usability
3.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 18, 2011 Good head unit
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Villas, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this head unit for a few months now and no problems at all. I hear a significant difference from the door speakers now. Overall the head unit is very easy to get used to, but does lack in features. For the price though, I couldnt be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2011 Good for some things, not so much for others.
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Geneseo, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:
-Sonic provides the install kit, makes it SUPER easy. Took 45 minutes in my Suzuki SX4 AWD, including soldering the connections.
-Good sound for 17W RMS/channel with stock speakers.
-Easy to use Bluetooth, DVD and Tuner.
-Decent preset EQ.

Cons:
-Have to attach Orange wire to ground (used lug & screw on the chassis) to get DVD to play while in motion.
-Terribly confusing User Interface. USB with iPod is terrible, mostly due to the way Apple formats their folders. MUCH better to use USB stick.
-Make SURE you connect the blue Power Antenna wires if your car has an amplified antenna. Failure to do this results in TERRIBLE radio reception. Didn't realize this until I had replaced the device.
-When using front or rear AUX in for anything but video, a blue screen pops up saying NO VIDEO INPUT. Annoying especially if connecting an iPod or other MP3 device.

With a firmware update from BOSS to clean up the User Interface, this would be a MUCH better unit. Until that time, it's a good step into video in-dash. Never tried rear-backup camera, bet it would be great for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2011 Boss
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JB from Indianola, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is very good for the price. The dvd picture and bluetooth work great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2012 Great Value
Review by
Ardit from Korca, Korca, Albania
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very good product for the price. Very good service and shipping as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2012 Great deal
Review by
Venisha from BEAVER FALLS, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an awesome product, I bought it six months ago and it still works/looks like new. Great quality at a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2012 Great TouchScreen if you still like real buttons.
Review by
MARK from Ozark, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this mainly because I liked the real buttons surrounding the screen but still wanted a dvd player and screen, it works perfect and I havent had a single issue. Bluetooth works good but I don't use it. The USB is good and easily navigated when using remote. I am extremely happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2012 Great Value
Review by
Henry from Aylmer, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It works great and looks good i think it's a great value for the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2012 Awesome Radio!
Review by
Hannah from Cowpens, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this radio to anyone! It has great features, a great responsive touch-screen as well as base buttons around the frame. All around a good radio for a great price! No problems experienced with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2012 Researching is the key
Review by
nicholas from palmdale, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't have a review for this particular module, but I have owned a few other similar Boss model DVD, etc. head units/receivers. The biggest thing I have to say, which in my opinion applies to all car audio equipment, is do your research.

There are usually reasons for such a big price difference between models with similar functions. You know that saying, "you get what you pay for," is true most of the time, but it's still possible to find good deals. Anyways, the functions and overall performance of the unit I had were excellent considering the low cost. My advice is research.

Read reviews (not just Sonic, but surf the web, check out forums, talk with knowledgeable friends, whatever helps you gain the most satisfactory information towards your purchase.) Be patient, too. Sonic always has great deals whether it is Today's Special or holiday discounts, etc. If you buy something that you don't understand, in my experience, it can lead to a lot of frustration, especially when expectations are high in your completion of your car audio project/upgrades!

Just wanted to put that out there for anyone that is newer to car electronics or who's wondering about giving up on that perfect system. REMEMBER: knowledge is key to knowing what you're purchasing.

P.S. Sonic Electronix's call center is staffed with car audio experts who can answer your questions or concerns that no one else can seem to help you out with. And please, if you're one of the individuals that enjoy leaving reviews on products, but don't understand even the technical basics of car electronics, I ask you to leave your review on what you understand and know of the product, leave out the more technical explanations that can deter someone from a product simply because of misunderstood functions of that unit. Thanks for reading, if you took the time to skim through. : ) And pass the advice for the next novice car audio enthusist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2012 would spend more money next time
Review by
tony from RIVERSIDE, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Volume button irratic, every button is slow to respond,failed to mention bluetooth will not stream audio. On the positive side, it has a lot of features for the money, picture is very clear, easy install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2012 great
Review by
djbigray from hartford,ct.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent, I recommend it to anybody. Sound is great, features on this system are also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2011 Boss touchscreen
Review by
Autopimp from Minnesota, Mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this deck about a year ago and didnt have any problems. I got sick of the little screen so i bought the Kenwood DDX318 and its alot better. The only this is that when you dont buy a name brand deck you can tell the quallity difference in the deck. But over all the deck did the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2011 Boss
Review by
stephen from st petersburg, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not totally bad for the price but, It has terrible AM radio reception, for the few times you want sports talk, thats bad. The FM is fine with above expected sound quality. Good bass and power for this price point the DVD works great although it takes a while to load and the screen a bit small but that fact is not hidden before purchase. Once up, it works fine. This unit is fine for the money however I would pay more for a higher quality unit if I was to do over. Self Install went well with all connections labeled and easily identifiable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2011 boss
Review by
brittany from stella, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this about 6 months ago but have not had it installed yet. but i did get a great deal on it and i would really recommend buying it, it has alot of awesome features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2011 Disappointing
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ICE from Davenport, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Lousy FM reception. It seems as though the 5 or so media outlets on this unit are 5 or 6 separate items. There is no similarity between the CD format, DVD format and the radio. The buttons are very small and many have multi-functions that are not labeled. The instruction manual is very vague, kinda like turning the page and wondering who stole the instructions. Sound is good from the 17watt amp, not stellar. A ground wire that must be supposedly attached to the parking brake to make the DVD play only when the brake is set, had NO instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2010 An excellent product
Review by
Rob from Villas, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought from Sonic Electronix my first time, and I am proud to say they do a great job. This unit is an absolute must have, it is really easy to install with the wiring harness and brackets they send you. I hooked up the steering wheel capability, in the matter of minutes. The stereo overall is really easy to use, only one complaint when ever I go to use a usb it says warning please stop watch video. Any suggestions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2011 hard to use
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
david from milliken, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very hard to use I ended up putting the stock deck back in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2011 Good for value I giess
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Pensacola, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a $200 DVD player, enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz